View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 418 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3183684084164174184194204284685189181418 ... LastLast
Results 12,511 to 12,540 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    Rangers trying to buy Bury and take their place in England...

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/footba...sh-club-904611
    Right on que, grade A, prize winning bull****.

No facts, no quotes, no ******* chance. Ignoring that the Football League has already said they aren't and never will be welcome, ignoring that the authorities have said previously they'd never allow another situation remotely like MK Dons and that they have done about as much as possible to **** off FIFA and UEFA and this bring us to the conclusion that either A. These journalists are utter morons. B. They are deliberately printing crap to keep the Rangers fans buying papers.

The media should be reporting the truth of the situation, not constantly playing down their crimes, making up fake billionaire buyers, impossible escape routes and all the other torrents of crap they've been pushing for months now!

Pity they couldnae find somewhere a bit further away than Bury

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    All for that, the sooner the better.
    To paraphrase Shakespeare:

Friends, Huns, fellow loyalists, lend me your ears;
    I come to Bury Rangers, not to praise them.
    The evil that huns do lives after them;
    Yet Craig Whyte says he was ambitious;
    And, sure, he is an dishonourable man.
    I speak not to disprove what Charles Green spoke,
    But here I am to speak what I do know.

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    To paraphrase Shakespeare:

Friends, Huns, fellow loyalists, lend me your ears;
    I come to Bury Rangers, not to praise them.
    The evil that huns do lives after them;
    Yet Craig Whyte says he was ambitious;
    And, sure, he is an dishonourable man.
    I speak not to disprove what Charles Green spoke,
    But here I am to speak what I do know.
    Ha ha ha :)

Drivel.

How often have they got to be told that all games in Scotland come under the jurisdiction of the SFA?

They would have to say no.

How often have they got to be told that all games in England come under the jurisdiction of the FA?

They have said no every time they have been asked by whoever cared to ask them.

Just something left over from April 1st.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    When the press turn to these Rangers PR mouthpieces instead of their business or other, more capable journalists to report this story, then yes, they are a factor.

Thing is, I don't remember how the whole story broke in the first place? Was it HMRC announcing the BTC or something? Did Keith Jackson have anything to do with it?

I'm just wondering why it was left to football journos and not business / finance correspondants? Was it just a case that nobody new there was a story to be found?

I mean, did anyone suspect there were the dual payments going on 5 or 10 years ago? Do we think that some in the media have know about it for years and said nothing, and they are only reporting it now since it all came out during the admin process?

I'm pretty sure that most of this was new news when the extent of the debts were revealed by D&P and the EBT payments by Newsnight. The media seemed genuinely shocked by what was revealed so I would doubt that parts of the press had been sitting on it for years.

I have no idea though. There's way too many issues to try and follow!!

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    Well rightly or wrongly they are the most prominent, or among the most prominent commentators on the Scottish game. When the press turn to these Rangers PR mouthpieces instead of their business or other, more capable journalists to report this story, then yes, they are a factor.

Correct!
    BBC Scotland continues to go to that erse "Chris McLaughlin Senior Football Reporter" whenever some new financial aspect crops up.

I'm sure they have far better qualified people on their staff than him to report on such stories.
    Traynor has presented a couple of t.v.shows, and is a regular on Sportsound, where he's to be found with Chick and B. Dodds et al spouting absolute nonsense and still not decrying Minty Moonbeam Murray's part in all this.

The only reporter who's tried to cover this story from a Scottish Football perspective is Jim Spence.

A message for Rangers Fans

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    Brilliant Mainboy, that's cheered ma hellish nightshift up a bit

Quote Originally Posted by Mainboy19 View Post

First Team Breakthrough hibee1994's Avatar

Rangers look at buying Bury for entry to English Football League

As it says in the title

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...eague-One.html

Not even sure this is possible - can anyone confirm?

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    So a dirty conniving club rotten to the very core, and I stand by my statement if it is not true. Why should Bury fans be sold out because Rangers are the biggest cheats in British football history? I hope now UEFA or FIFA step in and bury this sad sorry club once and for all.

Quote Originally Posted by Salt & Sauzee View Post
    So a dirty conniving club rotten to the very core, and I stand by my statement if it is not true. Why should Bury fans be sold out because Rangers are the biggest cheats in British football history? I hope now UEFA or FIFA step in and bury this sad sorry club once and for all.
    Totally agree. Btw love the unintentional pun at the end there

Quote Originally Posted by hibee1994 View Post
    Totally agree. Btw love the unintentional pun at the end there
    I looked at it and thought 'christ, there isn't another word I can use!'

