This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
-
-
13-02-2012 07:50 PM #302This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's not as cut and dried as it would appear IMO.
Some further Q&A's in here - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...-west-17018226
-
13-02-2012 07:55 PM #303
the tax man has lodged several winding up orders for the hertz recently, i am sure they will do the same to rangers, if they loose the tax case
-
13-02-2012 07:58 PM #304
-
13-02-2012 07:59 PM #305This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
On top of that the HMRC made a very public erse of themselves last week with the Redknapp/Mandaric trial. They're unlikely to be to keen to be seen to do the same again
-
13-02-2012 08:15 PM #306
The only bit to focus on in regards the CVA is if the UNsecured creditors agree to the CVA, in essence this is the wholly down to HMRC.
In previous situations with 'Well, Livi and Dundee was HMRC involved up to that level of liability?
In fact read this, better than trying to 2nd guess anything..seems pretty factual but not sure how balanced it is.
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.co...va-nae-chance/Last edited by PaulSmith; 13-02-2012 at 08:18 PM.
-
13-02-2012 08:21 PM #307This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Whatever Whyte is he is no-one's fool.
Wouldnt be surprised if they have no assets at all barr their playing staff with all the "bricks and mortar assets" held separately for "tax reasons".
A few token numpties will be sold / freed as a gesture of contrition.
No way would Whyte have taken on Inland Revenue gamble without master plan behind it, his advisers would get sued to hell and back if he had.
Rangers will go into Admin
Whyte will buy them at xp in the pound. Inland Revenue will get severely stiffed, Murray and Whyte will walk away relatively unscathed
They will have a share issue which the Rangers supporters will back in their thousands, giving Whyte all the costs back for buying them out of Admin.
He will then either rent them or sell them Ipox and walk away minted, having done you and I over like a kipper and no doubt have acquired some other tangible reward from David Murray for hauling his arse out the fire.
-
13-02-2012 08:25 PM #308This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Do you believe that the taxman is just going to walk away from this and give a green light for tax evasion on a grand scale, it just doesn't happen and never will do. He's tried it once with HMRC and got caught hence his 7 years disqualification.
-
13-02-2012 08:28 PM #309This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
13-02-2012 08:30 PM #311
Sadly it's too much to hope that they will drag the whinging tims down with them.
However given that Whyte knew that the tax case could go against the Huns, I find it hard to believe that this administration is not part of his cunning plan to avoid having to pay out.
-
13-02-2012 08:31 PM #312This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 08:37 PM #313This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If I read Whyte correctly his 7 year disqualification would mean nothing to him, this is his ticket to the big money game.
No I dont believe the taxman will willingly walk away far from it, but even the taxman cannot get blood from a stone.
Whyte has had a long time to plan this before even committing to purchase Rangers, Do you think he was going to play heads or tails over a tax liability that could stretch to £75m+
-
13-02-2012 08:38 PM #314
I "believe" HMRC will need to agree to a CVA. Meaning it's not a done deal.
-
13-02-2012 08:40 PM #315This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 08:49 PM #316
-
13-02-2012 08:55 PM #317
"Administrators are then in charge of the company and, while they're in charge, creditors cannot expect to get payments they expected."
-
13-02-2012 09:04 PM #318This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Rangers are re-founded and start debt free agreed and Whyte gets his £££ but the old Rangers are no more, no Europe for 3 years and it would take a lot to convince the other clubs that Rangers should automatically be granted entrance back into the SPL as we know it via first gaining a new SFA licence.
This I would argue would be Whyte's ultimate end game.
-
13-02-2012 09:07 PM #319This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 09:07 PM #320This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 09:10 PM #321
Apologies if someone has already called this out, but Rangers going into Administration presents a massive opportunity for the other non Old Firm clubs.
If Administration means they have to re-apply for SPL membership then it's a must that in return for this membership has to come with the following conditions:
Removal of the 11 - 1 voting rule (effectively giving the Old Firm a veto on change)
Re-distribution of TV and commercial income to provide better even spread across all SPL clubs
Might also involve a points deduction penalty for next 3 seasons and certainly make sure that they were no allowed to take a European slot regardless of where they finished in the league - again say for next 3 years
Time for the SPL clubs to grow some balls and take collective advantage
-
13-02-2012 09:11 PM #322This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 09:12 PM #323
Real radios first two songs of the hour have been i gotta feeling by black eyed peas then keep the faith by bon jovi. Dj is surely at it!
-
13-02-2012 09:13 PM #324This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 09:15 PM #325This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 09:15 PM #326This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As someone else said... somewhere in the many threads.....a lot hinges on the values of Ibrox and Murray Park.
More than £18m?? Nae idea....
-
13-02-2012 09:18 PM #327This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 09:23 PM #328
If Whyte mortgaged the ST for 4 years to raise the money to pay Lloyds (which I think is broadly right but may be entirely wrong), and this money is secured against another of Whytes companies, then am I right in thinking that Rangers will make no money from the sale of ST's for the next 4 years? If this is the case then NewHun Co will effectively have no money from this source for this time period, which even if they start with a clean slate means they're still in the deep keech.
Please feel free to point out where I'm hopelessly confused on this.
-
13-02-2012 09:23 PM #329This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
For their part, Ticketus.... is their debt secured? I thought I read that it was secured against future season ticket sales. If it is, they then have first dibs in an administration. If not, then their debt goes into the pot with everybody else.
-
13-02-2012 09:24 PM #330This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote