View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 459 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3594094494574584594604614695095599591459 ... LastLast
Results 13,741 to 13,770 of 45185

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Joking aside, everytime i think there luck must be due a turn BANG something else happens.

Quote Originally Posted by Col2 View Post
    No club, no history, no players, no league no money and ............... NO HOPE

Christ I am beginning to feel a tiny bit sorry or them.....
    No, no your not.

Quote Originally Posted by Col2 View Post
    No club, no history, no players, no league no money and ............... NO HOPE

Christ I am beginning to feel a tiny bit sorry or them.

I'm not Keep the bad news coming!

@hibs.net private member Minder's Avatar
    do we have any young guys we could farm out to get a game ( provided SEVCO get in the SFL ), could be our nursery club.

Quote Originally Posted by SPL Fans Survey View Post
    Great minds think alike I've already started on this as part of the next survey and was going to float it for feedback then invite idea's on how to structure it question wise.

So my draft attached just so that when I float you don't think I'm nicking your ideas.

http://cl.ly/2k1q1X1B272V3U3S2l3M
    I like the look of that and 3 leagues of 16 - SPL 1,2 and 3

Your next survey should be asking the punishment for Rangers / New Club - and what sanctions should they have - e.g points deduction / Euro ban / Transfer ban / Sir David Murray losing knighthood ( Sir Fred Goodwin lost his about the RBS carry on).

Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post
    Bears den is an absolute hoot...

"Why is everyone surprised? Disappointed, yes.... Surprised, no.

If Davis, Naismith, Lafferty and co have all decided to leave, you can count on the likes of Boca, Goian etc to follow.

The club is going to have to start from the beginning. We are going to be left with a thread bare squad. The only signings we are going to make are jounrey men. This season is not about competing for titles, its about starting all over again.

Rangers will be strong again, but at this stage having a Rangers (In whatever form) in the most important thing."

Penny has dropped with this little genius !
    Does that mean they're now the thready bears?

This is how it feels

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by S.sct View Post
    I think this has been a pretty obvious plan B for both the SPL and Newco since the Oldco went bust.
    Yep, and I believe the SFA and SPL are behind the plan to get Rangers into div 1. The SFL will be the stumbling block but I'm pretty sure some carrots will be dangled in front of the SFL clubs to incentivise them to vote Rangers into div 1.

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    Yep, and I believe the SFA and SPL are behind the plan to get Rangers into div 1. The SFL will be the stumbling block but I'm pretty sure some carrots will be dangled in front of the SFL clubs to incentivise them to vote Rangers into div 1.
    On what do you base that view?
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post
    Desperation ... if this were true, then the directors would also have been obliged to have a clause saying that neither of the old firm could be relegated from the SPL.
    Did have some concerns about this, Something that was said at a meeting I attended!!!

Basically was that clubs would be premature in stating or prejudging the likely outcome regarding the Rangers situation.

Can't remember the exact words but had me thinking once clubs started stating their intentions.

Was it done deliberately to give them an escape route? ND has been very quiet recently.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Nailrod View Post
    "Going into admin and starting again with a sustainable financial model" is all very well for you, the Killie Board, and the clubs supporters. What about the local businesses who have supplied goods and services to Killie in good faith - many of which will be owned or run by supporters - whose bills won't be paid? Should they just have to take the hit and like it or lump it?

As another poster has pointed out, if it were not for the great good fortune we enjoyed with 'the golden generation", who brought us in about 12 million in transfer fees, we ourselves would be in a very difficult place. We were lucky enough to be able to sort out our financial problems with the minimum of off-field disruption.

Suppose we hadn't had that good fortune, and you were the owner of a small business who stood to lose your living, along with your employees, while Hibs "went into admin, and started again with a sustainable financial model" How cavalier would your talk be then?

I think some people on this board are overdosing on self-righteousness.
    A more accurate comparison would be if Hibs had developed those players and had decided NOT to sell them at or near top of their value. They could have decided to keep them for the duration of their contracts, gambled on achieving more success and generating more income on the pitch. If that had then failed to any great extent and the players left on Bosmans, then Hibs would have been completely stuffed.

Rangers, for they are the ones in difficulty now, always had the option of selling 4-5 players for (say) £20M, which would have gone a long way to clearing their debt or settling the big tax case. They chose instead to gamble everything on qualifying for the Champions League each year. They did it in some years but not enough to make the finances work, therefore the gamble failed. Why should they then get a free pass because they took the irresponsible decision and lost?

Great minds think alike I've already started on this as part of the next survey and was going to float it for feedback then invite idea's on how to structure it question wise.

So my draft attached just so that when I float you don't think I'm nicking your ideas.

Haha I'm happy for that idea to be stolen, ideally by the powers that be!

Wow, just had a read over that and to be honest...its great. It looks so simple you dont know why someone has not figured it out before and with the geographical pots etc it would add extra interest in the games.

Out of interest how long did it take you to put that together?

Outdoing themselves on HunMedia:

"Something can't be right and it's the first time I genuinely fear for the club."

Really???????????

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Did have some concerns about this, Something that was said at a meeting I attended!!!

Basically was that clubs would be premature in stating or prejudging the likely outcome regarding the Rangers situation.

Can't remember the exact words but had me thinking once clubs started stating their intentions.

Was it done deliberately to give them an escape route? ND has been very quiet recently.
    It's complete nonsense. Only the shareholders could make a complaint, and the clubs ARE the shareholders. Even if (say) Killie made a complaint, the other clubs could defend with the argument that the league's business would have been weakened more by the loss of custom from their own fans leaving.

Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post
    Wow, just had a read over that and to be honest...its great. It looks so simple you dont know why someone has not figured it out before and with the geographical pots etc it would add extra interest in the games.

Out of interest how long did it take you to put that together?
    Did that Saturday in a couple of hours though had been in my head for some time. TBH was the reason I started the site with that in mind until the Rangers story broke.

I have done a sheet explaining the reasoning etc but still needs some work.

Did it based on this years tables but with view to starting 2013/14 as I don't think Sevco will make this years league.

They're absolutely shell-shocked over on Samaritans.com. Quite a number are saying there's something fishy about the regularity and the 'doing it in pairs' approach of their desserting. Probably not, but, you know, there might just be something going on. By the end of the week all the players might re-unite and form the squad of a new 'newco' fronted by all the guys like, Murray, Kennedy and uncle Walter who were in the original bidding process. They'll buy out Green and somehow conive to get Rangers on some sort of even keel, ........................................... nah, what a load of nonsense. I'm even surprised at my own imagination

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    David Roberts@thesportslawguyDirectors of SPL clubs could be in breach of thier statutory duties by voting #Rangers Newco out of the SPL.

How?
    Dearie me, they arnae even in the SPL, mair scaremongering pish!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    They're absolutely shell-shocked over on Samaritans.com. Quite a number are saying there's something fishy about the regularity and the 'doing it in pairs' approach of their desserting. Probably not, but, you know, there might just be something going on. By the end of the week all the players might re-unite and form the squad of a new 'newco' fronted by all the guys like, Murray, Kennedy and uncle Walter who were in the original bidding process. They'll buy out Green and somehow conive to get Rangers on some sort of even keel, ........................................... nah, what a load of nonsense. I'm even surprised at my own imagination
    I suspect it is the club drip feeding the names out. Can't imagine it really is a couple of players deciding every other day. I suspect everyone who has already decided they want out is out, but the info will be released slowly, to get the fans desensitised to the process, and give the players more media exposure each to help them in their quest for new clubs...

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    'All my life's blood is slowly draining away,
    And I fell that I'm weaker every day',
    "Tell me why I had to be a Powerslave
    I don't wanna die, I'm a god, why can't I live on?"

I think they'll be a great feeder club for some team (hopefully Hibs). All that raw talent after all the big earners have gone. They can keep the likes of Clubfoot though.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    The Old Firm have been trying to joing the English leagues for years but have consistently been told they aren't wanted, and that was when Rangers was a viable club. They would have to join the non-league set up, a demotion so deep they might never recover, and so isn't worth risking.
    Exactly. Why would an English league want to deal with Rangers right now? That club is a mess and the situation is not getting better.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    On what do you base that view?
    When I say SPL, I mean ND and not necessarily the SPL clubs.

I was told by an SPL Chairman at the weekend, that a package was being 'negotiated'.

I think the supporter's campaign should shift from 'no Rangers in SPL' which is a done deal, to 'no Rangers in Div 1', before its too late and a deal is done.

I'm thinking there will be no Rangers playing football in league football next season.

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    When I say SPL, I mean ND and not necessarily the SPL clubs.

I was told by an SPL Chairman at the weekend, that a package was being 'negotiated'.

I think the supporter's campaign should shift from 'no Rangers in SPL' which is a done deal, to 'no Rangers in Div 1', before its too late and a deal is done.
    Ah, gotcha

Is ND not employed by the SPL which is in effect the member clubs through their chairmen? Or am I being naive?

Agree re the Div 1 thing though
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    I'm thinking there will be no Rangers playing football in league football next season.
    Aw naw, huv Berwick gone bust tae?
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by McS****y View Post
    Fair play, I suppose it's money they wouldn't otherwise have received, but I do think some people are making rather more of this windfall than it maybe deserves.
    Depends on the angle, really. When people make the financial argument about what SPL clubs will lose out on, when you break it down in terms of extra PATG or season tickets I'd say it's very achievable, particularly with a more realistic chance of a competitive league/shot at Europe. From the SFL3 point of view, if they get Spartans then it's pretty much a like-for-like game, if they get NewHun then it will bring certain issues and almost rule them out of promotion for a year, but at least they will get a decent couple paydays while they're there.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    OMG!!!!! Feel the venom..........

http://leggoland2.blogspot.de/

Quote Originally Posted by NJ Hibee View Post
    I like the look of that and 3 leagues of 16 - SPL 1,2 and 3

Your next survey should be asking the punishment for Rangers / New Club - and what sanctions should they have - e.g points deduction / Euro ban / Transfer ban / Sir David Murray losing knighthood ( Sir Fred Goodwin lost his about the RBS carry on).
    I think with an ongoing polis investigation into the legality of the sale to Whyte, losing his knighthood is the least of David Murray's worries.

This really is the gift that keeps on giving.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    OMG!!!!! Feel the venom..........

http://leggoland2.blogspot.de/
    So effectively CW owned Rangers but when he did the dirty deeds, from which Rangers prospered, it was nothing to do with Rangers. Absolute hogwash from a 'reporter' that should stick to playing with wee plastic building bricks
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Thought it was a new institution? Have they lost their SPL status, name, players through liquidation but retained the hatred?
    I'm sure sectarianism, although it wasn't on the balance sheet, was transferred to the Newco.