Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    You my Dad? That's exactly what he says!

But if Mummy and Daddy have lots and lots of money, it will never be a problem regarding the insurance. So there is then a divide against classes.
    It should be a limit to the size of engine. 1 litre for the first 2 years after passing your test, then gradually going up for the next 3 years.

IMO of course.
    I was just waiting for the right moment hen.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Sorry, but this thread`s in really poor taste, imho. Whatever the reasons for the crash - that`s a reminder that we don`t yet know, by the way, in spite of peoples` enthusiasm for making up their own ideas - it`s an unpleasant and distasteful way to treat the deaths of 4 young people, with what seems to be undisguised glee, plus the thread title and use of winkey smileys etc. The "3 families" POST above was as poor as I have ever seen on here.

But if Mummy and Daddy have lots and lots of money, it will never be a problem regarding the insurance. So there is then a divide against classes.
    It should be a limit to the size of engine. 1 litre for the first 2 years after passing your test, then gradually going up for the next 3 years.

IMO of course.
    Dont think this kind of restriction would work, I passed my test about 8months ago and cant afford a car of my own so I use my mums car at the moment. If there was a restriction on engine size then i would have passed my test and not be able to drive then in 2 years time I would then be able to jump in a car and drive on my own having not driven for 2 years.

No doubting that there are a lot of idiots on the road and that youngsters are often the worst culprits but its also surely only natural that people who have been driving less time are more likely to be involved in accidents due to lack of experience etc and its not purely down to the fact that teenage drivers are ********s.

@hibs.net private member oconnors_strip's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Toaods View Post

£10 bet for Dnipro Kids says I'm right here.

betting on a subject that involved 4 people loosing their lifes

I'm sorry to say this but over the last few days I've read enough on this forum to come to the conclusion that there's some really sick people who post on here. I won't be dropping in again (not that I think I'll be missed, I hasten to add). I just hope that all of you who sit in your ivory towers are never touch by tragedy or untimely death, by whatever means.

Those making light of this should be ashamed of themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli_619 View Post
    Who is making light of it

It's a tragedy. How do we stop young men killing themselves?

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Guess you were led to believe wrong then. Oldest person was 17. And it's not a trivial point to make. I personally believe that there should be restrictions on young drivers in the form of size of car they can drive, how many people they can have in the car, time they can drive etc.
    I agree with that

Heartbreaking news.

---------- Post added at 10:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:23 PM ----------

I can't really see anyone making light of it mate !
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

'seems' you do too much assuming.

make that 3 families...
    Dave, if at some future date (God forbid) wee Toaods whilst aged around 15/16/17 is a passenger in a car that suffers a similar fate will you feel inclined to post a similar thread?

BTW, dinnae say she'd not be allowed because like it or not kids of that age dont always do what they're told
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Sorry, but this thread`s in really poor taste, imho. Whatever the reasons for the crash - that`s a reminder that we don`t yet know, by the way, in spite of peoples` enthusiasm for making up their own ideas - it`s an unpleasant and distasteful way to treat the deaths of 4 young people, with what seems to be undisguised glee, plus the thread title and use of winkey smileys etc. The "3 families" POST above was as poor as I have ever seen on here.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Dave, if at some future date (God forbid) wee Toaods whilst aged around 15/16/17 is a passenger in a car that suffers a similar fate will you feel inclined to post a similar thread?

BTW, dinnae say she'd not be allowed because like it or not kids of that age dont always do what they're told
    Very good points.

I'm also extremely uncomfortable with the tone of this thread.

I remember what I was like when I was a new driver. I had a pretty serious accident a few months after passing my test and I would have been pretty angry if someone had flippantly put my injuries down as a football scoreline.

I know a bit about road safety from a professional stand point..

More than one in five drivers have an accident within six months of passing their test, and 90% of traffic accidents involving death or serious injury involve at least one recently passed driver.

