View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 464 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3644144544624634644654664745145649641464 ... LastLast
Results 13,891 to 13,920 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenPJ View Post
    The SPL have no jurisdiction over the SFL and so whether they are placed in Div 1 or Div 3 is not a decision of the SPL chairmen to make, all they could do is not let them entry to the SPL. Now whether the SFL and SFA are lacking integrity is another question but the chairmen may have a preference for having Rangers back in sooner than later but ultimately they don't have the decision now.

Traynor is also the man who not that long ago was saying that Rangers had been punished enough (i.e. 10 point penalty and financial penalty) and they should be left alone. He is hypocrisy at the highest level and whilst I agree that the authorities have a duty to do the right thing and expel them to the 3rd its just his usual dig at everyone other than the party who has done wrong. Typical Rangers mentality that really its someone else's fault that they are in this mess.
    Correct. Add to that the fact that he is now claiming that Rangers are victims of other clubs' greed (the irony is that even though Rangers probably want to go all the way to the bottom they won't be allowed) shows that he has absolutely no sense of irony, shame, integrity or a multitude of other things that are required in order to be a journalist.

From his pathetic dig at England onwards, his whole article is designed to keep everyone onside - mostly the Rangers fans, but after his initial digs at us supporters of other clubs (for not being too smart and our bloodlust) he then claims to be doing us a favour by claiming to be speaking up for us, and defending us from the evil SPL, SFA, SFL etc.

He spectacularly misses the mark. It'll be a sad, sad day if JT ever speaks for me.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    The SPL have no jurisdiction over the SFL and so whether they are placed in Div 1 or Div 3 is not a decision of the SPL chairmen to make,
    Depends on what crumbs off the table the SPL are willing to kick down to the SFL to ensure only a one year absence of The Rangers...

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    Any SPL club who thinks their fans will buy this gerrymandering hasn't been listening properly.
    Many fans have already "bought it", judging by all the threads about buying season tickets, (ditto various other clubs) simply because their club has voted "no".

Why's everyone down on the Traynor? He's the finest sporting journalist created by Scotland. He makes Hugh Mcilvanney look like a Daily Star writer.

The SPL have no jurisdiction over the SFL and so whether they are placed in Div 1 or Div 3 is not a decision of the SPL chairmen to make, all they could do is not let them entry to the SPL. Now whether the SFL and SFA are lacking integrity is another question but the chairmen may have a preference for having Rangers back in sooner than later but ultimately they don't have the decision now.

Traynor is also the man who not that long ago was saying that Rangers had been punished enough (i.e. 10 point penalty and financial penalty) and they should be left alone. He is hypocrisy at the highest level and whilst I agree that the authorities have a duty to do the right thing and expel them to the 3rd its just his usual dig at everyone other than the party who has done wrong. Typical Rangers mentality that really its someone else's fault that they are in this mess.
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Correct. Add to that the fact that he is now claiming that Rangers are victims of other clubs' greed (the irony is that even though Rangers probably want to go all the way to the bottom they won't be allowed) shows that he has absolutely no sense of irony, shame, integrity or a multitude of other things that are required in order to be a journalist.

From his pathetic dig at England onwards, his whole article is designed to keep everyone onside - mostly the Rangers fans, but after his initial digs at us supporters of other clubs (for not being too smart and our bloodlust) he then claims to be doing us a favour by claiming to be speaking up for us, and defending us from the evil SPL, SFA, SFL etc.

He spectacularly misses the mark. It'll be a sad, sad day if JT ever speaks for me.
    Granted, it's a terrible article and I'm aware that the SPL chairmen can't vote Rangers into Div 1.

They can, however, do deals, and that's what Traynor and the Herald are suggesting has happened.

People are already arguing that because Hibs have said No, we should all rush out and buy season tickets. I disagree. I'll wait to see what actually transpires.

As far as I see it, Traynor is heaping the misery on Newco by making the possibility of a Div 1 deal public.

Rangers don't want Div 3 football. They want back into the SPL as soon as possible.

He's having a go at everybody, right enough, but Newco are the worst affected by his words imo.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    He's been very well paid for years for playing the game of pandering to the majority within the Scottish football following, thereby keeping up the circulation figures for that rag he works for.

Another part of this game is to stir up a reaction from other minority interests.

It's not journalism. It's a football version of the Jeremy Kyle Show in print.
    How much does he get paid? Just so we are going on facts.

I don't like him. He comes across as a smug smart Alex when people call his show. "Where you from caller?", "X", "oh you have my deepest sympathies". Funny, funny guy likes.
    Last edited by Phil D. Rolls; 27-06-2012 at 09:58 AM.

Kille have had a few decent sales in that time as well though, as have others. Rangers themselves have probably brought in a fair wack too.

FWIW I dont think our stance would have been any different.

Quote Originally Posted by Nailrod View Post
    The club I was drawing the analogy with was Kilmarnock, not Rangers. Without the 'golden generation' who brought us in 12 million in transfer fees, we could have found ourselves in deep trouble too. While our fans would no doubt have been as solidly anti-Newco as the Killie fans have been, I suspect RP and the Board would not have found it quite so easy to take the unequivocal stance that Hibs have taken.

