View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 276 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1762262662742752762772782863263767761276 ... LastLast
Results 8,251 to 8,280 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    So which is it Ally, do you want to stay or go?

http://www.sportspromedia.com/notes_...remier_league/

What unbelievable hypocrisy.

Sorry, I'll correct that statement. What totally believable hypocrisy.

So which is it Ally, do you want to stay or go?

http://www.sportspromedia.com/notes_...remier_league/
    The chances of him getting his wish to leave the SPL have improved in the last 24 hours

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    McCoist has been behaving like a spoilt little brat of late and now it seems as though it's everyone's fault apart from Rangers FC who apparently have behaved impeccably throughout.

His previous jovial good guy image has gone well and truly out of the window.

https://twitter.com/stvdavidc/status/203113474061115394

Interesting. A futile last ditch effort to overturn last night's decision? Mind you Doncaster will probably be willing to take his knickers off for him.

It's about time the findings of the SPL investigation into the dual contracts was made public too.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    McCoist has been behaving like a spoilt little brat of late and now it seems as though it's everyone's fault apart from Rangers FC who apparently have behaved impeccably throughout.

His previous jovial good guy image has gone well and truly out of the window.

I note he's not demanding that the identities of Green's consortium be made public...

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    https://twitter.com/stvdavidc/status/203113474061115394

Interesting. A futile last ditch effort to overturn last night's decision? Mind you Doncaster will probably be willing to take his knickers off for him.

It's about time the findings of the SPL investigation into the dual contracts was made public too.
    They can't over rule the panel of legal minds that are empowered to make decisions according to the rules all the clubs signed up to. If they do that I expect UEFA would unleash their fury, as there would be no defence of such actions.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    They can't over rule the panel of legal minds that are empowered to make decisions according to the rules all the clubs signed up to. If they do that I expect UEFA would unleash their fury, as there would be no defence of such actions.
    a later ....er... twit?...... seems to say that the meeting was planned a few days ago.....

maybe Emerald knew they were going to get the bums rush or it's about something else?

maybe he's on his knees pleading that they forget about the dual contracts and stuff and let them go to the 3rd div...... looking at what's gone before being totally bumped could be a serious possibility!

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Alf R View Post
    a later ....er... twit?...... seems to say that the meeting was planned a few days ago.....

maybe Emerald knew they were going to get the bums rush or it's about something else?

maybe he's on his knees pleading that they forget about the dual contracts and stuff and let them go to the 3rd div...... looking at what's gone before being totally bumped could be a serious possibility!
    Thomson's blog makes the point that nobody that isn't a moron would be surprised at the punishments being kept, if Green is indeed a serious bidder then you'd have to assume he knew that...

I agree, I think that the findings have left expulsion as the only possible punishment for the dual contracts issue. Of course it doesn't stop Rangers 2012 applying to the third division as a totally new entity, or buying up some other team and renaming them.

I think they key point is that the current Rangers days are numbered. A low number at that!

First Team Breakthrough Hibtastic's Avatar
    The arrogance in this article is beyond belief!!

http://www.sportinglife.com/football...ership&BID=425

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Thomson's blog makes the point that nobody that isn't a moron would be surprised at the punishments being kept, if Green is indeed a serious bidder then you'd have to assume he knew that...

I agree, I think that the findings have left expulsion as the only possible punishment for the dual contracts issue. Of course it doesn't stop Rangers 2012 applying to the third division as a totally new entity, or buying up some other team and renaming them.

I think they key point is that the current Rangers days are numbered. A low number at that!
    New club. No history. Same bigots.

Delusional, there is a rather large country to the South containing the richest leagues in the world...

I can't wait for this odious club to die

Quote Originally Posted by jonty View Post
    New club. No history. Same bigots.
    Brilliant! That gave me a laugh. That could the Newco's Moto?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibtastic View Post

boo hoo, we're getting picked on quite happy tae accept winning while cheating though

Personally I'd be gutted if they never turned up at ER

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

"One of the things that has been a very healthy part of Scottish football over the years is that Rangers have bought players from other Scottish clubs.

Looking forward to taking photos of an overgrown pitch and weeds growing in the stands at Ibroke.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    "One of the things that has been a very healthy part of Scottish football over the years is that Rangers have bought players from other Scottish clubs.

Aye, we should be grateful tae them, bought up everybody else's best players thus insuring lack of any competition and did it with money that wisnae theirs.

what a plum.

Fantastic, that will give the clubs that had been up for voting them back into the SPL a push to join us in the 'away and do one' camp

I was wondering if the Rangers fans would imagine the situation whereby their club had been run financially correct while another rival say for example Celtc, had deliberately flouted player contract rules for a number of years paying more than they could afford including avoiding tax and deliberately didnt pay tax worth £13m puounds thus allowing them to use money in other ways. If this other cheating team had won trophies throughout this period arguably due to this form of cheating what would the Rangers fans consider to be an appropriate punishment. I wonder if they would consider a £160k fine and not being able to transfer players for a year would be seen as appropriate. I would guess they would be screaming from the roof tops that this other club be banished from the league forever never to return.

It is indeed and anyone who is being asked to make comments on this from a Rangers perspective should at the very least have been made to read the SFA Report released last week which gave a full account of the situation and had a bit more substance than "a big Whyte boy did it and ran away".

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Stolen from elsewhere (X2) :-

"The appeal meeting will come to order.
    Please rise for the learned Judge Carloway.
    Please be seated."

Judge Carloway: "Will the counsel for the defence state the grounds for the appeal?"

Richard Keene QC: "We are the people."

Judge Carloway: "Appeal dismissed."

Classic young Jack,

Latest that Ive managed to gather .

