Page 2 of 36 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by hibiedude View Post
    I dont believe ex Hibs players make good Hibs manager and when Yogi is moved on going back and asking JC to take charge again is not a forward moved for us.

His time has passed lets leave it that way
    Good post !
    Why is it so many posters are taking the line " don't let the truth get in the way of a good story"
    John Collins was as CULPABLE as any player or group of players in the way his time at ER went pear shaped.
    Speak to players who were there and they will tell you - the level of man mangement skills shown by JC were unnaceptable at any level/job .
    If he was/is so good why hasn't he lasted in the latest jobs he has had and why are clubs not queing up to bid for his sevices.
    Great player , one of my all time favourites, nice person to be with - but !!!

First Team Regular sam armstrong's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Toaods View Post
    I'd like to see the Board invest for the long term on the playing side, Alex Miller as Director of Coaching taking control of East Mains and offering advice to the manager, his former protege John Collins.
    Please no, Collins was a great player but is not a manager.

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_fairnie View Post
    Has everyone forgotten exactly how pish we were playing by the time Collins left?
    Exactly....he may have won us a trophy but he's a turncoat who walked out us and left Tommy Craig to pick up the pieces

collins won a cup with mowbrays team, then lost the dressing room and ultimately the scottish cup....just my opinion though

I find it laughable that some are now seeing Collins as a saviour when there was quite a large contingent on here happy to chase him out of the job when last in charge!

Personally it still rankles with me the treatment Collins got from some people on this very messageboard with personal abuse aimed at him, his assistant and pretty much every player he signed. One thing you could be certain off if Collins had been allowed to build his vision is a lasting legacy once and for all that would banish this lazy nature and lack of work ethic that has existed at Hibs for too long imho!

The man has too much class to be subjected to the toxic support that resides at Easter Road now imho! His team gave me the best day of my Hibs supporting life and I thank him for that lasting memory.
    Last edited by col02; 03-10-2010 at 10:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by RickyS View Post
    maybe Alex Miller could come back?
    Steady...

Quote Originally Posted by col02 View Post
    I find it laughable that some are now seeing Collins as a saviour when there was quite a large contingent on here happy to chase him out of the job when last in charge!

Personally it still rankles with me the treatment Collins got from some people on this very messageboard with personal abuse aimed at him, his assistant and pretty much every player he signed. One thing you could be certain off if Collins had been allowed to build his vision is a lasting legacy once and for all that would banish this lazy nature and lack of work ethic that has existed at Hibs for too long imho!
    We'd now have a fit squad of sheite player?

I am talking about the young players as they would have been given a chance and also picked up good habits in training. The players we have now are that good obviously hence why so many people want the manager sacked!

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    and by "we" you mean a bunch of players that were in revolt and trying to get their manager sacked. Little wonder that the football was not the best. I would consider giving jc another shot with a new bunch of players, he had the right philosophy for the game
    Thing is, you have the same philosophy; so do I (and I feel quite fervent about it) - and probably quite a high percentage of the people on here, and involved in football elsewhere share his philosophy. Not much wrong with Mixu's philosophy either. Yogi has a good one too. Apparently.

The philosophy is the easy bit. The challenge is putting it into action with a group of imperfect human beings, who perhaps (at our level) don't tick all your boxes, and inspiring them to surpass themselves. If you don't have the prototypes you need for the perfect execution of your strategy, you need to be able to find a compromise that works, and make the best of the options that are available to you.

I think that John Collins may well have a great deal to offer somewhere as a youth coach, or as a Director of a youth academy, or someplace where he is able to implement his philosophy without the grim reality of life at the middling level of professional football getting in the way. I'm not sure he's cut out for that. We weren't good enough for him, and nor were Chareroi.

P.S This isn't meant to be a patronising dig at you, Stevie. You're just the first person to bring up the philosophy thing.
    Last edited by s.a.m; 03-10-2010 at 11:02 AM.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    John Collins would tell hibs to GTF after the disgusting treatment he got. Pushed out the club for trying to make these so called professionals into better players by simple things like eating, gym, trying to get them to be like pro athletes.

Would have him back in an instant but no chance will happen.

Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    collins won a cup with mowbrays team, then lost the dressing room and ultimately the scottish cup....just my opinion though
    Aye that was some team Mowbray built right enough.

Broony, Riorden, Thommo, Whitty,Fletcher and O'Conner. They were all great Mowbray buys right enough!

We also had one of the worst away records under monkey heid and got a big daddy of daddy humping from the Yams on more than a few occasions.

Mowbray! Don't make me laugh.
    Last edited by Littlest Hobo; 03-10-2010 at 01:12 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by essexhibee View Post
    John Collins would tell hibs to GTF after the disgusting treatment he got. Pushed out the club for trying to make these so called professionals into better players by simple things like eating, gym, trying to get them to be like pro athletes.

Would have him back in an instant but no chance will happen.
    Would you have Brian kerr/Alan Obrien/Makalamby/Gatheussi/ back, and would you persevere with Kevin McCann at centre half?

John Collins made some stinking signings but he wasn't getting the backing that some of our most recent managers got from the board.

Collins was full of good bright ideas he wanted to bring to the club which would have made a big difference to the players fitness.

Unfortunately Petrie bottled it and backed the players because they don't need to get fitter, they don't need to practice more because they are all at the top of their game!

If JC got the backing Yogi has had, then I for one think he would be brilliant for us.

Quote Originally Posted by GREEN SKYE View Post
    John Collins made some stinking signings but he wasn't getting the backing that some of our most recent managers got from the board.

Collins was full of good bright ideas he wanted to bring to the club which would have made a big difference to the players fitness.

Unfortunately Petrie bottled it and backed the players because they don't need to get fitter, they don't need to practice more because they are all at the top of their game!

If JC got the backing Yogi has had, then I for one think he would be brilliant for us.
    He spent big money on O'brien and Makalamby. Hughes spent his on Miller and Stokes. I know who made the best buys.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar

JC's ideas were not suited to the psyche of the Scottish game and his ego would not allow himself to be looked upon as a failure so sadly he resigned.
    Last edited by Golden Bear; 03-10-2010 at 11:41 AM.

He spent big money on O'brien and Makalamby. Hughes spent his on Miller and Stokes. I know who made the best buys.
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure Hibs got O'Brien after his contract at Newcastle expired naw? We might have had to pay a few quid compensation but other than that? So I wouldn't class it as big money!

The Makalamby fee was undisclosed but I reckon if we paid anymore than five bob we were ripped off big time

Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure Hibs got O'Brien after his contract at Newcastle expired naw? We might have had to pay a few quid compensation but other than that? So I wouldn't class it as big money!

The Makalamby fee was undisclosed but I reckon if we paid anymore than five bob we were ripped off big time
    I don't think we got O'Brien for nothing? I might be wrong but I'm sure we payed upwards of £300k for him? Makalamby i cant remember, but think we also paid for him too????

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    P.S This isn't meant to be a patronising dig at you, Stevie. You're just the first person to bring up the philosophy thing.
    Aye it is .. your card's marked ..

Different managers, different philosphies.

Collins wanted finely tuned athletes dedicated to their profession and giving 110%.

Yogi wants a bunch of mates that'll be up for a good laugh.

But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

I don't think we got O'Brien for nothing? I might be wrong but I'm sure we payed upwards of £300k for him? Makalamby i cant remember, but think we also paid for him too????
    No wonder there`s so many disagreements on this board, how anybody could even contemplate Collins returning is beyond me, you could`ve mentioned the fact he dropped Fletcher for Damon Gray in the Semi Final and probably cost us a real chance of winning the Scottish Cup, the only thing JC was capable of managing was his ego and keeping it intact when the going got tough.

First Team Breakthrough An Leargaidh's Avatar

Thumbs Down

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    A board that matches his ambition and players who are willing to commit to being an athlete/professional sportsman ahead of other things. Both are in short supply at ER.
    I made the long trek to McDiarmid Park yesterday and couldn't believe the total drivel being played out on the field. I'd say about 3 or 4 Hibs players looked as if they were genuinely trying, the rest looked like they weren't sure what they were there for. A punter behind me shouted out, "yous are gettin' paid for ****** all!" and I totally agree

I went home and watched on old GAA All Ireland football final from 1982, 65000+ crown in pouring rain for a nail biting non-stop action game that turned round at the very last minute. A thrilling 70 minutes, and all by amateurs who get paid nothing and do it for pure sportsmanship and personal and county pride.

