View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 193 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 931431831911921931941952032432936931193 ... LastLast
Results 5,761 to 5,790 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Jesus wept! Someone will have to step in and save the angelic Rangers from the bullying hordes of non Rangers fans and vindictive governing authorities. How dare they actually consider punishing wrongdoing. Haven't the God fearing Rangers support suffered enough.

Let's act now and set up a fighting fund to aid the put upon Gers, a whip round at every club in the country. We can call it the Traynor fund. Don't forget to tick the gift aid box for the avoidance of tax
    It’s quite breath taking isn’t it.

This is one of my favourite quotes:
    “Many believe the game would survive just fine without a club some love to hate. Of course we'd play on but would we prosper?”

Yet goes on to say “at as time when crowds are dwindling and other clubs are in financial peril”

So if saving Rangers at all costs will give us untold prosperity going forward why are we facing dwindling crowds and financial peril elsewhere currently? Surely the hugely beneficial effect of having Rangers around for the last 100+ years should have made all of Scottish football great by now!

Not one mention of the fact that they have effectively cheated, that they got themselves into this mess and that we must do our utmost to ensure sporting integrity going forward…nope nothing but it’s no’ fair and Rangers must be saved not just for the fans but for the good of us all and to hell with the fact that they cheated every football fan in Scotland and every tax payer in the UK.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    The interview with Sally has wound me up, they are meant to be cutting costs but can still obviously find the money to keep rangers tv going, surely things like that are not a necessity to the running of a football club and should have been given the chop
    They may have contracts signed and it could be easier to let it run till the end of the season than add to the pool of creditors including all subscribers to the thing.

It is the same argument about not cancelling season tickets and making everyone pay to get in.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    They may have contracts signed and it could be easier to let it run till the end of the season than add to the pool of creditors including all subscribers to the thing.

It is the same argument about not cancelling season tickets and making everyone pay to get in.
    I always did hate it when people bring common sense into the equation when im having a rant to myself Haha ;)

Quote Originally Posted by GhostofBolivar View Post
    'This decision could kill the club.' Aye, right. So it's the SFA's fault Rangers are in the state they're in, is it? Has nothing to do with the inbred ****bags wandering around Govan wearing club ties? Nothing to do with the way Whyte and Murray before him spent fortunes that they either didn't have or that belonged to someone else?

If I was in a charitable mood - I'd say that Rangers money men are guilty of gross immorality in the way that their accounts were handled. But I'm not. I would not be at all surprised if it emerged that they knowingly set out to commit fraud, tax evasion and a number of other criminal offences. I think they believed that no-one could touch them because they were the mighty Rangers and that they didn't care whether other clubs or organisations suffered because of their malfeasance. And they probably would have got away with it if they'd kept it to Scotland. But no, they got stupid and greedy and stole from HMRC. And then they found out that the taxman doesn't care about the great cultural institution of The Glorious Rangers FC. Boo-hoo. It's not our fault you dip****s were too greedy and not smart enough to render unto Caesar that which is Caesar's.

The SFA should have acted years ago - but then the Old Firm and the SFA have a relationship much like that between Tony Blair and Rupert Murdoch. If they'd done their jobs properly they might have had to stop sucking on the tit of corporate hospitality. And we can't have the chinless wonders from Hampden missing the Ibrox Christmas dinner, can we? Who knows when Donald Findlay is going to do one of his hilarious songs again?

I am now firmly of the opinion that no punishment is strong enough. The creditors should be given as much of the money owed to them as possible and the more unpleasant the way the money is extracted from Ibrox, the better.

o as for this idea that Rangers should be saved for the good of the game? Is it good for the game that Hearts won't get the money owed to them? Or Austria Vienna? Is it good that Rangers have cheated their way to titles and league positions that by rights belonged to honourable, law-abiding teams? It's okay that a club can break almost every financial regulation in place and expect no meaningful punishment? How is that good for the rest of the league?

Juventus had titles stripped from them and were relegated for their part in match-fixing. Rangers are guilty of a multitude of offences, but somehow they think they should get away scot-free. Eh, naw. I know your average weegie isn't the brightest, but even the most cretinous example of cro-magnon man in the locality should be able to understand the basic concept of cause and effect. You spent at least a decade fiddling the books so you could come out ahead. Now you've been caught. **** ye.

