Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Supermac View Post
    Coventry City? I'm sure I remember John Salako playing for them at ER.
    Gary McAllister was absolutely brilliant that day and showed what a fantastic player he was. He was getting it tight from the Hibs fans because he was very vocal about the Scotland v Lithuania World Cup qualifier being switched from ER to Parkhead. In hindsight, he was spot on as a full house watched Scotland qualify.

I remember when he got subbed he received a standing ovation from the main stand.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybrian View Post
    Technically Notts County and Accrington Stanley haven't played at Easter Road Stadium as the games were played at the old "Hibernian Park" over the railway line from the present stadium - if you include the old park then you can add:

Church Lancashire
    Corinthian's English Select
    Holmes Zulus of Sheffield (charity team)
    Newcastle Tyne Association

Additional English teams to have played at Easter Road:

Barnsley
    Bristol City
    Wolves
    Bradford City
    Middlesborough Ironopolis
    Also Burnley (against Edinburgh Select).

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Rangers, twice a season.

First Team Breakthrough mouvran's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo View Post
    Derby County, Centenary Friendly before 75/76 season
    You dont happen to know the score of that one?

Quote Originally Posted by mouvran View Post
    You dont happen to know the score of that one?
    1-0 to Derby
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by killie-hibby View Post
    Sunderland at ER,late 50's or early 60's. Brian Clough was in their team.
    Also remember combined Hibs/Hearts select playing in pre season charity games against top English sides.
    Might that have been Middlesbrough rather than Sunderland?

Hibs 6 Boro 6 on 2/11/1959 Joe Baker (3), Bobby Johnstone (2), Willie Ormond

Ten days later we beat them 4-3 at Ayresome Park - Tommy Preston, Joe Baker, Willie Ormond, Johnny McLeod
    This is how it feels

Stoke, sometime in the mid 70's - Gordon Banks played for them that night near the end of his career. Only one yak as well, amazing goalie still. Garth Crooks made his debut.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Stoke, sometime in the mid 70's - Gordon Banks played for them that night near the end of his career. Only one yak as well, amazing goalie still. Garth Crooks made his debut.

16/11/76 Hibs 0 Stoke 1
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post

16/11/76 Hibs 0 Stoke 1
    Cheers J.

9 days before my 16th Birthday. That was a weird mid-week friendly to arrange. Also remember it was quite foggy.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    Rangers, twice a season.
    Beat me to it .....

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    Wigan are the most recent English team to play us at ER i think.

Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo View Post
    Derby County, Centenary Friendly before 75/76 season
    HELLO FOLKS FIRST POSTER!

Yes that was my first ever game.remember being in dunbar end and a massive crowd ,think we got beat 1 nil.

English teams

Re. Stoke game when Gordon Banks played: I'm sure Garth Crooks scored the only goal that night with five minutes to go.

First Team Breakthrough 12AlbionPlace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobster View Post
    Re. Stoke game when Gordon Banks played: I'm sure Garth Crooks scored the only goal that night with five minutes to go.
    I knew there was a reason i don't like him

I remember waiting for Banks autograph at the players entrance under the west stand, bit different now!

A visit to the loft is in order to dig that programme out.

English teams

Don't think Man City have played Hibs at ER. They played Coventry at ER in the Skol pre-season tournament thingy in the late 70s and Hibs played Man City at Tynecastle when Joe Corrigan laid out Colin Campbell.
    Remember the Man City fans chanting "Subbuteo" towards the old Albion Road end enclosure which I suppose was quite funny at the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobster View Post
    Don't think Man City have played Hibs at ER.
    1-Nov 1955 Hibernian 2-1 Manchester City Friendly
    25-Nov 1957 Hibernian 5-2 Manchester City Friendly
    3-Aug 1984 Hibernian 0-0 Manchester City Friendly

Ten days later we beat them 4-3 at Ayresome Park - Tommy Preston, Joe Baker, Willie Ormond, Johnny McLeod

Yes, it was Middlesbrough. Memories fade,dont keep written records. But should have remembered from reading The Damned United.

