View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 455 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3554054454534544554564574655055559551455 ... LastLast
Results 13,621 to 13,650 of 45185

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I know Alex Thomson has spoken a lot of sense since this entire saga began to unfold in February, but I thought this was in very poor taste indeed:

http://i48.tinypic.com/2s1rh8p.gif

He has since apologised on Twitter, saying he "wasn't aware of the nature of the memorial".

For someone who has done so much research into the club this past year, I find this astonishing to be honest.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member johnrebus's Avatar

Gamertag: Eh ? Wii Code: What ?
    Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I know Alex Thomson has spoken a lot of sense since this entire saga began to unfold in February, but I thought this was in very poor taste indeed:

He has since apologised on Twitter, saying he "wasn't aware of the nature of the memorial".

For someone who has done so much research into the club this past year, I find this astonishing to be honest.

I did'nt know the nature of it either, but I can guess what it is now.

An honest mistake, which he has apologised for.

Lee Wallace

His position is just mental. Green has no intention of stumping up big wages to keep this club going - wherever that may be. Whittaker and Naismith could see that, so the choices for them (as with Wallace), given that they would never kick a ball again for any version of the huns, was to go to the Newco and be sold off to the highest bidder as soon as, or take control of their own destiny and refuse - thereby negotiating on their own terms with a club of their choosing. Its a no-brainer! Who the hell is advising Wallace on that one? Even if he could not secure top dollar wage-wise with a new club, he would more than make up the difference with a negotiated signing-on fee as a free agent. Mental!!

Quote Originally Posted by johnrebus View Post
    I did'nt know the nature of it either, but I can guess what it is now.

An honest mistake, which he has apologised for.

Except, he did know about the nature of the memorial:

http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thoms...ngers-rack/818

Considering Green's ham-fisted attempts at negotiating with the SPL, the other clubs chairmen and the PFA, would it be too cynical to suggest he's trying to piss off everyone accidentally on purpose?

After all he's made no secret he's in this for the money despite his overtures to the orcs.

Maybe no real intention to play football at Ibroke, just after the assets and that's always been the plan?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Shirley that image is taking the piss out of John Greig, whom Thomson has repeatedly vilified in his blogs for walking away from his legal responsibilities as a director, rather than taking the piss out of the memory of dead fitba fans?

I posted this the other day, I had no idea what it was for either. Why would he post it knowing what it meant?

Have a think.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Shirley that image is taking the piss out of John Greig, whom Thomson has repeatedly vilified in his blogs for walking away from his legal responsibilities as a director, rather than taking the piss out of the memory of dead fitba fans?

Quite possibly, but knowing the significance of the statue, surely you would find another way to symbolise it?

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    I posted this the other day, I had no idea what it was for either. Why would he post it knowing what it meant?

Have a think.
    Clearly he does know what it means:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95XT907aUiw

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    aye but the orcs will use any opportunity to show how they are being victimised at the moment

Latest classic comment from FollowFollow

"If it wasn't my club it was happening to, it would be laughable. We find ourselves not getting voted into the spl. Now we have teams in div1 saying no, then when they have said no we will have div3 saying no!"

Well said pal-it's no my club and I'm grinning from ear to ear

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oxymoron View Post
    Lee Wallace

His position is just mental. Green has no intention of stumping up big wages to keep this club going - wherever that may be. Whittaker and Naismith could see that, so the choices for them (as with Wallace), given that they would never kick a ball again for any version of the huns, was to go to the Newco and be sold off to the highest bidder as soon as, or take control of their own destiny and refuse - thereby negotiating on their own terms with a club of their choosing. Its a no-brainer! Who the hell is advising Wallace on that one? Even if he could not secure top dollar wage-wise with a new club, he would more than make up the difference with a negotiated signing-on fee as a free agent. Mental!!
    Gary Mackay!!!!!!!!!

With the wages due in the next few days, where is the money coming from exactly? Green has not even come up with the full £5.5m yet and its rumoured that there is no Newco bank account........,

Goodbye dear Hun, you will not be missed.