1, Sponsored walk on Saturday being proposed 1872 spaces walker to get £100 for his mile and a bit trek,
    I wish they would make up their minds follow , follow or dont walk away gets awfi confusing

2. Rangers forums meeting about there terrible situation and how they are being treated shafted what ever , at Ibrox tonight 5.30 just in time for the STV News or Channel 4 @7, Boycott Boycott will be the cry

3. Charlie at Hampden today to meet Rocket Regan and Dolly Doncaster ,that will be his starter for 10 me thinks

4. Its rumoured that Sir David Murray of Murrayfield is trying to get this TV programme cancelled next week injunction etc , taken from RM

Heard about this today from good source. He says Murray trying for injunction to prevent broadcast as allegations of phone hacking by SDM of flat cap McCann's phone to beat Tim signings plan.

FFS man, gets worse.
    Last edited by cad; 17-05-2012 at 03:51 PM.

Smile

Just what are the Huns and their media apologists going to do now. We've had the ignoring facts phase, the obfuscation phase and then the downright untruth phase. We've had D & F's attempts at stretching to the limit any reasonable observers concept of credibility, not to mention a flagrant disregard for the norms of commercial governance. We await with rapt interest the result of the SPL's investigation into irregular payments and of course HMRC have to adjudicate on Rangers appeal on their assessment of unpaid task. Not to mention that the Green consortium are telling us with a straight face that they hope to secure a CVA, which will incidentally overturn HMRC's accepted policy.
    These then are in the main the facts in the public domain at this time
    I don't know about anyone else, but I wouldn't be putting money on Rangers in any capacity being around next season.
    Last edited by calmac12000; 17-05-2012 at 04:12 PM.

On this its just occurred to me, sorry I know this has been going on a while :-)

Does anyone else think that this case has been taken out of chronological order to try and keep them in?

These cases were deemed so serious only, note the word only, match rigging would have been more serious.

Personally I feel the deception around 75 players contracts who took part in more than 500 matches over more than 10 years to be considerably more serious but that's maybe just me, than avoiding tax over a few months.

If this case had been considered first and we all know they're guilty, the tax avoidance would be a serious 'second' offence where expulsion would have been the only option.

We now have the EBT / double contract, 'less serious' crimes to get a ruling on having been told these are not among the top two most serious offences so should attract a lesser sentence despite involving some £50m in avoided tax.

On this its just occurred to me, sorry I know this has been going on a while :-)

Does anyone else think that this case has been taken out of chronological order to try and keep them in?

These cases were deemed so serious only, note the word only, match rigging would have been more serious.

Personally I feel the deception around 75 players contracts who took part in more than 500 matches over more than 10 years to be considerably more serious but that's maybe just me, than avoiding tax over a few months.

If this case had been considered first and we all know they're guilty, the tax avoidance would be a serious 'second' offence where expulsion would have been the only option.

We now have the EBT / double contract, 'less serious' crimes to get a ruling on having been told these are not among the top two most serious offences so should attract a lesser sentence despite involving some £50m in avoided tax.
    I think it's the SPL that is investigating the double-contract situation. The SFA is, I think, the appeals body.

That said, the double-contract thing IS, in the main, about tax avoidance. So, in the SFA's eyes, guilt in that case would be a second offence of the same type.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 17-05-2012 at 04:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I think it's the SPL that is investigating the double-contract situation. The SFA is, I think, the appeals body.

That said, the double-contract thing IS about tax avoidance. So, in the SFA's eyes, guilt in that case would be a second offence of the same type.
    Oh goodie goodie :-)
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar

While the SFA have shown to be talking some action the SPL have been very quiet the last few months. We need updates on the dual contacts, as it seems to have been going on for month's. I also emailed them asking for their findings after Rangers were charged with sectarian singing against Kilmarnock, nothing back from them and as far as I am aware it has been conveniently brushed under the carpet. Disgrace if it has, media seem to have forgotten all about it as well.

Don't think so, pretty sure the SFA announced the Craig Whyte shenanigans enquiry before the SPL announced the double contract enquiry. Plus, as you say, the double contract enquiry stretches back years and should maybe take longer?

I think the SPL will wait for the FTT result on the BTC to arrive first. If the payments are found to be liable to tax then I think the SPL will have to treat them as payments for playing and the Hun will be toasted. Of course, I'd imagine Donkey Doncaster will be desperate to go easy on them compared to the SFA's independent judicial tribunals, which I have to say have been an absolute breath of fresh governance air in the last few weeks.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Don't think so, pretty sure the SFA announced the Craig Whyte shenanigans enquiry before the SPL announced the double contract enquiry. Plus, as you say, the double contract enquiry stretches back years and should maybe take longer?

I think the SPL will wait for the FTT result on the BTC to arrive first. If the payments are found to be liable to tax then I think the SPL will have to treat them as payments for playing and the Hun will be toasted. Of course, I'd imagine Donkey Doncaster will be desperate to go easy on them compared to the SFA's independent judicial tribunals, which I have to say have been an absolute breath of fresh governance air in the last few weeks.
    I think it will be difficult, too.

As you say, the HMRC verdict will give a decent basis. But, how likely is it that anyone is going to break ranks and say "oh yes, we were at it."?

Oh goodie goodie :-)
    It is my reading, that the current punishment is for misdemeanors committed under Craig Whytes stewardship. If the double cobtracts issue is proven then surely that must be judged independently from this. It seems to be unfair in terms of natural justice to treat and offence committed under the ancien regime as being a second breach of regulations since mens rhea is unlikely to be able to be proved on a retrospective basis. Alternatively, it may be adjudged as being evidence of widespread corporate failure. Apologies, just got a wee bit sidetracked. However the bottom line would appear to be that the Hun is in evident and hopefully fatal distress.