Page 9 of 36 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by El Presidente View Post
    ye ken what the sun are like .. anything to sell a paper

Steve Clarke would be my number 1 choice. hopefully someone can do a interview with him, if he wants it we should offer it to him
    I think anyone that blabs about wanting the job to the meeja will immediately be out of the running, given Hibs liking for keeping things quiet until there is something definite to announce.

Quote Originally Posted by El Presidente View Post
    Sorry admins Its MACDONALD not MCDONALD am a tube

another one the sun have ran a story on ...

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...Hibs-boss.html

don't know whats you all think of this guy.
    didn't really do a bad job at villa. apart from being trounced at newcastle

But SunSport can reveal that ex-Aberdeen boss Jimmy Calderwood has had no contact so far with the club.

Lets keep it that way

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    But SunSport can reveal that ex-Aberdeen boss Jimmy Calderwood has had no contact so far with the club.

Lets keep it that way

I'd have this boy in a minute. Lots of experience, and most of it at the top level of Football. Nae messing wi him guys/gals.

Update on Paul Hart in the Daily Record, backed by ex Falkirk goalie Scott Flinders who said despite being sacked by Barnsley for failing to lead a promotion charge from League One, the 57-year-old can be a success at Hibs according to Flinders.
    He said: "As soon as he walked through the door at Barnsley he got the utmost respect of all the players.

"He's a really strict manager but a nice guy as well. He had an unlucky time at Barnsley but I really rate him."

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/footbal...6908-22617901/

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post

Lets keep it that way
    best news ave heard all week

No management experience always been a stop gap or reserve coach. Would be a risk

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    I'd have this boy in a minute. Lots of experience, and most of it at the top level of Football.
    The downside is .. we dont play at the top level of football.

But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    No management experience always been a stop gap or reserve coach. Would be a risk
    The Villa players seemed to want Lerner to give him the job full time. He's credited with bringing through a lot of the young lads there as well I'm sure I heard that anyway.

Sounds like a more than decent candidate to me.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    Update on Paul Hart in the Daily Record, backed by ex Falkirk goalie Scott Flinders who said despite being sacked by Barnsley for failing to lead a promotion charge from League One, the 57-year-old can be a success at Hibs according to Flinders.
    He said: "As soon as he walked through the door at Barnsley he got the utmost respect of all the players.

"He's a really strict manager but a nice guy as well. He had an unlucky time at Barnsley but I really rate him."

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/footbal...6908-22617901/
    No unlucky people need apply. Next!

Toshack, Sbragia and Brown

Ex Wales, Sunderland and Hull City respectively now all linked with the job.

How many manager vacancies have we got?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Have these names been mentioned in this mornings papers or are they just linked by people on here?

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Ex Wales, Sunderland and Hull City respectively now all linked with the job.

How many manager vacancies have we got?
    Depends who has been linking them?

A manager can get linked by the media but these days anyone can post on a fans site "linking" anyone they want with a job.

I'm not saying these names haven't been linked but I haven't seen or heard their names reported in the media.

I'm salivating, in a heartbeat, wages would be the problem, please please please, get it sorted Petrie, not Hibs class etc.

I don't know how true it is, but if it is i'm quite happy at the quality of people who are apparently interested. Hart/Clarke/MacDonald. These are football folk way above the standard we normally seem to attract, and I'd be happy with any of them.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    The Villa players seemed to want Lerner to give him the job full time. He's credited with bringing through a lot of the young lads there as well I'm sure I heard that anyway.

Sounds like a more than decent candidate to me.
    That's just the usual kind of bollocks you get out of players when a caretaker is in charge. Its code for "don't bring in someone else who will probably bin me".

He actually took two teams in to the Premiership (Bradford and Wigan) but would want far too much money, knowing what he was on at Wigan.

I don't know how true it is, but if it is i'm quite happy at the quality of people who are apparently interested. Hart/Clarke/MacDonald. These are football folk way above the standard we normally seem to attract, and I'd be happy with any of them.
    BH i am with you on this one...adding Phil Brown to Hart/clarke/hart and TBH all these guys have a vast experience in the EPL.

Would be happy with any of them o and I would add the guy McDonald to that group as well.

Quote Originally Posted by DJ HIBBY View Post
    I have been reliably informed that our new management team will be Willie McStay with Ian McParland as assistant. Source is a good friend who has heard directly from Willie McStay.

Thoughts?
    If you really believe this why not pop along to your local bookies and put your mortgage on it or any other money you have. Never heard so much drivel in my life, although there might be mileage in McParland you never know.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I'm salivating, in a heartbeat, wages would be the problem, please please please, get it sorted Petrie, not Hibs class etc.
    They are good candidates in my opinion to be associated with Hibs - if it is true.

I know we speak of "wages being a problem" but I often wonder if wages are an issue with managers of the calibre that have been bandied about recently!

I'm most sure that football managers don't like to be idle.

They are junkies to the adrenalin of competition, half time, winning, bouncing back after a defeat and being seen to show how good they can be when up against it!

Who knows - we may get lucky!

Sbragia would be amazing.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Have these names been mentioned in this mornings papers or are they just linked by people on here?
    I'd imagine someone briefly mentioned or suggested the names on here, papers will have it as "in the running" the next morning.

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    Sbragia would be amazing.
    Seriously? ahead of Brown?

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Net rumour, I've heard from a scout at Mansfield that....or....I was talking to a youth player at Kaiserslauten and he said.....etc.

Quote Originally Posted by tooley View Post
    Is he as much a promising youngster as young Paul was???
    As old Paul still is. Still got the potential.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Think Willie McStay and Ian McParland were team mates at Notts County for a couple of years in the late eighties.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

Quote Originally Posted by Mac View Post
    Seriously? ahead of Brown?
    Brown and Calderwood for me.
    We'd get value for money out of the sunlamp.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    There has been some media talk about this. Mc Stay has managed at Sligo Rovers (where he won domestic honours) and Ujpest Doza (Hungary). He has spent 15 years in between coaching Celtic reserves and youth teams. McParland has extensive coaching experience (Notts Forest, Ipswich) and managed Notts County for two years.

Not sure as to the link between the two?

Both McParland and Mcstay are friends. I do know they have both applied separately for the job.

Time will tell and may be wrong, just passing on information.

For what its worth i would prefer Steve Clarke.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    There has been some media talk about this. Mc Stay has managed at Sligo Rovers (where he won domestic honours) and Ujpest Doza (Hungary). He has spent 15 years in between coaching Celtic reserves and youth teams. McParland has extensive coaching experience (Notts Forest, Ipswich) and managed Notts County for two years.

Not sure as to the link between the two?
    See post 270.

McParland also co-managed Forest with Franks Barlow for a time in 2006. Went on a near record run of six straight wins.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown