View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 436 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3363864264344354364374384464865369361436 ... LastLast
Results 13,051 to 13,080 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    The fact that Hearts, Dundee Utd and St Johnstone, who have all been in the press previously suggesting Rangers should be allowed into the SPl for financial reasons, are at the vanguard of the media announcements saying "no to newco" suggests to me the compromise to div 1 deal has already been agreed. These weasly clubs are trying to con their fans that they are getting tough whilst doing backroom deals to let Rangers off lightly.
    Have St Johnstone actually said anything officialy, or is this another No vote as per the Sheepies yesterday?

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    There can be no doubt that Scottish football has been seriously damaged by the actions of Rangers FC and those associated with it, and these belated actions by the football authorities are about damage limitation, but the way ahead is still clear and obvious - they must follow the laws and rules as they stand and as they were agreed by all, including Rangers FC.

Any actions that are taken to appease the very club that caused the damage will only serve to damage the game further, and probably beyond repair. There is only one answer and it was written in black and white by the very people that are now asking the questions.

If anything the actions of the Rangers FC establishment and particularly their cheerleader in the press and on the SPL board is only damaging their cause further by hardening the attitudes of right-minded people towards the club.

Well said CG, this fiasco has only made me want them punished to the extreme and made an example of to the footballing world!

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    That club have cheated you and me, every other Scottish supporter, every other European supporter, even friendlies they have played against out of our hard earned admission money for decades. They have done their level best at every opportunity to rig every match they have taken part in.

How anyone can suggest one year out of the SPL is a fitting punishment is beyond me.How anyone can suggest that a club with a track record like that should be admitted to any league is beyond me.

In what other part of life would such criminal activities be ignored to allow re-entry to an association?

That's besides the theft of around £150,000,000 from all and sundry.

Let them keep their tainted history but there cannot be a future that includes them at any level.

Note: must be more than £1,000 they've cheated me out of over the years. I really can't be bothered working it out properly.
    One season punishment for almost 30 seasons of cheating. Not enough. Even three seasons out of the big league is only one season punishment for almost ten seasons of cheating.

As to the DR story about reconstruction, it would only work with voting changed to ensure no OF veto and a fair distribution of sponsor and TV income. We need a fairer, more competitive structure and giving the already rich the lion's share of sponsor and TV money, along with the ability to block any change and run the league for their own selfish ends, embeds lack of competition even more.

We also need to look at supporting clubs like Hibs, Hearts, Falkirk and others who invest in youth development, because that is the only way in the longer term that Scottish football is going to improve, domestically and on the international stage.

Oh, yes - we also need Celtic FC and, if they survive, Newco of Govan Oldcheats FC, to fully commit to the future of the Scottish game and stop all this silly, destabilising nonsense of looking to get out to the EPL.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    I'm inclined to agree. They need to be punished but I think kicking them out of the SPL is enough. Ideally they'd have to join the 3rd Division but that's out of our hands.

As an aside it's very ironic that the open letter above complains of clubs kicking Rangers when they're down when their fans sing the 'bouncey bouncey' song which i understand was about a Catholic having his head jumped up and down on. **** Rangers.
    No its not, there are NO rules that allow them as a newco to drop one division or Stay in the SPL. Any newco MUST apply at the bottom tier.

Anything else is just pandering to Rangers, and making a mockery of any structure we had in the game. They can stick scottish football up their erse for me if this come in.

If this comes to fruition, then we must demand Rod Petrie *****s every penny he can lay his hands on, on players we cant afford and not even think about bothering with tax payments.

The punishment after getting away with it for god knows how many years, is now set in stone. 1 relegation season and a slap on the wrist pittance of a fine. I'd take that for 15 -20 years of europe each season and the odd cup win, who wouldn't?

No its not, there are NO rules that allow them as a newco to drop one division or Stay in the SPL. Any newco MUST apply at the bottom tier.

Anything else is just pandering to Rangers, and making a mockery of any structure we had in the game. They can stick scottish football up their erse for me if this come in.

If this comes to fruition, then we must demand Rod Petrie *****s every penny he can lay his hands on, on players we cant afford and not even think about bothering with tax payments.

