If the "baby changing facilities" are above the door, how do you get inside?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
-
09-08-2010 10:06 AM #31
-
09-08-2010 10:06 AM #32
Very interesting thread folks, no kids as far as I know, so can't really comment, apart from the fact that it is good to see a thread where nobody has slagged off Hibs for a change!
-
09-08-2010 10:18 AM #33This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-08-2010 10:24 AM #34
I think that the Hibs Kids is a great way of easing your kids into the games. I wasn't sure how my 5 year old daughter would be at the footie so thought, well she's getting 4 games in a season for a tenner it doesn't matter if we have to leave at half time. That was last season and she loved it, especially when we hammered Hamilton, and stayed to the end each time.
Unfortunately she now wants to go to every game and was crying because I didn't get her a ticket for the Maribor game. It was me that was crying when I got back from it.
Every child is different and the only way to find out is try them and see.
-
09-08-2010 10:28 AM #35
Aye, those were indeed the days! footy for about 10 hrs a day without any metatarsal injuries etc! The big grass area at st cuthberts school was the ideal size for a footy pitch, with a wee game of cricket thrown in if there was a test match on the telly!
-
09-08-2010 10:42 AM #36This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Bit harsh to put all those that take kids into the examples you mention above. I make sure my kids behave at the football and I'm aware of how their behaviour might affect others.
And, as I've said, there is more to the day than the 90 minutes of football. I've found so far that the years between 4 and 8 are, without doubt, the best years to be spending as much time as possible with your kids.
-
09-08-2010 10:58 AM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Totally agree with you, Stevie - provided the parents do what you do and control the situation.
I know there are youngsters who seem to take to the occasion immediately and cause no bother.
There are others, unfortunately, who don't, and those kids shouldn't be brought back until they ARE of an age to enjoy it.
And equally unfortunately, there are a lot of parents who can sit totally oblivious for 2 hours while the evil sprog they've inflicted on the world makes everyone around them miserable.
These parents and their children I have encountered at ER, at the cinema, at the supermarket, and at my place of work.
Also in the library and once at the National Gallery at an art exhibition. Haemorrhoids, the lot of 'em.
And I would also say that I've encountered alleged "adults" behaving far worse than any kid. Sad people who seem to be trying to justify their presence on earth through their allegiance to a football team - and losing it totally when that team plays badly.Last edited by --------; 09-08-2010 at 11:03 AM.
-
09-08-2010 11:04 AM #38This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-08-2010 11:06 AM #39
First game I remember was away to East Fife, the game after the 0-7 match. Must have just turned 7. Vivid memories of Alan Gordon leaping like a salmon to head the only goal of the game.
I took my own 3 boys to their first games around their 4th birthdays. Fine for the 2 who have summer birthdays, not so great for the 1 with a December birthday. Bloomin' freezing!
I'd recommend mild weather and a big bag of sweets although by 4 they were able to watch the game and know what was going on.
Although my 3 are Hibees they are more into other pursuits e.g. music, rock climbing, cycling, swimming. I share an under 15 ST with a mate and our kids take turns about which works well.
As someone who didn't start going to games regularly until I started working and could afford it, there's plenty time for them to get really hooked.
-
09-08-2010 11:27 AM #40This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What you suggesting??????
I am a little ray of sunshine when I go to ER.
I am the original sunshine on Leith, I'll have you know.
Sweetness and light personified, in fact.
Seriously, I think when there IS a problem for kids and their parents at a football match, it's because a football stadium isn't exactly a child-friendly environment.
Also some parents don't exactly think things through before they bring the kids. A dad who's focussed on the football and ignoring the child beside him isn't actually doing the kid any favours.
But you're right - we need to cater for the youngsters regardless of how we feel or what went on in the "good old days" if we're going to build a secure future for the club. Which means more children, more family groups, more women and a happier and friendlier atmosphere at games.
We have 21,000 seats in the stadium now. It would be nice if maybe eventually we reach the point where a few away fans sitting quietly in the West Upper could do so without attracting hostility and possible abuse....
I'll endeavour to curb my inner Victor Meldrew and welcome the presence of children around me this season. At least until we're relegated.
-
09-08-2010 11:32 AM #41This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
wasn't a personal dig at you mate just giving my opinion.
-
09-08-2010 11:36 AM #42
Scott was 6 the first time I took him to ER. I made sure we had aisle seats (as I do everytime I take the kids anywhere) so that if he was getting up and down for the toilet, juice etc he wouldn't bother anybody. Its a lot to ask a small child to sit in the freezing cold watching a football game with 10000 adults shouting and (hopefully) cheering.
What age they should go depends on the child themselves. I'd say if you are doing it for you then dont. If you think they would enjoy it and are doing it for them then give it a try. If they dont enjoy it it doesn't mean they never will. Choose the game with a bit of sense. An OF game or a derby isn't the best first experience for a timid 3 year old but could be an amazing experience for an outgoing 6 year old.
-
09-08-2010 11:39 AM #43
I took both my sons to Easter Road when they were only 2.
It is a parents duty to brainwash their children to ensure that the only team they will ever support is the hibees.
-
09-08-2010 11:50 AM #44
My 5 year old girl has a season ticket and has done since she was 3, she loves going to games home and away.
My daughter took a keen interest in football at a early age and enjoys going to games and having a pie at half time and cheering on Hibs :)
I dont think any age is too young, just depends on the child i guess, some kids are into football at a early age and some just get bored :)
-
09-08-2010 12:06 PM #45This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I know.
I think we all have horror stories of finding ourselves trapped somewhere surrounded by the Family From Hell. Equally, I have memories of people who found it incredibly hard to understand that children are entitled to be part of the community and that THEY should make allowances accordingly.
One thought I have is tha this is where a couple of big screens would be useful at ER, as well as a much more professional approach to music and PA. We could learn a lot from the likes of ice hockey, IMO, about the way to present the game to a mixed audience. Kids love music, and good visuals can catch their imagination very easily.
-
09-08-2010 12:26 PM #46
Eagerly looking forward to taking the wee man to ER for the first time, but I'd rather it be something for him to remember and want to go to regularly, so I'm holding off til he's about 4 or 5 yrs (currently 9 months auld, so a wee bit to go!).
Got vague memories of my old boy (a some-time Falkirk supporter) taking me along to the old Brockvile and Stenny's grounds in the pshing rain when I was a wee boy and I think I liked the pies & scary atmosphere more than the actual fitbaw (That goes without saying I guess, given the grounds I mentioned!).
-
09-08-2010 12:43 PM #47
I took my daughter to her first game when she was 3 - she did enjoy it but a young kid's attention span is very limited so you will more than likely find yourself distracted from the game as your kid demands attention.
Best way to counteract this is if you can team up with a mate with a similar aged kid - that way they can entertain each other while you and your mate enjoy the game. Also it's a good plan to take em to a Hibs Kids game (yer kid gets two free games a season for £10 membership) as the atmosphere tends to be a bit less sweary.
If you decide to take em to a derby or OF match then don't blame the punters around you for turning the air blue - your responsibility as it's to be expected in these fixtures.
-
09-08-2010 02:36 PM #48
On the flip-side, when I first started going the fare on offer was so poor [Blackley/Miller] that it probably would've constituted child abuse if someone older was making me go...
As I was dragging myself along in the pishing rain however, it was all OK!