However, to suggest that someone won 4 - 0 in these circumstances is cruel and unnecessary.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    More than one in five drivers have an accident within six months of passing their test, and 90% of traffic accidents involving death or serious injury involve at least one recently passed driver.
    respect where due Mr Radge but you are quoting a broad ranging statistic, which I would surmise is taken from all reported accidents accross the board........this was not an ordinary accident.

This is also a football punters website where many things are cross-referenced to football and this board in particular is for non-Hibs related points of discussion, controversial or not. I'm not aware of any rules being breached.

---------- Post added at 12:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:21 AM ----------

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post

JC, see my response above to Mr Radge's post

respect where due Mr Radge but you are quoting a broad ranging statistic, which I would surmise is taken from all reported accidents accross the board........this was not an ordinary accident.

It was a fatal accident involving youg driver.

It's replicated all over the country at regular intervals. I don't understand your point.

This is also a football punters website where many things are cross-referenced to football and this board in particular is for non-Hibs related points of discussion, controversial or not. I'm not aware of any rules being breached.

I didn't post as an admin, but you certainly haven't broken any rules.

You've simply been cruel and your post and title comes across as almost gloating about the fact that 4 young men died.

Your OP and your continuing defence of it doesn't show you in a very good light, imo, but you've not broken any rules if that's all that matters to you.

It was a fatal accident involving youg driver.

It's replicated all over the country at regular intervals. I don't understand your point.

you mentioned a few stats but I would doubt this accident has the same circumstances.

I didn't post as an admin, but you certainly haven't broken any rules.

You've simply been cruel and your post and title comes across as almost gloating about he fact that 4 young men died.

Your OP and your continuing defence of it doesn't show you in a very good light, imo, but you've not broken any rules if that's all that matters to you.

who mentioned Admin?

Not me and I don't recall asking if I had broken any rules either....

The world in general is cruel, me personally I'm only cruel to wasps and other such insects.

@hibs.net private member Calvin's Avatar

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    The issue I have with this thread is the trivialisation of the tragic death of 4 young guys. Last year when me and most of my friends had just passed their tests or were in the process of learning, a young guy that a lot of us knew and some of my best friends were really friendly with sadly died due to his own driving in a car accident. I think he has passed his test less than a month. It affected everyone just going for their tests and certainly made me think more about my driving. I would have really been annoyed at the time to hear of disrespect towards him - whether it was his fault he was driving like a maniac or whatever is really irrelevant, the point is that he died.

I think everyone knows fine well that newly qualified young male drivers are more likely to be idiots on the road and that's a problem that we have to tackle. However, that is no excuse at all for the massive disrespect shown to four young guys losing their lives by jokingly saying that they lost some kind of metaphorical battle against road safety.

I'm sure you'll head back the original post in a few days and think that the matter could have been dealt with a bit better. Something like: 'Was sorry to read of these four guys dying on the road. When will young drivers learn to be more sensible on the roads? It's about time the government put more focus on trying to prevent this kind of tragedy.' would have been a lot more appropriate IMO.

you mentioned a few stats but I would doubt this accident has the same circumstances.
    You're not making any sense. The same circumstances as what?

Here's what I posted: "More than one in five drivers have an accident within six months of passing their test, and 90% of traffic accidents involving death or serious injury involve at least one recently passed driver."

I'm not sure what you think that tells you other than new drivers, like those in your example, are more likely to have accidents than more experienced ones.

Some more information, in case you're interested.

New drivers with a car full of peer passengers increases the risk of a fatal crash by 4 times compared to driving alone.

All newly qualified drivers have a higher risk of a crash when carrying male peers as compared to female passengers.

However, new male drivers with a car full of male peers have by far the highest risk of an accident as exactly happened in your example.

Of all road deaths and serious injuries in Britain, more than a third happen between 7.00pm and 8.00am. Twice as many occurr on Friday and Saturday nights than other on days of the week. Exactly the circumstances in your example.

