John Smeaton: Everyday Superhero

A cracking documentary tonight about Glasgow's finest, John Smeaton. The title said it all, heartwarming stuff.

OK, what he done was very brave and he has been awarded and recognised.

It's gone too far and I'm sick of hearing about this guy now.

What next? Smeato the movie? Smeato action figures?

Quote Originally Posted by peterdouglas View Post

Oh geez. Sometimes the goodwill to all men just spills out of this board.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Oh geez. Sometimes the goodwill to all men just spills out of this board.
    Come on then...channel?

I'd buy one

Not really his fault that the media have made him into some sort of legend so fair play to the guy for taking everything they're willing to give him

Come on then...channel?
    Too late, you have missed it.
    Pity, I think you would have particularly enjoyed his version of Britney Spears, 'Hit me Baby One More Time.'

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Too late, you have missed it.
    Pity, I think you would have particularly enjoyed his version of Britney Spears, 'Hit me Baby One More Time.'
    My loss I guess.

No doubt we'll be treated to some other similar spectacle soon enough.

'I'm from Glasgow, swearing is part of my life' Take a bow - John Smeaton... What a likeable man he is, and fair play to him for taking advantage of what's on offer.. Although if I ever hear his version of that Spears song on the airwaves I will set fire to him, then knock him out.

he laid into a guy who was on fire, at the time he didn't know it was a terrorist attack, all he knew was a jeep was on fire, it could have been a genuine accident and he's laid into the guy?

'this is Glasgow, we'll set about you' and 'I'm from Glasgow, swearing is in my make up'? good representation there.

Also what about the other 'heros' from that day?

Left by mutual consent! PC Stamp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee_mad_mental_hibby View Post
    he laid into a guy who was on fire, at the time he didn't know it was a terrorist attack, all he knew was a jeep was on fire, it could have been a genuine accident and he's laid into the guy?

'this is Glasgow, we'll set about you' and 'I'm from Glasgow, swearing is in my make up'? good representation there.

Smeaton in fairness to him appears to have been appointed by the press as the "figurehead" for what happened that day. There were though as you allude to at least three other guys who also acted selflessly to protect others yet little mention seems to have been made of their actions.

Quote Originally Posted by PC Stamp View Post
    Smeaton in fairness to him appears to have been appointed by the press as the "figurehead" for what happened that day. There were though as you allude to at least three other guys who also acted selflessly to protect others yet little mention seems to have been made of their actions.
    "not brave enough" to warrant anything when it came to awards. Fair play to Smeaton for trying to highlight their case...to no avail.

I suppose we make celebrities out of people who have done less than he has so fair play. He might even beable to afford to move out of his parents house.

He's taken Murdoch's shilling. For that he loses my respect.

Quote Originally Posted by Tazio View Post
    He's taken Murdoch's shilling. For that he loses my respect.
    What a cynical age we live in.

So should an ordinary working class guy on less than 20k a year turn down the chance of some extra income from a media company.? Especially when said company has already made a mint out of his story.
    Fair dos to you if you are managing to completely boycott Murdoch, as given the reach of his media tentacles it is a difficult task. So no Murdoch Newspapers or watching Sky channels for you. (Because giving Murdoch your shilling is surely just as bad as accepting it.)

Is it on BBC Iplayer? Hope so, as i'll watch it on that within the week.

FWIW i'd far rather that guy made some money from this than somebody from Big Brother. Those twins from the last series have made more than £1M out of BB.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes

He has tried to highlight there case as have many others, its unfair to blame him for them not getting any recognition.

He laid into a guy that was on fire having blew up a jeep and started attacking a policeman that was restraining him.

Is swearing not a part of everyday language, i think its wrong to think otherwise, its hardly taboo?

The guy is working in a job that probably pays not much more than minimum wage, fair play to him for making the most of it and enjoying what he has just now, we all know it wont last forever.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsboy90 View Post
    Is it on BBC Iplayer? Hope so, as i'll watch it on that within the week.

