Page 10 of 36 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbycraig View Post
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...432239,00.html

Says he is interested and has a proven track record of working with youngsters. Could be a good appointment
    Williamson brought through Riordan,Brown,Thompson,O`Conner and Whittaker. If bringing on young players is the only criteria for the job, maybe we should ask him to give up on Uganda and come back.....!!!! Paul Harts managerial record in England is abysmal and that should be the only consideration.
    Last edited by SurferRosa; 08-10-2010 at 11:54 AM.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ HIBBY View Post
    Both McParland and Mcstay are friends. I do know they have both applied separately for the job.

Time will tell and may be wrong, just passing on information.

For what its worth i would prefer Steve Clarke.
    Do you have a list of those who definitely have applied?

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    Update on Paul Hart in the Daily Record, backed by ex Falkirk goalie Scott Flinders who said despite being sacked by Barnsley for failing to lead a promotion charge from League One, the 57-year-old can be a success at Hibs according to Flinders.
    He said: "As soon as he walked through the door at Barnsley he got the utmost respect of all the players.

"He's a really strict manager but a nice guy as well. He had an unlucky time at Barnsley but I really rate him."

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/footbal...6908-22617901/
    If he sez so it`s a done deal then.....wait a minute..who the **** is Scott Flinders?..!!!!!

'S' Form
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ HIBBY View Post
    I have been reliably informed that our new management team will be Willie McStay with Ian McParland as assistant. Source is a good friend who has heard directly from Willie McStay.

Thoughts?

Interesting to note that when McStay managed in Hungary, he was assisted by our very own Joe McBride....oh no, not another ex-player connection?!

How would people react to Mo Johnstone as new hibs manager??

as the thread states guys mo johnstone as new hibs manager how would u feel?
    Has plenty of contacts in america and is looking for a job

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    I'm sure we're the only team he's wanted to manage, Mrs Johnston.

He used to spend a lot of time in Edinburgh when at Rangers, as he was not welcome in Glasgow.

Also was an ex Hearts player.

I'd say there are 2 chances none & no effin.

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I'm sure we're the only team he's wanted to manage, Mrs Johnston.
    Saw the thread title and the opportunity to post these exact words.
    If yer no fast yer last and aw that !

He'd maybe not be too bad a shout, he's done well over in the states. But I think he'd be mental to uproot and come back home for our job.
    Last edited by wazoo1875; 08-10-2010 at 01:15 PM.
    Never one to laugh at others misfortune but today could only have been improved by rangers getting horsed and God pissing down a meteor shower of fifty pound notes on Edinburgh

Copyright BadMartini Wed 27th Jan 2010

mo johnstone

Not had time to read through the whole of this thread, but just in case, the Evening News today is giving Kevin McDonald a mention as a possible choice.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Not had time to read through the whole of this thread, but just in case, the Evening News today is giving Kevin McDonald a mention as a possible choice.
    Saw this reported elsewhere. No danger we'll pay Villa the required compo for a reserve/youth team coach from the Premiership, so a non-starter unless he walks or is allowed to walk having been overlooked for the top job.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Saw this reported elsewhere. No danger we'll pay Villa the required compo for a reserve/youth team coach from the Premiership, so a non-starter unless he walks or is allowed to walk having been overlooked for the top job.
    My thoughts too, still he'd be quite a good choice if it were to happen. He seems to focus on young upcoming players. But as you say, money would be a big problem in this case.

QUOTE=ekhibee;2601392]My thoughts too, still he'd be quite a good choice if it were to happen. He seems to focus on young upcoming players. But as you say, money would be a big problem in this case.[/QUOTE]
    MacDonald for me, good record with youth; good knowledge of up and coming players from premiership- dont know if compensation would come into it though- will he not be an employee of club(salaried) and not on a contract like main managers?

No way to Mo Johnstone. He is gash as a Manager and evaluator of talent. He was in charge of Toronto FC for 3 seasons and our support is the best in the MLS but the team is rubbish.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    The film director?

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RossHibs View Post
    Williamson brought through Riordan,Brown,Thompson,O`Conner and Whittaker. If bringing on young players is the only criteria for the job, maybe we should ask him to give up on Uganda and come back.....!!!! Paul Harts managerial record in England is abysmal and that should be the only consideration.
    think you will find that a certain frank sauzee gave deeks his debut

First Team Regular leithsansiro's Avatar
    Still think that Stevie Nicol would be a good shout...

Don't know why, it just seems that any random manager seems to be getting touted.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    I've got a wee sneaky feeling that Billy Reid is one of the front runners and he could well end up as our new Ayatollah.

