Thread: John Collins

John Collins

Nice to see John Collins in the stand at the Pennypit today taking in Hibs U19's 4-1 victory. Mind you, he looked a wee bit taken aback when wee Mick Mcghee asked if he could go hame wi him for his tea!!!

Wish he was our manager now

Quote Originally Posted by Boris View Post
    Nice to see John Collins in the stand at the Pennypit today taking in Hibs U19's 4-1 victory. Mind you, he looked a wee bit taken aback when wee Mick Mcghee asked if he could go hame wi him for his tea!!!
    Just up the road from his house at Craigielaw, so what could be better than a visit to the Pans to see the Hibs?

Quality

@hibs.net private member Gerard's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Frank View Post
    Wish he was our manager now
    I hoped that he would have stayed longer at Hibs as a manager. That is now history and John Hughes deserves his chance for a bit longer John we need a new CH, attacking mid field player and a GK
    Gerard

I'd have been more taken aback if Mick hudnae asked him
    This is how it feels

very good and clever manager.

I'd love to see him come back. It must have been frustrating for him. if it is true that he left due to very strict budget constraints at a time when we sold our best talent for lots of money, i can understand his frustrations. especially when you consider he delivered a cup and helped drive up the fees for brown and thomson by being so stubborn with the old firm.

It's ironic when you think mixu and yogi have had comparatively large budgets and delivered poor football, reducing crowds and very little to be optomistic about!

Bring back jc!

First Team Regular ForeverHibs93's Avatar

Gamertag: xox TopLad xox
    Quote Originally Posted by sixtwo View Post

I'd love to see him come back. It must have been frustrating for him. if it is true that he left due to very strict budget constraints at a time when we sold our best talent for lots of money, i can understand his frustrations. especially when you consider he delivered a cup and helped drive up the fees for brown and thomson by being so stubborn with the old firm.

It's ironic when you think mixu and yogi have had comparatively large budgets and delivered poor football, reducing crowds and very little to be optomistic about!

Bring back jc!
    Couldn't agree more I think JC is a great manager, and had a lot to offer us

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    JC seemed to get his tactics right, and knew what he wanted from his players, BUT, he didnt seem to have an eye for a player. It seems to be that if we could have Mixu/Yogi as the player spotter, and JC as the coach/tactician, we would be on to a winner

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sixtwo View Post

Bring back jc!
    Just so long as he's not allowed to sign players!

Quote Originally Posted by greg_hibee View Post
    Couldn't agree more I think JC is a great manager, and had a lot to offer us
    He was rubbish.

Quote Originally Posted by sahib View Post
    He was rubbish.
    First cup win in 16 years, more than mowbary etc. done, so that comment is ridiculous

Quote Originally Posted by greg_hibee View Post
    First cup win in 16 years, more than mowbary etc. done, so that comment is ridiculous
    Collins was NOT better than Mowbray overall. You reckon Mowbary would not have gone onto win that tournament? I seem to remember us doing our best to get punted out by a first division team in the semi final in an utterly appalling performance too.

Mowbray did more for Hibs than Collins was ever likely to.

Yogi was there too I hear. Anyone see if the two of them were chatting to eachother?

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    He had the potential to be a great Hibernian Manager but his ego would not allow him to be seen as a failure in his first Managerial appointment.

It's a pity he'd been out of the game for so long prior to his appointment which is possibly why he made so many poor signings.

But oh how I wish he was still there.

Makalamby and Alan O'Brien, Kevin McCann at centre half, enough said.

hughes made any ***** signings blackpool?

At the very least, the players under jc were fit

hughes team dont seem to be able to pass 5 yards!!!!!

Come back to Easter Road!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Collins was NOT better than Mowbray overall. You reckon Mowbary would not have gone onto win that tournament? I seem to remember us doing our best to get punted out by a first division team in the semi final in an utterly appalling performance too.

I never said he was? I was pointing out to say that someone who won us our first cup in 16 years 'rubbish' is IMO daft.

Quote Originally Posted by Big Frank View Post
    hughes made any ***** signings blackpool?

At the very least, the players under jc were fit

hughes team dont seem to be able to pass 5 yards!!!!!
    Collins made a lot of bad signings! O'Brien, Maka, Donaldson, Curier, Kerr and Morais to name a few

The players were fit under Collins but they also were unhappy resulting in a mutiny that was damaging to the club. Collins might have talked a good game but in the end when players moved on he didn't replace them with quality and our form dipped. His tactics were constantly changing and nearly always made subs in the first half or at half time.

JC did win a cup and was a great player for us but I think the current opinion of Hughes is causing people to look back with rose-tinted glasses at the Collins era.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Mikey View Post
    Collins made a lot of bad signings! O'Brien, Maka, Donaldson, Curier, Kerr and Morais to name a few

The players were fit under Collins but they also were unhappy resulting in a mutiny that was damaging to the club. Collins might have talked a good game but in the end when players moved on he didn't replace them with quality and our form dipped. His tactics were constantly changing and nearly always made subs in the first half or at half time.

