If STF cared about Scottish Fitba at all he would buy the Huns and shut them down. Farmer!This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 6,361 to 6,390 of 45185
-
30-04-2012 01:06 PM #6361
-
30-04-2012 01:14 PM #6362This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 01:14 PM #6363This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 01:23 PM #6364
The SPL clubs have delayed the vote on the financial fair-play stuff for a week but managed to push through the important stuff:
"Pitch protection rules will be introduced next season to minimise the risk of damage during pre-match warm-ups"
-
30-04-2012 01:34 PM #6365
Their just dragging it out till the end of the season until they can go into liquidation. Imagine all the crap that would happen if they went under before then, no way could they let a new co in.
-
30-04-2012 01:37 PM #6366This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I do realise that, just wanted to try and have a more balanced approach and give them (spl) the benefit of the doubt.
The main thing is that this thread rolls on for our entertainment....
-
30-04-2012 01:50 PM #6367This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Drivel!
-
30-04-2012 02:00 PM #6368
Could it be Hearts needed to go and ask Vlad if he fancied funding them next month or not?
-
30-04-2012 02:03 PM #6369
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteI've had a couple of months of entertainment out of this. I'm going to miss it, when it's all over.
-
30-04-2012 02:03 PM #6370
That retractable pitch can head back to the top of the 'what to spend our cup final money on' pile.
-
-
30-04-2012 02:07 PM #6372
- Blog Entries
-
30-04-2012 02:55 PM #6373This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Possibly although I will be very very surprised if the 6 man board would approve a Rangers newco into the SPL without the backing of the majority of it's members.
There is also the thought that if there are rules in places for the events currently happening why has there been such a rush to revise them? My understanding is that the rules as they stand are unclear and inconclusive in terms of dealing with a Rangers scenario hence my caution of creating new ones in the middle of the crisis, especially if they would be used as a smoke screen/excuse for the final implosion.
Lets face it if Rangers implode and come back as a newco who feel due to their transfer embargo and all the other problems of starting again that their best option is to rejoin the SFL then what value would have been added by the SPL coming out with new rules today that would have satisfied nobody. They would have been called too soft or too hard no matter what.
There is benefit in waiting and considering in this case I think although to be fair you might also be right...just another twist in what is a fascinating story!
-
30-04-2012 03:13 PM #6374
Much as I might be being naive, I think the crazy situation surrounding the Huns calls for a wee bit of reflection before rushing out new rules that are sure to satisfy no one and probably upset just as many.Providing the SPL are not simply trying to give Rangers the benefit of the doubt for the time being, I've no doubt that there's plenty more **** to hit the fan down Govan way
-
30-04-2012 03:26 PM #6375
Just a wee aside to mention that Lou Macari on Radio5Live earlier today was every bit as bad as every Hun and ex-Hun apologist (Hately, Jardine, McCoist, etc) has been with his 'Scottish Fitba cannot exist without Old Firm derbies and Rangers must stay' pish. If anything it was slightly more disgusting hearing it pour out of an ex-Clt's gob, pointing up again that those clubs are two of a kind.
People have been rightly ridiculing the native weegia's coverage of the whole affair, but Macari's not part of that and he's at least as bad. I've not heard Charlie Nicholas on the topic, but would guess he won't be much different. Perhaps we ought to think of the weegia as not just those who work for local TV, radio and press but as extending to everyone with a public voice who's ever set foot in Ibrox or Parkhead.
-
30-04-2012 03:34 PM #6376
I think everyone is right in that for Scottish Football to remain as it is we need both Celtic and Rangers in the SPL. The thing is, the way it is is crap unless you are a Celtic or Rangers fan, though it seems to be retaining this is the priority all round. We shouldn't be surprised though as papers get sold to these fans in large numbers and TV right are sold reliant on them.
The 'good of Scottish football' seems to be a difficult thing to pin down, it's either about having a commercial product that is forged on two big clubs and trying to allow them to be competitive in Europe and is of wide interest to OF fans and interested outsiders, or it's about a widely comptitive league that can survive on its own two feet and is run in the spirit of fairness, at whatever that natural level turns out to be.
I'm afraid that the self interest of efveryone in the position of influencing the game, be it within football or in the medai, is going to ensure that things get back to 'normal' very quickly, and that will be just great for 'Scottish football'.
-
30-04-2012 03:42 PM #6377This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It won't be long before we are looking back at this thread with a tear in our eyes wondering what might have been.
-
30-04-2012 03:51 PM #6378This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What I don't get is the reluctance of the other clubs to follow the blindingly obvious path of fairness. Sure, we'd all suffer a short term financial loss but as it would hit all the clubs at the same time, surely it would be a level playing field. Why can't the clubs cut their cloth accordingly? Why aren't they listening to what their own fans want? Why do they seem to be going to miss a once in a lifetime chance to change the structure of the game?
Genuinely baffled.
-
30-04-2012 03:57 PM #6379This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Much as I'd like them to suffer for eternity, there is a realistic pennace they should be made to serve, and that, to me is it. It'll be so refreshing to have them gone for three years at least, and hopefully (but Im not holding my breath) returning humbler to the SPL in 2015 or thereabouts
-
30-04-2012 04:05 PM #6380This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 04:49 PM #6381This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Ripped me off so they did!
http://www.hibs.net/asset.php?fid=76...8&d=1334701517"We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
"Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.
-
30-04-2012 05:19 PM #6382
If rangers became a New-Co would they retain the stadium and training facilities or are these assets that will be sold off to pay the creditors?
-
30-04-2012 05:30 PM #6383This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 05:35 PM #6384
Doncaster now on sportsound more or less saying that a newco is not much different from the CVA route, now you know how they will vote, more or less rubished the supporter survey, http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17325775
-
30-04-2012 05:35 PM #6385This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 05:40 PM #6386This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
So the chat you hear about Bill Miller offering £11M means he is offering that much to buy the assets of Rangers including stadium and training ground which would then be owned by the Newco. He then offers some pie in the sky pish about keeping the oldco alive, bringing it out of admin via CVA while newco carries on playing and then eventually merging the 2 companies later. Therefore keeping an unbroken history.
-
30-04-2012 05:46 PM #6387
KY Doncaster on Sportsound
Slippery as the above and ready to drop them for the bigots methinks.
Call me cynical.
-
30-04-2012 05:53 PM #6388This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 05:53 PM #6389This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-04-2012 06:02 PM #6390
What would happen about the transfer ban if Bill Miller's bid is successful since he seems to want to have both newcurrants and currentcurrants alive until a later date?