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    think you will find that a certain frank sauzee gave deeks his debut
    Then i stand corrected.

John Robertson - No not the fat Yam...

The boy who was number 2 to Martin O'Neill (I think), surprised his interest has not been noted. No source or anything but I have a sneaky feeling he could be in with a very good shout.

First Team Regular ForeverHibs93's Avatar

Gamertag: xox TopLad xox
    Quote Originally Posted by JCHibby View Post
    The boy who was number 2 to Martin O'Neill (I think), surprised his interest has not been noted. No source or anything but I have a sneaky feeling he could be in with a very good shout.
    One of my mates mentioned this too me the other day, he had no evidence, so he might have been pulling my leg, not sure

While Williamson certainly gave them their debut's he had little to do with their development. Lest we forget the Blobmeister tried to swap Riordan and Whittaker to ICT in return for Bobby Mann. An eye for a bargain displayed by Blobby.

Quote Originally Posted by RossHibs View Post

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    After the disgraceful way the board and the players treated him last time, i'd expect him to give us the finger.

He won't be back at Hibs. And who can blame him.
    lets just keep the good memories of jc as a legend on the field and bringing the cis cup home.

How much influence does the manager even have over the Youth Teams? As far as I can tell only once they graduate from the under 19s.

So I don't think all the credit for Deeks, Brown, O'Connor and the rest should be laid solely at any managers door, there's the managers that gave them their debut's sure, but it's the coaches that worked with them for years prior to that that deserve the majority of that credit if you ask me.

Not a rumour, but what about Paul Dickov? He has the lowest budget in the 1st division and has brought up Oldham to 5th. I've no bias but he learnt his football off my gable end.

If he DID get the job, I would remind him off what he called me every time I complained and would expect compo tickets every game. Yes Paul Dickov for the job and I'll change my user name to what he used to called me .... Mrs Mangell

Quote Originally Posted by jakki View Post
    Not a rumour, but what about Paul Dickov? He has the lowest budget in the 1st division and has brought up Oldham to 5th. I've no bias but he learnt his football off my gable end.

If he DID get the job, I would remind him off what he called me every time I complained and would expect compo tickets every game. Yes Paul Dickov for the job and I'll change my user name to what he used to called me .... Mrs Mangell
    no for me

Who comes....

you decide

personally, i want a manager who can take our team kickin and screamin into the top six.
    Preferably the same man will have us playing football that we all want to see.

my first choice would be tony mowbray.

not only would i come back to easter road, every one (or both)of my pals would all return. he is a legend. I love him. i still attend now but i would renew a st for me,my son and nephew.

Second choice. Steve clarke. The boy knows how to play football. He'd motivate the players we have and he'd grab this league by the baws and batter them wi hibs! the old firm do not intimidate him and the new firm are a mere anoyance!

third choice
    john collins

the man is a legend. he beleives hibs are every bit as good as we think we are. he makes average players £4m players and he delivers success(league cup in one year, take a bow ). If he could bury the hatchet wi rod we'll have a decent season, or two or three.

all in all i know **** all, I'll back whoever we get but i think i have proposed some good men.

Who do you think we should get?????

O'neill

calderwood

any other?

your first 3 choices all look good to me,Mowbray..........I liked,but some on here don't because of his huddle at ER, but you could look at it this way, his first game as Manager wi' Celtic,and he was their first captain to start it,possibly thought ..right boys,this is how we go,win win win.(which did not go to plan) JC,liked him a lot,won us a cup,but Jesus...........how the hell did he not get us into the 2nd cup final? and his striker selection for the dunfy replay was puzzling,the young laddie he picked was way out of his depth. your 2nd choice,seems to have the credentials,but I ken f/ck all about him,other than working at a high level with a top English mob,that rules him out I think. we dont do top level,do we?

Quote Originally Posted by JCHibby View Post
    The term 'boy' and big John Robertson don't fit particularly well!

John Robertson - Football Legend.

Seriously coulnd't care what he done or didn't do at celtic. I knew he'd end up there, and i knew he had a fondness for them but that is in the past. for arguments sake, i knew that yogi was a cetic fan when many others beleived he was a hibby but it;s all in the past

tony mowbray is a gentleman. he knows how the game should be played, he knows how we demand it should be played. it could be argued that the happiest an most succesfull time in mr mowbrays life, was learning his trade in leith!

Come home tony. Finish the job you started. Come home to easter road and become a real legend!

apolgies for spelling and gramatical errrs, there is no other excuse than the fact i am steaming. It doesn8t make me less off a man, so my missus says!
    Last edited by sixtwo; 10-10-2010 at 01:49 AM. Reason: steamin boats