Aitken,Fox and Gibson -all fine players but only Davy Gibson had the career they should all have had. Aitken of course never fully recovered from being crocked by Clinton in the cup final which was on top of being carried off at Easter Road a few months before that -Clinton kneed him in the back that time.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Results 1,591 to 1,620 of 2779
Thread: On this day in history
-
21-02-2021 04:17 PM #1591
-
22-02-2021 09:59 AM #1592
22/2/2020 Scottish League Premiership
Hibernian 1 v 1 Livingston
Doidge 50
Scott Allan missed a pen in this game
This game took HIBS to 11 unbeaten at Easter Road
HIBS Rocky McGinn Hanlon Jackson Boyle Slivka Docherty Stevenson Allan Doidge and McNulty
Subs Murray Gullan Horgan
Att 15500
https://youtu.be/nhgDCLHt5Oo
22/2/2019 Scottish League Premiership
Dundee 2 v 4 Hibernian
Kamberi 26
McNulty 39 63
Mallan 66
https://youtu.be/yGvCYe2qRT0
Good game with some cracking goals
Hibs Rocky Gray Hanlon Stevenson McGregor Milligan Horgan Slivka Mallan McNulty and Kamberi
Subs Omeonga Shaw
Att 6450
22/2/2017 Scottish Cup Round 5 Replay
Hibernian 3 v 1 Hearts
Cummings 21
Holt 37
Shinnie 63
HIBS took the lead when Andrew Shinnie played Jase in with a defence splitting pass and he duly buried the ball into the far corner of the net with a left footed strike
Grant Holt increased HIBS’ lead when he flicked a reverse pass from Cummings beyond the advancing Hearts keeper
Into the second half and fifth minute Substitute for Chris Humphrey Shinnie who was having a great game fired a ball straight through the Hearts goalkeeper Jack Hamilton from 22 yards to put HIBS three up on 66 minutes
Hearts scored a late penalty when Goncalves who had been brought down inside the box by Darren McGregor ( allegedly) converted the award at the third attempt when he bundled the ball over the line
Darren McGregor then had what appeared to be a perfectly good goal disallowed when he headed in a free-kick unchallenged at the back post
Hibs Rocky. Gray McGregor Fontaine Stevenson Humphrey Bartley McGinn Boyle Holt and Cummings
Subs Shinnie Graham Fyvie
Att 20200
22/2/1983 Scottish League Premier Division
Dundee 0 v 1 Hibernian
Rice
Brian Rice scores his first senior goal inside two minutes to grab the points
Hibs Rough Sneddon Schaedler Turnbull Rae McNamara Conroy Rice Irvine Thomson and Harvey
Sub Duncan
Att 4363
22/2/1975 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 1 Celtic
Duncan 2
King Arthur scored two inside the first fifteen minutes Roy Barry brought some steel to the defence and nullified Dixie Deans Stanton and Bremner snuffed out Dalglish and Stevie Murray in midfield Paul Wilson scored for Celtic
Duncan was denied a hat-trick late in the game when he waltzed around debutant Peter Latchford but slipped at the vital moment with the goal gaping
HIBS McArthur Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Barry Spalding Carroll Bremner Harper Munro and Duncan
Sub Smith for Carroll
Att 29354
22/2/1964 Scottish League Division One
St Johnstone 0 v 4 Hibernian
Martin 2
Scott 2
Hibs played 17 year old Davie Hogg on the right wing and utility man Duncan Falconer performed admirably at Centre Half so a good two points
Hibs Simpson Fraser Baxter Stanton Falconer Preston Hogg Quinn Scott Martin Grant
Att 5693
22/2/1961 Inter Cities Fairs Cup Quarter Final Leg 2
Hibernian 3 v 2 Barcelona ( Agg 7-6)
Baker 10
Preston 72
Kinloch pen 85
The mighty Barcelona came to Easter Road for the second leg of the Inter Cities Fairs Cup Quarter Final
The first leg in the Nou Camp had finished 4-4
Easter Road was packed with 45000 fans for what was a memorable match Hibs winning 3-2 on the night
Joe Baker put HIBS ahead after ten minutes when he headed home a Johnny MacLeod free-kick
After HIBS’ bright start Barcelona came more and more into the game and it was no surprise when Martinez equalised after 27 minutes beating Simpson to an Evaristo cross and firing the ball under him
The Spaniards were now going in top gear and took the lead two minutes from the break Kocsis received the ball in the HIBS box with his back to goal he half turned and sent a low shot past two sprawling defenders into the net
Second half and HIBS now shooting down their favoured slope really went at Barcelona
Immediately Joe Baker was pulled down inside the box looking for all the world a penalty but the German Referee only gave an indirect free-kick inside the box
Barcelona then missed a goalden chance to increase their lead when they broke away Suarez’s shot cannoned off Simpson’s chest fell to Martinez who inexplicably fired past the open goal sending the ball into orbit
Once again Baker head down raced into the Barca box only to be bounced off the ball and sent sprawling over the goal-line to be met by the same result indirect free kick to HIBS inside the box Ormond took the kick but it was scrambled clear