But on a serious note hopefully this will make a bigger body step up and take action, even the FA would bring sufficient news coverage to this story if it is indeed true.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar

Tremendous!!!!

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    surely this is good news? - good riddance to the stuff stuck on our shoes

Brilliant!

Quote Originally Posted by son of haggart View Post
    surely this is good news? - good riddance to the stuff stuck on our shoes
    Far rather they were in the third division than destroying a club. How would you feel if your club went under because another one had cheated the tax man and gone into admin? Lets remember that Bury has supporters like us who have emotional ties to their club - it would be morally wrong to back this move even if it meant we were shot of Rangers.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Let them go.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee1994 View Post
    Far rather they were in the third division than destroying a club. How would you feel if your club went under because another one had cheated the tax man and gone into admin? Lets remember that Bury has supporters like us who have emotional ties to their club - it would be morally wrong to back this move even if it meant we were shot of Rangers.
    Exactly, we have to just hope that such a move is blocked by the relevant authorities to protect the integrity of both English and Scottish football. Bury are a club, with a history and a fan base just like us, just like Hearts, Queens Park and almost every other team, bar The Rangers FC 2012 of course. Hopefully we punt them to the 3rd Division and hopefully they don't in turn try to kill another club because they could not pay their taxes and cheated their way to success and in return were burdened with debt.

Bury - How abso******lutely appropriate.

Sabre rattling pish ..hammer us & we leave ..go easy on us & we stay because Scottish football needs us ..blah blah blah ..

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    It would be the perfect solution though. We wouldn't have to listen to any more of their jabbering pish because they wouldn't be in Scottish football anymore. I'd love to stand at the border and count how many of the 'loyal follow followers' make the long trip to the away games and vice versa how many English fans would make the trip north to the Royal'n'Loyal Burgh of Queen's Govan. Not many I think.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post

Thing is, I don't remember how the whole story broke in the first place? Was it HMRC announcing the BTC or something? Did Keith Jackson have anything to do with it?

I'm just wondering why it was left to football journos and not business / finance correspondants? Was it just a case that nobody new there was a story to be found?
    I mean, did anyone suspect there were the dual payments going on 5 or 10 years ago? Do we think that some in the media have know about it for years and said nothing, and they are only reporting it now since it all came out during the admin process?

I'm pretty sure that most of this was new news when the extent of the debts were revealed by D&P and the EBT payments by Newsnight. The media seemed genuinely shocked by what was revealed so I would doubt that parts of the press had been sitting on it for years.

I have no idea though. There's way too many issues to try and follow!!
    Think the RangersTaxCase blog was up and running for about a year before Young or Traynor ever mentioned the Huns' finances. And when they did it was not to present facts but to promote the Huns' cause. They're either 'just match reporters' or they're not. The relentless stream of PR pish which has come from them this year clearly indicates they're not just match reporters - whatever else they are they've failed at it, miserably.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Rangers buying Bury and playing in league 1 leave it out, what a load of pesh, it will never happen. Huns grasping at straws, poor poor Huns, it's cr@p like this that makes footy fans hate them even more

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Hilarious. Talk about scaremongering, do it our way or we leave!! Our source said they are thinking about it. Article then goes on to say they don't know if it's even possible... Absolute pish. This has obviously been put out by Greens ppl and it is a twofold release in that 1) it attempts to put pressure on Spl chairmen to do as they say and 2) the Orc hordes will.be curling one out and start buying in to Chas Green!!!

DAILY RANTIC TODAY

They have an exclusive dossier on how to save Scottish Football

One of the four measures headlined is.....

GLASGOW CUP TO BE REVIVED

Well thank **** for that we can all sleep peacefully now that if that proposition goes through Scottish Footy is saved

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    DAILY RANTIC TODAY

They have an exclusive dossier on how to save Scottish Football

One of the four measures headlined is.....

GLASGOW CUP TO BE REVIVED

Well thank **** for that we can all sleep peacefully now that if that proposition goes through Scottish Footy is saved
    Not going to read the rag, but what's the format for the Glasgow Cup? Is it two teams, one round, with no extra time or penalties, and compliant referees, so that it would be theoretically possible to have four matches between those teams, all of which could be televised?