Burn Ibrox to the ground and sell the land off for flats. Make Rangers play non-league football and that the only way back into the SFL is if they all convert to Catholicism and beg the pope for forgiveness. Make them play in green and white hooped shirts and turn the club anthem into Ave Maria. Have them play their pre-season friendlies against the Real IRA and a Vatican City XI.

That'd be a deserved punishment and, considering everything they've done, they'd still be lucky to exist.
    All off the above-mentioned.

Does anyone No UEfa\FIFA stance Could they impose sanctions against Scotland if rangers got away with it?

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    I sense that there is a change in the line in much of the media away from the 'Scottish Football needs Rangers' approach towards a more balanced approach. The items in the Herald seem to be moving to a position that rangers must be punished for the irregularities and crimes dating back to the David Murray era as well as to the Craig Whyte regime.

I think that the proponents of letting a Newco Rangers back into the SPL will be forced to retreat in the wake of public opinion.
    There's a Leader in today's Scotsman that reads like an Ibrox press release.It doesn't appear in the Internet Scotsman-don't know if that means it's been deleted.

Quote Originally Posted by cam75 View Post
    All off the above-mentioned.

Does anyone No UEfa\FIFA stance Could they impose sanctions against Scotland if rangers got away with it?
    Note UEFA threatening to unleash it's fury against the Swiss over the Scion affair last season.

They will be watching, and waiting. Make no mistake!

Quote Originally Posted by RossHibs View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Yes you will Mr Green! Thank you

But here’s another

Just been mentioned a few posts up about rangers annual accounts [or MIM]. These have been signed off by the accountants as giving a ‘true and fair view’ or whatever you guys say these days, of the company [or companies].

I cant recall any media statements suggesting the accountants over the last 15 – 20+ years said these crooks are up to their necks in deceit, tax evasion and dodgy dealings so what, if any, are the implications for the accountancy firm(s) involved?
    A good question.

As Grunt has said the last audited accounts were for the year ended 30 June 2010. The clean audit report was dated 22 September 2010 which was well before the events that have led directly to administration, so the going concern problems could not have been foreseen in that respect. However it's clear with hindsight that there was an unreported underlying debt that also threatens the club's existence and the question has to be whether the auditors could or should have been aware of this in September 2010.

Certainly, they were aware of the HMRC inquiry since it is referred to in the body of the accounts. The note includes the following: 'On the basis of expert tax advice, the club is defending a query raised by HMRC into this Trust'. The first bit is the important point - I would expect the auditors to have reviewed all correspondence between the tax experts, the club and HMRC and taken assurances from the experts, so they have someone else to blame. Likewise, in previous years they would probably have reviewed the operation of the scheme in conjunction with the experts' advice and concluded on that basis that there wasn't a problem. They could not really be expected to make a detailed judgement on whether it was clean or not since they are not experts in that field and it took HMRC themselves several years to reach a conclusion. That said (again possibly with the benefit of hindsight) I feel the note in the accounts might have been more robust and an emphasis of matter paragraph might have been appropriate given the scale of the amounts involved.

As to potential liability, the auditors could find themselves liable for any loss suffered by anyone who could claim to have depended on the accounts to make a financial decision. Ticketus would be the most obvious claimant, but their agreement stretched to a future period beyond the reasonable scope of the account so I think a claim would fail on that basis.

In short, I think the auditors are just about ok, but I suspect there are a few squeaky bums around their offices at the moment.

Bet you're sorry you asked now.

First Team Breakthrough muzzhfc's Avatar

PSN ID: muzz-a-bear
    IF the police and authorities have a modicum of common sense, then this will not be allowed to happen. no matter what end they proposed march happens, there will be trouble. the huns cant behave anywhere so they can gtf

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar

Jim Traynor sez...

"the chicanery of Craig Whyte and the willingness of Sir David Murray, below, who must accept a massive chunk of the blame for Rangers' sorry state, cannot be excused but it is madness to hold the club responsible"

So he's saying the Huns should get off scotfree? ....... aye right!

Just seems to me they need or have to be the centre of everyone's world. Wish they would just accept the fact that they are cheating b__t_rds, they have been caught so put up with the consequences. Why they feel that ruining cup final day is not just totally stupid but the way they behave is totally f---in boring. Don't think the weedgie police will let this happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Alf R View Post
    "the chicanery of Craig Whyte and the willingness of Sir David Murray, below, who must accept a massive chunk of the blame for Rangers' sorry state, cannot be excused but it is madness to hold the club responsible"

On the plus side at least he's accepted some blame for Murray, wasn't that long ago he was cutting off any call to his show that dared even suggest that David Murray was guilty of anything...

