I would think that relative to other teams that Hibs would be better placed without a TV deal due to the average size of crowd.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
However, that seems a slightly selfish approach to decision making and we should not be looking to gain advantages over others but looking towards making a more competitive league with teams on a more even keel.
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
-
16-02-2012 08:58 AM #871
-
16-02-2012 09:03 AM #872
-
16-02-2012 09:05 AM #873
-
16-02-2012 09:17 AM #874This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 09:18 AM #875This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 09:26 AM #876This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Consider what the BBC spent on last years F1 coverage for what is basically a minority sport (although I do like it) in comparison to football in this country.
The SPL should demand at least 10% of what the BBC spend on the EPL, same with the SFL re the football league coverage.
-
16-02-2012 09:34 AM #877This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 09:45 AM #878This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Whilst there might be short term disadvantages, through time teams would cut their cloth accordingly and at the end of it you should hopefully have an improved football league.
-
16-02-2012 10:02 AM #879This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
How are our shares doing btw?
-
16-02-2012 10:04 AM #880
-
16-02-2012 10:15 AM #881
We simply cannot be precise about the impact of losing the TV deal vs a potential increase in gate receipts. Any calculations (see below!) are speculation. However, if we assume that there will still be some TV money - I can't believe that Sky/ESPN would pull the plug in the short-term - then I don't think it would be a doomsday scenario for Hibs.
If our share of the commercial revenue from the SPL including, estimated elsewhere on this thread as totalling about £1.2m normally, drops by half then that is a loss of £600k on a turnover of £6-7m. Roughly speaking, let's say its a 10% reduction, which doesn't sound bad in my view, compared to the devastation in the Football League when ITV Digital went bust.
Of course, we wouldn't need to make up just the £600k in lost revenue, there are the gate receipts from a visit by Rangers 1-2 times every season. Being optimistic with last season and this season as the exceptions to recent history, let's say it's 2 visits. At 3500 fans x £26pp x 2, that's additional lost income of £182k.
Rounding it up, that equals say £800k reduction in revenue. At an average of £20pp - walk-ups AND additional STs - and assuming 19 home games a season, we would need an average 2,100 fans in the home end over and above current figures. This would be countered slightly by the income from the other away team that would replace Rangers twice a season at ER.
In a more competitive and family-friendly league, with match scheduling reverting more to traditional times (though there would still be some scheduling changes for TV), I do not think this is out of the question on a medium-term basis. Commercial revenue streams would recover if the league was more competitive in due course.
If a short-term reduction in income is the price for a fair league without Newco Rangers being "rewarded" for their criminal financial doping of the last 14 years or so, then I think it has got to be worth considering!
-
16-02-2012 10:25 AM #882
-
16-02-2012 10:37 AM #883
No tv coverage would probably be a good thing as far as Sparky's concerned.
-
16-02-2012 10:43 AM #884This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I have said for long enough now that we if sold home games in batches of 2 or 3 at a time and they were all priced the same, e.g. 2 cat B and one cat A game for £22 each, it would help the cause but there are several factors to why Cat A games are no longer sell outs, Price, kick-off times and probably more importantly live T.V. coverage.
The T.V. deal is crap and even if we lost the ESPN/SKY deal, I'm sure BBC or STV would step in with a lesser deal to compensate slightly, it would not be a total loss.
-
16-02-2012 11:06 AM #885
Seen on Sky Sports News that the administrators are holding a press conference at 3.30pm. Hopefully they come out with a massive list of playing redundancies leaving them with a youth team. I'm not getting excited at players losing employment, but rather Rangers losing their best players. Hopefully this will happen and the Rangers fans start to see what the next few years has in store for them.
-
16-02-2012 11:21 AM #886
When is Naismith out of contract? Possibly they might be forced into getting rid of him especially with his injury?
-
16-02-2012 11:24 AM #887This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 11:25 AM #888This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 11:31 AM #889
The Huns are expecting a full house on Saturday at Ipox - the administrators would themselves be liquidated if they made any player redundant ahead of the game!
There's not enough polis in the entire country that could cope with the anger of 45,000 'fans' in a confined space.
On the other hand, bet you they have hundreds of stewards with collection pails and take in a cool million on the day??
-
16-02-2012 11:39 AM #890
Just read this bit on the BBC News website:
Scottish Labour said the threat to one of Scottish football's oldest institutions was a serious concern.
In a letter to Treasury minister David Gauke, Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland Margaret Curran said it was correct that the tax was collected.
But she added: "I would however ask that you, as the minister responsible, ensure that this is done in a reasonable way, focused on the best outcome for the club and taxpayer."
Why should any pressure be applied by Politicians on the HMRC to help Rangers out is beyond me. If you or I didnt pay our taxes we would not recieve any special treatment from HMRC - why should Rangers.
-
16-02-2012 11:41 AM #891This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 11:42 AM #892
In the words of nelson from the simpsons...
AHAAA
:na naLast edited by Bad Martini; 01-03-2012 at 12:30 PM.
-
16-02-2012 11:42 AM #893This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 11:48 AM #894This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
However, know this. In this life, you can be guaranteed but two things if you live in this country.
No 1 - you will eventually die.
No 2 - you will pay taxes until you die, period.
You cannot cheat either.
Also know this; cheating the tax man is worse to the powers that be than say, beating the **** out some random in the street.
The huns will get theirs. So will the yams. The common denominator, ironically. HMRC
"God pay the Queen"
"Borrow Borrow"etc etc
ENDOF
-
16-02-2012 11:49 AM #895
It would be great for Scottish Fitba if they were pumped oot the league and had to start at the bottom of 3, it would mean sellik would find it harder to attract good players,the fans wouldnae turn up as they will get fed up with not having competition, meaning less money and dragging them down aswell, HAPPY DAYS. A more even playing field for all.
SPHell will be rid of 1 set of bigots while the other set will begin to dwindle,what a GREAT CHANCE FOR SCOTTISH FITBA to start over and demand changes and a bigger slice of whatever pot of tv/sponsor money (which will obviously be way less than now if the buns weere to leave) is on offer.
SPL GRAB YIR CHANCE AND TELL THE OF WHERE TAE GO.
OH AYE..stolen from above ditto....
..in lieu of any new news and on account of decades of religious sectarian biggotry being the sole contribution of glasgarangersfcpuredeadbrilliantman, I'd just like to reiterate the following:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ya hun radges and ....
GIRFUY and all yer apologists.
ENDOFLast edited by Phil MaGlass; 16-02-2012 at 11:51 AM.
-
16-02-2012 11:51 AM #896This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 11:57 AM #897This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-02-2012 12:01 PM #898
Rangers players just been told jobs are safe and DC looks likes he's safe as well, so it looks like a back room staff kull.
Season ticket holders contract looks to be terminated sometime today to generate more cash at home games.
Before anyone asks source.........twitter is giving updates on discussions.
Press conference 15.30 today
-
16-02-2012 12:05 PM #899
-
16-02-2012 12:08 PM #900
Listen tae auld reekin' bacon chops at 1.15 onwards .. what a tool!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17052096