Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast
    6am. Sun's out, walking the dogs, birds singing, stunning view along the carse from Kennet to Stirling Castle and Wallace monument. So peaceful. Oh, and Hibs won always helps

Scratching that itch, how great is it when you have that wee annoying itch and you can give it a good scratch

Getting the whole row to yourself on a flight...What a difference it makes on a 4 1/2 hour trip..

@hibs.net private member MagicSwirlingShip's Avatar
    Rediscovering an old album that you had long forgotten about. The memories that coincide with the songs. Glorious

Properly polishing a pair of shoes.

I know we are living through a period in time that sees wearing a tracksuit to work, shorts and flip flops to a funeral and grey joggers to a wedding as acceptable but I still like the chance to dress up once in a while.

I'm at a wedding next weekend and was pulling stuff together for it. My black dress shoes are rarely worn these days because of the above so needed a bit attention. There is just something about that time and attention it takes to properly build up layers then bull and spit shine them at the end. The methodical, rhythmic nature of it then the satisfaction when the mirror finish starts to appear.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    There’s a farm shop near me that does jars of bread and butter pickles - onion, gherkin, and jalapeño slices - and I could eat quite a spectacular amount of them. Crispy, sour, sweet, hot - so satisfying.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

M&S oranges, they taste great..

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Watching my daughter make great progress. She began swimming without any aides a couple of months ago and is now able to swim the length of a 20m pool herself.

At the weekend learning to ride her bike suddenly clicked and she’s doing that herself as well. She skipped the balance bike stage as wasn’t interested. So not an orthodox route to learning to cycle. Looking forward to getting out and cycling with her in the near future!

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    There’s a farm shop near me that does jars of bread and butter pickles - onion, gherkin, and jalapeño slices - and I could eat quite a spectacular amount of them. Crispy, sour, sweet, hot - so satisfying.
    I could become a veggie for that as long as they have a good kick to them.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Watching my daughter make great progress. She began swimming without any aides a couple of months ago and is now able to swim the length of a 20m pool herself.

At the weekend learning to ride her bike suddenly clicked and she’s doing that herself as well. She skipped the balance bike stage as wasn’t interested. So not an orthodox route to learning to cycle. Looking forward to getting out and cycling with her in the near future!
    I love all the wee milestones.

My daughter was always a good swimmer but was terrified to jump in. On holiday last summer every day she would get a bit braver and after about the 4th day she agreed to jump into my arms; managed that a couple of times then the 3rd time she said she was going to try without help. It was more of a step in but she was so happy and has never looked back.

My son is nearly 3 and a bit behind with his talking. The 'lower end of normal' as the health visitor put it. The other day he just randomly said his own name after showing no interest or ability to do so before, and I daresay Ruairidh isn't the easiest name for a toddler to say, and has never stopped since. I was beaming from ear to ear all day as it's just another tick in the 'nothing to worry about' column.

My daughter also referred to a girl at her school as 'crazy X' just before the summer. When I challenged her she said 'everyone else does it'. The girl is autistic and struggles a wee bit socially and spends a lot of time out the class. I tried to explain to her on a level she would get that some people just think a bit differently and see the world in a way we don't but it doesn't mean they are crazy. I wasn't sure she got it but the other week we were out and saw this girl with a birthday badge on and my bairn went straight over and said happy birthday and gave her a hug. Last week at school my wife got a 'can I have a word' from the teacher which is never usually good but he said he had noticed my daughter standing up for this girl when someone else made fun of her and saying we shouldn't pick on people because everyone is different and that's fine. I was more than a little proud of her. She can be a total wee madam when the mood takes her but she's got a good heart really.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 19-08-2024 at 07:19 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    M&S oranges, they taste great..
    I came home after a nightshift the other morning raving about the M&S banana I'd had. I'm sure my son thought it was nightshift brain fog by the look he gave me but it was a seriously good banana

Opening the cupboard to find a box of unopened Jaffa cakes, gone in 30 seconds 😬

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar

My daughter was always a good swimmer but was terrified to jump in. On holiday last summer every day she would get a bit braver and after about the 4th day she agreed to jump into my arms; managed that a couple of times then the 3rd time she said she was going to try without help. It was more of a step in but she was so happy and has never looked back.

My son is nearly 3 and a bit behind with his talking. The 'lower end of normal' as the health visitor put it. The other day he just randomly said his own name after showing no interest or ability to do so before, and I daresay Ruairidh isn't the easiest name for a toddler to say, and has never stopped since. I was beaming from ear to ear all day as it's just another tick in the 'nothing to worry about' column.

