Page 21 of 22 FirstFirst ... 1119202122 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by StevieT View Post
    No season tickets for me this season. I was diagnosed with brain cancer 1 July last year. Still on chemotherapy so need to take each day / week as it comes. We still get our football fix though as we bought season tickets for our local team, Forfar Athletic. just over £200 for two for the season.
    That's terrible news seems to happening all to much recently with a few of my friends also.
    I wish you all the best with your treatment and it works out .

Sent from my SM-S938B using Tapatalk

No season tickets for me this season. I was diagnosed with brain cancer 1 July last year. Still on chemotherapy so need to take each day / week as it comes. We still get our football fix though as we bought season tickets for our local team, Forfar Athletic. just over £200 for two for the season.
    Very sorry to hear that. Hope that goes well for you.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Nobody should ever feel guilty about not buying a season ticket. Not a chance.

Go and support your team when you can whether that's 20, 10 or once a season. We're all Hibbys.
    This for me too. If all you can afford is one or two games, or you live so far away being a regular is out of the question, but you still watch the club when you can, then you are every bit as good a fan as somebody who is lucky enough to be able to afford a season ticket, or even follow the club home and away.

The ones who boil ma pish are the ones who claim to be Hibs fans, but refuse to follow Hibs to games at Hampden against the likes of Hearts or Celtic, not because of the cost, but because they can't bear the thought of seeing us lose to Hearts in a semi, or think we have no chance against Celtic. What use are they to this club by refusing to turn up when the players need them the most?

The fans in reality don't affect the opposition, but the number of them and the noise they make can certainly affect the confidence and desire to try their hardest of the players they are there to support. If proof of that was required, during the covid season away wins in the EPL averaged higher than in any EPL season before or since.
    I can only imagine how the Hibs players felt when they ran out at Hampden for the 2019 league cup semi final against Celtic to see that we had only sold around 6000 tickets, I know my hearts absolutely sank when I entered the stadium to realise we only had half of one end, and even that wasn't full.
    Or against Hearts in the 2022 Scottish cup semi to see that Hearts had sold nearly double the tickets we had. When it comes to especially games like that Hearts one, you are not just avoiding the pain of defeat by refusing to go, you are ensuring that it's more likely that pain will be inflicted. Go you

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    This for me too. If all you can afford is one or two games, or you live so far away being a regular is out of the question, but you still watch the club when you can, then you are every bit as good a fan as somebody who is lucky enough to be able to afford a season ticket, or even follow the club home and away.

The ones who boil ma pish are the ones who claim to be Hibs fans, but refuse to follow Hibs to games at Hampden against the likes of Hearts or Celtic, not because of the cost, but because they can't bear the thought of seeing us lose to Hearts in a semi, or think we have no chance against Celtic. What use are they to this club by refusing to turn up when the players need them the most?

The fans in reality don't affect the opposition, but the number of them and the noise they make can certainly affect the confidence and desire to try their hardest of the players they are there to support. If proof of that was required, during the covid season away wins in the EPL averaged higher than in any EPL season before or since.
    I can only imagine how the Hibs players felt when they ran out at Hampden for the 2019 league cup semi final against Celtic to see that we had only sold around 6000 tickets, I know my hearts absolutely sank when I entered the stadium to realise we only had half of one end, and even that wasn't full.
    Or against Hearts in the 2022 Scottish cup semi to see that Hearts had sold nearly double the tickets we had. When it comes to especially games like that Hearts one, you are not just avoiding the pain of defeat by refusing to go, you are ensuring that it's more likely that pain will be inflicted. Go you
    They sold out their allocation and we didn't. And that's always disappointing. But nearly double? No chance

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    They sold out their allocation and we didn't. And that's always disappointing. But nearly double? No chance
    Aye ok, maybe somewhat of an exaggeration, but the crowd was 37,000 ...... If they did sell out, which is what it looked like to me on the day, that would be about 23,000 leaving us with 14,000 .... maybe not double, but certainly a big enough disparity of support that it would have encouraged their players seeing a full end and at the very least disappointed ours to run out to a two thirds full Hibs end.