English teams

Thanks HibbyBrian for correcting me. Should have guessed I was wrong given the Bobby Johnstone link.

Hibs are listed as beating Manchester City 5-2 in a November 1957 friendly match.

Has anyone got any details of who was in the Hibs team and who scored?

Our record against English sides must be pretty decent. Can't really remember many defeats in pre season games

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Hibs are listed as beating Manchester City 5-2 in a November 1957 friendly match.

Has anyone got any details of who was in the Hibs team and who scored?
    Ormond 2
    Turnbull
    Baker
    Harrower

Man City side included Bert Trautmann Ken Barnes Dave Ewing and Bobby Johnstone

Two days later:

Middlesborough 0 v 5 Hibernian

Harrower 2
    Preston 2
    Ormond

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Ormond 2
    Turnbull
    Baker
    Harrower

Two days later:

Harrower 2
    Preston 2
    Ormond
    Speaking of Middlesboro, I have very vague memories of a pre-season friendly v them which featured Norbert Stiles. Must have been early 70's. I suppose the toothless one was rather famous and it stuck with me that he played. Hibs lost that game?

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Speaking of Middlesboro, I have very vague memories of a pre-season friendly v them which featured Norbert Stiles. Must have been early 70's. I suppose the toothless one was rather famous and it stuck with me that he played. Hibs lost that game?
    Yip crunched Bertie Auld who was making his debut

Bertie fell awkwardly and ‘did’ his collar bone

Tam McNiven came on and informed Bertie he would have to come off

Bertie says “ Give me 5 minutes “

Two minutes later Nobby is getting carried off on a stretcher

Think we lost 0-2 two late goals

It was also Ned’s first official game in charge

Nice thread to resurrect.

This was the game when the England Selection Committee came up to ER to watch both Baker and Clough go head to head. Baker scored a hat trick and made his full England debut 16 days later getting a goal and an assist.

http://www.englandfootballonline.com...37NIr1959.html

Footage of Baker's England debut on youtube. 19 years old.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uLb31pq7WY

At 19secs you can see that irate Jambo guy who does his "I'm angry" vlog in his jammies.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermac View Post
    Coventry City? I'm sure I remember John Salako playing for them at ER.
    Was that late 70s early 80s, I mind loads of sticky buns turned up cos Jock Wallace was the CC manager at the time. There was bother outside the main stand and along ER after the game with the buns.
    Last edited by norhfc; 06-04-2021 at 04:02 PM.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Yip crunched Bertie Auld who was making his debut

Bertie fell awkwardly and ‘did’ his collar bone

Tam McNiven came on and informed Bertie he would have to come off

Bertie says “ Give me 5 minutes “

Two minutes later Nobby is getting carried off on a stretcher

Think we lost 0-2 two late goals

It was also Ned’s first official game in charge
    My selective powers of recall amaze me, this must have been before the start of 71-72 season? I'd have been 7, coming on 8. Must have been easily impressed (by seeing the great Nobby).

Ormond 2
    Turnbull
    Baker
    Harrower

Two days later:

Harrower 2
    Preston 2
    Ormond
    Thanks very much for the information.

@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar
    Anyone remember a friendly against Middlesborough at Easter Rd, must have been in the early 70s?

Jack Charlton was their manager.

They played a hundred-miles-an-hour pressing game (first time I'd witnessed it) and wiped the floor with the Hibees. I think it was about 0-4.

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    Gary McAllister was absolutely brilliant that day and showed what a fantastic player he was. He was getting it tight from the Hibs fans because he was very vocal about the Scotland v Lithuania World Cup qualifier being switched from ER to Parkhead. In hindsight, he was spot on as a full house watched Scotland qualify.

I remember when he got subbed he received a standing ovation from the main stand.

Yeah, I remember that one too. Was that 96/97 or 98? Pre-season friendly. I think Nii Lamptey might have played (which I wanted to see as he was the first 'superplayer' in Championship Manager...)