I don't understand why you seem to be resisting this information.

Not me and I don't recall asking if I had broken any rules either....
    You did, however, say this;

I'm not aware of any rules being breached
    Which is why I rushed to agree that, despite your post being in my view distasteful, cruel and unnecessary, you hadn't broken any rules.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    I am struggling to see any essential difference between the gist of the OP and the Darwin Awards. Do all the posters who are morally outraged by the OP think the Darwin Awards are similarly disgusting, shocking, sick, cruel, unnecessary, shameful, unpleasant, distasteful, uncomfortable, etc?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    I am struggling to see any essential difference between the gist of the OP and the Darwin Awards. Do all the posters who are morally outraged by the OP think the Darwin Awards are similarly disgusting, shocking, sick, cruel, unnecessary, shameful, unpleasant, distasteful, uncomfortable, etc?
    I understand your point, but there is an essential difference.

The Darwin Awards say "The candidate's foolishness must be unique and sensational, perhaps because the award is intended to be funny. A number of foolish but common activities, such as smoking in bed, are excluded from consideration."

4 teenagers dying in a car crash at 3.30am on a Saturday morning isn't funny, sensational or unfortunately, unique.

And I certainly don't think it should be celebrated as some sort of football victory.

I understand your point, but there is an essential difference.

The Darwin Awards say "The candidate's foolishness must be unique and sensational, perhaps because the award is intended to be funny. A number of foolish but common activities, such as smoking in bed, are excluded from consideration."

4 teenagers dying in a car crash at 3.30am on a Saturday morning isn't funny, sensational or unfortunately, unique.

And I certainly don't think it should be celebrated as some sort of football victory.
    Agree that there is that difference, but Darwin Awards are nevertheless making light of sudden accidental death, and no doubt the relatives of Darwin Award winners grieve just as painfully as other bereaved people do. It seems slightly contradictory to me to be comfortable with the one and not the other.

How unfortunate that my reply to this was deleted.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I'm guessing its about post count. Once you achieve 19,000+ posts you'll seemingly be able to get away with anything, no matter how distasteful

Unfortunate for whom? What did it say likes?

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I think the people who know better than anyone which groups are more likely to crash are the insurers. Whichever age group has the highest premium is the one that has had most accidents.

I'm sure the lads were on their way to work at the back of three in the morning, when this accident occurred (well other than the 15 year old). Unless of course, the tree forgot to check its mirrors.

Would you like salt and vinegar with that chip on your shoulder?
    I never said anywhere in my post that young drivers weren't the most likely to be involved in car crashes. However not all young drivers are boy racers, and in this article it says nowhere that they were speeding or doing anything else stupid. Which is why I think the thread title is in very poor taste and makes Toads came across as a bellend. As someone else has said, if Toads happens to have kids, and (touch wood they don't) they were to be involved in a fatal car accident then i'm sure he wouldnt want people on a message board reading a news article about it and deciding that due to them being 17 years old that they must have been a boy racer. 4 boys have lost there life far too young and the thread title is pretty much taking the piss out of this fact.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I'm guessing its about post count. Once you achieve 19,000+ posts you'll seemingly be able to get away with anything, no matter how distasteful
    Yes you're probably right and as this thread hit a particular nerve with me I felt my response was justified however it was deleted. A more positive response would be for this thread to be locked and consigned to the bin before it offends/upsets more people who may have experienced something similar in their lives. Something the OP may have considered before starting this thread. He has posted many sensible threads but this one beggars belief.

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post
    I'm sorry to say this but over the last few days I've read enough on this forum to come to the conclusion that there's some really sick people who post on here. I won't be dropping in again (not that I think I'll be missed, I hasten to add). I just hope that all of you who sit in your ivory towers are never touch by tragedy or untimely death, by whatever means.
    See you then. Missing you already. Whoever you are.

