Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: tories

tories

what is everyones views on the tories? the fact that they are going to make the rich, richer and the poor, poorer is totaly out of order what do you think

Same old Tories! Nothing new here except a new smug face to go with it.

It's George Osbourne I'm worried about. Wouldn't trust him to get my messages fae the shops nevermind run the UK's economy.

When Cameron and his chums get in it will be like a group of chimps running the country.

A Tory win however is the best thing that can happen for Scottish Independence, so moan the Tories.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    They seem to be all style and little substance to me. I haven't been too impressed with the people they think are going to be minsters (and let's face it, the standard is pretty low). Finally, that Bullingdon club photo should tell most people what we are up against.

Exploitative **** that will distribute even more of the country's declining wealth into the pockets of those already rolling in it, but that's what they've always been about, indeed it could be argued it's their function. At least they're more honest than New Labour, who now carry out exactly the same role, but with the hypocrisy that they are 'for the people.'

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Exploitative **** that will distribute even more of the country's declining wealth into the pockets of those already rolling in it, but that's what they've always been about, indeed it could be argued it's their function. At least they're more honest than New Labour, who now carry out exactly the same role, but with the hypocrisy that they are 'for the people.'
    For Tory read Republican for Labour read Democrat, and just like in the States two cheeks of the same erse
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeeliam View Post
    what is everyones views on the tories? the fact that they are going to make the rich, richer and the poor, poorer is totaly out of order what do you think
    That is out of order, and I can't stand them for that. But let's not forget that Labour has done just that for the past 13 years.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeeliam View Post
    Survival of the fittest Im afraid. I feel that Scotland is too left winged and Im sick of this nanny state culture full of scroungers on the dole just because they cant be arsed getting a job which I pay towards.

David Cameron will be a great PM (and he hates the yams too) so even more reason to vote for him.

Quote Originally Posted by ZippytheHibee View Post
    Survival of the fittest Im afraid. I feel that Scotland is too left winged and Im sick of this nanny state culture full of scroungers on the dole just because they cant be arsed getting a job which I pay towards.

David Cameron will be a great PM (and he hates the yams too) so even more reason to vote for him.
    Funniest post I have read today.

Brown is the lesser of several evils.

'Mon Labour.

What makes you think that? Out of curiosity, have you lived under a Tory government?

The Tories and New Labour have done basically the same thing each time both have been in power.

Like others on here, I'd vote Labour over the Tories any day - although when the election comes around I doubt I'll vote for either tbh.

I hate Cameron and Osborne, pair of Eton tally-ho, pimms drinking, groin slapping, yacht owning, lemon merangue pie appreciating, keeping up appearances liking, fuds. They'd also bring back fox hunting which I can't abide.

'Mon Labour!!!!!

While I agree that something has to be done about the pockets of society that are bleeding us dry through doing nothing for themselves, I would be very worried if we were to resort to cutting those in genuine need loose.

We can't go on allowing children to come into the world with their only prospect being a life on benefits. Sadly. that was exactly what Thatcher and her storm troopers engineered. The strong would progress up the way, whilst the weak were left n state sponsored ghettos, their anger controlled by over prescription of certain drugs.

I really hope someone can do something about that, the only attempt I have seen to repair our society is n the policies and goals that the SNP are going for.

Why do you think Cameron will be a great PM.

Gamertag: sgian dubh80
    Which was the last political movement to have had Britain's begging bowl brought out for the IMF?

Which political movement, if re-elected, will have us back there again?

Which politcal movement allowed the Unions to bring the country to it's knees?

Which politcal movement allowed the UK to have most of it's legislative powers transferred to the EU?

Which political movement allowed an era of cheap money to create a massive assest price bubble, which has only partially burst?

Quote Originally Posted by IndieHibby View Post
    Which was the last political movement to have had Britain's begging bowl brought out for the IMF?

Which political movement, if re-elected, will have us back there again?

Which politcal movement allowed the Unions to bring the country to it's knees?

Which politcal movement allowed the UK to have most of it's legislative powers transferred to the EU?

Which political movement allowed an era of cheap money to create a massive assest price bubble, which has only partially burst?