The wages for the players and staff who haven't transferred to Sevco will be due by the OldCo.

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    So all these clubs saying no etc...what if they vote otherwise? Secret ballot ain't it? So we would have no way of knowing for sure. Clubs saying no could just be doing this purely to up season ticket sales or increase their status with supporters. Wouldn't surprise if some clubs voted for Rangers despite saying they wouldn't. We will never know the truth with regards to this if it is indeed a secret ballot.

Quote Originally Posted by Meeko View Post
    So all these clubs saying no etc...what if they vote otherwise? Secret ballot ain't it? So we would have no way of knowing for sure. Clubs saying no could just be doing this purely to up season ticket sales or increase their status with supporters. Wouldn't surprise if some clubs voted for Rangers despite saying they wouldn't. We will never know the truth with regards to this if it is indeed a secret ballot.
    Not a chance of it happening. The fallout would be of a truly armageddon-esque nature.

Quote Originally Posted by Meeko View Post
    I believe the Newco had the option of requesting a secret ballot but haven't asked for it yet I don't think? Also, With the number of teams who have voted No we know what the result should be so if it suddenly changed there would be a LOT of angry fans demanding to know who stabbed them in the back.

Question

I've read many articles on the subject but yet to find a definitive answer to my question. Hoping someone out there can help.

Do the "assets" obtained by the "NewCo" include the stadium and training ground? If so how were they able to be transferred for a sum clearly below realisable market value? Is that not an illegal and complicit act of financial irregualrity?
    I thought thte old cos assets had to be held by the receiver and sold off to fund debt recovery for their creditors.
    Dunno?

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Quite possibly, but knowing the significance of the statue, surely you would find another way to symbolise it?

Clearly he does know what it means:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95XT907aUiw
    Seriously? The statue as far as I'm aware is a memorial to John Greig. The plaque underneath, however, is dedicated to the victims of the Ibrox disaster. I don't think the two are related other than the fact that one stands on top of the other???

Quote Originally Posted by NeilOrrSquareBa View Post
    I've read many articles on the subject but yet to find a definitive answer to my question. Hoping someone out there can help.

Do the "assets" obtained by the "NewCo" include the stadium and training ground? If so how were they able to be transferred for a sum clearly below realisable market value? Is that not an illegal and complicit act of financial irregualrity?
    I thought thte old cos assets had to be held by the receiver and sold off to fund debt recovery for their creditors.
    Dunno?
    This is a question that has been discussed a lot on here. The truth is, nobody outside of SevCo and RFC knows.

I think they are still in RFC. Others on here think otherwise. Certainly, the accepted truth in the media is that SevCo own them.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    The wages for the players and staff who haven't transferred to Sevco will be due by the OldCo.

This pot must be dwindling rapidly, especially as Duff & Duffer's fees will be ring fenced?

PSN ID: Dave1875
    This pot must be dwindling rapidly, especially as Duff & Duffer's fees will be ring fenced?

The way green talks Theyv all transferred over so he if he believes his own stories should be readying himself to pay the wages, if it's left too oldco then the Whittaker and Naismith court fights is all pie in the sky and the rest (except lee Wallace) will be offski

Ironically, perhaps the medal gatherer is holding a gun to Wallace's head!

Interesting comment from the Scotsman's Andrew Smith in today's webchat on Rangers.
    Somebody commented about how annoying it is that the media still talk about "Rangers", when in fact it is a NewCo called Sevco.
    Andrew Smith's reply was interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Smith
    I can't speak for anyone else. I talk about the Rangers newco being admitted into SPL. You want to have seen Neil Doncaster's face when I first described it thus.

Re Kilmarnock. I might have more sympathy for their financial plight if they weren't still signing players. I do have sympathy for their fans but if their club is continuing to overspend then they have to face the music.