Perhaps the memory of the taste of lamb is fading?

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar

A club isn't a living breathing thing. Any action carried out by the club is carried out by a person. If you follow follow Traynor's argument the football club isn't responsible for anything that it does.

Rangers now have a new bidder from china that says he will pay off ALL their debt, buy new players, refit the stadium and return rangers to their former glory.
    Mr Nay Foo Kin Chans will meet with shareholders this week!

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    [QUOTE=poolman;3196454]
    Quote Originally Posted by LeithenHibby View Post

Your missing the point here

It's not a question of fighting tooth and nail for your club, of course I would want it if it were us

It's the hypocracy of the wee t*at moaning about other managers looking at Hun players

I do get the point perfectly well. The shoe is on the other foot and I'm loving it.. Hell mend them I say

I recall when we were at our lowest point when WM tried (& failed) to do us, who were in the wing, yes, the uglies who snapped up Andy Goram & John Collins on the cheap. As I say "Loving it"

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LeithenHibby View Post
    I can't see the strathclyde polis allowing this to take place!!, yes, perhaps on another day, but for me this is a non-starter.....
    They'll be arresting Hibs fans for trying to get to the game during their protest.

With a bit of luck, the rankgers faithful will try to handcuff or padlock themselves to the gates.

Always need a wee before a big game.

Should we no just take long sharp sticks?

Seriously, the Huns chums in the polis will bend over backwards to help them and the losers here will be Edinburgh fans - weegie press will lap it up - lose/lose for us and the Yammish

Lolz

Quote Originally Posted by hibbiedon View Post
    Rangers now have a new bidder from china that says he will pay off ALL their debt, buy new players, refit the stadium and return rangers to their former glory.
    Mr Nay Foo Kin Chans will meet with shareholders this week!
    Sent this out in a mail at work this morning, got home and have it back from 2 unrelated sources! :-)

I picked up on that. Who is the club then? The poor wee peepul? The players? The Institooshun that is the Big Hoose? The club is the whole conglomeration - the megalomaniac Murray, the fans who lapped up success on the never never, the media who fawned over them and latterly wee Walter Mitty-Whyte. Its the whole lot who deserve the punishment Traynor you big, fat, stupid fool.

Too right.

Similarly if Hibs finish bottom of the league, the ineptitude of Colin Calderwood's management cannot be excused but it would be madness to hold the club responsible. No relegation then, nice one Jim.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Too right.

Similarly if Hibs finish bottom of the league, the ineptitude of Colin Calderwood's management cannot be excused but it would be madness to hold the club responsible. No relegation then, nice one Jim.
    Similarly, all those trophies HunFC have won (not just in the last decade, but ever) should not be credited to the club at all, but to the players who won them. Once the players have died, the wins should be expunged from the record.

I like the word expunged. It has a sort of ring.

Roll on the huns being expunged. A sort of death knell.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    A club isn't a living breathing thing. Any action carried out by the club is carried out by a person. If you follow follow Traynor's argument the football club isn't responsible for anything that it does.
    Your right, Rangers Football Club is not a living breathing thing but an institution which to quote Regan at the SPL "... has been part of the fabric of Scottish football......."

But so were Third Lanark.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Similarly, all those trophies HunFC have won (not just in the last decade, but ever) should not be credited to the club at all, but to the players who won them. Once the players have died, the wins should be expunged from the record.

I like the word expunged. It has a sort of ring.

Roll on the huns being expunged. A sort of death knell.
    expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, expunged, ..... yup .... I LIKE that

Does expunging come before or after liquidising? This could get messy.

Exhunged sounds even better.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    I like extirpated.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    I prefer F***ed.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    Jeezo - always thought Traynor was a Grade A cock but just about bought the "Airdrie fan" schtick; no pretence of that now.

@hibs.net private member SneakersO'Toole's Avatar
    So who are independent members of the panel that have apparently been leaked on the internet?

Shocking this has happened right enough.

Quote Originally Posted by SneakersO'Toole View Post
    So who are independent members of the panel that have apparently been leaked on the internet?

Shocking this has happened right enough.
    Was about to ask the same - Radio Scotland wouldn't say who they were earlier but sounds like it'll be in the papers tomorrow.

Owen Archdeacon, Gerry Crainey and Anton Rogan?