View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 272 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1722222622702712722732742823223727721272 ... LastLast
Results 8,131 to 8,160 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I thought the meeting was sceduled for later today.
    It is Jim. However as per usual they may require additional information before arriving at a verdict so that could delay proceedings.

And in any case they would be wise to postpone any verdict until after Saturday's final.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Just emailed Sportsound to see if their apologists can argue with that .. Get the Rangers (and their secterian bile) out!

Some one should email RP also.
    Last edited by IWasThere2016; 16-05-2012 at 08:52 AM.

Some brilliant info there !

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Paul McConville's blog updated

Rangers Administration – In Court Again on Friday 18th May

http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.co...ay-7/#comments

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    The fact that this has been a very high profile affair and has ran on now for 3 months (with more to come, I think), should mean that the SFA will have great difficulty sweeping this under the carpet as Uefa will be all over them if they try it.

The way I look at it is the SFA are just as much on trial as Rangers ,through there sheer incompetence bias and general feckupedness in running Scotlands football clubs the entire fabric of our football is up for a change whatever happens .

You could ask why a footballing governing body Uefa is having to hand out fines for sectarianism for instance , when you, would have thought our own governments stand point would have been the order of the day ,maybe the police didnt get Eck`s note ,Im sure he spoke about stamping this out positive he did ,its just with money being tight ,getting the arrest figures up I see 5,000 -40,000 Celtic and Rangers supporters every week having a sing song must be easy to catch , theyre locked in , on TV and CC TV ,a plethora of photographers its a dawdle to catch them evidence a plenty pictures sound witnesses yet,
    I ask myself , maybe Im hearing things when Im at Easter Road or watching a game on TV, I looked in many papers the following day see how many got collared zip ,zilch , heehaw how is that .

Then I thought about integrity ethics , corruption ,lies ,theft, misleading, half truths ,bias ,votes ,accountability ,turning a blind eye , fcek you jack Im alright ,
    then I thought hey dafty get a grip thats how its running now government backed to ,be interesting to see what happens at the end of all this if nothing else it proves a hell of a lot about Scotland and how its run,badly ,very badly IMO .

I agree with scottish that the SPL will survive without Rangers although I dont understand his calculation that Hibs would only need 98 additional supporters at each game.

My own calculations show,assuming the Cheats have two games at ER we need to make up a shortfall of 3700 X 2 = 7400 at £28 =£207200. To earn £207200 at category 2 games we need to bring in over the 19 home games 9418 additional customers. Or 496 per game. 248 if we had one Cheats game at ER.
    The additional 496 or 248 customers is more than achievable as the league without the Cheats would be more competitive. I believe over a season we (Hibs) would be financially better off due to reduced policing costs,more supporters through the gate by virtue of a competitive league where "sporting integrity" reigns.

Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Just emailed Sportsound to see if their apologists can argue with that .. Get the Rangers (and their secterian bile) out!

Don't expect a reply or any acknowledgement, it doesn't suite their OF saving agendas.

"We're doomed" they'll continue to tell us in the tabloids and on the television. "The big hoose must stay open" they'll continue to say.

Quote Originally Posted by killie-hibby View Post
    I agree with scottish that the SPL will survive without Rangers although I dont understand his calculation that Hibs would only need 98 additional supporters at each game.

My own calculations show,assuming the Cheats have two games at ER we need to make up a shortfall of 3700 X 2 = 7400 at £28 =£207200. To earn £207200 at category 2 games we need to bring in over the 19 home games 9418 additional customers. Or 496 per game. 248 if we had one Cheats game at ER.
    The additional 496 or 248 customers is more than achievable as the league without the Cheats would be more competitive. I believe over a season we (Hibs) would be financially better off due to reduced policing costs,more supporters through the gate by virtue of a competitive league where "sporting integrity" reigns.
    He's taken the average crowd for games against non-OF teams and subtracted the attendance at Huns' games (averaged if the team had them at home twice).

Since the away end at ER is full of Huns when they come and the crowd is only 1871 above the average of other games, then ~1500 less Hibbies attend games v Huns than on average, assuming the average away support is ~500.

