I've never heard that
    Nor me

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I thought having your tea lifted (i.e. it was ready and being served) was Scottish, but talking about it to other folk, it sounds like it might just be Edinburgh?

My personal favourite is probably 'clapping' a dog or a cat. Those unfamiliar with the expression must wonder what the pet has done to deserve such acclamation......
    A witness at a trial in Lanarksire said their had been "a chap at the door".

The judge caused a few chuckles when he asked, "and how tall was this chep?"

(c. Weekly News)

I was working in a hospital in Fife, and someone said to my colleague "excuse me hen are you the doctor", and she said "no, I'm a nurse, and I' not related to the patient at all".

(c. Central Fife Times)

So a guy goes into a athletics stadium and the man on the door says "are you a pole vaulter", and the bloke replies "no, I'm German and how did you know my name is Walter?"

(c. Chic Murray)

I'm here all week.

Gamertag: HibsMax
    In Scotland : I am going to the hospital.
    In the US : I am going to hospital.

In Scotland : Shut up, woman! can't you see I'm watching the football?
    In the US : Shut up, woman!, can't you see I'm watching football?

For some reason the "the" gets dropped over here.

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by HibsMax View Post

It's because they don't know how to speak proper English. Heathens!!

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar

It's similar here where they would say:

'I'm going on Saturday to watch Panthers'

I think it should be:

'I'm going on Saturday to watch The Panthers.

(I'm not by the way...)
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.
    They call it Galloway Irish and they all add "so it is" to the end of each sentence.

Personally I like local accents although coming fron Stirling I don't have one ken! Some are annoying like Hampshire but Geordie women I could listen to all day.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

Roll = Barmcake

Piece = Buttie

Fizzy Juice (Any type) = Lemo

Ice Lolly = Lolly Ice

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ginger_rice View Post
    They call it Galloway Irish and they all add "so it is" to the end of each sentence.

Personally I like local accents although coming fron Stirling I don't have one ken! Some are annoying like Hampshire but Geordie women I could listen to all day.
    I don't know about that, if I had to listen to Cheryl Cole for more than 5 minutes I'd be sleeping. She sounds like she's on medication.

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I don't know about that, if I had to listen to Cheryl Cole for more than 5 minutes I'd be sleeping. She sounds like she's on medication.
    Aye fair point! Mind you most of the geordie women I know look nothing like she does, I think it's down to the bottles of Broon Ale they drink
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

the 1 that gets me is in newcastle at the fitba if the scores nil-nil they say nils each

Gamertag: HibsMax
    Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post

LOL. Believe me, I correct them all the time. ;)

It's embarrassing to admit but after spending 12 years here things I thought I would never say, and resisted for as long as I could, I now say:
    gas instead of petrol
    hood instead of bonnet
    trunk instead of boot
    rotary instead of roundabout
    windshield instead of windscreen

for some reason most of the differences seem to be car-related. LOL.

Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post

It's embarrassing to admit but after spending 12 years here things I thought I would never say, and resisted for as long as I could, I now say:
    gas instead of petrol
    hood instead of bonnet
    trunk instead of boot

Circle anyone

gas instead of petrol
    hood instead of bonnet
    trunk instead of boot

You what???

And what the hell is a "turnpike"??

Pants instead of trousers is one that causes me some mirth, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.

ATM for cash machine is the only one that I use with any regularity, and I always scold myself when I do!!

gas instead of petrol
    hood instead of bonnet
    trunk instead of boot

I find myself having to mispronounce English words and names to be understood across here.

For example, nobody understands when I say that we were playing rangers or celtic, I have to say "ronjerz or celteek de glasssgow". Hibs are 'eebernianss" (in true Franck Sauzee style ).

Wimbledon becomes "wambliedon", David Bowie becomes Dahveed Boweee, etc.

It does ma heid in!

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    You what???

And what the hell is a "turnpike"??

Pants instead of trousers is one that causes me some mirth, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.

ATM for cash machine is the only one that I use with any regularity, and I always scold myself when I do!!
    Fanny!

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    I find myself having to mispronounce English words and names to be understood across here.

For example, nobody understands when I say that we were playing rangers or celtic, I have to say "ronjerz or celteek de glasssgow". Hibs are 'eebernianss" (in true Franck Sauzee style ).

Wimbledon becomes "wambliedon", David Bowie becomes Dahveed Boweee, etc.

It does ma heid in!
    Yup - when I was over there, I was working with a class of 10-11 year olds, and several were football mad.

I was teaching English, but explaining something in French, which, for some reason, involved me asking the question.

Who here has heard of David Beckham (with David Beckham pronounced properly)

This illicted not a twitch from the class - 30 blank looks, which perturbed me somewhat, so I asked the question again, this time pronouncing it a la Français:

Daveeede Beck'ammmmm

Bingo!! 30 hands shot up into the air.

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    Fanny!
    Lol aye, walking along a walkway (or "boardwalk") next to the beach in California, I was slightly taken aback to hear a mother tell her 8 year old bairn to "sort out your fanny pack"

Apparently his bumbag wasn't on quite right.............

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar

gas instead of petrol
    hood instead of bonnet
    trunk instead of boot

Automobile-related.

FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

, as is a rubber in US English being a common term for a condom.
    Down here they're called dobbers or jonnies.

What annoys me is the now universal habit of nurses, bank clerks, customer service folk etc of saying "for me" all the time - personalising some mundane task.

Example: Nurse taking blood pressure: "Just roll up your sleeve FOR ME will you?"
    Example: In the Bank: "If you could sign here and here FOR ME please."

Do they use this expression at home too? "Could you do the washing up FOR ME dear?"
    "If you could just put out the rubbish FOR ME, that would be great."

i lived in West Cumbria for a while - in Workington to be precise - and that is a truly weird accent.

"How you doin' mate" becomes "Oost tha jooyn, marra". Marra being the universally used word for pal/mate.

Also, virtually every sentence ends in "eh", pronounced with a hard "e" as in "egg".

Lastly, despite being married to a Cumbrian for 20 years it is an impossible accent to mimic, even badly. Imagine a hybrid of Lancashire, Scouse and Geordie, and you're getting a rough idea.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Roll = Barmcake
    Finally a bit of sense on here!

Nowt wrong with saying "made up" as a means of saying you're pleased with something; "I were made up with it" (shocking grammar to say 'were' instead of 'was' and all)

West Cumbria is one strange, strange place though, you're right there TC. Regularly speak to customers at work from the Whitehaven/Wukkington sort of areas and it's almost incomprehensible.

Quote Originally Posted by Hillsidehibby View Post
    Another one I only hear in Edinburgh is "the next again day" . Fair annoys the weegies that one.
    My wife's Weedge, disnae like " the morns morn"

15 years in the nations capital and refuses to call an outsider a heel.....