Page 18 of 126 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868118 ... LastLast
    I've seen Benji's name pop up a couple of times on Facebook and the like. Rumored to be in talks, but probably just babble.

Sorry if aforementioned.

@hibs.net private member Bighoose's Avatar

Oh what surprise.....

Just on twitter...

Keith Downie ‏@STVkeith
    Hearts have joined the race to sign Coventry's James McPake - despite the defender spending the second half of last season at Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs-1875 View Post
    I've seen Benji's name pop up a couple of times on Facebook and the like. Rumored to be in talks, but probably just babble.

Sorry if aforementioned.
    talks wi who? Real Madrid??

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    talks wi who? Real Madrid??
    Aha, Hibs, if I wasn't clear
    Again, no real source, just a rumor I've seen floating around pal.

Quote Originally Posted by Bighoose View Post
    Just on twitter...

Keith Downie ‏@STVkeith
    Hearts have joined the race to sign Coventry's James McPake - despite the defender spending the second half of last season at Hibs.
    That'll pee the jambos off that have told me for the last 6 months that McPake is utter gash and wouldn't get near their bench never mind the starting 11.
    the lot of them.

i'm sure securing carrier bag would be more a priority for them?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs-1875 View Post
    Aha, Hibs, if I wasn't clear
    Again, no real source, just a rumor I've seen floating around pal.
    No need to explain pal, nobody in their right mind will take that one seriously.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Just on twitter...

Keith Downie ‏@STVkeith

C'mon Petrie, get a deal done!

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Just on twitter...

Keith Downie ‏@STVkeith
    I will genuinely hit the beeping roof if they are 'allowed' to sign him through RP mismanagement

Come on Hibs, get it done. In Rod we trust........

@hibs.net private member Gerard's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    I will genuinely hit the beeping roof if they are 'allowed' to sign him through RP mismanagement

First Team Regular muirhousehibby's Avatar
    Michael o'connor tonight signed for rotherham on a free contract. Offered more cash and was close by to were he stayed too. Irish contact texted me a couple of hrs ago witht the news.

Quote Originally Posted by muirhousehibby View Post
    Michael o'connor tonight signed for rotherham on a free contract. Offered more cash and was close by to were he stayed too. Irish contact texted me a couple of hrs ago witht the news.
    He probably got it off the BBC. They reported it at tea-time.

Yes, would be embarrassing.

As for the Benji rumour, doubt this is true but if it then then all I can say is please God no !

How is it RP mismanagement if we dont sign him? We all know Hearts pay well above what we, or they, can afford. If hearts are looking to sign him then he will take the money they offer over ours, as three of their starting 11 in the cup final did. There is no loyalty in football other than from us, the fans.

If he signs for them, he signs for them.

c'mon folks....It's all about the Balance Sheet.

Let's see what cheapo deals are available end of August.

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_in_Prague View Post

Its much simpler than that, its about who pays the bills. Vlad's companies have written off over £16m of their extravagance in the last two seasons alone. Thats more than we, or they, brought in. Thats why he will sign for them if they make an offer.

Whether thats right or not is currently, given Rangers situation, open to debate but nonetheless thats the reality.

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_in_Prague View Post

I hope you are wrong. This time we need to have the majority of the squad in place before our first pre-season kick about.

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    Its much simpler than that, its about who pays the bills. Vlad's companies have written off over £16m of their extravagance in the last two seasons alone. Thats more than we, or they, brought in. Thats why he will sign for them if they make an offer.

Whether thats right or not is currently, given Rangers situation, open to debate but nonetheless thats the reality.
    The yams are pobably still paying more than us, but it won't be by much. They are a hopeless business model and it would seem that even Vlad has woken up to the fact that they need to start living within their means from now on. Aye they have a (slightly) larger average gate, but they also have horrendous debts to service. It's gonna be interesting to see how they line up next season. Hopefully without McPake.

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    How is it RP mismanagement if we dont sign him? We all know Hearts pay well above what we, or they, can afford. If hearts are looking to sign him then he will take the money they offer over ours, as three of their starting 11 in the cup final did. There is no loyalty in football other than from us, the fans.
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Sad but true. I would hope that this is an opportunity for the board to show us that they are serious about sorting the team out. McPake is a key signing - he's popular with the fans and has proven his worth at this level.

Seeing him sign across the city would be yet another nail in the board's coffin, regardless of the statements about finances.

