Page 22 of 31 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast
    Passed through Fife on Monday, stopped for a game at Anstruther. Wet and muddy in places, but loved it for a fun round. Might return when it's drier but getting more run on the ball wouldn't necessarily be a good thing!

Nearly got a par on the 5th!

Quote Originally Posted by FifeHibs View Post
    Lundin is in better condition than leven due to the volume of traffic through the course each day. Having played both allot id say Leven is the better and truer links course but Lundin is better condition wise. There are more blind holes at Lundin and y3 holes up and along the road that are not links what so ever.

Lundin has an 8/900 membership fee where as leven doesn’t but depending which club in leven you join it’s comps every 2nd Saturday as it’s alternative. Both leven clubs and Lundin play a comp each year of the true old course leven 1-5 13-15 &18, Lundin holes 14-18 & 1-4
    All fair enough. I would say that the three holes up by the road although not particularly links holes are good golf holes . An elevated green on a par three with the next a great driving hole with a tight green guarded with trees if your too far left and bunkering right ti a flat green you can’t really get a visual on with the par three down the hill all good. It’s a wee while since I’ve played Leven but other than 18 there aren’t many if any stand out holes. (Might be Ive had a howler round there and want to forget to be fair. 😂😂

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DiscoDoidge View Post
    Anyone played lundin before?

Going to give it a bash soon with the idea of putting my name on the waiting list as I know a few boys there.
    I played a couple of East of Scotland Championships over Lundin - way back in the day when I played to a reasonable standard.

Lundin Links was the scene of my one and only hole in 1. On the 5th hole circa early 1990s. I remember arms raised aloft on our tee plus high 5ing golfers on the tee just over the dyke on the Leven course.

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    Has everyone seen the Hibs Community Christmas Appeal auctions?

Archerfield, Renaissance and a certain other course on there (whisper it quietly)
    Last edited by Hibs90; 01-12-2023 at 08:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs90 View Post
    Has everyone seen the Hibs Community Christmas Appeal auctions?

Archerfield, Renaissance and a certain other course on there (whisper it quietly)
    I hope that’s for a fourball and even then I’m not sure I’d pay that there even for a charity.
    Last edited by greenlex; 02-12-2023 at 09:01 AM.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I hope that’s for a football and even then I’m not sure I’d pay that even there for a charity.
    3 + host

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    I hope that’s for a fourball and even then I’m not sure I’d pay that there even for a charity.
    3 plus host, who I presume going by the prize donator will be the non-exec chair. Was going to bid if it stayed under 1k and split it between 3 but out of my range now

Is there a Hibs Supporters Golf Club/Society? Anyone ever tried to establish one?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Is there a Hibs Supporters Golf Club/Society? Anyone ever tried to establish one?
    Not that I know of.
    We had a .net outing a number of years ago and despite it being a success a follow up never really happened. I think a lack of someone really driving it was the biggest hurdle.

This looks great - what a venue for a Hibs Net outing.

https://www.hiberniangolf.com/

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    This looks great - what a venue for a Hibs Net outing.

https://www.hiberniangolf.com/
    Might join that. Just because. Bag tag alone would be worth it., I can imagine the seethe.

I joined Dunfermline. If anyone is a member give me a shout.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Off to Belek for a week on Saturday with the Mrs and boy. 9 rounds of golf booked and can't wait to get back out there after a miserable winter here in Germany. We've either had 10 inches of snow or 2 inches of water covering my local course. Even the driving ranges have been closed because the ball collecting machine can't pick up the balls in this weather.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post

Lovely course.

I’ve only played it once, got my one and only eagle to date on the opening hole.

Was quite cool being 2 under with one played. The rest of the round ended up being absolute drivel, although I did win the longest drive that day, so certainly a day of highs and lows.

Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post

One of my favourite inland Fife courses. Some great holes on it. Enjoy.

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Hating this time of year to try to get golf in. Weekend only option for me and limited with times because of the light so tee times go within a couple of seconds.

Benefit and curse of links golf, i can play all year round but so can everyone else who plays there!

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    Hating this time of year to try to get golf in. Weekend only option for me and limited with times because of the light so tee times go within a couple of seconds.