My daughter also referred to a girl at her school as 'crazy X' just before the summer. When I challenged her she said 'everyone else does it'. The girl is autistic and struggles a wee bit socially and spends a lot of time out the class. I tried to explain to her on a level she would get that some people just think a bit differently and see the world in a way we don't but it doesn't mean they are crazy. I wasn't sure she got it but the other week we were out and saw this girl with a birthday badge on and my bairn went straight over and said happy birthday and gave her a hug. Last week at school my wife got a 'can I have a word' from the teacher which is never usually good but he said he had noticed my daughter standing up for this girl when someone else made fun of her and saying we shouldn't pick on people because everyone is different and that's fine. I was more than a little proud of her. She can be a total wee madam when the mood takes her but she's got a good heart really.
    This post is why there should be a like button. Well done to your wee girl

All of these are brilliant, but love the last part mate, well done to you and her

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Properly polishing a pair of shoes.

I know we are living through a period in time that sees wearing a tracksuit to work, shorts and flip flops to a funeral and grey joggers to a wedding as acceptable but I still like the chance to dress up once in a while.

I'm at a wedding next weekend and was pulling stuff together for it. My black dress shoes are rarely worn these days because of the above so needed a bit attention. There is just something about that time and attention it takes to properly build up layers then bull and spit shine them at the end. The methodical, rhythmic nature of it then the satisfaction when the mirror finish starts to appear.
    You never see anyone with a shoe box in there house anymore, my dad would do his shoes every week, I was to learn to do it later on in life.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Opening the cupboard to find a box of unopened Jaffa cakes, gone in 30 seconds 😬
    I had to stop buying Jaffa cakes, could do a packet a night.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post

Anyone been to the cycle track at Linlithgow? Went with my daughter this morning and she loved it, as did I. Will certainly be a core memory for me as been looking forward to cycling with her since she was born.

Would highly recommend for anyone with kids.

https://westlothiancyclecircuit.org/

When kids get to an age where they develop a sense of humour, even if it's a 'wicked sense of humour'.

Like when my two were still quite young and would ask about my experiences at school, always starting their questions with 'see in the olden days, Dad...'

Cheeky wee b*gg*rs

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Dropping something or it falling and your reactions kick in and you catch it before it hits the ground

Beans on toast, but pimped up beans. Done on the hob, knob of butter, bit of cajun spice in it, little bit of vinegar to take away from the sweetness, a splash of lea and perrins, and a nice grating of cheddar on the top.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Beans on toast, but pimped up beans. Done on the hob, knob of butter, bit of cajun spice in it, little bit of vinegar to take away from the sweetness, a splash of lea and perrins, and a nice grating of cheddar on the top.
    I'm going to add, two slices of toast, beans on top and then two soft fried eggs in top of that. Food of the Gods!!

Spending precious time with my Grand Daughter. My early life when my Daughters were younger they suffered because I was a selfish ******* and often being filled with beer.

I done a lot with them and we had great times but it should have been more, much more. I sorted myself and brought them up to be brilliant hard working Women and I am so proud of what they have become.

I love the bones off the wee one and I sacrificed my hibs season ticket to spend precious Saturdays with her 💚

Ooh **** aye.

How much do you reduce the sauce down? I take a lot of liquid out of mine.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Ooh **** aye.

How much do you reduce the sauce down? I take a lot of liquid out of mine.
    A fair bit. It needs to be thick.

Dried fried onions added to any “wet” sandwich/roll. Egg Mayo/Tuna Mayo/Coronation chicken etc, etc

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Dried fried onions added to any “wet” sandwich/roll. Egg Mayo/Tuna Mayo/Coronation chicken etc, etc
    I’ve got a bottle of hot kombucha mustard that makes any dry sandwich phenomenal. It’s potent stuff, but made a toasted bagel with lettuce, tomato, ham, chicken, a little cheddar, a little light mayo and a drizzle of the mustard just before kick off.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Having a job that gives me both UK and German Bank Holidays. Closing my laptop now and going for a start of the weekend sesh.

Sorting out my massive hand tool collection and remembering the ones I bought as a 16 year old apprentice over 40 years ago. I always bought the very best tools available and they are all still in excellent working condition.

Standing up, eating prunes from the tin, and dropping the stones from my mouth into the under-sink bin.

2 pleasures for the price of one.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Standing up, eating prunes from the tin, and dropping the stones from my mouth into the under-sink bin.

2 pleasures for the price of one.
    My stones dropped a while back.