The punishment after getting away with it for god knows how many years, is now set in stone. 1 relegation season and a slap on the wrist pittance of a fine. I'd take that for 15 -20 years of europe each season and the odd cup win, who wouldn't?
    A pittance of a fine that, much like the EBT "Loans", they don't have to pay, just chuck it on to the Liquidation Creditors bonfire...

@hibs.net private member ...WentToMowAnSPL's Avatar

Gamertag: satvis1
    Nothing the daily record has printed has been the truth ...don't panic folks ....
    "At the end of the day, we all aspire to bigger things in our lives but one thing I can truly say from my heart is if I never kick a ball for one of these bigger clubs I would be delighted to stay with Hibs for the rest of my career. That's how highly I regard this club." Ivan Sproule

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    The clubs you mention will go along with it if the money is right. Oh the irony of SPL clubs paying to lessen Rangers punishment. This would be the weasly cop out the lily livered chairmen would need . Relegation with a safety net. I would prepare to be disappointed with decisions made before the July 4th pretence of being tough.
    If the money is right? ...maybe not

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...-bow-down.html

The SFA were warned on Friday night that the 'Arab Spring' of supporter revolt threatens to sink their chances of parachuting the newco Rangers into the First Division.
    Under pressure from FIFA, the governing body is proposing a fast-track merger of the SPL and SFL, with newco Rangers being dropped into the second tier of a new Scottish Professional Football League.
    But Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton led the protests on Friday night and predicted disgruntled fans will rise up against the SFA plan.
    And Falkirk chairman Martin Ritchie described the proposal to drop the Glasgow giants just one league as 'totally unacceptable'.
    Allowing any newco into the First Division would need a rule change by the SFL, with 75 per cent of the 30 member clubs required to vote it through.
    Steadily mounting opposition from the supporters of SPL clubs already looks like ensuring top-flight football without Rangers next season.
    And Hutton expects open revolt among First Division fans, who will view attempts to gerrymander a solution for the Ibrox club as proof Scottish football is ‘corrupt’.
    ‘I expect the Arab Spring, which has been so powerful in the SPL, to surge right through the First Division,’ the Stark’s Park chairman told Sportsmail.
    ‘There is a swell of fan power, which has long been ignored, that is gaining momentum.
    ‘To the people in power in Scottish football, putting Rangers in the First Division seems like a nice, neat solution.
    ‘They will think justice is being seen to be done, that it keeps Sky, FIFA and UEFA happy, that it solves the Rangers problem in a pragmatic way they could justify as being for the good of the game.
    ‘But the big problem for them is that fans are now saying: “Scottish football is corrupt. Why should I waste my hard-earned money on it?”’
    Hutton believes it is wrong that SFL clubs find themselves as decision makers on the biggest crisis in Scottish football history, with five days’ notice required to hold a vote on the issue.

‘First Division clubs are being asked to solve a problem that is not of their making — and then take the consequences from the fans,’ he said.
    ‘In the First Division, we don’t benefit from Sky TV money, but we are being asked to help safeguard it.
    ‘Raith Rovers don’t have an official position yet on any vote, because we haven’t discussed it at board level — but we could not risk alienating our supporters.’
    Falkirk chairman Ritchie insists the price of entry for Rangers must be a wide-ranging shake-up of the Scottish game. The SPL will meet on Thursday, with the SFA proposal on the agenda.
    Ritchie said: ‘Many fans have expressed concerns regarding the potential outcome for the newco Rangers and their impact on Scottish football, the SFL and our own club.
    ‘The board at Falkirk FC believe the current turmoil should be a catalyst for change in Scottish Football.
    ‘It would be totally unacceptable if a Rangers newco were admitted to the First Division under the current rules.’
    Meanwhile, Aberdeen chairman Stewart Milne revealed on Friday that his club remains undecided on voting the Ibrox club back into the SPL, contrary to reports placing the Dons alongside Hearts and Dundee United in the ‘no’ camp.
    However, Jim Cumming, one of the Dons’ biggest shareholders, was threatening to force an extraordinary general meeting on Friday night if the Aberdeen board vote in favour of allowing a newco Rangers to play in the SPL next season.
    St Johnstone also broke cover to suggest they too would vote against the Ibrox club’s return.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    There can be no doubt that Scottish football has been seriously damaged by the actions of Rangers FC and those associated with it, and these belated actions by the football authorities are about damage limitation, but the way ahead is still clear and obvious - they must follow the laws and rules as they stand and as they were agreed by all, including Rangers FC.