Benefit and curse of links golf, i can play all year round but so can everyone else who plays there!
    It's been a poor winter for the opportunity to play golf - even on the links courses. High winds, high tides spilling over on to the course and even the occasional days lost because of snow and ice.

Roll on the better weather!"

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post

It's been a poor winter for the opportunity to play golf - even on the links courses. High winds, high tides spilling over on to the course and even the occasional days lost because of snow and ice.

Roll on the better weather!"
    It could be worse you could be a member inland. Mud n mats. To be fair our greens are rather splendid.
    On a brighter note the Lothians Senior championship is live for entering. Monday 1st July at Kilspindie. If you’re a member of a Lothians club and 55 or over you’ll be hard pushed to spend a better £20.
    Last edited by greenlex; 06-02-2024 at 03:27 PM.

It could be worse you could be a member inland. Mud n mats. To be fair our greens are rather splendid.
    On a brighter note the Lothians Senior championship is live for entering. Monday 1st July at Kilspindie. If you’re a member of a Lothians club and 55 or over you’ll be hard pushed to spend a better £20.
    Where do you enter that? Thanks

That's a contentious point! My home Club is in the Borders but I'm also a member of a Club in East Lothian. I pay affiliation fees to both the Borders and the Lothians Golf Association but as my Home Club is in the Borders I'm not eligible to compete in an event such as the Lothians Seniors Championship. That seems grossly unfair as is having to pay 2 affiliation fees to Scottish Golf - apparently it's too complicated for their computer software to unravel! Aye, that will be right !!

I'd think that the entry details will be available from Lothians Golf Association's website.

That's a contentious point! My home Club is in the Borders but I'm also a member of a Club in East Lothian. I pay affiliation fees to both the Borders and the Lothians Golf Association but as my Home Club is in the Borders I'm not eligible to compete in an event such as the Lothians Seniors Championship. That seems grossly unfair as is having to pay 2 affiliation fees to Scottish Golf - apparently it's too complicated for their computer software to unravel! Aye, that will be right !!
    Ridiculous IMO. If you’re a member of an affiliated club then that should be enough as is 2 affiliation fees. Its 2024 FFS.

Follow the links here.

https://www.lothiansgolfassociation.org.uk/

Id get a wriggle on. Entries went live today and only about 30 places left already. It’s a drawn competition with time slots available via email.
    Last edited by greenlex; 06-02-2024 at 10:55 PM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    19 degrees and sunshine with a light breeze here. Belek has exceeded all our expectations, the courses are in prime condition and the Turks are excellent hosts. We will definitely be back.

Follow the links here.

https://www.lothiansgolfassociation.org.uk/

Id get a wriggle on. Entries went live today and only about 30 places left already. It’s a drawn competition with time slots available via email.
    Thanks for that. I've entered. From not playing golf until post-first lockdown I've found I love the game and really enjoy testing myself in competitions.

Enjoy. If you’ve not played Kilspindie before you’ll like it. Not long but some nice holes and as ever when the wind blows on the coast not a pushover.

Well I’m going to hit the range probably on Friday. First time I’ll have had a club in my hands since playing in a hurricane early October. Weather permitting I’ll be at Glasgow Gailes on Sunday and Archerfield early March. Need to get those reps in for that weekend in Villamoura mid March. Very early for me this year.

Downside I fished my trolley battery and charger out the garage and the charger has gone pop. ��☹️
    £50 replacement on its way.
    Last edited by greenlex; 12-02-2024 at 02:58 PM.

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Well I’m going to hit the range probably on Friday. First time I’ll have had a club in my hands since playing in a hurricane early October. Weather permitting I’ll be at Glasgow Gailes on Sunday and Archerfield early March. Need to get those reps in for that weekend in Villamoura mid March. Very early for me this year.

Downside I fished my trolley battery and charger out the garage and the charger has gone pop. ��☹️
    £50 replacement on its way.
    Some of us have played all through the winter well what else is there...

41 points today took the spoils wish this wind would bugger off though 😂

Not played for 4 months, the courses down here have all been closed or carry only for the best part of 4 months, and i'm too old and knees too knackered to do that.

My course has been taking £80 odd quid a month out my bank account since October, and there's little sign of it improving for a bit yet.