@hibs.net private member thebakerboy's Avatar
    An interesting thought crossed my mind in the "what if catagorie" . WHAT IF the SFL clubs do not accept Rangers (newco) into the SFL where do they go then? WHAT IF the SFL decide that "say Spartans" have a business plan more suitable and are a club more suitable to play in league 3 , what happens then? Just asking!

From KDS

"I am not one for posting rumours, but my Missus uncle is a director with Livingston, so I thought I would give him a wee call to see where they would stand if the huns were parachuted into the SFL 1.

Livi were relegated all the way to division3 for having far less financlal problems than der hun and have had to claw themselves back up the hard way and really fancy their chances of promotion next season.

Apparently they have already contacted their Lawyers with regards to this and have made Longmuir and Regan aware that they would take legal action if any attempt was made to force the huns into 1st division.

Apparently they have been given assurances by Longmuir that if the huns apply to join the SFL then they will have to start from the bottom like everyone else.

Aside from sporting integrity, One of the reasons being, that Longmuir sees the huns in the lower divisions for a minimum of 3 years as being a good way to give all of the smaller clubs a financial boost , rather than just the 1st division teams."

Am I correct in saying that the transfer embargo is still in place? I know the CoS referred it back to the appellate tribunal but they haven't reconvened to decide their fate yet have they? So SEVCO might end up getting a spot in SFL3 but with a bunch of under 18's and possible further punishment (expulsion from Scottish cup etc)

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Why Nouveau Rongers should not start in Div 3 like what Livi did

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    From KDS

"I am not one for posting rumours, but my Missus uncle is a director with Livingston, so I thought I would give him a wee call to see where they would stand if the huns were parachuted into the SFL 1.

Livi were relegated all the way to division3 for having far less financlal problems than der hun and have had to claw themselves back up the hard way and really fancy their chances of promotion next season.

Apparently they have already contacted their Lawyers with regards to this and have made Longmuir and Regan aware that they would take legal action if any attempt was made to force the huns into 1st division.

Apparently they have been given assurances by Longmuir that if the huns apply to join the SFL then they will have to start from the bottom like everyone else.

Aside from sporting integrity, One of the reasons being, that Longmuir sees the huns in the lower divisions for a minimum of 3 years as being a good way to give all of the smaller clubs a financial boost , rather than just the 1st division teams."
    Livi are not comparable to Rongers though. Livi had three years of accounts so were entitled to play in Div 3. Nouveau Rongers don't, so aren't.

Not sure if it's been mentioned here yet. There's over on pieandbovril that Chick Dung's contract hasn't been renewed with the BBC. Probably due to the fact he's made an Emily Blunt of the whole sorry/ funny Rangers saga.

Quote from pieandbovril:

Friedrich Engels
    Yesterday, 22:53
    i hope this is true, i want Chick to cry so hard milk comes out his nose.

Har Har!

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    From KDS

The SFL have been clear from the start that any club (Newco or not) applying to the SFL would be applying to joining Div 3 and all other clubs would shuffle up. Longmuir stated this unequivocally not too long ago.

The Div 1 nonsense is coming from the SFA's recently new found desire to amalgamate the leagues. This is probably a good idea and hopefully will happen along with a full and proper pyramid system but it's absolutely certain that the technical, logistical and commercial considerations and agreements to make this happen will not be completed before the season starts.

The route is now clear. Once the SPL vote no to Servco they will need to apply to the SFL. That application will be for a spot in Div 3. However other teams will be able to apply as well. The members of the SFL will then vote on who to accept.

However Servco would appear to be all over the place in terms of financing, players, asset ownership etc so I would seriously doubt they will be in any fit state to provide the SFL with anything approaching a 'proper' application. This would open the door for Spartans or the like to take the available slot.

This will of course mean there is no free spot for any team or newco to apply for in 2013/2014 season....and this is where league reconstruction will come in...however even this will probably maintain or reduce the teams in combined SPL/SFL so any newco may well be looking to a regional division as a starting point. Maybe I'm biased so reading this wrong but if this comes to pass we could be without any reincarnation of the huns for as much as 5 years.