The equaliser came when a corner from Ormond was swung well away from the goalkeeper Sammy Baird headed it on into the box the heads went up and the ball ended up in the Barca net
The last man to pick himself up from the fallen melee of players in the box was Tommy Preston
Five minutes to go and all hell let loose Johnny MacLeod was pulled down inside the box and the Referee that had denied HIBS two stonewall penalties immediately pointed to the spot
The Referee was surrounded by irate Barcelona players who pushed and shoved him
The Referee retreated to the half way line The police went on the pitch to protect him and all the while he kept pointing to the penalty spot
This went on for some five minutes the coolest man in the Stadium was Bobby Kinloch who all this while sat on the ball in the penalty box patiently waiting on things to calm down
Once order had been restored he simply cracked the ball into the net
This triggered wild celebrations around the Stadium and the Referee was once again surrounded by Barcelona players
The Referee blew the final whistle five minutes later when he was conveniently positioned near the tunnel before being pursued by angry Barca players who more than left their mark for many years to come on the Changing Room door
Hibs Simpson Fraser McClelland Baxter Easton Baird MacLeod Preston Baker Kinloch and Ormond
Att 45000
22/2/1958 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 5 v 5 St Mirren
Turnbull 2 pens
Thomson
Baker
Ormond
22/2/1928 Scottish Cup Round 3 Replay
Falkirk 0 v 1 Hibernian AET
Jimmy McColl 114
22/2/1902 Scottish Cup Round 3
Queens Park 1 v 7 Hibernian
McGeachan 3
Divers 3
Callaghan
Birthdays
Colin Harris
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 22-02-2021 at 07:50 PM.
-
22-02-2021 12:20 PM #1593This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I know we tend to have a poor spell every winter, but that's a bit much!
-
22-02-2021 12:23 PM #1594This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Probably sums up our performance after January since 1875 though
I might be on to something
-
22-02-2021 12:27 PM #1595This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Aye, maybe we should change the name permanently.
-
22-02-2021 01:31 PM #1596This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-02-2021 01:44 PM #1597This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-02-2021 01:51 PM #1598
If I was being incredibly pedantic, was the Hearts consolation not sclaffed in after the pen was saved. Love these updates as always!
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
-
22-02-2021 01:56 PM #1599
-
22-02-2021 01:57 PM #1600This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-02-2021 02:01 PM #1601This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 22-02-2021 at 02:06 PM.
-
22-02-2021 02:36 PM #1602This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-02-2021 03:24 PM #1603This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Having said that I would have loved George Stewart to be at ER several seasons earlier.
-
22-02-2021 07:02 PM #1604This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I was going to post something similar.
Certainly things went pear shaped after the East Fife game and i do agree there was a bit of a goal drought after that.
Did both Pat and Jimmy not sit out a few games due to injury ,or in Jimmys case, just being left out, as Ned did sometimes, to the bafflement of many fans.
Score 2 or 3 one game and dropped the next game !!
He had scored 28 i think between August and the 0-7 game.
But that season was the one that got away !Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-02-2021 at 07:05 PM.
-
22-02-2021 07:06 PM #1605
It should have been 4-1. Sure there was nothing wrong with McGregor's goal.
-
22-02-2021 07:28 PM #1606This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by Ray_; 22-02-2021 at 07:33 PM.
-
22-02-2021 07:45 PM #1607This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The goal is on YouTube cannae see anything wrong with it or his challenge on Goncalves in the box as he appears to get the ball
-
22-02-2021 07:46 PM #1608This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-02-2021 08:21 PM #1609This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If i may say so ,the stats you mention regards Jimmy's total just up to Jan 1st is amazing in any league.
What price a current player doing that now ?
The duo of Jimmy and Alan would be priceless nowadays.
The Split game away was decisive in Ned's thinking.(the changes)
But he was wrong and he said so years later
(to me in the Barnton bar one day i was in with Jimmy)
As said by Ray, we had no real back up of the quality,skill and experience of TTs(original11) and that done us in the end(that season)
As Doris Day would have said
Que Sera Sera !!