Should you not post a link to the Daily Mail article to keep the record straight

The tories took us into WW2, and it took us 60 years to pay the Yanks back. So if you really want answers to your questions dig deeper. Britain was on its arse, and things came to a head in the 70s.

I also love the way that British management - which was on the other side of the disputes - get off without any criticism whilst the unions get all the blame.

Also, IIRC, it was one E. Heath who took us into Europe, and one W. Churchill who proposed a common market in the first place. Can't remember what party these obscure duffers represented.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Should you not post a link to the Daily Mail article to keep the record straight.
    I don't read it, so wouldn't know.

The tories took us into WW2, and it took us 60 years to pay the Yanks back. So if you really want answers to your questions dig deeper. Britain was on its arse, and things came to a head in the 70s..
    New one on me (not hard, i'll admit) How was WWII preventable by the Tories?

I also love the way that British management - which was on the other side of the disputes - get off without any criticism whilst the unions get all the blame..
    So how did we get to the nadir of the winter of discontent? How was it resolved?

Also, IIRC, it was one E. Heath who took us into Europe, and one W. Churchill who proposed a common market in the first place. Can't remember what party these obscure duffers represented.
    I think they were Tory, FR!

In all seriousness, though, the common market is an excellent idea. I think it is why Europe has become so prosperous. It just politcal/legal union that has followed on from it. Not sure you can blame the Tories for that one.
    Last edited by IndieHibby; 05-02-2010 at 02:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Agree with that.

Right Hibby's - we are all going to be voting in a few months (at least we should be) and as a relatively young 'un, who knows nothing of history/politics etc, I feel that I would much rather log on here and hear some actual facts rather than regurgitated party-politcial cheap shots.

So, those of you in the know, please share with us your thoughts. I'll start:

Britain needs to pay down debt, double quick, in order to calm markets.
    British competitiveness needs to be a government priority, with a clear review and strategy
    Public sector is too big and hugely inefficient
    Immigration is not being properly managed to benefit communities
    British political union is under threat - not sure whether that is a good thing or a bad thing.
    Welfare state has bloated to such an extent that perverse incentives now exist whereby people are discouraged from employment, encouraged into teenage pregnancy.
    Savers/FTB's are being shafted to benefit baby-boomers and current homeowners
    Those aspiring to start families are discouraged in doing so by the above
    General culture of interfering state discourages personal responsibility
    Last edited by IndieHibby; 05-02-2010 at 02:12 PM.

Right Hibby's - we are all going to be voting in a few months (at least we should be) and as a relatively young 'un, who knows nothing of history/politics etc, I feel that I would much rather log on here and hear some actual facts rather than regurgitated party-politcial cheap shots.

British competitiveness needs to be a government priority, with a clear review and strategy
    British political union is under threat - not sure whether that is a good thing or a bad thing.
    Welfare state has bloated to such an extent that perverse incentives now exist whereby people are discouraged from employment

I don't read it, so wouldn't know.

Are you one of their journalists then?

New one on me (not hard, i'll admit) How was WWII preventable by the Tories?

Well, Churchill seemed to think it was, as did the electorate in 1945.

So how did we get to the nadir of the winter of discontent? How was it resolved?

How indeed did industrial relations break down to the extent that could happen?

I think they were Tory, FR!

So do I!

In all seriousness, though, the common market is an excellent idea. I think it is why Europe has become so prosperous. It just politcal/legal union that has followed on from it. Not sure you can blame the Tories for that one.

Not sure you can blame Labour for the **** that hit the fan between 1974 and 1979. Things sometimes happen over a much longer period and to look at events in isolation is misleading.
    Maggie out
    Maggie out
    Maggie Maggie Maggie
    Out out out!

(Thatcher's your real enemy.)

Welfare state has bloated to such an extent that perverse incentives now exist whereby people are discouraged from employment, encouraged into teenage pregnancy.
    Savers/FTB's are being shafted to benefit baby-boomers and current homeowners
    Those aspiring to start families are discouraged in doing so by the above
    General culture of interfering state discourages personal responsibility
    Good god

You are going to come onto a entirely subjective forum where people post - at best - decently informed opinions to make your final voting decision????

TO be honest. no political party inspires me - the problem with a 2 party system is that - through necessity to entice voters it feels may be leaning towards party B, Party A feels compelled to make concessions on its own policies to try and entice voters to vote for them that would not have done so without those concessions.

