This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteNor meThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thread: The Way the English Speak
-
08-04-2010 08:47 PM #61RemovedLeft by mutual consent!
-
09-04-2010 08:41 AM #62This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The judge caused a few chuckles when he asked, "and how tall was this chep?"
(c. Weekly News)
I was working in a hospital in Fife, and someone said to my colleague "excuse me hen are you the doctor", and she said "no, I'm a nurse, and I' not related to the patient at all".
(c. Central Fife Times)
So a guy goes into a athletics stadium and the man on the door says "are you a pole vaulter", and the bloke replies "no, I'm German and how did you know my name is Walter?"
(c. Chic Murray)
I'm here all week.
-
10-04-2010 11:11 AM #63
In Scotland : I am going to the hospital.
In the US : I am going to hospital.
In Scotland : Shut up, woman! can't you see I'm watching the football?
In the US : Shut up, woman!, can't you see I'm watching football?
For some reason the "the" gets dropped over here.
-
10-04-2010 12:30 PM #64
- Gamer IDs
-
It's because they don't know how to speak proper English. Heathens!!
-
10-04-2010 03:37 PM #65This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
'I'm going on Saturday to watch Panthers'
I think it should be:
'I'm going on Saturday to watch The Panthers.
(I'm not by the way...)
-
12-04-2010 02:22 PM #66This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Personally I like local accents although coming fron Stirling I don't have one ken! Some are annoying like Hampshire but Geordie women I could listen to all day."Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.
-
12-04-2010 02:27 PM #67
Roll = Barmcake
Piece = Buttie
Fizzy Juice (Any type) = Lemo
Ice Lolly = Lolly Ice
-
12-04-2010 03:15 PM #68This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-04-2010 02:22 PM #69This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote"Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.
-
13-04-2010 09:05 PM #70
the 1 that gets me is in newcastle at the fitba if the scores nil-nil they say nils each
-
14-04-2010 12:46 PM #71This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's embarrassing to admit but after spending 12 years here things I thought I would never say, and resisted for as long as I could, I now say:
gas instead of petrol
hood instead of bonnet
trunk instead of boot
rotary instead of roundabout
windshield instead of windscreen
for some reason most of the differences seem to be car-related. LOL.
-
14-04-2010 12:55 PM #72RemovedLeft by mutual consent!This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Circle anyone
-
14-04-2010 12:58 PM #73This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
And what the hell is a "turnpike"??
Pants instead of trousers is one that causes me some mirth, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.
ATM for cash machine is the only one that I use with any regularity, and I always scold myself when I do!!
-
14-04-2010 01:08 PM #74This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
For example, nobody understands when I say that we were playing rangers or celtic, I have to say "ronjerz or celteek de glasssgow". Hibs are 'eebernianss" (in true Franck Sauzee style).
Wimbledon becomes "wambliedon", David Bowie becomes Dahveed Boweee, etc.
It does ma heid in!
-
14-04-2010 01:11 PM #75This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-04-2010 01:16 PM #76This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I was teaching English, but explaining something in French, which, for some reason, involved me asking the question.
Who here has heard of David Beckham (with David Beckham pronounced properly)
This illicted not a twitch from the class - 30 blank looks, which perturbed me somewhat, so I asked the question again, this time pronouncing it a la Français:
Daveeede Beck'ammmmm
Bingo!! 30 hands shot up into the air.
---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------
Apparently his bumbag wasn't on quite right.............
-
14-04-2010 01:51 PM #77This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-04-2010 08:40 PM #78This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-04-2010 08:35 AM #79
What annoys me is the now universal habit of nurses, bank clerks, customer service folk etc of saying "for me" all the time - personalising some mundane task.
Example: Nurse taking blood pressure: "Just roll up your sleeve FOR ME will you?"
Example: In the Bank: "If you could sign here and here FOR ME please."
Do they use this expression at home too? "Could you do the washing up FOR ME dear?"
"If you could just put out the rubbish FOR ME, that would be great."
-
15-04-2010 10:02 AM #80
i lived in West Cumbria for a while - in Workington to be precise - and that is a truly weird accent.
"How you doin' mate" becomes "Oost tha jooyn, marra". Marra being the universally used word for pal/mate.
Also, virtually every sentence ends in "eh", pronounced with a hard "e" as in "egg".
Lastly, despite being married to a Cumbrian for 20 years it is an impossible accent to mimic, even badly. Imagine a hybrid of Lancashire, Scouse and Geordie, and you're getting a rough idea.
-
15-04-2010 11:11 AM #81This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Nowt wrong with saying "made up" as a means of saying you're pleased with something; "I were made up with it" (shocking grammar to say 'were' instead of 'was' and all)
West Cumbria is one strange, strange place though, you're right there TC. Regularly speak to customers at work from the Whitehaven/Wukkington sort of areas and it's almost incomprehensible.
-
15-04-2010 11:22 PM #82This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
15 years in the nations capital and refuses to call an outsider a heel.....