IMHO posters condemning the 'cowardice' of the Killie Board are out of line, and those smugly suggesting that Killie should simply 'go into administration and find their level' are obviously forgetting (or ignoring) the fact that administration would result in a lot of small local businesses losing a lot of money. Why wish that on people who have nothing whatsoever to do with the problems that have led to this situation?

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Called us "pious cyber nonentities". Imagine!
    I've yet to see evidence of that on here.

Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post

Again an example of this social networking new dawn bringing fan power into the hearts and minds of those who have anything to do with the game called football.

Then you spoil it by adding facts. How very dare you.
    It's amazing how frank people can be when they are hiding behind a user name, and won't ever have to face real people if they are wrong.

I think you are spouting absolute bollocks, and so does my wife.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    People are already arguing that because Hibs have said No, we should all rush out and buy season tickets. I disagree. I'll wait to see what actually transpires..
    Agree with that 100%.

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    Sadly the west coast tabloids are Hun media tools and amusingly the majority of the columists who 'write' for them are Hun media tools, in the useless lying fat tool sense of the word. My mates and my cousins that are Ceptic fans all refer to the papers as:
    The Daily Record = The Daily Rangers
    The Sun = The Hun
    For a long long time their target has been the "dirty left footed soap dodging Fenian Celtic and its supporters" and given a free reign on the matter that's the language the likes of Traynor would use. Now the mistake Traynor and his fellow 'journalists' have made is instead of targeting Celtic they have decided to try and target everyone who is not Rangers or not a pro-Rangers apologist (aka Kenny Shiels & co.). This is where they will come unstuck and learn the very hard way that Scottish football is not 80% Rangers loyalism and 20% dirty soap dodgers but in fact 8% corrupt Hun-centric sinking ship and 92% other Scottish football teams and their supporters who individually have more brain cells on a bad day than a useless fud like Traynor will ever have. With all the boycotting going on of different things the best advice I can offer is don't read the west coast tabloids as all it is doing is keeping fat clowns like Jabba Traynor in employment.

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    I think the press in general have been very poor throughout this whole mess, they have constantly bought into trying to scare fans about losing the sky deal and claiming the SPL can't survive without rangers etc.

@hibs.net private member WeAreHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    He could have given Maldanardo more room meaning he would have had a better opportunity to finish the race.
    Yeah but he was taking a leaf out of GOC's book and following the lines!

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    According to the Greenock Telegraph, Morton have joined Falkirk and Raith in saying "no" to any Newco into the first division
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Have the folk who are lambasting Traynor actually read his article? I suggest you do before spouting off.

He's basically saying that a deal has been cut to let Newco into Div 1 and as such the claims of Sporting Integrity from the SPL club chairmen is spurious and hypocritical. He thinks the fans are about to get hoodwinked.

He goes on to argue that Rangers should start again in Division 3.

If he's right that a deal has been struck, as the Herald also seems to think, I agree with him.
    I meant I hope they're miles away with the comments about the deal being struck, not about the integrity of SPL chairmen. Anywhere other than the bottom and it's from me.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    I meant I hope they're miles away with the comments about the deal being struck, not about the integrity of SPL chairmen. Anywhere other than the bottom and it's from me.

People are already arguing that because Hibs have said No, we should all rush out and buy season tickets. I disagree. I'll wait to see what actually transpires.
    I agree entirely which is why that is exactly what I'm doing.

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    HibbyRadge, I see what you are saying but throughout this saga, from back when Whyte put the Huns in administration, quite a few public figures have said things that were the opposite of what they meant or were carefully worded or timed to promote Rangers survival as an Oldco / entry into the SPL as a Newco / and now entry into the SFL 1 as a Newco. It's about rules and following them and I think most people are just plain wary of anything the media says or reports. Ranges / Sevco call it what we like, clearly are still trying to bend the rules. Traynor is telling us nothing new inasmuchas we knew the pro-Hun cigar smokers in high office were trying to wangle Sevco into SFL 1. Either Traynor is slow on the uptake or he's repeating that information for a reason. Of course maybe he just has nothing new to say...! :)

Have the folk who are lambasting Traynor actually read his article? I suggest you do before spouting off.

He's basically saying that a deal has been cut to let Newco into Div 1 and as such the claims of Sporting Integrity from the SPL club chairmen is spurious and hypocritical. He thinks the fans are about to get hoodwinked.

He goes on to argue that Rangers should start again in Division 3.

If he's right that a deal has been struck, as the Herald also seems to think, I agree with him.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    According to the Greenock Telegraph, Morton have joined Falkirk and Raith in saying "no" to any Newco into the first division
    hope they (SFL clubs) keep it up and in bigger numbers and dinnae succumb tae any amount of bribery.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    hope they (SFL clubs) keep it up and in bigger numbers and dinnae succumb tae any amount of bribery.
    It only needs 25% of them.