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar

You would 100% be able to include me in those figures. I don't go to Cat A games now because financially I cannot justify paying over £28 for a game I can watch in the comfort of my house, having already paid for it. However, there is every chance I would be paying £22 quid to go watch Hibs v Dundee for example on a Saturday at 3.00pm rather than NOT watching rangers at 12.30pm on a Sunday.

@hibs.net private member Fergus52's Avatar

Gamertag: Zazu rafike
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post

definately, if he could show that to the oher SPL chairman hopefully it could make some sort of difference when they vote on the newco rules.

The guys point is that the huns do not bring an extra 3800 - the increase in attendance when compared to an average non-OF game is only 1900. Averaging out the top/bottom 6 finshes then we'll lose 3000 huns @ £28 = £84K.

However, factor back in the extra £70K or so for finishing higher in the league then the cash shortfall is only £14K. This can be made up through 35 more punters per game @ £22 or just 40 more season tickets @ £350.

Let them burn!

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    I'm also thinking about it from another angle....

Those teams that vote FOR the Newc, OK, they'll have the Huns at their games (maybe)

They wont however have Us, Celtic, Yams, Dundee Utd, Aberdeen + others AND they'll be losing a lot of their home support as well......
    Does losing all that really cover for having the Huns 2 maybe 4 times a season?

Quote Originally Posted by cad View Post
    The way I look at it is the SFA are just as much on trial as Rangers ,through there sheer incompetence bias and general feckupedness in running Scotlands football clubs the entire fabric of our football is up for a change whatever happens .

You could ask why a footballing governing body Uefa is having to hand out fines for sectarianism for instance , when you, would have thought our own governments stand point would have been the order of the day ,maybe the police didnt get Eck`s note ,Im sure he spoke about stamping this out positive he did ,its just with money being tight ,getting the arrest figures up I see 5,000 -40,000 Celtic and Rangers supporters every week having a sing song must be easy to catch , theyre locked in , on TV and CC TV ,a plethora of photographers its a dawdle to catch them evidence a plenty pictures sound witnesses yet,
    I ask myself , maybe Im hearing things when Im at Easter Road or watching a game on TV, I looked in many papers the following day see how many got collared zip ,zilch , heehaw how is that .

Then I thought about integrity ethics , corruption ,lies ,theft, misleading, half truths ,bias ,votes ,accountability ,turning a blind eye , fcek you jack Im alright ,
    then I thought hey dafty get a grip thats how its running now government backed to ,be interesting to see what happens at the end of all this if nothing else it proves a hell of a lot about Scotland and how its run,badly ,very badly IMO .

About sums up the views of the majority of non-OF fans in fact I'll broaden that to say most non-Rangers supporters. Since the latter seem to be the only support in Scotland who assume it is perfectly acceptable to sing offensive sectarian crap. Which their apologists dress up as an expression of their so-called British identity, resembling no such identity I am aware of in the country.

Thanks hibs0666 and JeMeSouviens for clarifying the calculations in the OP.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Don't expect a reply or any acknowledgement, it doesn't suite their OF saving agendas.

"We're doomed" they'll continue to tell us in the tabloids and on the television. "The big hoose must stay open" they'll continue to say.
    exactly! they dont want to entertain the idea of not having rangers, they make up and only acknowledge stats that suite their own opinion. My favourite being sky would walk away form the t.v deal with no rangers fc involved........well, is there a rangers in the blue square conference? no! but they have a deal. the first thing the other clubs have to do is fight for an even split of the t.v money right down the middle, there going down this route in spain. once this is done, only celtic will suffer financially, even without rangers, and less money coming in from sky, the other clubs will benefit getting an even split of this than a 3% share of the current deal. i agree with tom english if any team in the spl rely on 2 visits from rangers a year then they shouldnt be in the spl.

