[QUOTE=calumhibee1;2243075]I never took the hump at all, all I was saying is tarring everybody with the same brush is rediculous. And making light of the fact 4 young boys have died like the title of this thread has is disgusting. There's alot of young people on the road will try and show off when they've just passed there test, but this article doesn't say anything about them speeding, pulling handbreak turns or any of that *****, but still the OP has jumped to the conclusion that because they're 17 and under that its "Boy Racers 0-4 Road Safety". Even if the article did say they were doing 100odd mph it's still a horrible thread title and a tragedy that 4 boys so young have lost there lives and still wouldn't have merited the pisstake title this thread was given.
---------- Post added at 11:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:06 AM ----------
Sorry, I thought I had detected a hint of sarcasm in your original post, I'm happy to stand corrected.
From what I can make out you have two complaints about the post: firstly, jumping to conclusions as to what caused the accident;secondly, the poor taste of making light of their deaths.
I think it would be poor taste to speculate further, but if I was a betting man I know what my money would be on.
I agree it's not very nice to make light of an accident. Can you tell me why you emphasised the loss of "young lives". Does their age make it any more tragic?
This is becoming PC gone mad.
Thread: Boy Racers 0 Road Safety 4
-
16-11-2009 10:14 AM #61
-
16-11-2009 10:21 AM #62
[QUOTE=Filled Rolls;2243083]
-
16-11-2009 10:33 AM #63
[QUOTE=calumhibee1;2243091]
-
16-11-2009 10:48 AM #64
...or a chance for such types to reconsider trying to be Lewis Hamilton at 03.45AM
[QUOTE=Filled Rolls;2243101]Last edited by Toaods; 16-11-2009 at 04:32 PM.
-
16-11-2009 11:04 AM #65
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
While the articles don’t state if speed was or wasn’t a factor IMO its unrealistic to think that a car being driven at 30mph would have had a accident, where no other cars were involved (i.e. no head on) that would cause a big enough impact, against what looked a fairly standard garden wall, to kill all its occupants.
Poor driving conditions may have contributed to the accident but excess speed was undoubtedly the major factor here. There is the possibility that a stuck accelerator was the culprit but I think we all know the likelihood of that.
Danny_Hibee, I don’t really think what you’ve said gives a reasonable argument as to why restrictions shouldn’t be put in place. If that was the law then your family would need to buy a smaller car if they wanted you to drive, or like 1,000s of other kids you bide your time until the cost of insurance / the money you have available means you can afford to drive.
I started driving at 17, my 17 year old son passed his test a few months ago and he has bought a car. I can only assume my parents went through what I go through at the thought of him driving.
I cant think of anyone I know who hasn’t been touched by at least knowing someone who knows someone killed in a road traffic accident when they were a teenager. Some young drivers learn from that others unfortunately don’t. That will always be the case until young drivers aren’t allowed to drive.
For those who don’t know the difference in insurance. My son drives the crappiest wee car you have ever come across and for the minimum insurance he needs the cost is £1,200+ a year. I on the other hand have a high performance BMW with the absolute maximum [reasonableish] insurance for what I need and it costs me £214 a year.
Space to let
-
16-11-2009 12:18 PM #66This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis is how it feels
-
16-11-2009 12:46 PM #67
I caused a pretty bad crash not long after passing my test though, thankfully and through sheer luck, there were no serious injuries.
Wish there had been now- might have earned my first thread on here.
-
16-11-2009 12:57 PM #68This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm thinking that on the whole board there would be a very wide range of views, varying all the way from 'Even if he'd died it would be acceptable' to 'I'm morally outraged that anyone would want to make light of a dug biting a dumb animal whether or not there was any damage done'.
-
16-11-2009 01:11 PM #69
What saddens me on this board quite a lot is how often people are taken aback when they find out someone has a different opinion from theirs. It seems like they live in a world where there is an accepted order and anything that goes against what they believe is wrong. Therein lies madness (IMO).
Re. boy racers. I've always wondered why they are always scrawny, hatchet faced, insignificant looking young men, and what attraction driving too fast holds for them. Surely they don't see it as a way of redressing their physical inadequacies?
-
16-11-2009 01:39 PM #70This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
---------- Post added at 02:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:37 PM ----------
-
16-11-2009 01:44 PM #71This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-11-2009 01:52 PM #72This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-11-2009 02:01 PM #73This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
For me, this makes a pleasant change from all those hollow RIP threads that appear in memory of people that nobody ever met. It seems to me that one form of poor taste - excessive, or meaningless sentimentality is OK, but another form isnt.
