Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: SDG Testimonial

Quote Originally Posted by Broken Gnome View Post
    That could've been construed by the similarly 'untypical testimonial' to be fair. Gray deserves whatever honour Hibs can realistically award him, Murray didn't.

Folk have their views, that's fine and realise the empty seats will go against what I'm arguing. I'm just genuinely taken back there's an undercurrent of 'how's David Gray getting a testimonial', and thought it would be akin to one last bit 2016 party.
    I’m with you in what you say but sadly it seems we are very much in the minority.
    Hopefully people will turn out to thank him for that day.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    I can't make my mind up whether to go. Firstly he hasn't been here 10 years and wasn't a player for a huge amount of time. Secondly I don't really agree with testimonials unless it is a player or manager who has served in the same role for over a decade. I'll see what the weather is like and what else crops up but I have no plans to attend at the moment and if I did it would all be about that moment and not his full tenure which is not deserving of a testimonial imo. Will Daz get one next year if he is still here
    This is his 10th season at Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Broken Gnome View Post

Folk have their views, that's fine and realise the empty seats will go against what I'm arguing. I'm just genuinely taken back there's an undercurrent of 'how's David Gray getting a testimonial', and thought it would be akin to one last bit 2016 party.
    Similar to yourself, I'm surprised / disappointed at the perceived lack of interest in this game - given what SDG has contributed to the club.

Understand folk have their reasons, but hoping the sales get a wee bump ahead of the match.

Looking forward to seeing a few of the cup final guys (pity about Stokes!) back at ER, shame it'll just be in front of a few thousand

Not that there should really need to be there has been very, very little said about it. There’s probably a whole lot of folk don’t even realise it’s on. And the game itself seems a bit half arsed with not that many players involved.

Really hope there is a late push in sales. Won’t be nice if SDG walks out with on a couple of thousand in attendance.

I’m still swithering on it, when it was announced I thought it would be great thing to take my boy too as he loves Man U but there line up is scraping the barrel some what, I think there could have been better interest having his testimonial during the summer break but of a glamour friendly instead of squeezing it in the international break

https://youtu.be/ZgUYlLCW0LE?si=GPXgNsz2CwuTNc_X

Can't help but always being really impressed listening to Darren Fletcher.

I know the ticket office is open before regular home games.
    Will it be open on Sunday before the Testimonial to purchase tickets for the game ?
    I ask because a relative has decided at last minute to go with his son and asked me.

cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    https://youtu.be/ZgUYlLCW0LE?si=GPXgNsz2CwuTNc_X

Can't help but always being really impressed listening to Darren Fletcher.
    I'm banging on about it now, but I just want us to look good and grateful as a support. Fletcher's talking about a great turnout and excitement about the game - just a bit sad that it's going to look underwhelming, or suggest that we're not appreciative.

I thought the Hanlon/Stevenson turnout was decent enough in the end, do we not even look like matching that?

Just had a look at the squads and I’m really looking forward to it. And a chance to thank SDG for that moment.

Really disappointing sales with just 4 days until the match. I thought this would have went down well with David giving us the best moment in our lifetime as a Hibs fan and for what he’s done for the club in his 10 years.

Also very reasonable ticket pricing at just £10 and the fact it’s a game specially for the occasion, unlike Hanlon and Stevensons that were both friendlys for the first team. As Fletcher said it’s not easy getting players available to come take part but the Hibs team is pretty good and a few good United players too.

Fingers crossed there’s a big jump is sales over the next few days for a guy who deserves it.

Quote Originally Posted by Rumble de Thump View Post
    This is his 10th season at Hibs.
    I know he has been here 9 years

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Just had a look at the squads and I’m really looking forward to it. And a chance to thank SDG for that moment.
    Where are seeing them pal.
    cannot see why the stadium isn't packed for this Legend.
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Spewing I can't make it. 😭

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Where are seeing them pal.
    cannot see why the stadium isn't packed for this Legend.
    Manchester United XI:

Luke Steele
    Danny Simpson
    Phil Bardsley
    Wes Brown
    John Rankin
    Alex Bruce
    Adam Eckersley
    Darron Gibson
    Michael Stewart
    Febian Brandy
    Danny Drinkwater
    Ravel Morrison
    Danny Galbraith
    Chris Eagles
    Rod Thornley
    Eddie Johnson
    Darren Fletcher

Manager: Brian McClair

Hibernian XI:

Conrad Logan
    David Gray
    Darren McGregor
    Efe Ambrose
    Steven Whittaker
    Marvin Bartley
    Scott Brown
    Fraser Fyvie
    Liam Craig
    Danny Swanson
    Scott Allan
    Grant Holt
    James Keatings
    Brian McLean

Player/Coach: Nick Montgomery

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Manchester United XI:

Luke Steele
    Danny Simpson
    Phil Bardsley
    Wes Brown
    John Rankin
    Alex Bruce
    Adam Eckersley
    Darron Gibson
    Michael Stewart
    Febian Brandy
    Danny Drinkwater
    Ravel Morrison
    Danny Galbraith
    Chris Eagles
    Rod Thornley
    Eddie Johnson
    Darren Fletcher

Hibernian XI:

Conrad Logan
    David Gray
    Darren McGregor
    Efe Ambrose
    Steven Whittaker
    Marvin Bartley
    Scott Brown
    Fraser Fyvie
    Liam Craig
    Danny Swanson
    Scott Allan
    Grant Holt
    James Keatings
    Brian McLean

We are winning that nae bother!

