Prince Harry on the front line

Seems Harry has been at the front line in Afghanistan since before christmas with the backing of the Queen.

Is this not very dangerous? I mean, if he was to be captured over there, it could cripple any plans of 'winning' the war.

And also, seems there was a decision to have a media blackout on this in Britain but it was leaked in foreign papers.

Makes you wonder what else they are keeping from us!

Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    Seems Harry has been at the front line in Afghanistan since before christmas with the backing of the Queen.

Is this not very dangerous? I mean, if he was to be captured over there, it could cripple any plans of 'winning' the war.

And also, seems there was a decision to have a media blackout on this in Britain but it was leaked in foreign papers.

Plenty, I'd guess

I'm far from a royalist, but good on the guy for doing his time. Whether he was on the front line or not, I'm not particularly bothered, but he wanted (and got) his chance to serve his time.

Quote Originally Posted by Spamheid View Post
    I'm far from a royalist, but good on the guy for doing his time. Whether he was on the front line or not, I'm not particularly bothered, but he wanted (and got) his chance to serve his time.
    Same here - definitely got some respect for him now.

I cant believe he has been there for 10 weeks and its only now being reported. I agree he has the right to serve his time and good on him for pushing for it. I think for the saftey of the rest of the soldiers he will be made to come home though.

I'm not bothered about the media blackout - the media have chosen what to cover an what not for as long as they have been around and the government have done the same - business as usual then. To be honest I think he should be able to go about his business without a presspack anyway.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    I don't even understand why there is so much interest in the royals, they are a boring rich family that are rich from OUR money. Never been a fan, all they are good for is the tourists.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Thats him now being withdrawn...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7270743.stm
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

I say fair play to him. Bet he'll look back on the last 10 weeks with happiness. Probably never again will he be on his own without bodyguards and doing a proper job.

Bet his mum would have been proud.

Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post

The media blackout isn't a court enforced one but was a gentlemans agreement between the 4th estate and the MOD, with the amount of stuff that's hit the UK press over the last 24 hrs I believe that the stories/pics/vid were all in the can and ready to be broadcast once HRH had returned safe back in blighty.

The blackout was the correct decision, not for HRH, but for the guys he was out with, it's hard enough being out there without having every Terry Taleban going EXTRA hard to get his 74 virgins.

Left by mutual consent! PC Stamp's Avatar
    Nice also to see Gordon Brown giving Harry a personal name check for being out there doing his job. Wonder if he'll now do the same for all the other servicemen/women out there and in Iraq who are also risking their lives doing their job for their country?

Or did HRH do his job better than all of them?

Quote Originally Posted by PC Stamp View Post
    Nice also to see Gordon Brown giving Harry a personal name check for being out there doing his job. Wonder if he'll now do the same for all the other servicemen/women out there and in Iraq who are also risking their lives doing their job for their country?

Only if there are votes to be had.

He's coming home...... my thoughts are with the families of those who didn't

The wall to wall media coverage of Prince Arry on the "Front Line" is cringeworthy, why is it headline news for the last three days? A public relations exercise pure and simple for the Government and the Royals. All this when the Army are toiling for recruits!

Quote Originally Posted by tenley View Post
    The wall to wall media coverage of Prince Arry on the "Front Line" is cringeworthy, why is it headline news for the last three days? A public relations exercise pure and simple for the Government and the Royals. All this when the Army are toiling for recruits!
    Do you not think it may do the army some good, a positive spin story for them? Sure they considered this when Harry went out there

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    I don't even understand why there is so much interest in the royals, they are a boring rich family that are rich from OUR money. Never been a fan, all they are good for is the tourists.
    Tourism is one of the major income streams into the UK, Scotland in particular, anything that brings more tourists here to spend money in our country is good for us as a nation, and like it or not, us having a Royal Family and all of the associated buildings and paraphanalia that goes with it is a major draw to the UK for some people...

