Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Still got my hair but forehead getting bigger 😀
    Aye, the arrival of my fivehead brought the clippers out sooner than expected.
    Eventually embraced the wet razor and have shaved every couple of days for the last 20 years.
    To compound matters, my facial hair has been pure white since my late 30's. It was ginger before that so every cloud and all that....

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Still got my hair but forehead getting bigger 😀

I've heard that's quite a common issue, growing foreheads.

You'd think the NHS would be urgently investigating the cause...

Anyone looked into the Harley street place on George street for a hair transplant/or know anyone who has been? I’m not there yet but in a couple of years it might be a decision I have to make.

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    Anyone looked into the Harley street place on George street for a hair transplant/or know anyone who has been? I’m not there yet but in a couple of years it might be a decision I have to make.
    Dinnae waste your money, just by some clippers.

One of my neighbours went to turkey for a hair transplant last year, it's been the best transplant i've seen.

He had thinning hair than was receding way up his forehead, now he has a cracking head of hair that you'd never know was a transplant.

4k i think he said it cost, but for someone in his late 20s he thinks it's money well spent.

One of my neighbours went to turkey for a hair transplant last year, it's been the best transplant i've seen.

He had thinning hair than was receding way up his forehead, now he has a cracking head of hair that you'd never know was a transplant.

4k i think he said it cost, but for someone in his late 20s he thinks it's money well spent.
    If that includes flights and a 5 star stay, it cannae be bad!

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    You should ask Boyler how much they cost

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    If that includes flights and a 5 star stay, it cannae be bad!
    I think it did, dont know about 5 star stays, but travel and accomodation was included.

Like it. I’d be tempted although not sure how much relaxing I’d manage before/after going to get me heid operated on 😂👍

When he came home he showed me what they'd done, and to be honest it looked sore, some scabbing and lots of what looked like little dots all over his head, but jeezus christ, now he has a full head of hair, and you would never know he was going bald.

Ach. Just sounds like a big night oot but with hair at the end instead of a hangover.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I've heard that's quite a common issue, growing foreheads.

You'd think the NHS would be urgently investigating the cause...
    They are trying to but can’t get much of Shankland’s availability to experiment on him.

Baldness just means that you can get a hairy back, hairy ears, mental eyebrows and nasal hair. What's not to like in the trade off🤷😭

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Antonio Conte's looks the best. No idea how he's managed that after what he had playing for Juve during the 90s.

I'd be a bit concerned about how they'll look in 30 years time. It'll probably be better to be wrinkly, a bit over weight, a collection of white hair and baldness without strange transplanted clumps of hair in bits where you might not expect it to be. Everybody else my own age will be at that point.

I say that as someone who basically arrests one aspect of the ageing process for a living.
    That's an interesting point. What DOES a hair transplant look like when you get old? Does the transplanted hair turn grey/get thinner in the same way as your original hair? I'm guessing most of it is actually your own hair but taken from parts of your head/body where there is stronger growth?

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    That's an interesting point. What DOES a hair transplant look like when you get old? Does the transplanted hair turn grey/get thinner in the same way as your original hair? I'm guessing most of it is actually your own hair but taken from parts of your head/body where there is stronger growth?
    I think it’s follicles that are transplanted from other areas and therefore presumably will grey/thin pretty similarly.

So basically you have a head covered of pubes and chest hair if you get one?

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post

I was going to suggest similar (and point out the obvious less than flattering outcomes that could achieve…) but the hair grafts are taken from the back and sides of the heid… I think!

Pretty sure that's right. Think hair tends to keep growing pretty much normally at the sides and back of the head even when someone loses it on top. To go back to my original question, what is the point of that? It's almost like a design flaw that some will lose their hair long before others.

First Team Breakthrough Hibspur's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    I embraced the clippers two years ago and I’ve never looked back. The receding was noticeable (although I preferred to say I was gaining face as opposed to going bald). If you’re losing it, wheek it off. You won’t regret it. I should add I’m 41.
    Do those on here who've opted for shaving their heads start by getting it cut very short and then go for the shaved head in stages? I'd have thought going straight for the shaved head look might turn out to be quite a shock.

I've held on to my hair until well into my 50s before starting to thin more noticeably and was wondering whether to get my head shaved, but it would be good to know what it would look like before taking the plunge! Might have a chat to the barber.

Quite pricey getting my hair cut every week or two I'd imagine, so I'm guessing you need to invest in a pair of clippers and teach yourself how to do it?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibspur View Post
    Do those on here who've opted for shaving their heads start by getting it cut very short and then go for the shaved head in stages? I'd have thought going straight for the shaved head look might turn out to be quite a shock.

I've held on to my hair until well into my 50s before starting to thin more noticeably and was wondering whether to get my head shaved, but it would be good to know what it would look like before taking the plunge! Might have a chat to the barber.

Quite pricey getting my hair cut every week or two I'd imagine, so I'm guessing you need to invest in a pair of clippers and teach yourself how to do it?
    I’ve been shaving mine with clippers (no guard) since I was 20 (43 now) it was because I was receding and never wanted to be that guy strategically gelling hair so off it went not a single lesson I haven’t regretted it once.