Fairly humorous and perhaps the only piece that's actually questioned Wally's motives;

Tom English: ‘Walter’s Agony’? What about agony of the fans

)
    By TOM ENGLISH
    Published on Thursday 21 June 2012 00:00

THIS Rangers story can sometimes feel like a Hollywood B movie, such is the bonkers nature of the plot.

There was one of these things on television recently, the Creeping Terror it was called (otherwise known as the Crawling Monster), a horror that came out in the 1960s in which a giant slug terrorises an American town after escaping from a crashed space ship. Frankly, after five months covering the outrageous twists and turns in the fall of Rangers the notion of some killer alien mollusc doesn’t seem so ludicrous any more. Nothing does. Even the loopy directors who made those crappy horror films would struggle to do justice to Rangers: The Movie. As the saying goes, truth is stranger than fiction.

Yesterday evening saw another development, the entrance into this great drama of Allan Bulloch, a Glasgow businessman who was once disqualified in the 1990s from being a company director for seven years and who was then declared bankrupt (twice) before re-inventing himself as Allan Stewart under which name he is said to be preparing an £11 million bid to buy Rangers along with his partner in their property developing firm, Stephen McKenna. Social networking went insane at the news. In a heartbeat their history was unveiled and it didn’t look good. HMRC once went after the pair of them for an unpaid tax bill of £78,000 and eventually wound up their company. Deja vu.

Here was the thing, though. Here was the equivalent of the alien slug in the crashed space ship. The surreal ‘You cannot be f****** serious!’ element was not so much their colourful past (Rangers people are almost unshockable about such things these days) but the suspicion that McKenna is, wait for it, a suspected Celtic fan! Could it be true? ‘Rangers sold to one of THEM!’ The Kafkaesqe nightmare would be complete at that point.

Is there any substance to these guys? You could do worse than assume a default position of presuming everyone who says they want to save Rangers is a bluffer. Stewart and McKenna, we are told, are about to drop out of the sky with £11m. Yeah, whatever. Only a few days ago most of the Rangers support believed that Walter Smith was poised to ride to the rescue backed up the fortunes of Jim McColl and Douglas Park and look how that turned out. Last Thursday, Smith issued a statement that said in its opening paragraph “I am leading a new bid for Rangers Football Club” but his leadership didn’t extend to cutting short his holiday to come back to Glasgow to do some face-to-face talking with the people who mattered.

Neither, of course, did it amount to much of a bid. Smith and McColl spoke of the necessity of getting the club out of Green’s hands and into the bosom of Rangers people who would stabilise it and then nurse it back to health. Clearly their fear was that Green would wreak even further damage on the beleaguered institution. So, their motives were pure, but where was their money? A bid of £6m was never going to cut it. You expected them to go higher, but they didn’t. They retreated. It was feeble stuff.

Those who can see no wrong in Smith are banking on his consortium returning if Green’s group doesn’t have the finance to keep the club going. They see it as a tactic rather than a piece of time-wasting worthy of some of the other time-wasters who have been involved in this story in the past. It was amusing to read of “Walter’s Agony” on Wednesday. What about the agony of the Rangers fans who believed that his group would do what needed to be done in order to get the club out of Green’s hands? Indeed, what about Smith’s mate who broke down in tears on the telephone? That, we were told, was the catalyst for the great man to try and save the club. McColl and Park have several fortunes between them but obviously not the interest to part with enough millions to back up their fighting talk with action. Maybe they’ll come again. That’s a straw that all Bears will be clutching right now.

In the meantime there is Green and a lengthy list of questions about who, precisely, is in his consortium and how much money they have. Oh yes, and the triple whammy of potential knockout blows, the 4 July SPL vote, the double contracts iceberg and Lord Carloway’s revised verdict on the sins of the Whyte era. Throw in the state of flux with the playing squad, the uncertain future of Ally McCoist, the disappointment of Smith’s apparently stomach-less consortium, the berating they’re getting from Celtic supporters as a club with no name and now the appearance of a potential new bidder with more baggage than a travelling orchestra and you begin to feel the pain of the Rangers fan in the street.

Walter’s Agony? Frankly, I could think of an awful lot of people more deserving of sympathy than the former Rangers manager.

Toddy Forsyth on 5 live radio

Good old Roddy sounding upbeat about his latest exclusive which allegedly sees Sevco5088 admitted to SPL and immediately relegated to 1st division. Don't see how that would work but he says this is the club chairmens' preferred route and "placates" fans. Once again no justice in Scottish football if this happens.

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    This is a photo of Steve McKenna, one of the latest two prospective suitors

newhun.jpg