@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar

Republic of Ireland flag

I know that this gets done to death here, but who was waving the R of I flag today? We really need to leave that sort of p - - h to the Bigot Bhoys.
    I.
    m.
    o.
    Of course.

Firstly, I'm gonna predict at least 8 pages

Secondly, why exactly do we need to forget about our origins, the meaning of our club name and not show support of 4 of the players in the first team squad?

Nothing wrong with it IMO

Hibs have a right to wave Irish flags... We are of Irish origin.

Hearts on the other hand are a "Scottish" team, not a "British" team.

They're just trying to follow in the foot steps of their big brothers.

Technically they are British

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Vini1875 View Post
    Technically they are British
    Republic of Ireland are not technically British.

Quote Originally Posted by Danny_Hibee View Post
    Firstly, I'm gonna predict at least 8 pages

Secondly, why exactly do we need to forget about our origins, the meaning of our club name and not show support of 4 of the players in the first team squad?

Nothing wrong with it IMO
    We actually have 5,

Stack, Miller, Cregg, Stokes and Byrne.

Had to laugh at the two Red Hands of Ulster flying amongst the jungle of neds to the left. Absolutely ridiculous. Foolish fans who probably don't even know the first thing about religion.

Quote Originally Posted by AllyF View Post
    Had to laugh at the two Red Hands of Ulster flying amongst the jungle of neds to the left. Absolutely ridiculous. Foolish fans who probably don't even know the first thing about religion.
    ...or politics, for that matter.

Quote Originally Posted by blacksaltire View Post
    ...or politics, for that matter.
    or anything at all

@hibs.net private member Cool_Hand_Luke's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Malthibby View Post
    I know that this gets done to death here, but who was waving the R of I flag today? We really need to leave that sort of p - - h to the Bigot Bhoys.
    I.
    m.
    o.
    Of course.
    Possibly one of our supporters from the Republic of Ireland

Maybe a relative/friend of one of our Republic of Ireland players

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    I think he means Hearts are technically British.

Quote Originally Posted by Cool_Hand_Luke View Post
    Possibly one of our supporters from the Republic of Ireland

Maybe a relative/friend of one of our Republic of Ireland players
    I'd be surprised. My guess is it was there to wind-up the Hearts fans that are bothered by the ROI v Britain, protestant v catholic thing.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Hibs have a right to wave Irish flags... We are of Irish origin.

Hearts on the other hand are a "Scottish" team, not a "British" team.

They're just trying to follow in the foot steps of their big brothers.
    Hearts are a British team, as are Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    I was referring to the post above mine where it says "hearts are Scottish not British"

Quote Originally Posted by Vini1875 View Post
    I was referring to the post above mine where it says "hearts are Scottish not British"
    Gotcha now Vini.

Goes without saying I thought you meant ROI were British.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Austin View Post
    Hearts are a British team, as are Hibs.
    Hibernian are a SCOTTISH club big difference, to me anyway.

Never taken to this being British crap...it's a sorta plastic country with no soul.

This thread & like many before have went down the same route ..& all end up in a political/religeous stand off ..tit for tat & hand bags at dawn ..

Im moving this to the holy ground as i feel it is a destraction to the decent football threads on the go ..
    Last edited by MSK; 07-11-2009 at 05:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    Hibernian are a SCOTTISH club big difference, to me anyway.

Never taken to this being British crap...it's a sorta plastic country with no soul.
    Yup you're correct — we are also a Scottish club.

Quote Originally Posted by Malthibby View Post
    I.
    m.
    o.
    Of course.
    ONLY in Scotland could you debate a flag being flown at the fitba!! An Irish flag? Who really gives a monkies other than sad little bigots. Maybe, just maybe it was one of our very welcome Irish fans.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenBlade View Post
    ONLY in Scotland could you debate a flag being flown at the fitba!! An Irish flag? Who really gives a monkies other than sad little bigots. Maybe, just maybe it was one of our very welcome Irish fans.
    Yes I saw a party of Dublin Hibs fans in the Hibs club last week. They are very passionate in their support of the club.

Why does anyone want to take a national flag to a football match?

Exhibitionism?

We have ROI players at Hibs.See a Morrocan flag at ER regularly, as we have Morrocan players.Should we stop these guys from taking that to games?French flags when we had them as well.As for the Red Hand flags, at least the Huns have an excuse for waving it now, as they have some NI players eh.Unlike the yambo plastic Huns.

lets be honest, the people waving tri-colours dont do it because we have ROI players in our team. If we are celebrating our origins, then fine. Hearts have every right to wave a Union Flag, as should anyone who is British.

Personally I dont agree with flying flags at football as I believe the reason people choose to do so is political, however they have every right to.

**** ROI, NI or British flags.

I support Hibs because my granda got me into them. He comes from Leith and is a Roman Catholic.

I don't even know what a RC is. To me it's just a bunch of made up religious pish which causes division.

I support Hibs and that's all that matters to me.

Quote Originally Posted by lEXO View Post
    We have ROI players at Hibs.See a Morrocan flag at ER regularly, as we have Morrocan players.Should we stop these guys from taking that to games?French flags when we had them as well.As for the Red Hand flags, at least the Huns have an excuse for waving it now, as they have some NI players eh.Unlike the yambo plastic Huns.
    youll probably find that hearts fans waving red hands are ill-educated neds who dont really have a grasp on politics. They just choose to do it to "noise us up", and im sure thats the intentions of many hibs fans with tri-colours.

to sum up...

Tri colours in Hibs end - I dont like it, but on the other hand we should celebrate our roots.

Union flag - dont like it, but no British person should every be stopped from waving their national flag.

Red Hand - no place for it, unless using it to support an NI player.

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    The Tricolour flag had not been invented when Hibs were formed. If we want to respect our irish origins, then do what the club do and use the harp as the symbol.

This is flag that we should be using http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Flag_of_Leinster.svg

Keep the tricolour for the plastic paddys and keep our identity separate from theirs!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Sprouleflyer View Post
    The Tricolour flag had not been invented when Hibs were formed. If we want to respect our irish origins, then do what the club do and use the harp as the symbol.

This is flag that we should be using http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Flag_of_Leinster.svg

Keep the tricolour for the plastic paddys and keep our identity separate from theirs!!!
    The plastic paddies need a history lesson, too. The Tricolour is as it is because Green=Catholic, Orange=the other lot, White=Peace.

Not that they would let real history get in the way of their own version.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    This is a trip down memory lane! Been a while since we had a decent flag debate.

Quote Originally Posted by Sprouleflyer View Post

Yeah, it had.

I couldn't care less if anyone takes an Irish flag to a match. I also couldn't care less if another team takes a Union Jack flag. I don't see a problem either way.

Why do people care?