I have to say I didn't really see any or very much sportsmanship, personal or team pride yesterday and any I did was probably from the Saints players. Something far wrong somewhere with Hibs and the Board need to get to the bottom of it pronto

Quote Originally Posted by MickyBlueEyes68 View Post
    I made the long trek to McDiarmid Park yesterday and couldn't believe the total drivel being played out on the field. I'd say about 3 or 4 Hibs players looked as if they were genuinely trying, the rest looked like they weren't sure what they were there for. A punter behind me shouted out, "yous are gettin' paid for ****** all!" and I totally agree

I went home and watched on old GAA All Ireland football final from 1982, 65000+ crown in pouring rain for a nail biting non-stop action game that turned round at the very last minute. A thrilling 70 minutes, and all by amateurs who get paid nothing and do it for pure sportsmanship and personal and county pride.

I have to say I didn't really see any or very much sportsmanship, personal or team pride yesterday and any I did was probably from the Saints players. Something far wrong somewhere with Hibs and the Board need to get to the bottom of it pronto
    Personal and team pride went out the window when we started to pay footballers 10X, and more,the average wage for a working man. They have always been higher paid than your average Joes but now it is ridiculous. The long and the short of it is now that when they come to clubs like Hibs they don't give a **** as long as they get their money.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs13681 View Post
    I think that can be pretty much put down to the fact the manager had no influence on the team at that point. After the board sided with the players, the players power in the dressing room got stronger and Collins power diminished.
    The board never sided with the players, though - that's a myth. Petrie met the players and listened to their concerns, but he didn't over-rule Collins as far as I know.

Broony, Riorden, Thommo, Whitty,Fletcher and O'Conner. They were all great Mowbray buys right enough!

We also had one of the worst away records under monkey heid and got a big daddy of daddy humping from the Yams on more than a few occasions.

you forgot to mention sproule zemamma benji, killen...(left before cup win granted) jones??

Quote Originally Posted by matty_fairnie View Post
    The board never sided with the players, though - that's a myth. Petrie met the players and listened to their concerns, but he didn't over-rule Collins as far as I know.
    But not backing the manager in this case is just the same as siding with the players. There can only be one guy calling the shots on the footballing side and that should have been JC.

Quote Originally Posted by vahibbie View Post
    But not backing the manager in this case is just the same as siding with the players. There can only be one guy calling the shots on the footballing side and that should have been JC.
    What did Petrie do that did not back collins?

Wouldn't see the return of JC as a step forward. He has done nothing of note managerially since leaving.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar

Christ I must have dreamt the 3 wins at ibrox, the win at celtc park and all the fast flowing football then.

Gamertag: HibsMax
    It doesn't matter who ends up at Hibs as manager. The appointment will have its fans and haters. If it was left up to the Hibs fans, we would have nobody because we can't even agree amongst ourselves who that person should be. Some people on this thread would love to see JC back, others would run the other direction.

We can't even compare and contrast prior managers as they've had different players. You can only make a direct comparison when only ONE variable changes i.e., the manager. Manager A might get terrible results with Team A but with Team B he gets great results.

Personally speaking I would like to have a man in charge who knows what he is doing, has a proven track record, will command the respect of the players and is not afraid to rock the boat and deflate some egos when necessary.

I think it's really easy to take pot shots at Yogi based on the awful record we have but some of the blame has to go to the players as these are the guys who are executing on the pitch. Yogi picks the team, Yogi comes up with the game plan, etc. but Yogi cannot make the players pass to one another. He cannot make them shoot on target. He cannot play the game for them.

Who knows? Maybe the players hate him just enough to want him to get sacked?

Back on-topic, I would not be against seeing JC getting another crack at the whip but it would have to be different this time around. Actually, whether it's JC or not, things have to be different.

Promising Youngster w.connectionfc's Avatar

PSN ID: ianf1966
    a big NO for judas collins from me

£300k approx.

It cost £900k to bring in Zouma, Maka and Al O'Brien. This is in Hibs accounts for year ending 2008