Any actions that are taken to appease the very club that caused the damage will only serve to damage the game further, and probably beyond repair. There is only one answer and it was written in black and white by the very people that are now asking the questions.

If anything the actions of the Rangers FC establishment and particularly their cheerleader in the press and on the SPL board is only damaging their cause further by hardening the attitudes of right-minded people towards the club.
    Re. RFC's predicament, probably more damage has been done by the attitude of their officials, fans & media serfs than the revelation of the previous cheating. If they'd held their hand up at day one and said "Sorry, we'll take the punishment on the chin" then I think there may have been more acceptance from the other clubs to come and go a bit.

Alas, they just grabbed the nearest shovel & dug the hole deeper....and continue to do so.

Good piece by a St Johnstone fan

http://blueheavenfanzine.wordpress.com/

It’s a long time since this website has been updated with anything even vaguely resembling regularity. Once upon a time, BH was not only a printed fanzine, but also a busy web community of Saints news, views and rubbish Dundee jokes. My main excuse for letting all this slip is that I’m a lazy bugger at heart, but there’s also the marginally more acceptable reason that I now have to spend most of my time in London. While I still spend frankly stupid amounts of time and money travelling to watch my boyhood heroes, I’m no longer an ever-present, and feel my ability to publish fair comment on the latest right-back or new pie range has long since diminished.

Incredibly, though, blueheaven.org.uk still pulls in a daily slew of hits from all over the world. Admittedly, many of them appear to be from people looking for recipes for Scottish ‘Biscuits’ (hello biscuit fans, if you’re reading this!). But a fair whack of them are also St Johnstone supporters. People still use this site to get in touch and ask me how they can get hold of old fanzine issues, or when there will be a new one, or even whether I can spare some time to give a fans’ view to the media.

So, in my own odd way, I feel an annoying sense of residual duty to use this site to express some sort of view on the crisis that is currently ripping through Scottish football. Which means me crawling out of retirement for one last rant.

On 4th July, our club will be asked to vote on whether or not a cheap, hurriedly constructed version of Rangers will be allowed to play in next season’s SPL. It could be the SPL’s very own Independence Day, or it could be the day that sees thousands of fans up and down the country turning their backs on clubs they have supported for their entire lives.

In the BH fanzine days, Rangers (or The Forces of Darkness as we always knew them) were essentially treated as the comedy bad guys. And I suppose that now, with their fiendish EBT scheme, TFOD have indeed turned out to be Scottish football’s equivalent of Dick Dastardly in Wacky Races; always stopping mid-race to place increasingly elaborate obstacles in their competitors’ way, too stupid and greedy to realise that if they only kept going they’d be miles ahead anyway.

And now that it’s blown up in their faces, after years of boasting about being too good for Scotland and threatening to pack up their belongings and head elsewhere, Rangers need a favour. The mighty Rangers, with their world record stash of domestic trophies, wondrous marble staircase and noble history of religious intolerance, need a favour from us, the **** on their shoes.

But there’s just one problem. Because they’re not even Rangers, are they? Rangers – the real Rangers that is, with their cheeky, lovable fanbase – lie dying in the gutter. And, while a succession of predictably dodgy characters squabble over the scraps, a New Rangers has appeared like a phoenix from the flames. Or, at least, a phoenix from some ****. A stinking phoenix from a pile of corrupt, ******ing ****.

Yet this new club (catchily titled Sevco 5088 – it’ll look great on the Union Jack flags), that has never as much as kicked a football, supposedly has the SPL running scared. We can’t upset Sevco! Anything but that! After all, without the pulling power of Sevco, the league will degenerate into something akin to Irish-League-meets-swingball, with no TV deal, no Sevco fans to swell our stands and piss in our shop doorways, and none of that juicy European glory we’ve all grown so accustomed to dining out on as Scottish football fans. The end of the world is officially nigh.

Unfortunately, the pro-Sevco argument falls apart on two fronts: 1. It’s bollocks (if Scottish First Division clubs can survive without the Old Firm or a TV deal, then why can’t the larger clubs of the SPL?); 2. Even if it weren’t bollocks, it’s not the point. It’s not about money. It’s not about product. It’s not about standard of football. It’s not even about Rangers (because, let us never forget, they’re not Rangers). It’s about sporting integrity, and it’s about supporters up and down the land saying enough is enough.

From a purely personal point of view, if I was at all bothered about watching the world’s greatest footballers playing sexy football inside a packed stadium and in front of a huge TV audience, I would not be a St Johnstone supporter. I, like many others, support Saints because they are my local club, representing my home town. From an early age, I was hooked on the sights, sounds and smells of following that club. My most enduring memories of watching Saints stretch from buying blue popcorn and Dotty bars as a kid in the Ormond Stand, to losing the league in the last minute of the season at Hamilton and being hammered 4-0 by Stenhousemuir. Very few of my St Johnstone memories involve any sort of glory, and those that do stand out only because they are so rare. Yet, like the rest of us, I’ve carried on going back, and at increasingly hard-to-justify levels of expense at that.

To paraphrase one of the contributors to the We Are Perth forum, what it boils down to is this: I’d rather watch St Johnstone playing amateur Sunday league football on the North Inch, than pay to see them willingly participate in a fixed, corrupt Premier League. Because that is exactly what the SPL will become if it allows a brand new football club to leapfrog the lower divisions and start out in the top flight, based purely on the strength of an application form.

Is this really how the SPL wants football to work now? Should we ditch the concept of promotion and relegation completely, and just open up every place in the league to the highest bidder? Why even bother playing football at all? Why not just turn the whole league into one big, obscene auction?

If that is what the SPL wants, then I’m afraid it’s probably time for me – as a fan of football, not of business – to bow out. And if it’s something St Johnstone are prepared to vote in favour of, then like many other fans I’ll be forced to re-assess whether or not I really want to support them. That’s something I never thought I’d say. But, while I’ll always be a Saints fan at heart, I’ll view my commitment to supporting the club in a very different way if the club votes ‘yes’.

If I could make one plea to Steve Brown and the rest of the St Johnstone board, it would be this: please don’t turn your backs on the club’s ethics. Those same ethics prompted Geoff Brown to speak out against Livingston and Gretna, and they’re as valid now as they were then. Don’t give in to bullying, or greed, or corporate threats. Don’t give up on being a football club. Don’t give up on being St Johnstone. No surrender.

@hibs.net private member Bighoose's Avatar
    Just ignore that rubbish in the Daily Record today, lot of desperate straw clutching going on.

But Im sure this will be nothing compared to some of their more fanciful efforts still to come...

On a more serious note, Im really worried for this chap... http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=138285

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    If the money is right? ...maybe not

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...-bow-down.html

The SFA were warned on Friday night that the 'Arab Spring' of supporter revolt threatens to sink their chances of parachuting the newco Rangers into the First Division.
    Under pressure from FIFA, the governing body is proposing a fast-track merger of the SPL and SFL, with newco Rangers being dropped into the second tier of a new Scottish Professional Football League.
    But Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton led the protests on Friday night and predicted disgruntled fans will rise up against the SFA plan.
    And Falkirk chairman Martin Ritchie described the proposal to drop the Glasgow giants just one league as 'totally unacceptable'.
    Allowing any newco into the First Division would need a rule change by the SFL, with 75 per cent of the 30 member clubs required to vote it through.
    Steadily mounting opposition from the supporters of SPL clubs already looks like ensuring top-flight football without Rangers next season.
    And Hutton expects open revolt among First Division fans, who will view attempts to gerrymander a solution for the Ibrox club as proof Scottish football is ‘corrupt’.
    ‘I expect the Arab Spring, which has been so powerful in the SPL, to surge right through the First Division,’ the Stark’s Park chairman told Sportsmail.
    ‘There is a swell of fan power, which has long been ignored, that is gaining momentum.
    ‘To the people in power in Scottish football, putting Rangers in the First Division seems like a nice, neat solution.
    ‘They will think justice is being seen to be done, that it keeps Sky, FIFA and UEFA happy, that it solves the Rangers problem in a pragmatic way they could justify as being for the good of the game.
    ‘But the big problem for them is that fans are now saying: “Scottish football is corrupt. Why should I waste my hard-earned money on it?”’
    Hutton believes it is wrong that SFL clubs find themselves as decision makers on the biggest crisis in Scottish football history, with five days’ notice required to hold a vote on the issue.