Anyway, without them we'd end up being a republic

I for one aint a Royalist, but I watched the BBC documentary today covering Harry on the front line.
    This gave us an interesting insight to the conflict by featuring Harry, the royal.

Well I was taken aback by his attitude, commitment and the fun side he showed.
    He appeared as one of the lads, his fellow colleagues all appeared to like him and he did not appear as the wee stuck up cowardly spoilt boy, certain people were making him out to be.

He enlisted, he has done the duty, it would have been for longer, but the foreign media put paid to that, TOP LAD.

He's probably at greater risk at home now!

I think his girlfriend will be a 'target' also

Testimonial Due capitals_finest's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ants View Post
    I for one aint a Royalist, but I watched the BBC documentary today covering Harry on the front line.
    This gave us an interesting insight to the conflict by featuring Harry, the royal.

He appeared as one of the lads, his fellow colleagues all appeared to like him and he did not appear as the wee stuck up cowardly spoilt boy, certain people were making him out to be.

He enlisted, he has done the duty, it would have been for longer, but the foreign media put paid to that, TOP LAD.

I watched it as well and he does seem like a good lad. Bet the last few months have been the only time in his life where he has been near enough free from the media.

@hibs.net private member Arch Stanton's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ants View Post

Did you see the bit where he was sitting in a bunker chatting and then went to the machine gun by his side and loosed off a few rounds without particularly looking? I just hope there were no protected species of birds out there - no people either come to think of it.

Really good article in Sunday's Independent:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk...th-790316.html

Quote Originally Posted by PC Stamp View Post

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    He's coming home...... my thoughts are with the families of those who didn't

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    ...Anyway, without them we'd end up being a republic

Good stuff.

As mentioned above, he come back. Many didny. Fair play to him IF he took the same risks and was afforded no more protection than any other "normal" soliders.

Otherwise, it's all PR pish.

Oh aye, and the idea of a republic of Scotland really appeals to me ...

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post

Good stuff.

As mentioned above, he come back. Many didny. Fair play to him IF he took the same risks and was afforded no more protection than any other "normal" soliders.

Otherwise, it's all PR pish.

Oh aye, and the idea of a republic of Scotland really appeals to me ...
    There is no way that would have been allowed to happen. A sickening charade all round. And what's with all the 'good-on-him' comments? Good on him for what exactly? Acting as part of an imperialist, occupying army as a result of one of the most catastrophic foreign policy decisions since Suez? Yes well done Harry Hewitt (oops sorry, Windsor)....

Quote Originally Posted by LiverpoolHibs View Post
    There is no way that would have been allowed to happen. A sickening charade all round. And what's with all the 'good-on-him' comments? Good on him for what exactly? Acting as part of an imperialist, occupying army as a result of one of the most catastrophic foreign policy decisions since Suez? Yes well done Harry Hewitt (oops sorry, Windsor)....

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    I thought this paragraph was rather good, from the link you posted above. Even if it was from Galloway....

All sections of the establishment have gained from this superbly well-executed piece of theatre (incidentally, I'm not doubting Harry's personal bravery, it's just that that is not the issue): the army has a star; the BBC and Fleet Street appear to have a heart; and the royal family have a newfound source of capital at just the time that the circus that is the Diana inquest heaps more and more ordure in their direction. Out with the images of partying in a Nazi uniform, in with the young warrior who lost his mother when young but who has now grown up.

Great to see Prince Harry carrying on the family tradition of winning wars single-handedly. This was started by the Queen Mother who defeated the Luftwaffe in the East End of London.

Useless work-shy parasites, the lot of them.

Does Brian Kerr have blue-blood perchance?

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Great to see Prince Harry carrying on the family tradition of winning wars single-handedly. This was started by the Queen Mother who defeated the Luftwaffe in the East End of London.

You know, I've just about had enough of Brian Kerr posts tonight, but that's funny

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post