FWIW i'd far rather that guy made some money from this than somebody from Big Brother. Those twins from the last series have made more than £1M out of BB.
    It is on Iplayer, also the song hes recorded ( which is for charity ) is dire lol

I had been getting a bit sick of hearing about the guy but i've just watched the programme & he comes across as a nice down to earth guy so fair play to him He can't sing though

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    He has tried to highlight there case as have many others, its unfair to blame him for them not getting any recognition.

He laid into a guy that was on fire having blew up a jeep and started attacking a policeman that was restraining him.

Is swearing not a part of everyday language, i think its wrong to think otherwise, its hardly taboo?

The guy is working in a job that probably pays not much more than minimum wage, fair play to him for making the most of it and enjoying what he has just now, we all know it wont last forever.
    My issue is not totally with Smeaton himself, like you say most in his situation would milk it. My issue is that a) others more/equally deserving are passed over b) the situation where he kicked the guy on fire.

If you consider that someone on fire is hardly likely to stand still while the police questiont them and at that point a jeep had crashed into the building.

All he knew was the guy was on fire, it could have been a totally innocent accident with the jeep. he said himself he came round the corner and saw the guy on fire and the policeman trying to grab him.

how many people in that situation would think 'terrorist attack lets take this guy down'? most would think '****, car crash'.

mibbie i was being picking with his language comments so we'll let that lie.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    I must admit that I was getting a bit sick of him and thought he was milking it. However, last nights program changed my opinion.

He is an ordinary guy who has continued with his every day, average job throughout the "mad year" he's had. He's even had to move back in with his parents (who seem very decent folk). He has used up all his holidays and has to take unpaid leave to attend the many functions and ceremonies. He also highlights at every opportunity that he was not the only one who got involved and also praises the emergency services.

Fair play to the guy, just goes to show that there are some decent Weedgies!

sick of hearing about it

My issue is not totally with Smeaton himself, like you say most in his situation would milk it. My issue is that a) others more/equally deserving are passed over b) the situation where he kicked the guy on fire.

If you consider that someone on fire is hardly likely to stand still while the police questiont them and at that point a jeep had crashed into the building.

All he knew was the guy was on fire, it could have been a totally innocent accident with the jeep. he said himself he came round the corner and saw the guy on fire and the policeman trying to grab him.

how many people in that situation would think 'terrorist attack lets take this guy down'? most would think '****, car crash'.

mibbie i was being picking with his language comments so we'll let that lie.
    But there are so many more cases of people much less deserving milking it, just think big brother.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Seems to be an everyday Joe!

Good on him and good luck to him.

Quote Originally Posted by frazerbob View Post
    I must admit that I was getting a bit sick of him and thought he was milking it. However, last nights program changed my opinion.

He is an ordinary guy who has continued with his every day, average job throughout the "mad year" he's had. He's even had to move back in with his parents (who seem very decent folk). He has used up all his holidays and has to take unpaid leave to attend the many functions and ceremonies. He also highlights at every opportunity that he was not the only one who got involved and also praises the emergency services.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsboy90 View Post
    But there are so many more cases of people much less deserving milking it, just think big brother.
    no arguement about that.

Gamertag: EdinburghDan
    Quote Originally Posted by frazerbob View Post

everything he said

Wii Code: ... dinnae hae one
    Guys a racist erse and in no way constitutes a hero!!! Shame on anyone who thinks he is...it takes away all the good work of what a hero actually is...

John Smeaton...An everyday biggot racist!

Quote Originally Posted by Riz View Post
    Guys a racist erse and in no way constitutes a hero!!! Shame on anyone who thinks he is...it takes away all the good work of what a hero actually is...

John Smeaton...An everyday biggot racist
    Strong word's do you have any evidence to substantiate your accusations

Quite right Smeaton should've helped the Crispy-Fried Jihadist's kill scores o' nasty racist Glasgae kids waiting tae board their horrible fascist aeroplanes.

One thing puzzles me though. How are ye able tae type whilst wearing a straight-jaikit?

Imagine it must be quite difficult.

Substantiate that if you can. I suspect you can't.

Quite possibly the most funniest, and stupidest thing ive ever heard.

Smeaton is brilliant, Normal guy, and even after all the fame he's still living life the same.