John Rankin in the Man Utd squad puzzles me…

Manchester United XI:

Luke Steele
    Danny Simpson
    Phil Bardsley
    Wes Brown
    John Rankin
    Alex Bruce
    Adam Eckersley
    Darron Gibson
    Michael Stewart
    Febian Brandy
    Danny Drinkwater
    Ravel Morrison
    Danny Galbraith
    Chris Eagles
    Rod Thornley
    Eddie Johnson
    Darren Fletcher

Hibernian XI:

Conrad Logan
    David Gray
    Darren McGregor
    Efe Ambrose
    Steven Whittaker
    Marvin Bartley
    Scott Brown
    Fraser Fyvie
    Liam Craig
    Danny Swanson
    Scott Allan
    Grant Holt
    James Keatings
    Brian McLean

That Hibs squad alone is worth the tenner.

Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    John Rankin in the Man Utd squad puzzles me…
    Pretty sure he played for Man Utd at early in his career just like Michael Stewart though I don't think he played for the first team whilst Stewart did.

Manchester United XI:

Luke Steele
    Danny Simpson
    Phil Bardsley
    Wes Brown
    John Rankin
    Alex Bruce
    Adam Eckersley
    Darron Gibson
    Michael Stewart
    Febian Brandy
    Danny Drinkwater
    Ravel Morrison
    Danny Galbraith
    Chris Eagles
    Rod Thornley
    Eddie Johnson
    Darren Fletcher

Hibernian XI:

Conrad Logan
    David Gray
    Darren McGregor
    Efe Ambrose
    Steven Whittaker
    Marvin Bartley
    Scott Brown
    Fraser Fyvie
    Liam Craig
    Danny Swanson
    Scott Allan
    Grant Holt
    James Keatings
    Brian McLean

I had no ideA of the Hibs squad. On seeing that I'm definitely getting a ticket (as I was dithering)

Quote Originally Posted by Daniel 1875 View Post
    That Hibs squad alone is worth the tenner.
    Exactly! Folk not arsed to turn up for our cup winning goalscorer and captain is really odd, especially at that price. Plus the chance to see some other faces back at Easter Road, I’m looking forward to it.

How are ticket sales?

Wish I could go but it's a little far sadly.

Bump

4000 sold

4001 as just bought mine. Come on folks, get along and see some of those 2016 heroes 🇳🇬

First Team Regular TheHibernator's Avatar
    If you are able to, you should really go. How can we get approx 200k on the streets for the parade but can barely fill a stand for the man who won the cup? Disappointing uptake so far but I expect a good few more sales between now and Sunday, walk ups etc.

If anyone deserves a testimonial its Davie Gray.

Manchester United XI:

Luke Steele
    Danny Simpson
    Phil Bardsley
    Wes Brown
    John Rankin
    Alex Bruce
    Adam Eckersley
    Darron Gibson
    Michael Stewart
    Febian Brandy
    Danny Drinkwater
    Ravel Morrison
    Danny Galbraith
    Chris Eagles
    Rod Thornley
    Eddie Johnson
    Darren Fletcher

Hibernian XI:

Conrad Logan
    David Gray
    Darren McGregor
    Efe Ambrose
    Steven Whittaker
    Marvin Bartley
    Scott Brown
    Fraser Fyvie
    Liam Craig
    Danny Swanson
    Scott Allan
    Grant Holt
    James Keatings
    Brian McLean

Hopefully we will sell a few more before Sunday, wouldn’t have mattered who was playing would still be there
    Looking forward to seeing what both teams can produce but especially looking forward to seeing SDG , big Conrad , Daz , Marv , Fyvie and Keatings all who played there part in the Scottish Cup run.

Quote Originally Posted by Anthony Soprano View Post
    If you are able to, you should really go. How can we get approx 200k on the streets for the parade but can barely fill a stand for the man who won the cup? Disappointing uptake so far but I expect a good few more sales between now and Sunday, walk ups etc.

If anyone deserves a testimonial its Davie Gray.
    You could say the same for not selling out the stadium every week, with the estimated 200000 that lined the streets.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Pretty sure he played for Man Utd at early in his career just like Michael Stewart though I don't think he played for the first team whilst Stewart did.
    Interesting that of the players who "played" for both clubs there is one that has actually appeared for Man Utd's first team but didn't make an appearance for Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by h1bs4life View Post
    Hopefully we will sell a few more before Sunday, wouldn’t have mattered who was playing would still be there
    Looking forward to seeing what both teams can produce but especially looking forward to seeing SDG , big Conrad , Daz , Marv , Fyvie and Keatings all who played there part in the Scottish Cup run.
    Plus 3 2007 League Cup winners in Whittaker, Brown and Michael Stewart.

Quote Originally Posted by IanM View Post
    Bump

4000 sold
    Shocking number. Hopefully, before Sunday, fans reflect back on that day, the immense performance of David Gray and what it all meant to them and the whole Hibs family and that they choose to go last minute. SDG deserves his day in the sun for that one performance alone.

Quote Originally Posted by IanM View Post
    Bump

4000 sold
    Bought 3 this afternoon. Still think it will pick up a bit , hopefully those who can make it will turn up to support a guy who was key in winning us the cup and giving many of us our best ever day outwith the birth of children etc and ruined Hearts song book.