-
16-11-2009 02:25 PM #74This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Surely the actions of a social inadequate no?
-
16-11-2009 02:37 PM #75This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
There is nothing remotely funny or sadly, unbelievable, at a young driver killing himself, his brother and 2 pals in an early Saturday morning road accident.
I haven't ever seen the Darwin Awards describe the death of a group of people as 4 - 0, as if it's something which should be celebrated, a kind of triumph.
-
16-11-2009 02:41 PM #76This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Just alot of people who are slightly baffled, surprised or mildly disturbed that someone would hear of an event in which four teenage boys have died and immediately respond with a gloating thread title such as 'Boy Racers 0 - 4 Road Safety'. It borders on nihilism.
-
16-11-2009 02:47 PM #77This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Posting RIP and "My thoughts are with the family" when some celebrity dies is harmless. It might irritate a few intolerant individuals, but it doesn't hurt or offend anyone.
-
16-11-2009 03:03 PM #78This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Theres nothing hypocritical in finding one thing in bad taste and another thing not in bad taste, as you seem to be implying.
-
16-11-2009 03:20 PM #79This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The driver may have driven through a pool of water and lost control, swerved to avoid an animal or plenty of other scenarios. A lack of experience doesn't just manifest itself in driving too fast.
If I was you though, I'd phone the Midlands police as they're still looking for witnesses.
-
16-11-2009 04:07 PM #80This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Mibbe it's just moi.
-
16-11-2009 04:34 PM #81This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think it's natural to make jokes about death.
But no-one made a joke.
The OP posted what looked like a triumphal thread.
That's what isn't right in my book.
How would Soham Paeds 2 Cambridgeshire Police 0 have been received as a thread title in 2001?
-
16-11-2009 04:39 PM #82
-
16-11-2009 04:47 PM #83
what utter codswallop, since when did the Soham Paeds become classified as being on the right side of the law? That ridiculous portrayal is simply an attempt to justify your viewpoint and vilify mine.
No doubt those leading the so-called 'PC' charge on this one have never / will never particpate in any reference to the death of Wallace Mercer as one example.
As a few on here have suggested, double standards glaring through when it suits........at least I'm consistent.Last edited by Toaods; 16-11-2009 at 05:31 PM.
-
16-11-2009 05:16 PM #84This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Let me stress, I find no pleasure in these youngsters' death. I can understand why someone could though.
-
16-11-2009 05:19 PM #85
I promised myself that there was no way I would get involved in this thread or even visit the Holy Ground forum again but that is absolutely ludicrous!
You can understand why someone would find pleasure in these young boys deaths? Get a grip FFS.
I'm saying no more so dont bother trying to reel me in to another ridiculous spat.
This is beyond decency IMO. Soon we'll have Abu Hamza getting freedom of speech on here.Last edited by Jay; 16-11-2009 at 05:27 PM.
-
16-11-2009 05:31 PM #86This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Anyway I've said my bit on free speech and thought. I'll leave it to Toaods to explain what he is thinking.
-
16-11-2009 05:35 PM #87This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Your post was taking the moral high ground on the right side of the law by suggesting that "Road Safety" had somehow scored 4.
Personally, I haven't ever sung the Mercer song, but your comparison is flawed.
Mercer tried to kill Hibs.
The 4 teenagers that died, had no connection to Hibs at all.
However, in your case, consistency is not
-
16-11-2009 05:41 PM #88
Those who seem to be foaming at the mouth infer I am out of order with my wrong conclusions as they could have been an outside influence, ie wet road, dodgy brake, etc.
Will be interesting to see which way the mood swings if they are wacked out of their heads on drugs or were drinking driving after spending the night in some Brummie night club, god forbid it might even have been the two together. Has it been ascertained they weren't at fault racing some other mob who have made themselves well scarce? Maybe they were doing something similar to the whatever it is to South Queensferry cashline run, timed by a bank balance enquiry slip.
Time will tell...
(eneter list of reasons why it's probably not the driver's fault)
-
16-11-2009 05:41 PM #89This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What debate could there possibly have been?
"Boy Racers are good for society."
"Naw theyre no."
I don't believe for a nano second that there was any legitimate tactic behind the OP.
Otherwise we'd know what is was by now.
Instead we get the usual dismissive PC brigade defence.
That's as bad as playing the race card, imo.
-
16-11-2009 05:44 PM #90This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I will be utterly surprised if they aren't found to have been speeding or drunk or on drugs.
But I don't find it a cause for celebration.
4 - 0 for Road Safety, my erse.
You should come to my work and voice that thought. Seriously.