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    Any SPL club who thinks their fans will buy this gerrymandering hasn't been listening properly.
    Completely agree if there has been a deal done to give them a leg up to Division 1 with the compliance of the SPL teams we may as well not even bother playing games next season.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    All it takes to scupper the planned 1st division parachute I for 8 clubs out of the 29 in all divisions to say no. Falkirk and Raith have already stated thier opposition to it, Dunfermline won't vote for them nor will any team in the 1st division aiming for promotion to the spl next season even if a playoff is introduced as a compromise, the fan power driving this is filtering down to 1st division as well with fans refusing to pay out season tickets until the fate of sevco is known and with no tv deal money to worry about this type of action by 1st division fans will be a major influence on the clubs as thier main and often only income stream will be cut off.
    there is also the position of Spartans etc who are seemingly preparing to take legal action against sevcos application for sfl entry at any level being accepted due to not meeting the membership criteria when these other eligible and deserving clubs will be overlooked

Tony McKelvie@TonyMcKelvieSo Morton have joined Raith, Peterhead, Falkirk, Partick and Livi in saying No to Sevco. 6 down, 2 to go. Not looking promising...

Quote Originally Posted by keithkeith View Post
    Well, I am involved with an SFL Club in my spare time and we have definitely had discussions along the same lines as Rod's "Sporting integrity is beyond purchase"...

We, the SFL Club - not Hibs, cold make a decent sum if we get two games against Newco, which could be very helpful...changes the landscape over the next few seasons, but it's not the correct thing to do.

We have been told to gear up for an EGM in five days time to push through a vote to allow Newco entry into SFL 1, in return for some compensation. No chance...!

Many other SFL Clubs will think the same and if 8 of the 29 reject Newco to both SFL 1 and 3 then there will be a beauty parade with the likes of Spartans and Cove Rangers.

Certainly, as a Director of a Football Club, I am more concerned about the possibility of Newco still having no financial guarantees and possible administration. I would rather have someone like Spartans who will pay their way honestly.

I doubt Newco will be in Scottish football next season at all...
    I sincererly hope you are right in this. Newco going to anywhere but the bottom division if at all is completely unfair on all the other clubs in Scotland who are competing fairly most of the time for little or no success.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I've yet to see evidence of that on here.
    Its in his Daily Record blog dated 4th May 2012.

@hibs.net private member mayo hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Tony McKelvie@TonyMcKelvieSo Morton have joined Raith, Peterhead, Falkirk, Partick and Livi in saying No to Sevco. 6 down, 2 to go. Not looking promising...
    on the contrary, I would say thats very promising...

Quote Originally Posted by Lungo--Drom View Post
    HibbyRadge, I see what you are saying but throughout this saga, from back when Whyte put the Huns in administration, quite a few public figures have said things that were the opposite of what they meant or were carefully worded or timed to promote Rangers survival as an Oldco / entry into the SPL as a Newco / and now entry into the SFL 1 as a Newco. It's about rules and following them and I think most people are just plain wary of anything the media says or reports. Ranges / Sevco call it what we like, clearly are still trying to bend the rules. Traynor is telling us nothing new inasmuchas we knew the pro-Hun cigar smokers in high office were trying to wangle Sevco into SFL 1. Either Traynor is slow on the uptake or he's repeating that information for a reason. Of course maybe he just has nothing new to say...! :)
    I'm not sure if he has a particular reason for saying what he has, but I'll bet that the "pro-Hun cigar-smokers" are wishing he'd shut up.

It's hard to make have a shady deal if there's no shade.

I don't pay a lot of attention to what Traynor says, but when I have heard him, he's consistently said that Rangers should start in Div 3.

I think he's right with what he says in this article, (i suppose he's bound to be right once) i think there will be a conspiracy going on behind the scenes, and it will be for the sole reason of getting Rangers back into the SPL in the shortest possible time.

He's also been wrong so many times during this, and changed his tune back and forth along with dick dung.

I wish someone had kept a diary of both their statements through this, it would be very funny reading all their twists and turns, and all the lie's both have spouted.

Their total disregard of Rangers crimes compared to punishment has been completely ignored by 99% of these hacks, and the reason being in my opinion is, they cant be seen to attack those people who they earn a very good living from?

They are bent reporters at BBC sportsound and the daily papers, most are in the pockets of the old firm. Its been a totally biased view from both organisations from the beginning, Its no wonder they dont recognise sporting integrity, when these people have none themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by mayo hibee View Post
    on the contrary, I would say thats very promising...
    Agree, given what the Montrose chairman was saying in the Herald article I think it is safe to say they will vote no also.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post

What does this actually mean then?

If 8 clubs vote against them do they need to start in the 3rd division at best?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    I don't pay a lot of attention to what Traynor says, but when I have heard him, he's consistently said that Rangers should start in Div 3.
    Don't think he started off there. Think he moved there when it became clear his 'Scottish Fitba needs Rongers in the SPL' mantra wasn't going to wash.

And if he 's consistently said it since then, he's been consistently wrong. They should start at the bottom and work their way up.
    Last edited by lapsedhibee; 27-06-2012 at 10:39 AM.

Nick Griffin's offering support to his brethren:

"Nick Griffin MEP ‏@nickgriffinmep Murder of Rangers is shocking indictment of capitalist football & sectarian agenda . . ."