Once they've got the votes, the concessions they said they were going to make become a whole lot less important, which is why the vast majority of stuff included in shiny manifesto's could be considered to barely be worth the paper it's written on.

For me, for all their undoubted faults, there have been measures made by the Labour government - tax credits, the £250 Child vouchers, minumum wage etc - which I agree with, and the idea of George Osborne running the economy (bear in mind that, rightly or wrongly, a decent proportion of people will take personalities as well as policies into consideration when voting) fills me with such dread, that - if I get out of bed on polling day (therein lies the problem, IMO it's up to the political parties to do their bit in motivating the voters, beyond just going "Keep the <insert name of rival here> out. Please vote") - I'll vote Labour long before I'd vote Tory.

Not particularly analytical, or maybe even rational, and doubtless there will some hefty opinionated posts to come from the usual suspects in this thread, but my take on things nonetheless.

So, if I was forced by gunpoint to vote, it would be Labour. And I am of the opinion that - unless the ruling government literally infringes upon one's basic human rights - if you don't vote, you've chucked away your chance to have a say and therefore should just grin and bear it until the next election comes around. Don't moan about what the democratic process throws up if you can't be arsed participating in it.

As a fully paid up member of the Labour Party it would be strange for me to vote for anyone else. However over the last few months, maybe even years i have become so disillusioned i have though about cancelling my membership several times. Then i remember just how much time and effort the 'people on the ground' dedicate to what they believe in. Add to that the enormous ammount of good members of Labour(and I'm sure Conservative, Lib Dem etc etc) do at local level and i am heartened. The disease of politics is at the top.

Whilst i'm no huge fan of Gordon Brown i genuinely believe he is an decent and, importantly, honest man. Do i believe the same thing of David Cameron? Not a chance. When i castmy vote it will almost certainly be for Labour again.

Quote Originally Posted by Tinyclothes View Post
    I hate Cameron and Osborne, pair of Eton tally-ho, pimms drinking, groin slapping, yacht owning, lemon merangue pie appreciating, keeping up appearances liking, fuds. They'd also bring back fox hunting which I can't abide.

'Mon Labour!!!!!
    Cannae agree with this Wee Claes. **** all wrong with Lemon Merangue Pie.

Wii Code: 666
    Labour can GTF as far as I'm concerned.

Vote Torry and enroll YOUR kids at Eton. If you cant aford it then you should have done better at school.

Survival of the FITTEST people. Survival of the fittest.

Just because I do alright doesnt mean that YOU should be alright too.

ENPOWER yourselves and vote for a REAL man - Davd Cameron.

Vote Torry and enroll YOUR kids at Eton. If you cant aford it then you should have done better at school.

Wii Code: 666

I think you may be right.

I'm going to make a BIG presumption here and guess that you have been brought up under a Labour government.

If your spelling and punctuation is anything to go by, maybe it is time for a change of government if that's what Labour's education system has done for you.

Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    I think you may be right.

I'm going to make a BIG presumption here and guess that you have been brought up under a Labour government.

If your spelling and punctuation is anything to go by, maybe it is time for a change of government if that's what Labour's education system has done for you.
    If you are a nanny state scrounger living off MY taxes RAISE your hands...

Not only are you living a life of LUXUARY thanks to the STATE, you recieved an EDUCATION to join the SPELLING POLICE...

Troubled times ahead.

Bring back Maggie. She wouldnt have put up with this.

PAY your POLL TAX.

MINERS STRIKE??? Not any more!!!
    ARGY BARGIES?? Back in your box.
    WORKING CLASSES?? Buy your council houses you tramps.

If you are a nanny state scrounger living off MY taxes RAISE your hands...

Not only are you living a life of LUXUARY thanks to the STATE, you recieved an EDUCATION to join the SPELLING POLICE...

Troubled times ahead.

Bring back Maggie. She wouldnt have put up with this.

PAY your POLL TAX.

MINERS STRIKE??? Not any more!!!
    ARGY BARGIES?? Back in your box.
    WORKING CLASSES?? Buy your council houses you tramps.
    You must be on the wind up. Otherwise you are easily the most ignorant person i have ever encountered.