Page 91 of 164 FirstFirst ... 41818990919293101141 ... LastLast
Results 2,701 to 2,730 of 4912
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Despite folk moaning earlier about the English-obsessed commentary, I didn’t think they were too bad. However this pillock keeps going on about how the English players will be loving the exertion of extra time and, worse, loving the injuries each team is experiencing. They can’t help it and it’s no wonder we all hate them.

Why should you hate a whole nation for what a few individuals said? If so every nation would hate every other nation, Oh no I forgot - no Scottish folk ever say anything nasty about anyone else. If you hate everything about the English just say so don't just pick out random crap that everyone is guilty of to try and justify yourself.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Tonight hurt, probably more than Scotland not getting out of the group stages. I was forced to become a German because of the English electorate, so I was hoping they'd get pumped by my newly adopted country. It was not to be. Onwards and upwards, I don't care what country rips this trophy out of their arms, but someone will, I'll take consolation in that and the fact that as a German we'll win more than we'll lose.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Dream on😂
    You never know in football 👀

Quote Originally Posted by CockneyRebel View Post
    Why should you hate a whole nation for what a few individuals said? If so every nation would hate every other nation, Oh no I forgot - no Scottish folk ever say anything nasty about anyone else. If you hate everything about the English just say so don't just pick out random crap that everyone is guilty of to try and justify yourself.
    Don't think the poster has once said he hates the English or everything about the nation. Reads as in relation to English football pundits, which is a commonly held view. You may be jumping to your own conclusions.

C’mon give us a break, the use of the word hate in this context isn’t literal. Ok, exchange it for ‘can’t stand’, ‘dislike’ or ‘resent’ if that sits better with you ........ sometimes I think folk on here sit ready to pounce on anything to moan about or disagree with.

As an Englishman I wonder if you actually read any previous posts.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    We are reaching the point in the competition where the less talented countries are burning out after their efforts.
    And for that reason, England will be knocked out in the next round

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    I remember world Cup Argentina, Ally's tartan army, now that was slavering pi. s
    Sorry Lago, I can’t agree because any slavering by us has been in anticipation not expectation. They already have the route laid out to and winning the final in the press.
    Last edited by JohnMcM; 29-06-2021 at 10:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Bet they were saying the same before Iceland

Glass houses and stones must be a part of a phrase that Scotsman must never have heard of.

You we’re doing ok pal until you said that you arrogant twat.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    I want England to get absolutely pumped upside doon at football and rugby but want them to win when playing cricket. Honestly I think you are mixing up football banter and what is understandable annoyance at the pish commentary and summarising with something that's just not there in 99.9% of the posts or in general day to day life.
    Out of interest why do you think that is?

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM;6606238[B
    ]Sorry Lago, I can’t agree because any slavering by us has been in anticipation not expectation[/B]. They already have the route laid out to and winning the final in the press.
    I have to say I was here at the time and your take on this is b*ll*cks. You fancied your chances of going all the way. Press hype/maybe but whatever it was it carried you away so why slag other folk for the same thing.

Shame on you.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Bet they were saying the same before Iceland
    True, hopefully history can repeat itself.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Tonight hurt, probably more than Scotland not getting out of the group stages. I was forced to become a German because of the English electorate, so I was hoping they'd get pumped by my newly adopted country. It was not to be. Onwards and upwards, I don't care what country rips this trophy out of their arms, but someone will, I'll take consolation in that and the fact that as a German we'll win more than we'll lose.
    How so?

80 minutes of boredom with a deserved win. That sums it up.

England are an average team and good luck to them but I don't see them as overall winners.

I have to say I was here at the time and your take on this is b*ll*cks. You fancied your chances of going all the way. Press hype/maybe but whatever it was it carried you away so why slag other folk for the same thing.

Shame on you.
    I’ll try that again shall I? We had anticipation not expectation- a whole world of difference.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    How so?
    Are you seriously asking that 5 years after Brexit?

As an Englishman I wonder if you actually read any previous posts.
    Well for a start I can’t understand what you are trying to say in this simple sentence. More importantly, as somebody has tried to point out to you, not once have I said I hate the English nation. I get pissed off with your football pundits, commentators and media, as many, no most, Scots do, in my opinion. I’ve been reading your posts and, even before you decided to have a go at me, thought they were argumentative and aggressive. Good luck to you and your team, which, by the way, I rate quite highly,

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    You we’re doing ok pal until you said that you arrogant twat.
    I was doing ok because I was right. You are no better or worse than the English in this respect so don't kid yourself.

Sorry Lago, I can’t agree because any slavering by us has been in anticipation not expectation. They already have the route laid out to and winning the final in the press.
    I wasn't very old at the time but I remember being convinced we were going to win the World Cup in 78. England not having qualified, the expectation on Scotland was perhaps greater than usual, but we definitely went OTT about our chances.

'We're on the march wi' Ally's Army. We're going to the Argen-teen. And we'll really shake 'em up when we win the World Cup, cos Scotland are the the greatest fitba' team'

I vividly remember greetin' when we got gubbed by Peru in our opening game. Heartbreaking stuff for a kid not yet aware of the pain football can inflict.

