Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Douglas Haig

Was he a Jambo?

IIRC he managed to kill off a fair percentage of at least one Heart of Midlothian football team....

Maybe that makes him a jambocide.

Quote Originally Posted by Tomsk View Post
    So desperate are they to get some women into the poll that they have included Ann Gloag, a rat-faced, sweat-shop capitalist and purveyor of shoody goods who would shoot people in the face before letting them on to 'her land', and JK Rowling, whose claim to fame is conning middle class brats into buying the same book seven times and isn't even Scottish. For vuck's sake they even mention Lulu at one point.
    What about Flora McDonald or Maw Broon?

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    What about Flora McDonald or Maw Broon?

Desperate Dan's Aunt Aggie?

Betty the Auld Slapper from "Chewin' the Fat"?

Janette Krankie?

No dafter than Lulu....

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Desperate Dan's Aunt Aggie?

Betty the Auld Slapper from "Chewin' the Fat"?

Janette Krankie?

No dafter than Lulu....
    For the sake of accuracy it should be understood that Lulu is not listed among the ... ahem ... great Scots. She appears in the list of those who have not been short-listed. It appears we are to conclude that there are soooo many great Scots to choose from that-- incredibly -- there is just not space for the dubious cabaret act and Weegie bockle that is Lulu.

Among many other great Scots women who have been shamefully ignored are Bonnie Langford, Helen Liddell, Wendy Alexander, Mrs Doubtfire, Fran and Anna and Maisie the Morningside Cat. Oh! And Marie Curie. Who is as Scottish as JK Rowling.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jodjam View Post
    My girlfriends lad is to do a talk on great Scots in his P5 class. Kids got to pick names out a hat. Think he was wanting Wallace or Burns but ended up with James Galbraith. Don't think he's too enthused about his choice.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    JK Galbraith, the Canadian economist? Except his name was John.

Or maybe it's yon fellae who used to play the flute.

That was Ray Galton, who taught himself flute during scriptwriting time-outs when he worked with Alan Simpson.

Which one? Half the guys in North Lanarkshire play the flute.

Donald Findlay QC.

He'll defend anyone.

Its an Edinburgh man who invented the Steam-Hammer. Really exciting for a 9 yr old to write about

Quote Originally Posted by jodjam View Post
    Its an Edinburgh man who invented the Steam-Hammer. Really exciting for a 9 yr old to write about
    Probably keep the teacher happier by spelling Galbraith "Nasmyth".

Wii Code: 666
    So desperate are they to get some women into the poll that they have included Ann Gloag, a rat-faced, sweat-shop capitalist and purveyor of shoddy goods who would shoot people in the face before letting them on to 'her land', and JK Rowling, whose claim to fame is conning middle class brats into buying the same book seven times and isn't even Scottish. For vuck's sake they even mention Lulu at one point.
    on the bold bit. Also very good at the line "Do you know who I am?". Totally fanny of a woman.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Probably keep the teacher happier by spelling Galbraith "Nasmyth".
    haha you are right mate. it dawned on me 20 mins ago so thought best log on to correct. Guess that rules me out of the running for great Scot.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Diego Maradona
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

More seriously, Marie Stopes.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

What about Elsie Inglis?

Eric Liddell (although born in China) should be in with a shout IMO.
    Putting aside his "Chariots of Fire" olympic performances he was also an International egg chaser and a missionary. He is however probably more revered in China than here. An all round fantastic human being.
    Last edited by greenlex; 14-11-2009 at 06:14 PM.

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar
    Tbf to you lads you haven't got many to chose from. Personally I think Wee Jimmy Kranky is the most impressive Scots man I've ever seen.

Quote Originally Posted by Leicester Fan View Post
    Tbf to you lads you haven't got many to chose from. Personally I think Wee Jimmy Kranky is the most impressive Scots man I've ever seen.

Good shout.

Given that Gok Wan is the most famous Leicesterite I can think of, then it's no wonder that Jimmy Kranky is the most impressive Scots man you can cite

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye...® View Post

Good shout.

Given that Gok Wan is the most famous Leicesterite I can think of, then it's no wonder that Jimmy Kranky is the most impressive Scots man you can cite
    Don't let that gay act fool you. What better way is there to get womens' kit off?

Quote Originally Posted by Leicester Fan View Post
    Don't let that gay act fool you. What better way is there to get womens' kit off?
    What about Gary Linekar? As a famous Leicestrian, not a convincing gay act...... even though he is.....

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Donald Findlay QC.

He'll defend anyone.
    and no surrender either

Gutted that Gary MacKay hasn't even been listed.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Vladimir Romanov for his services to Scottish football

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Eric Liddell (although born in China) should be in with a shout IMO.
    Putting aside his "Chariots of Fire" olympic performances he was also an International egg chaser and a missionary. He is however probably more revered in China than here. An all round fantastic human being.
    The only one I've seen proposed that didn't have a serious flaw in their character.

No Sandy Clark either. They are truly having a laugh.