‘First Division clubs are being asked to solve a problem that is not of their making — and then take the consequences from the fans,’ he said.
    ‘In the First Division, we don’t benefit from Sky TV money, but we are being asked to help safeguard it.
    ‘Raith Rovers don’t have an official position yet on any vote, because we haven’t discussed it at board level — but we could not risk alienating our supporters.’
    Falkirk chairman Ritchie insists the price of entry for Rangers must be a wide-ranging shake-up of the Scottish game. The SPL will meet on Thursday, with the SFA proposal on the agenda.
    Ritchie said: ‘Many fans have expressed concerns regarding the potential outcome for the newco Rangers and their impact on Scottish football, the SFL and our own club.
    ‘The board at Falkirk FC believe the current turmoil should be a catalyst for change in Scottish Football.
    ‘It would be totally unacceptable if a Rangers newco were admitted to the First Division under the current rules.’
    Meanwhile, Aberdeen chairman Stewart Milne revealed on Friday that his club remains undecided on voting the Ibrox club back into the SPL, contrary to reports placing the Dons alongside Hearts and Dundee United in the ‘no’ camp.
    However, Jim Cumming, one of the Dons’ biggest shareholders, was threatening to force an extraordinary general meeting on Friday night if the Aberdeen board vote in favour of allowing a newco Rangers to play in the SPL next season.
    St Johnstone also broke cover to suggest they too would vote against the Ibrox club’s return.
    Well said Mr Hutton

NO SURRENDER

Stolen from a St Johnstone fan.

NO SURRENDER

Stolen from a St Johnstone fan.

Saintees post above is brilliant!

Well said Bairns chairman, Martin Ritchie also

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    The so called Arab Spring taking place across Scottish football is the most refreshing thing that has happened in decades.

We must keep pushing it on until fairness and sport triumph.

Sally, just over three years ago What a wally

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...476643,00.html

First Team Breakthrough northgreen24's Avatar
    The funny thing is all these plans will never happen as the swell of support is the blue noses to be fully punished, any bending of the rules to drop them one division would be jsut as bad as letting them start in the SPL. it is clear what the fans want and will not accept anything else and a a bit of hush money is not going to change that.

also the only people who read the daily record is the same ones that were convinced that all would be ok and they would be safe as life does not exist without the biggoted brothers...........o wait it does :)

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    The so called Arab Spring taking place across Scottish football is the most refreshing thing that has happened in decades.

We must keep pushing it on until fairness and sport triumph.
    :

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    Sally, just over three years ago What a wally

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...476643,00.html
    Too big for Scottish fitba no too big now though eh! On their hands and knees now looking for favours from everybody that they were too good for

I guess that's what happens when you grow big by stealing form the tax payers and cheating
    Last edited by Saorsa; 23-06-2012 at 12:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by northgreen24 View Post
    The funny thing is all these plans will never happen as the swell of support is the blue noses to be fully punished, any bending of the rules to drop them one division would be jsut as bad as letting them start in the SPL. it is clear what the fans want and will not accept anything else and a a bit of hush money is not going to change that.

also the only people who read the daily record is the same ones that were convinced that all would be ok and they would be safe as life does not exist without the biggoted brothers...........o wait it does :)
    But 'if'the parachuting of Rangers to Div 1 goes ahead, it will be because all the doormat chairmen of the SPL have accepted it. If they think that their supporters will lie back and accept their dodgy compromise they might be in for a shock. I would hope there would be a massive reaction from every club fanbase in the SPL which illustrates to their greedy chairmen that, if it's financial expediency which drives them, the income from their own support is every bit as or more important than the 30 pieces of silver they get from Sky and the hun supporters.

Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Saintees post above is brilliant!

Well said Bairns chairman, Martin Ritchie also
    Agree re the Saintees post. But if Martin Ritchie has been quoted correctly then I think he´s willing to do a deal. See the bit in bold. Thing is, clubs in SFL are probably much closer to thier supporters than SPL clubs - so I can´t see them collectively agreeing to anything that makes life easy for the Sevco Huns.