I recently bought a skull shaver to replace my clippers which has taken it a bit shorter as well, a great purchase I can just whip round my head every couple days in about 5-10mins

https://uk.remington-europe.com/rx7-ultimate-series-head-shaver-xr1600-uk?gclsrc=aw.ds&gad_source=1&gad_campaignid=224268 97599&gbraid=0AAAAAC1-jNGqjVlg_qPxdzmsDY_9G45Sb&gclid=CjwKCAjwl_XBBhAUEi wAWK2hzp9foRTPrivcNEli1jhplLnbgNKSCtiNSVs6wb9Yk-Y_ubaVFgzsaBoC11IQAvD_BwE

Best thing I bought for the head

There's not a lot of teaching involved bud.
    I'm 52 and first started rocking the aerodynamic look through choice when I was about 30.
    I spent around 8 quid buying a set of bog standard clippers from B&M , set them to the lowest level (0) and run them over my nut until the stubble felt even.
    Easy peasy.

To make life even easier I've since taken to using a 'skull shaver' type electric razor, occasionally enhanced by wet shaving my dome.

In the last 25 ISH years my total bill for hair care probably amounts to about 30 quid.

I'd recommend giving it a go - with only one thing to consider:
    Is your head shaped weirdly?

I'm luckily blessed with having a
    heid that suits this look - not everyone is.
    If your heid looks like a 100 Watt Asda bulb you may want to consult a professional 🤭

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    There's not a lot of teaching involved bud.
    I'm 52 and first started rocking the aerodynamic look through choice when I was about 30.
    I spent around 8 quid buying a set of bog standard clippers from B&M , set them to the lowest level (0) and run them over my nut until the stubble felt even.
    Easy peasy.

To make life even easier I've since taken to using a 'skull shaver' type electric razor, occasionally enhanced by wet shaving my dome.

In the last 25 ISH years my total bill for hair care probably amounts to about 30 quid.

I'd recommend giving it a go - with only one thing to consider:
    Is your head shaped weirdly?

I'm luckily blessed with having a
    heid that suits this look - not everyone is.
    If your heid looks like a 100 Watt Asda bulb you may want to consult a professional 🤭
    Kinda hard to know if your head shape suits it until you've shaved the hair off?

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Kinda hard to know if your head shape suits it until you've shaved the hair off?
    For some, possibly. For most probably not.

I used to work with a guy we nicknamed 'Coo heid'
    *He had a full head of hair.

Compare a noggin like his with for instance Jason Statham pre hair loss (check out his pre fame high diving videos on YouTube) and you quite clearly can see how some can carry off the look, whilst others resemble Sputnik.

Been taking meds for blood pressure and maybe coincidental but my hair is thinning.
    Oddly - and there’s a picture of me with hair like Ryan Giggs in his prime (and before public fall from grace) but the hair has greyed, the curly locks gone :( but my hair remains. Not sure how I’d feel about balding - touch wood so far so good.

I guess anything that overtly shows the aging process is a bit of a dunt to the system. I do feel like the same I was in my 20-30s. Real pisser is the social references go and age you in themselves - mind you “can you tell what it is yet”? And “Jim’ll fix it” didn’t age well.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

I gradually was shaving shorter and shorter with clippers, mostly through it enabling being lazy and not having to do anything with my hair, but it was slowly getting thinner on top.

When lockdown first kicked in during 2020, I’d been wondering how it might look to just go the whole hog, and figured with wfh if I hated it I could let it grow back in a bit. But I never have, it’s great. If anything I get more annoyed with how it looks if I’ve left it a few days too long to shave it again. Been using a Skull Shaver for most of that time, it gives a really close cut, and can be used for both wet and dry shaving, I’ve never gotten into wet shaving my head, I’d end up with cuts everywhere 😂

One thing that I’ve personally noticed, be interesting to see if anyone else has this experience - when I had hair, it never bothered me if my head got wet in the rain, but with my shaved head it really annoys me.

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    I gradually was shaving shorter and shorter with clippers, mostly through it enabling being lazy and not having to do anything with my hair, but it was slowly getting thinner on top.

When lockdown first kicked in during 2020, I’d been wondering how it might look to just go the whole hog, and figured with wfh if I hated it I could let it grow back in a bit. But I never have, it’s great. If anything I get more annoyed with how it looks if I’ve left it a few days too long to shave it again. Been using a Skull Shaver for most of that time, it gives a really close cut, and can be used for both wet and dry shaving, I’ve never gotten into wet shaving my head, I’d end up with cuts everywhere 😂

One thing that I’ve personally noticed, be interesting to see if anyone else has this experience - when I had hair, it never bothered me if my head got wet in the rain, but with my shaved head it really annoys me.
    I always thought bald/shaven headed guys would be less bothered by the rain as there's no hairstyle to ruin.

Is a skull shaver electric? If so, how can it be used for a wet shave?

I've been balding for a number of years, started late 20s and now mid 30s its a patch up job and denial that keeps me going to my barber for a 2 back and sides and miracle on top

Biggest issue I have is head shape. Basically a giant egg and unfortunately not in the perfectly shaped form like guys like Jason Statham. Have considered turkey and toupee as options

Has anyone here done the turkey trip?

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post

Aye,but who’s pubes ?