I wonder what it's like to lose someone, or watch someone die. Must get out of this ivory tower more.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    I never said anywhere in my post that young drivers weren't the most likely to be involved in car crashes. However not all young drivers are boy racers, and in this article it says nowhere that they were speeding or doing anything else stupid. Which is why I think the thread title is in very poor taste and makes Toads came across as a bellend. As someone else has said, if Toads happens to have kids, and (touch wood they don't) they were to be involved in a fatal car accident then i'm sure he wouldnt want people on a message board reading a news article about it and deciding that due to them being 17 years old that they must have been a boy racer. 4 boys have lost there life far too young and the thread title is pretty much taking the piss out of this fact.
    You took the hump because he criticised young drivers. I thought some objectivity was required.

I think it is tragic the boys died. I think there is a strong chance they were boy racers. Im not shedding any tears over them, I amn't laughing about it either.

Yes you're probably right and as this thread hit a particular nerve with me I felt my response was justified however it was deleted. A more positive response would be for this thread to be locked and consigned to the bin before it offends/upsets more people who may have experienced something similar in their lives. Something the OP may have considered before starting this thread. He has posted many sensible threads but this one beggars belief.
    Who decides what is sensible? I am not saying I would have posted what he did, but we all have the right to our thoughts.

Indeed we do, but some of us including you apparently are more sensitive to the impact they may have on others.

I think, sometimes people have to sail close to the wind to generate discussion. Sometimes it is good to challenge our innermost beliefs.

I'm not speaking on anyone's behalf here. I think there is a lot less harm talking about an accident in the Midlands,than if the boys had been local. I also think the thread might give people who have good reason to hate boy racers a chance to air their views.

I think, sometimes people have to sail close to the wind to generate discussion. Sometimes it is good to challenge our innermost beliefs.

I'm not speaking on anyone's behalf here. I think there is a lot less harm talking about an accident in the Midlands,than if the boys had been local. I also think the thread might give people who have good reason to hate boy racers a chance to air their views.
    Nonsense,so if I was to post Iraqui's 5 British Army 0 the next time troops are killed who happen to come from the Midlands and give my reason as hating the British army and wanting to air my views will that be okay as long as they're not from Edinburgh.

No and rightly so, people on this board who know of or have lost loved ones in the same conflict would be outraged just as I am regarding the OP.

How many people have made light of it.

Nonsense,so if I was to post Iraqui's 5 British Army 0 the next time troops are killed who happen to come from the Midlands and give my reason as hating the British army and wanting to air my views will that be okay as long as they're not from Edinburgh.

No and rightly so, people on this board who know of or have lost loved ones in the same conflict would be outraged just as I am regarding the OP.
    I think the closer to home a tragedy is the more likely it is to touch emotions. I have posted a lot of stuff on the subject of the army and soldiers. In the case of someone I know though, all that logic goes out of the window and my heart rules my head.

You have every right to be hurt, outraged or anything else. I don't think we have the right to gag people. We also don't have the right to judge their motivation, or morality - at least not until they have told us what it is.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    See you then. Missing you already. Whoever you are.

I wonder what it's like to lose someone, or watch someone die. Must get out of this ivory tower more.

You took the hump because he criticised young drivers. I thought some objectivity was required.

I think it is tragic the boys died. I think there is a strong chance they were boy racers. Im not shedding any tears over them, I amn't laughing about it either.
    I never took the hump at all, all I was saying is tarring everybody with the same brush is rediculous. And making light of the fact 4 young boys have died like the title of this thread has is disgusting. There's alot of young people on the road will try and show off when they've just passed there test, but this article doesn't say anything about them speeding, pulling handbreak turns or any of that *****, but still the OP has jumped to the conclusion that because they're 17 and under that its "Boy Racers 0-4 Road Safety". Even if the article did say they were doing 100odd mph it's still a horrible thread title and a tragedy that 4 boys so young have lost there lives and still wouldn't have merited the pisstake title this thread was given.

---------- Post added at 11:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:06 AM ----------