Page 43 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3341424344455393 ... LastLast
Results 1,261 to 1,290 of 3758
    If Kyle could prove his fitness I'd take him in a second.

Holds the ball up well and brings other players into the game. Add to that he's a big, ugly, bullying barsteward. and I don't think he's one to dismiss.

He certainly had Paul Hanlon bricking it whenever he faced him.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    The fact that he has had a lot of injuries mean we shouldnt touch him with a bargepole ..
    I'd be happy enough to let our medical team make that call after a thorough medical.

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    The fact that he has had a lot of injuries mean we shouldnt touch him with a bargepole ..
    And yet the common concensus is that we should be doing everything we can to sign James McPake

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenPJ View Post
    If he gets fit and its reasonable terms he would be a great foil for Doyle but would imagine the fact he has talked about it has prob ruled out a move.
    I think he would be a good signing. As you say, we need a bit of variation up front and he could compliment Doyle. Also adds a bit of height up front, especially if we can get in some players who actually know how to cross a ball. His injuries are a bit of a concern, but the club will have to make the right call about that.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    A fit Kevin Kyle would be a good signing, the fact he's had a lot of injuries shouldn't effect his game too much as he never had any pace in the first place.

We've not had a striker able to hold the ball up and bring midfielders into the game since Killen and we're crying out for a forward like that.

Agreed but it won't be Kyle. I would be absolutely staggered if he manages to play more than a handful of games for anyone next season.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    I saw him at the airport in Florida on Sunday. He looks like he could be a wee bit short of match fitness.

I'd take him on a low basic with bonuses for appearances etc though.
    . No chance, his hips are more riddled with arthritis than Ian Murray's

It's appears Hibs are in contact with several players. PF certainly trying to get players in. But still no signings. Is this progress?

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    It's appears Hibs are in contact with several players. PF certainly trying to get players in. But still no signings. Is this progress?
    Aye and naw. Maybes aye, maybes naw. He has been busy - he was on the blower the Monday am after that final. We need some action though IMHO - and that is tangible signings!

It all hinges on whether we sign better players or not (or get first choices even).

All we can do is moan about and blame those damn 'stumbling blocks'

There will be plenty of crap we can sign over the summer and espeically towards the end of August.

We'll have a crap team completed soon enough, nothing to worry about.

10 days to go

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    It all hinges on whether we sign better players or not (or get first choices even).
    It also hinges on whether or not these better players will want to play for us!

Unfortunately, as a Club, our reputation has gone down the swanny in recent years and we're not such an attractive proposition as we once were.

Kevin Kyle really wasnt the type of player I considered when pat was discussing "the right type of player" the club needed to sign. Injury issues...fitness issues..

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    It also hinges on whether or not these better players will want to play for us!

Unfortunately, as a Club, our reputation has gone down the swanny in recent years and we're not such an attractive proposition as we once were.
    Maybe, although I'd think most players will go where they are paid what they expect and playing in a nice stadium with great training facolities should help.

Lets not get away from thew fact that recent managers have failed in their job of attracting the right players.

They have got ones who will have cost us a fair bit, guys who have been at big clubs, and so I'm not sure the reputation thing is really putting players off.

I haven't seen any indication that other teams find it any more straightforward to get the players they want.

Hibs are going to get relegated if it's anything like last season

I've been staying away from Hibs news as at least the huns story gives some entertainment

Very frustrating if Hibs don't vastly improve on the imposters of the Cup Final

Kyle could be the man to shove it up the jambos

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    Shouldn't take too much.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Would it be any worse for the club or attract any more heat to the board and manager if they actually came out and said:

' we are working away, looking for right players blah de blah. Since the Catas-trophy in May we have made offers for Johnny Hayes, Johnny Haines, Johnny Hates Jazz, Neil Alexander, Neil Armstrong, Neil Beforezod, Farid Al Argui, Farid Fawcett, Farid Al Queda, etc' and just name who we've missed out on.

This would show the support that:

a) We're trying
    b) The type of player we're after
    c) A reality check for the supporters on how difficult it is getting players to Hibs
    d) Managing expectations on who might actually come to Hibs etc.

Would that really be any worse than trotting out the 'working round the clock, players on holiday, takes time, right type of player' Thomas F. Kite that we get no matter who the manager is?

Kyle?

Just got a text from my son to say we have offered Kevin Kyle a deal, is this right? was on Sky Sports news apparently

@hibs.net private member WellingtonHibby's Avatar
    In the Scotsman today too. I'd take him.
    Kicking it in Wellington .

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Dangerous when he plays - but too much on the treatment table for me!

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Very good option if the right deal can be struck. FWIW, Billy Brown reckoned that Hearts end of season slump in the season before last was entirely down to Kyle being injured - he certainly was an important player for them.

well, i for one think it's very benevolent of hibs to offer kyle the full use of our treatment table and medical facilities go hibs, bring murray back as well please :)

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    well, i for one think it's very benevolent of hibs to offer kyle the full use of our treatment table and medical facilities go hibs, bring murray back as well please :)
    Maybe we are taking Kyle down tae East Mains tae scare the gull's away ..

I'd take a ft Kevin Kyle, if such a beast exists.

He's a right niggly git too which is what we need.

Maybe we are taking Kyle down tae East Mains tae scare the gull's away ..

we already have that effigy of fulton :(

KK is far too ugly to play for Hibs

Quote Originally Posted by Judas Iscariot View Post
    KK is far too ugly to play for Hibs

PSN ID: EdinburghHibee86
    I got told this the week after the final that hibs had been in talks with Kyle (my mate was at his stag doo ;) ) posted it on here somewhere so it seems that the talks have moved on if it's true and he is at east mains.

I would take him on a pay as you play contract for the first year if he hits a certain amount of games he gets the full contract. Seem risky to go for anything else IMO.