It was good while it lasted
As short as that was-(
-
-
23-02-2021 09:38 AM #1611
23/2/2008 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 2 v 0 Inverness CT
Nish 3
Fletcher 5
Hibs Ma-Kalambay Gathuessi Zarabi Jones Hogg Boozy Zemmama Rankin Shiels Nish and Fletcher
Subs Morais Murray Hanlon
Att 12552
23/2/1991 Scottish Cup Round 4
St Johnstone 2 v 1 Hibernian
Hamilton
Keith Houchen on his last warning after an indiscretion at Starks Park gives the V sign to the HIBS fans after being sent off
Neil Cooper had already been sent off making any fight back impossible
Hibs Goram Miller McIntyre Cooper Hunter MacLeod Hamilton Mitchell McGinlay Houchen and Tortolano
Sub Findlay
Att 9153
23/2/1980 Scottish League Premier Division
Dundee United 1 v 0 Hibernian
Hibs legend Peter Cormack makes his second debut for the club but it was not to be a winning one as former hibee Willie Pettigrew scored the only goal after 40 minutes
Man of the Match : Jim McArthur
Hibs McArthur Brazil Lambie Rae Paterson McNamara Callachan MacLeod Cormack Campbell and Duncan
Subs Hutchinson Murray
Att 7822
23/2/1974 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 4 Celtic
Duncan 23
O’Rourke 53
Celtic came to Easter Road knowing a win would end Hibs’ challenge and that is exactly what happened Celtic ended HIBS’ 20 game unbeaten run and moved 5 points clear at the top
Deans 2 Dalglish and Wilson for Celtic
Hibs would finish runners up ahead of Rangers
Hibs McArthur Spalding Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Edwards O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan
Att 48554
23/2/1929 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 1 Celtic
Jimmy Preston 2
23/2/1924 Scottish Cup Round 4
Rangers 1 v 2 Hibernian
Walker 53
Murray 83
A classic Scottish Cup tie played between two talented teams with their reputations at stake
HIBS found themselves a goal down at half-time but they were playing magnificently Alec Maley gave his players a pep talk at half-time and reminded them that it is “all about pride and tradition but more importantly we are a better team than that lot in the blue”
It paid off because early into the second half Darkie Walker equalised after Geordie Murray caused panic in the Rangers defence
The tie was now wide open and very hard but HIBS continued to play a sweet game The HIBS defence stood up to everything Rangers could throw at them with Willie Harper in outstanding form
The forwards were fast and tricky and Harry Ritchie was causing Rangers havoc on the right wing when with only seven minutes to go after one of his thunderous runs he squared the ball to Geordie Murray who rapped in the winner sending the 15000 HIBS supporters wild with delight
HIBS Harper McGinnigle Dornan Kerr Miller Shaw Ritchie Dunn Murray Halligan and Walker
Att 52885
Receipts £1859
Birthdays
Willie Temperley
Brian Welsh
Willie Ormond RIP
The Making of Hibernian The Romantic Years Alan Lugton
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 23-02-2021 at 03:57 PM.
-
23-02-2021 09:51 AM #1612
Always saw Pettigrew as one that got away. Was a goals scorer all through his career. That Hibs team that day had the sublime to the ridiculous. Cormack to Duncan Lambie.
-
23-02-2021 10:35 AM #1613
(Not related to 'on this day in history', but old photo and Easter Road so I thought I should post it here :-) )
Today's Guardian has a series of 1960s photos of Edinburgh. One is billed as a football match at Easter Road.
Anybody else see the problem?
https://www.theguardian.com/artandde...tography#img-4Last edited by Keith_M; 23-02-2021 at 11:43 AM. Reason: Fixed Spelling
-
23-02-2021 11:12 AM #1614This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Think it is Murrayfield - but could be wrong!!!
-
23-02-2021 11:23 AM #1615This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
23-02-2021 11:31 AM #1616This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Either Scotland v England, or Scotland playing in white against (?) France.
-
23-02-2021 11:34 AM #1617This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
23-02-2021 11:42 AM #1618This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's definitely Murrayfield. You can see the stand at the right of the guy's raised arm is the old North West Corner Stand.
-
23-02-2021 11:44 AM #1619
The 2-4 game v Celtic. The biggest crowd I’ve been in at ER. Me and my pals went up to the ground around 2pm, probably earlier. We had learned that the only way in was to go early, before the police arrived, climb up the side of the gate and the. hide in the bushes on the slopes of the east terracing. We would sit quiet as mice and watch the shenanigans as people jumped over the wall and attempted to evade the cops.
The ground would be getting busy early doors and you could safely make an appearance. We often stood above the walkway between the upper and lower terrace. A handy spot to watch the swedging. The only crowd I’ve been in that was so tighly packed was Scotland v Wales at Murrayfield, round about that time.
-
23-02-2021 12:42 PM #1620
Just catching up on yesterday’s posts on Turnbulls Tornadoes and season 1972/73.
Can’t add anything to them,as they were pretty much spot on.
Hibs had a player around that time who was a back up sweeper.
IIRC he only ever got a game when Sloop was very rarely injured or as happened at times suspended.
He was a fair haired lad whose first name was either Alex or Alan.
Always thought he had a bit of quality about him,but he was never going to get anywhere as long as Sloop was there.
Have no clue as to what happened in his career after he left Hibs.
Can anyone fill in the blanks ?