I was doing ok because I was right. You are no better or worse than the English in this respect so don't kid yourself.
    You think so? Aye.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Are you seriously asking that 5 years after Brexit?
    Ah, OK. Sorry, I don't know your personal history. I just wasn't sure what you meant.

I wasn't very old at the time but I remember being convinced we were going to win the World Cup in 78. England not having qualified, the expectation on Scotland was perhaps greater than usual, but we definitely went OTT about our chances.

'We're on the march wi' Ally's Army. We're going to the Argen-teen. And we'll really shake 'em up when we win the World Cup, cos Scotland are the the greatest fitba' team'

I vividly remember greetin' when we got gubbed by Peru in our opening game. Heartbreaking stuff for a kid not yet aware of the pain football can inflict.
    I enjoy a well worded counter-view such as yours. I don’t agree with you and will happily accept your difference of opinion. Thank you.

Well for a start I can’t understand what you are trying to say in this simple sentence. More importantly, as somebody has tried to point out to you, not once have I said I hate the English nation. I get pissed off with your football pundits, commentators and media, as many, no most, Scots do, in my opinion. I’ve been reading your posts and, even before you decided to have a go at me, thought they were argumentative and aggressive. Good luck to you and your team, which, by the way, I rate quite highly,

I was replying to what I i thought was the general tone of the previous posts. I am sorry if I got the wrong vibes as I am anxious to avoid being an arse when it's not warranted.

Media/pundits/commentators...I still say look at your own (or anyone else) we all get carried away.

Great result for England tonight, Southgate got his tactics and formation spot on. Hoping we can get a result against Ukraine next will be be a tough game as will all games be. Can England go all the way? Of course they can but so can all the other teams, one game at a time is all we can do.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Good to see that England’s advance has in no way provoked any hubris on their part nor any tonne weights of chips on Scottish shoulders. Smashing.

Quote Originally Posted by McSwanky View Post
    I've got no problem with people being patriotic, none at all. Congratulations to England on their win today. But here's the issue for me.

England are, to me, just another country. I have as much feeling for their football team as I do for, say, Sweden or Ukraine. So why do I have to put up with biased commentators continually talking about 'us' and 'we' on my television, which is very definitely in Scotland, about 50 miles away from the English border?

If I was sitting watching the England game in England, I'd absolutely accept biased TV coverage. Just as I would if I was watching Italy in Italy. But I'm not in England, am I?

I'm even being subjected to it during this evening's game, which is mildly annoying. At least they've got Freddie Ljunberg on though.
    Just my opinion, but I think the 'it's not the the English football team I hate, it's the commentators' line is wearing a bit thin and is quite probably a little dishonest for many who trot it out. Are they really any more jingo-istic than any other country's commentators when their national team is doing well? I have my doubts. Some of the most OTT 'classic' pieces of commentary (Norway's 'Maggie Thatcher are you listening...your boys took one hell of a beating etc' springs immediately to mind) put 'biased' English commentary in the shade.

In my more partisan youth I have no problem admitting I was very much in the 'anyone but England' camp but these days I just don't get so hot and bothered about international football. Maybe it's because we got so out of the way of seeing Scotland at major tournaments, but now I see these events more as a bit of light relief before the real thing gets going again in the shape of Hibs.

As I said in an earlier post I find this England side hard to actively dislike and bearing in mind the number of English friends (and indeed relatives) I've accumulated throughout a life spent in numerous parts of the UK I think it's fair to say I have more feeling for them than, to use your examples, Sweden and Ukraine.
    Last edited by He's here!; 29-06-2021 at 11:36 PM.

I’ll try that again shall I? We had anticipation not expectation- a whole world of difference.
    I'll try that again then - bollocks - as a nation you thought you would win - I was here - I even half believed it myself - so don't underestimate the power of the hype and don't try to twist it to suit your purpose. We are all gullible not just the folk you pick out.

as a nation you thought you would win .
    😂😂😂😂

You think so? Aye.
    Aye!!!!

Just my opinion, but I think the 'it's not the the English football team I hate, it's the commentators' line is wearing a bit thin and is quite probably a little dishonest for many who trot it out. Are they really any more jingo-istic than any other country's commentators when their national team is doing well? I have my doubts. Some of the most OTT 'classic' pieces of commentary (Norway's 'Maggie Thatcher are you listening...your boys took one hell of a beating etc' springs immediately to mind) put 'biased' English commentary in the shade.

In my more partisan youth I have no problem admitting I was very much in the 'anyone but England' camp but these days I just don't get so hot and bothered about international football. Maybe it's because we got so out of the way of seeing Scotland at major tournaments, but these days I see these events more as a bit of light relief before the real thing gets going again in the shape of Hibs.

As I said in an earlier post I find this England side hard to dislike and bearing in mind the number of English friends I've accumulated throughout a life spent in numerous parts of the UK I think it's fair to say I have more feeling for them than, to use your examples, Sweden and Ukraine.
    I've lived in France for 17 years and being away from the UK media has definitely softened my views toward the English national football team. I have English cousins who are great guys and are fanatical football & England fans. It's only now that I'm not getting their team rammed in my face that I can grudgingly feel pleased for them if their team gets a good result (not that I'd ever let on).

And for info., the French media, commentators & pundits, who can probably be forgiven for expecting a bit of success, are like impartial observers compared to their English counterparts.