Latapy just edges it in my opinion.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeemikey21 View Post
    Who was your favourite out of the two?

Latapy just edges it in my opinion.
    no offence but yer aff yer heid.

As a player Sauzee was better in every department, Latapy was class but i can't see in any way how he could be better than Sauzee.

IMO Latapy wiill go down as a great player but Sauzee will go up there as one of there greatest.

Unfortunately i was miles too young to see Stanton play, however by all accounts they were similiar players but Sauzee was capped 38 times by France, the difference between the two of them is that Stanton obviously played for us for longer and during his prime, however thats the debate you should be having, latapy and Sauzee is a non starter IMO.

@hibs.net private member Mango Man's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post

As a player Sauzee was better in every department, Latapy was class but i can't see in any way how he could be better than Sauzee.

IMO Latapy wiill go down as a great player but Sauzee will go up there as one of there greatest.

Unfortunately i was miles too young to see Stanton play, however by all accounts they were similiar players but Sauzee was capped 38 times by France, the difference between the two of them is that Stanton obviously played for us for longer and during his prime, however thats the debate you should be having, latapy and Sauzee is a non starter IMO.
    I would say it's a slightly tougher decision than you suggest. Latapy's movement and skill was unlike anything i had seen at Easter Road, and he scored a load of goals too. Imo, he was a bit better than Sauzee in the last 3rd of the pitch for Hibs, created so many goals as well.

Don't get me wrong, i love Sauzee dearly, he has that aura of sheer class and wisdom about him, magical. How lucky are we to have seen them play in the same team together?!.

Not a patch on Flogel and Petric mind.........

Franck. And it isn't even close.

@hibs.net private member Big90inOz's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post

No offence but your off yer heid

The question was who was your favourite, not who was the best although i think there would be strong debate on that question too.

Frank was awesome, a fantastic footballer and a real gentleman. One of the sadest days was when the great man failed as our manager Frank led by example in every game he played, absolutly brilliant.

BUT as the game ( for me) is about the final quarter it has to be Latapy. It didn't matter how many players were around him you could give him the ball and be confident he would make something of it,he had vision, strength ( for a small man), movement and he could finish which for me made him more valuable than Le God.
    We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence,therefore, is not an act but a habit.

Very close. I loved Latapy but Sauzee edges it for me.

First Team Breakthrough Oscar Lomax's Avatar
    Two different types of players. I have had many discusions about this in the past !! For me, although Sauzee was a class player, Its Latapy that gets my vote. Simply amazing to watch him dance through defences with ease. Two great feet and not afraid to shoot.....His goal in the 6-2 games was simply delightful...Oh for a Russell nowadays ! ......

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    Sauzee, class act in every way!!

Sauzee, no comparison for me.

They were both amazing players but as your asking who's your favourite it has to be Sauzee. Latapty is no different to KT in my opinion. He sold us down the river to join the Huns and possibly cost us the Cup.

Gamertag: WormyEel
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Sauzee, no comparison for me.

Sauzee:notworthy:the genius just shades it over the other genius Russell:notworthy:

Latapy for me. Easily.

I went to games to watch exciting skilful football and Latas was the best I've seen at ER.

Sauzee was merely a defender. Albeit a pretty good one.

To answer the question that was asked - I can't separate the two of them.
    They are both all time favourites of mine, although they played completely different roles and can't therefore be compared to each other.

First Team Breakthrough scottp1875's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee78
    gotta be sauzee for me. latapy was great but ended on a sour note when he could have went out on a high in cup final

Sauzee for me, no contest.

Had every quality I'd want in a Hibs player - ability and character.

It's a real shame that such a figure is lost to the club.

Quote Originally Posted by mike_in_munich View Post
    They are both all time favourites of mine, although they played completely different roles and can't therefore be compared to each other.
    Id agree with all of that Mike.

Quote Originally Posted by sKipper View Post
    Latapy for me. Easily.

I went to games to watch exciting skilful football and Latas was the best I've seen at ER.

Deary me.

Latapy was a great wee player but it's not even close, has to be Sauzee every time. Oh and I'll think you will find he was much more than merely a defender :asshole:.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Latapy for me. Easily.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Loved watching Latapy play, but his antics just before the cup final put me off him I am afraid.

Therefore, no contest.

@hibs.net private member HibeeSince85's Avatar
    Latapy for me. Easily.

Oh dear, We've had some pretty good defenders at Easter Road in the past and will have in the future. Sauzee was an outstanding footballer, end of story.

To answer the main question thouugh, Both were class acts who played different positions with different roles in the team.

Sauzee shades it as my favourite because of the passion and commitment he has for Hibs, love them both though.

I loved watching both players and would happily lose a toe if we could have them back in the team now!

If I had to choose then I would have to go with Sauzee as my favourite.

Quote Originally Posted by mike_in_munich View Post
    Yeah, it annoys me when people try and claim that a centre forward is a better player than a goalie for example, when its impossible to draw such a comparison!

It was simply a case of which one did you prefer. Latapy was all tricks, skills and goals at a time in my life (I was around 10) when that is all that matters.

Was he not ranked as the 20 somethingth best player in the world by fifa when he was with us? Or am I just imagining that?

Sauzee by a mile.

ts a closer call for me between Zemmama and Latapy. Zemmama's had less games so in terms of consistent impact id go for Latapy but when Zouma's fit and doing his stuff id say they are very similar types of players at a similar level.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Sauzee by a mile.

ts a closer call for me between Zemmama and Latapy. Zemmama's had less games so in terms of consistent impact id go for Latapy but when Zouma's fit and doing his stuff id say they are very similar types of players at a similar level.
    Really?

Each to their own and all that, but I think Sauzee and Latapy are on one level and Zemmama is not even close to it

Latapy for me. Easily.

Oh dear.

Zouma has a long way to go to be seen in a Latapy vein. Best I've ever seen for Hibs.

Love Sauzee but it's Latapy that was my hero. Fair enough it went sour but IMO he still held the club dear and he was more than a mercenary as shown in one of the hibs dvds where he tells about Hibs' history.

How lucky we were.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Frank 'Just a defender' Sauzee for me. By a mile.

Franck Sauzee - "just a defender" christ, iv heard it all now! Not much better than PC Murdoch or Calamity Caldwell then, aye?? Utter rot, he was, is and will probably be the classiest player anyone under the age of 35 has ever seen at ER. King Franck by a distance for me.