What I have difficulty understanding is the clamour from Doncaster, journalists, some clubs and supporters, et al, to talk down the SPL product. All they are doing is effectively ensuring that SKY or any other bidder, comes to the table with a laughable offer and an enormous file of quotes. No company can have rubbished their product more thoroughly since the jeweller (was it Ratner?) MD said in public they made big money selling “crap” and the whole business went mammary glands up

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    What I have difficulty understanding is the clamour from Doncaster, journalists, some clubs and supporters, et al, to talk down the SPL product. All they are doing is effectively ensuring that SKY or any other bidder, comes to the table with a laughable offer and an enormous file of quotes. No company can have rubbished their product more thoroughly since the jeweller (was it Ratner?) MD said in public they made big money selling “crap” and the whole business went mammary glands up
    Does anyone think Doncaster is any more than a mediocre middle-manager, patently out of his depth? Don't expect vision or leadership from him.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    Does anyone think Doncaster is any more than a mediocre middle-manager, patently out of his depth? Don't expect vision or leadership from him.
    I Cannae take him seriously since I saw him on that game show the chase.

Boy kens his quizzes but its doing an awful job at the SPL imo

Probably not much new for avid followers of this thread but could be worth tuning into:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01j0k6k

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Alf R View Post
    I'm also thinking about it from another angle....

Those teams that vote FOR the Newc, OK, they'll have the Huns at their games (maybe)

They wont however have Us, Celtic, Yams, Dundee Utd, Aberdeen + others AND they'll be losing a lot of their home support as well......
    Does losing all that really cover for having the Huns 2 maybe 4 times a season?

No, i would suggest it doesn`t. Clubs need their own support more i would have thought. They are certainly deserving of the clubs respect and consideration more than a few thousand Huns.

However, i think that the Scottish football fans collective bluff is about to be called. I think they`ll gamble that it`s all talk and the majority of fans will be there next season.

It`s a dangerous game they could be about to play..

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    What's happened with their appeal today? Cannot see anything on the Beeb nor on here?
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    What's happened with their appeal today? Cannot see anything on the Beeb nor on here?
    I think the hearing is this evening.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Ta. Still assumed it would be like previous matchdays, with a build-up to the event followed by the results later on, but if you were relying on the BBC you wouldn't know it was happening.
    ​#PERSEVERED

It takes place this evening but two or three people on this thread said that they think that no decision will be made tonight. Where they heard this I have no idea. This has just been confirmed on the BBC. IIRC it took one one meeting to find them guilty and sentence them but it's going to take several days to listen to an appeal. Something makes me uneasy about this.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RossHibs View Post
    No, i would suggest it doesn`t. Clubs need their own support more i would have thought. They are certainly deserving of the clubs respect and consideration more than a few thousand Huns.

However, i think that the Scottish football fans collective bluff is about to be called. I think they`ll gamble that it`s all talk and the majority of fans will be there next season.

It`s a dangerous game they could be about to play..

A lot of fans have just about had it with Scottish football as it is, without all the RFC cairry on.
    Last edited by snooky; 16-05-2012 at 06:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Probably not much new for avid followers of this thread but could be worth tuning into:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01j0k6k

Mark Daly was the first reporter to seriously challenge Whyte ,and caused the Beeb to be banned from match interviews of Rangers.

Doesn't seem to be one of the succulent lamb munchers (sookers?).

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    I am sure Sir Petrie of Tacheville has a spreadsheet on his computer which has worked everything out to the nearest 1p ;)

Knowing he has means I sleep easy at nights :D

The guys point is that the huns do not bring an extra 3800 - the increase in attendance when compared to an average non-OF game is only 1900. Averaging out the top/bottom 6 finshes then we'll lose 3000 huns @ £28 = £84K.

However, factor back in the extra £70K or so for finishing higher in the league then the cash shortfall is only £14K. This can be made up through 35 more punters per game @ £22 or just 40 more season tickets @ £350.

Let them burn!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01j...mme-broadcasts

Next wed 23 May 2012 20:00 BBC One

Looking forward to this :)

6pm i heard it was on, mind they didnt issue findings till 10pm last time.. I however think this will be delayed till after the cup final to aviod possible march again they were planning for sat

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    6pm i heard it was on, mind they didnt issue findings till 10pm last time.. I however think this will be delayed till after the cup final to aviod possible march again they were planning for sat

You ever get that feeling we have to plan every ****** thing around Rangers instead off telling them what to do ,hopefully they will be getting well telt this evening.