If they want him they will have to pay. They also will have to pay more than the 100 grand we'd get him for as that is a special fee included in his loan contract. Can't see them shelling out 2-3 hundred grand.
    Last edited by Kato; 31-05-2012 at 08:23 AM.

There's a long thread overby on their possible signing of McPake. As you would expect, 99% of the posters tear him to shreds and say they don't want him but their protests are so loud and the detail so deep that it is clear that they are wetting themselves at the circumstances of taking him from under our noses. Petrie is driven by money and business but surely even he can see the benefit of nailing down McPake right now from both the playing point of view and the sorely needed morale boost it would give the fans after the nightmare of last seson.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    There's a long thread overby on their possible signing of McPake. As you would expect, 99% of the posters tear him to shreds and say they don't want him but their protests are so loud and the detail so deep that it is clear that they are wetting themselves at the circumstances of taking him from under our noses. Petrie is driven by money and business but surely even he can see the benefit of nailing down McPake right now from both the playing point of view and the sorely needed morale boost it would give the fans after the nightmare of last seson.
    It would be an enormous kick in the baws for us if after getting horsed in the final off of THEM our board was then to lay down meekly and allow the Yams to swipe McPake from under our noses. I for one would be ****in furious

Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    It would be an enormous kick in the baws for us if after getting horsed in the final off of THEM our board was then to lay down meekly and allow the Yams to swipe McPake from under our noses. I for one would be ****in furious
    So at what point should we allow what we can afford to pay to be dicated by some other team who don't care about debt.

You can't, you stick to your upper level and if that turns out not be enough then tough, that's the reality of the situation and the Board would be failing in their duties if they did not see it this way.

We lost the final but let's not lose our grasp on reality eh?

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Just on twitter...

Keith Downie ‏@STVkeith
    Someone else on his feed said that it was dependant on Zaliukus going to Sheffield United and Downie said that this was correct - hopefully the fact that they didn't get promoted and have to cut their wage budget will scupper that.

First Team Breakthrough Thomson's Avatar

Gamertag: Thomson8508
    The 100k for mcpake was only for us right? Which means "they" would have to pay more for him right? Anyone know what the asking price is outwith ourselves?

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    One thing that may work in our favour is that if what we have heard on here is true, i.e. he is looking for a 3 year deal and stability for his family, then he may not fancy signing for a club who hasn't paid it's wages on time on a regular basis - and who lost a player last year (Stevenson) who was looking for stability for him and his pregnant wife. I could just be clutching at straws, of course.

It's also interesting that Paolo Sergio is quoted in this morning's Metro as saying that he wants to know what kind of budget he will have for next season before committing himself to a new contract - so he obviously cannot be involved in any pursuit of McPake.

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    So at what point should we allow what we can afford to pay to be dicated by some other team who don't care about debt.

You can't, you stick to your upper level and if that turns out not be enough then tough, that's the reality of the situation and the Board would be failing in their duties if they did not see it this way.

We lost the final but let's not lose our grasp on reality eh?
    Andy. Appreciate all of the above but the reality is we can only afford peanuts and we all know what that buys. I was advised this morning that the upper limit is £1500 p/w but I would assume that there will be win and play bonuses above that.

We will still be scraping around bringing in players at the end of the transfer window who no one else wants. We will get angry when they do not perform to the standard we would like and the board will come out and say its the managers team and he has brought in the new players. The reality will be that he has not brought in the players he wanted due to financial constraints and has had to seettle for second or third choice players. I cannot see us improving on this strategy and we can only flirt with relegation so many times before we drop and to be honest I would not fancy our chances of coming straight back up.

We could end up losing a lot more if we do not spend sufficient amounts to stay clear of the relegation zone and aim for some european dosh.

Yes, I think you are clutching at straws. Let's not kid ourselves yet again that the Jambo's 'fitness for purpose' chestnut will inhibit their progress in footballing terms and prevent them from signing players. The new rules announced yesterday about non-payment of players will put an end to their 'calculated risks' in this area. Whether we like their style or not, they function more than adequately.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    The most factually correct post I've read on here for a long time (well apart from mine of course!!!).

My sentiments as well. If he chooses them over us then that is his call and there is nothing we can do about it. There is limits how far you can go and although I want him signed as our captain I think we should make him a good offer and if it doesn't work we move on.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Seeing him sign across the city would be yet another nail in the board's coffin, regardless of the statements about finances.
    So what better way for an agent to get the best deal possible than leak a story to the papers about the nearest rivals being interested in signing him.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!