Check out the date of the original post.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thread: David "spotty" Rowland
-
27-03-2012 07:05 AM #31
-
27-03-2012 10:51 AM #32
Anyway he's still a (use own terms of abuse) and his wife did Hibs a favour.
-
27-03-2012 12:49 PM #33This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2012 01:50 PM #34This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2012 02:01 PM #35
This is all pish in the wind - Prime Ministers/Cabinet minsters of all political colours have long had cosy dinners with rich mates who also happen to give their parties massive swedges of cash.
It's the whole system of lobbying, and the amounts involved, that we need changed, not some massively expensive police investigation that will exclusively reveal that a politican had some rich, influential friends over for a chinwag.
We can hardly stop anyone in the country having a dinner party with whomever they want, it's whether they have paid money specifically to get that access, and whether policies of this country are actually influenced by what they talk about over champagne and caviar, or whether the PM just goes ""Hmmm, yes interesting Barnaby" and pays no real attention.
Call Me Dave says everyone he had over was already close mates he'd known for years - I have no idea whether to believe him or not, but this "Nudge nudge, see you at Chequers old boy" culture that pervades British politics needs to end, for many, many more reasons than this.
-
27-03-2012 02:48 PM #36
HKHibby
-
27-03-2012 03:47 PM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Is it not the simple fact that if you contribute signficant sums to any organisation you would normally receive some sort of influence or access in return....I'm not sure why we consider political parties any different, nor indeed what would be so terribly wrong with the leader of any party having dinner with his largest donors.
-
27-03-2012 04:00 PM #38
HKHibby
Why not take your trite wee comments about 'Who would notice??' and shoving it?[/QUOTE]
But they were fantastic great prosperous years all the same from 1997-2010 under "New Labour" were they?...Thats why everybody is paying for it now throughout the UK! in some shape or form.
Glad about that in a way though! because for years under "New Labour" small businesses bore the brunt of the wonderful "New Labour" Stealth Taxes and lunacy employment laws that they adopted coming out of the EU!
Apprenticeships? yes they like to take the accolades about that wont they, but they were introduced about year or so before "New Labour"!
National Minimum Wage?..seem to remember people laughing at that...saying i wouldnt get out of bed for that!...but they wouldnt would they? because they were getting top up fees and benefits for sitting around doing Nothing!...but then came along the good old East Europeans!...who actually do it for less than that, so what minimum wage now?
New Hospitals and Schools?, well they can all be built with endless tax payers money and stealth taxes!...but when the money dries up who pays for them? and the endless league tables stats?...and the endless civil servants paid very generously for doing nothing most of the time with 5/6 weeks holiday etc.. etc.. a year, all in the name of supposedly creating employment?, oh and not too mention these schools and hospitals are now full of east europeans! who have never paid a penny in tax into the UK! but get free hospital treatment and education and benefits from the State!
Scottish Psrliament? yes everyone else in the UK had to pay towards that too!...but why not? it was other peoples money! and it was "New Labour"!
So there we have it, a brief but slightly long winded description of the good old "New Labour/Old Labour"...same old Labour Years!, at least the present UK Government came along just in time!
Yes i live outside the UK, and very happily thanks, and will hopefully never live there again!
-
27-03-2012 04:09 PM #39This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Glad about that in a way though! because for years under "New Labour" small businesses bore the brunt of the wonderful "New Labour" Stealth Taxes and lunacy employment laws that they adopted coming out of the EU!
Apprenticeships? yes they like to take the accolades about that wont they, but they were introduced about year or so before "New Labour"!
National Minimum Wage?..seem to remember people laughing at that...saying i wouldnt get out of bed for that!...but they wouldnt would they? because they were getting top up fees and benefits for sitting around doing Nothing!...but then came along the good old East Europeans!...who actually do it for less than that, so what minimum wage now?
New Hospitals and Schools?, well they can all be built with endless tax payers money and stealth taxes!...but when the money dries up who pays for them? and the endless league tables stats?...and the endless civil servants paid very generously for doing nothing most of the time with 5/6 weeks holiday etc.. etc.. a year, all in the name of supposedly creating employment?, oh and not too mention these schools and hospitals are now full of east europeans! who have never paid a penny in tax into the UK! but get free hospital treatment and education and benefits from the State!
Scottish Psrliament? yes everyone else in the UK had to pay towards that too!...but why not? it was other peoples money! and it was "New Labour"!
So there we have it, a brief but slightly long winded description of the good old "New Labour/Old Labour"...same old Labour Years!, at least the present UK Government came along just in time!
Yes i live outside the UK, and very happily thanks, and will hopefully never live there again![/QUOTE]
Thanks for that, Spotty.
ps how's the wife?Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 27-03-2012 at 04:15 PM.
-
27-03-2012 04:30 PM #40This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2012 04:34 PM #41
And you're going to have to stop trying to mask this love you clearly have for all things Labour...
-
27-03-2012 05:17 PM #42This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
That makes him a world class ****!
-
27-03-2012 06:38 PM #43
A fud in a party of fuds. Lowest of the low.
-
27-03-2012 06:52 PM #44
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteSpace to let
-
27-03-2012 07:02 PM #45
I don't agree with a word of your post, hk hibby, but this is the football section of the forum, so I won't enter a long drawn out debate. Suffice to say that, whilst I disagreed with many Labour policies between 1997 and 2010, my criticisms were of the rightward shift of the party under Blair. They did some excellent work regarding the NHS and education - those markers of a civilised society.
One area where they got it massively wrong was by not putting enough regulations on the city of London. Regulations, the evil of 'red tape' as the Tories love repeating. Well the 'light touch' regulation that New Labour boasted about contributed enormously to the biggest financial crisis since 1929. By giving the bankers a free hand they almost destroyed the country and then asked the poorest, those who didn't cause the crisis, to pay it back via massive public spending cuts.
The failings of Labour under Blair and Brown were, IMO, their adoption of the neo-liberal and neo-conservative world view in economic and foreign affairs. Market forces must never be restricted. Aye right. Labour did some fine things in their thirteen years, and give me New Labour over the Tories any day. But this country needs a strong democratic socialist party, which the the Labour Party no longer is. Millions of people, those who believe the state has a key role to play in society, be they Keyensians or state planners, are disenfranchised by the big business supply side consensus of all the major parties. We mustn't upset Rupert Murdoch or the CBI. Money is power and those people can make like difficult, unlike the millions of working men and women who are powerless to the manoeuvreings of the stock market. The imbalance between free markets and social justice wasn't addressed nearly enough by New Labour. There are values of humanity and fairness that go way beyond contracts and financial exchange; values that New Labour too often only paid lip service to. Bring back Keir Hardie's Labour vision. We need real trades unions again and Labour Party that isn't just another representative of global capital.
Rant over
Last edited by Hibernia&Alba; 27-03-2012 at 07:19 PM.
-
27-03-2012 07:11 PM #46This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Why not take your trite wee comments about 'Who would notice??' and shoving it?[/QUOTE]
At Easter Road They Play.....
-
27-03-2012 07:22 PM #47This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
[/QUOTE]
Well done. That's exactly your level. Or perhaps even punching slightly above it.
-
27-03-2012 07:26 PM #48This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2012 07:32 PM #49This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Aye, very good. I appreciate that the laughing smiley wasn't particularly mature, but you're hardly in a position to criticise. You're own original post hardly covered you in glory.At Easter Road They Play.....
-
-
29-03-2012 07:52 PM #51This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote"Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.
-
31-03-2012 02:13 PM #52
Whilst I appreciate that some of the criticism of Rowland is valid, I wish him well in his comeback.
And Geno and Come On Eileen were great tunes.