"Falkirk chairman Ritchie insists the price of entry for Rangers must be a wide-ranging shake-up of the Scottish game. The SPL will meet on Thursday, with the SFA proposal on the agenda.

Jimmy Carr has avoided so much tax that in Scotland he's known as ....

Comedian 12

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    And they wonder why everyone hates them.

Guy working in JJB sports has a wee dig at Rangers fan's expense. By the third page his description, store location and email address for official complaints are there for all to see. All accompanied by the stereotypical Hun response to anything they don't like.

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/inde...ntry1060144060
    More comedy gold!

The website that just keeps giving.

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar

Absolutely spot on.

They must be made to languish in junior football as would have happened to Airdrie had they not bought over Clyde.

No justice if they go to 1st Div and then bounce back. That just gives every team in Scotland the justification to do as you say - spend beyond their means, not pay their taxes then give the good old Agincourt salute to the rest of the world!

If theire punishment is 1st Div - that in my opinion is worse than allowing them into the SPL straight off - it is pretending they've been punished but just covereing up their offences!

**** them!

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I know it won't be popular but I think a year out the SPL is a decent compromise.

They'll get there punishment, we'll probably still keep the finances of the tv deal and we'll be able to change the voting structure.
    It is a rubbish compromise. 1 year out, still with a tv deal, win the league easily, and back, debt free, in 2013.

Surely you agree that is a very poor punishment for all that has went on? It would be an absolute disgrace and no mistake.

Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Is this mangling all the issues into 1?
    To allow a new company into the SPL the clubs have decided a vote should be taken looking at each case individually.
    Whatever the outcome will be the outcome.

Then there will be the tax case
    Then there will be the dual contracts
    Then there will be the issue with the accounts
    Then they have to live within their means
    Then there will be the alternative punishment
    There may be an issue regarding a conflict of interest by D&P

So much going on I think the club is ****ed.
    I agree although it looks like Sevco 5088 are applying to create a football club to appeal to the people who used to support Rangers

That club look likely to get knocked back from joining the SPL

From reports it looks like the SFA / SPL are trying to work something out that allows Sevco into a league below SPL...

It's still important that pressure is kept on the authorities to ensure Sevco's best case scenario is division 3

As time goes on things look bleak for Sevco, as you rightly point out. Their players are all leaving, they don't have a football club name i believe, I think there may well be no Secvo5088 in Scottish football at all next season.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    It is a rubbish compromise. 1 year out, still with a tv deal, win the league easily, and back, debt free, in 2013.

Surely you agree that is a very poor punishment for all that has went on? It would be an absolute disgrace and no mistake.
    Yeah, having thought about it and from reading the posts on here you're probably right.

If they get relegated they really do have to start at the bottom of the SFL, that's what happened with Livi and Airdrie (i think) so they really do have to go by the same rules, they can't get special treatment because they're a big club.

Ignore my earlier post, appears i was talking pish.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Yeah, having thought about it and from reading the posts on here you're probably right.

If they get relegated they really do have to start at the bottom of the SFL, that's what happened with Livi and Airdrie (i think) so they really do have to go by the same rules, they can't get special treatment because they're a big club.

Ignore my earlier post, appears i was talking pish.
    Ah, that was easy

Originally Posted by blackpoolhibs

The first stated priority, according to the DR report on their 'secret meeting', will be to "find a mechanism to allow Rangers to be parachuted into Division 1"

For that I read 'unilaterally change the rules or move the goalposts'.

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Can you provide a link for this statement please as it is not what they released last week.

The statement I read was published in the sun (a paper from the same parent company) stating sky would not be walking away from the SPL regardless of whether rangers were in or not, and had no interest in running or interfering with the SPL.

This statement directly contradicted the piece in the daily record saying that sky would pull out if rangers were not present. It also expressed anger that the records piece was stirring up trouble (the record has history with printing negative stories about sky, not of the same parent company).
    It was in one of the morning rags,maybe 3 or 4 days before the statement about Sky not walking away from the SPL,the guy said something like" While we would consider a one Div.demotion as maybe agreeable,it is doubtful if we would agree to an absence of 3yrs" I would be very surprised if Sky and Spl had not held exploratory talks regarding the situation.