For a club that's easily capable of selling out an allocation for Hampden to take an away support to a derby semi final that hardly even reached our average home league support at the time could be called 'disappointing' ..... I have other expressions for it.

Keep fighting as you have mate, all the best to you

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Aye ok, maybe somewhat of an exaggeration, but the crowd was 37,000 ...... If they did sell out, which is what it looked like to me on the day, that would be about 23,000 leaving us with 14,000 .... maybe not double, but certainly a big enough disparity of support that it would have encouraged their players seeing a full end and at the very least disappointed ours to run out to a two thirds full Hibs end.

For a club that's easily capable of selling out an allocation for Hampden to take an away support to a derby semi final that hardly even reached our average home league support at the time could be called 'disappointing' ..... I have other expressions for it.
    Your point is spot on mate. From memory it was around 22k against our 15k. The ones who were there on the day got behind the team but numbers wise it certainly wasn't our finest hour.

All the very best to you mate, such a bloody awful disease, prayers for you and keep battling

May I also send my best wishes. Hoping for a full and speedy recovery.

Terrible news, hope you make a good recovery. I've seen Forfar a couple of times pre season, at Luncarty and h v Montrose. Been impressed by their performances. As my son lives there, on the Dundee Road, I'm sure I'll take in further matches this season 👍

Stevie T. Stay strong buddy. I’ve lost too many people recently to cancer and it’s a horrible disease. May Hibs doing well keep you going and we’ll see you soon behind the goals. Beating the Hearts ideally. Have a bridiefor me 👍💚

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Sending you my very best wishes mate.

@hibs.net private member Juice-Terry's Avatar
    All the very best pal.

That's awful, mate, I'm really sorry to hear that.

Best wishes, and I hope you enjoy watching the sky blues.

All the best Stevie

Wishing you the best Stevie, stick in there son, sending out positive thoughts to you for a full recovery, GGTTH.

So, nowhere near double.

@hibs.net private member hibeejeebies's Avatar
    All the best Stevie 💚

Quote Originally Posted by Se7enUp View Post
    So, nowhere near double.
    The crowd was 37,000 .... they had at least 22,000 .... The fact you are able to correctly point out it wasn't actually double ( I was happy to admit it was an exaggeration in a reply to another poster ) shouldn't be viewed as any sort of 'gotcha' mate. Like it or not they still backed their team in significantly bigger numbers than we did that day.

It didn't make me sad or embarrassed, they are feelings reserved for real life, just incredibly frustrated that I support a club more than capable of filling a full allocation for Hampden and it was the second time we had miserably failed to do it for a derby semi final. At least as someone who was there I can safely say our 14,000 or whatever it was outsung their 22,000 for most of the game.

Any cancer survivor is an absolute hero in my book. Very best wishes with your treatment and hope you are fit and able to return to ER in the future. All the best

Best of luck, Stevie - hope you get better soon.

All the very best with your treatment Stevie, enjoy watching the Loons and hope you can get back to ER soon.

Always here for you bro, just don't ask me to go to Forfar with you 😁 💚🥬

Stevie you take care mate , Beat this horrible disease !

Season ticket through the post today with a wee later from Sir David Gray also

Received season ticket today + letter, but no 150th badge!……....boooo!...Barnett must go!!!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by leith lynx View Post
    Received season ticket today + letter, but no 150th badge!……....boooo!...Barnett must go!!!
    Mine arrived too, it's like the printer went haywire and their is a diagonal white line through my name and client number, I blame Petrie

i paid extra for Physical & Digital Season Ticket , Now the Physical one is with the letter but how does the digital one work ? Brain like a sive i can never remember every year how it works

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    i paid extra for Physical & Digital Season Ticket , Now the Physical one is with the letter but how does the digital one work ? Brain like a sive i can never remember every year how it works
    You will get it emailed to you, just add it to your Google or Apple Wallet or take a screenshot of the QR code, all of them work

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    You will get it emailed to you, just add it to your Google or Apple Wallet or take a screenshot of the QR code, all of them work
    Cheers mate

RH could you please do me a favour and pass on my best wishes to you mate and wish them all the best. Thanks, Steve
    Certainly will Stevie.