JC did win a cup and was a great player for us but I think the current opinion of Hughes is causing people to look back with rose-tinted glasses at the Collins era.
    I'd taKe him back at ER especially if we inist on playing the long ball, wouldn't you?

Maka did have his moments and, while I agree he was pretty gash, I still think there's a decent keeper in there somewhere.
    MAC's also gone on to score a god few goals in a team where he gets less service than he did at ER. I'm not saying that he'd displace Ant and Deek but i think he'd be a better option than Nish as he can play wide too when Zemamma's injured (so he'd get a game more often than not).

But yes, the others really were amongst the worst signings i've seen at ER in a long time.

And you forgot Jonny fae leith.
    Last edited by Houchy; 08-08-2010 at 10:07 AM.

spot on

These so-called duds were good enough to play Rangers off the park and win at Ibrox.

JC was the right guy for the job and did a lot of good. He helped modernise the plans for East Mains, the team were the fittest I've ever seen at Hibs and tactically well organised. Contrary to popular belief, his man-management skills can't be totally derided because many of the players loved working for him.

The only problem he had was the signings. I think if he had a second shot at it, on an increased budget he'd learn from his mistakes. After all, it was his first job.

I hope history is kind to him because he won the League Cup in style and gave me some great moments during his all-too-brief reign.

He help us win a cup so we are grateful for that. But I cant beleive people want him back. How many on here have said we need an expreinced manager? not someone who is drive by idealoigy in same way Hughes is. JC is gone but not forgotten

Quote Originally Posted by Perspective View Post
    These so-called duds were good enough to play Rangers off the park and win at Ibrox.

JC was the right guy for the job and did a lot of good. He helped modernise the plans for East Mains, the team were the fittest I've ever seen at Hibs and tactically well organised. Contrary to popular belief, his man-management skills can't be totally derided because many of the players loved working for him.

The only problem he had was the signings. I think if he had a second shot at it, on an increased budget he'd learn from his mistakes. After all, it was his first job.

I hope history is kind to him because he won the League Cup in style and gave me some great moments during his all-too-brief reign.
    Tactically well organised? We changed tactics nearly every game under Collins and sometimes during the game usually with early subs. JC is the only manager I have ever known to make so many early subs. He had a second shot at management at Charleroi and wasn't a success there either.

JC had a similar budget to Mixu and Hughes, but he chose to spend it on players like Maka and O'Brien who were just not good enough. Managers have to work within the limits of their budget, IMO this is a huge part of a managers job. Collins was greatly lacking in this aspect of management.

Thought JC was a pretty crap manager for us.

He totally has the right footballing ideas though, I reckon he'd make a superb Youth Coach, instilling the proper mentality into the young players regarding diet, behaviour and also how to play football by being comfortable on the ball.

The style of football he wanted us to play, you cant just get seasoned pro's to start doing it if they've never played like that before in their life, its something that they have to be brought up to do from a young age. I remember listening to JC on the tv, he was saying in Scotland we have to change our mentality, get young players comfortable on the ball, get them knocking it about etc. I would seriously consider putting JC in charge of Youth operations at ER, i know that probably wouldnt happen but the SFA could do worse than get him on board!

Still a crap manager tho!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post

Whilst I can see where you are coming from all I can say is 'CIS Cup'

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Thought JC was a pretty crap manager for us.

He totally has the right footballing ideas though, I reckon he'd make a superb Youth Coach, instilling the proper mentality into the young players regarding diet, behaviour and also how to play football by being comfortable on the ball.
    The style of football he wanted us to play, you cant just get seasoned pro's to start doing it if they've never played like that before in their life, its something that they have to be brought up to do from a young age. I remember listening to JC on the tv, he was saying in Scotland we have to change our mentality, get young players comfortable on the ball, get them knocking it about etc. I would seriously consider putting JC in charge of Youth operations at ER, i know that probably wouldnt happen but the SFA could do worse than get him on board!

Still a crap manager tho!
    I think that is where JC's strengths lie - he would make a superb Academy Director.

Another of his mistakes as manager was appointing Craig as his assistant. He may have developed better as a manager, IMO, with a different character altogether beside him (maybe an older manager who had been over the course).

Tactically well organised? We changed tactics nearly every game under Collins and sometimes during the game usually with early subs. JC is the only manager I have ever known to make so many early subs. He had a second shot at management at Charleroi and wasn't a success there either.

JC had a similar budget to Mixu and Hughes, but he chose to spend it on players like Maka and O'Brien who were just not good enough. Managers have to work within the limits of their budget, IMO this is a huge part of a managers job. Collins was greatly lacking in this aspect of management.
    how did he fail there? he kept them up and left at the end of the season after it looked like they were going down.