Page 27 of 32 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 ... LastLast
    Money Pit:

1.Comedy film from 1986* starring Tom Hanks and Shelley Long. "A young couple struggles to repair a hopelessly dilapidated house". (description courtesy IMDB)

2. Comedy from 2017/18/19/20/+++ starring Mrs Budge and Craig Levein. An older couple struggles to repair a hopelessly dilapidated house.

Edit : that was a classic year for comedies with our neighbours releasing 2 in a week.
    Last edited by AltheHibby; 19-06-2019 at 03:50 PM.

Piazza per l'applauso solista - literally the square for the solo clapper. Similar to a driveway leading to a garage, this decorative assortment of paving is largely the domain of culturally insignificant, but nonetheless extremely popular football clubs, whose stadiums are often likened to the grand old Colosseum of Rome, hence the preference for the Italian "Piazza".

Vanacek

Term used in business to describe the exchange of goods of dubious provenance.

Agent "Psst. Craig. You vant real good football man?"
    Levein" "Oh yes. Cash or do you Vanacek?"

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    It's Yammassive - Phrase used to describe something comparatively small by Hibs standards but big by Livingston standards.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    It's Yammassive - Phrase used to describe something comparatively small by Hibs standards but big by Livingston standards.

Like this.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
    Vanacek

Term used in business to describe the exchange of goods of dubious provenance.

Agent "Psst. Craig. You vant real good football man?"
    Levein" "Oh yes. Cash or do you Vanacek?"
    Vanacek

Alternative meaning an item acquired with great anticipation. Used immediately and then left to decay and then discarded. Mainly Eastern European.

@hibs.net private member Greenfly's Avatar
    Vanacek : unfit (literally) for purpose.

Yamanagerial Appointment

A 'tortuous process' which is nevertheless 'done properly' consisting of five key steps:

1. The sacking the current manager for sinking the team towards the bottom of the table, missing out on first and second choice targets and then entering into protracted negotiations with someone who doesn't want the job and was sacked from their previous job so having no win in 10 games.

2. The third choice man who doesn't want the job (TTCMWDWTJ) is then courted to join the club by the man that the club has just sacked, by showing the man who doesn't want the job, the training facility that they don't own, the main stand that they haven't finished building and the expensively assembled squad which isn't performing.

3. Then the offer is increased to the third choice man who doesn't want the job, based on the fact that he doesn't want the job, who then requires the club to pay off the club who sacked the man who doesn't want the job in order for him to take the job he doesn't want.

4. This creates a 'stumbling block' and an ever growing addiction to financial doping is ignored all the while.

5. However, this process is 'done properly' although it is 'tortuous' which means 'we take ages because no-one wants the gig'

Yamanagerial Appointment

A 'tortuous process' which is nevertheless 'done properly' consisting of five key steps:

1. The sacking the current manager for sinking the team towards the bottom of the table, missing out on first and second choice targets and then entering into protracted negotiations with someone who doesn't want the job and was sacked from their previous job so having no win in 10 games.

2. The third choice man who doesn't want the job (TTCMWDWTJ) is then courted to join the club by the man that the club has just sacked, by showing the man who doesn't want the job, the training facility that they don't own, the main stand that they haven't finished building and the expensively assembled squad which isn't performing.

3. Then the offer is increased to the third choice man who doesn't want the job, based on the fact that he doesn't want the job, who then requires the club to pay off the club who sacked the man who doesn't want the job in order for him to take the job he doesn't want.

4. This creates a 'stumbling block' and an ever growing addiction to financial doping is ignored all the while.

5. However, this process is 'done properly' although it is 'tortuous' which means 'we take ages because no-one wants the gig'
    Superb!

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Stendel
    An appointed saviour with little justification usually after a tumultuous period. Small moments are celebrated to appease the conscience of followers.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    All or Nothing: Yamchester City.

Behind the scenes documentary featuring the trials and tribulations of one of Europe’s biggest clubs as they chase Champions League glory. In Season One, watch as they lull their rivals (Celtic, Liverpool, PSG and Barcelona) (definitely not Hibs) into a false sense of security by sacking their manager, captain and best midfielder, installing a novelty dwarf in goal and finishing bottom of the Scottish Premiership, whilst running up a wage bill that would make Roman Abramovich‘s eyes water.

In this week’s episode, Craig reminds Ann of the compromising photographs contained in a brown envelope in his desk, and Liam, Daniel and Steven compare wage slips during a boozy lunch with adoring fans at the Diggers.
    Last edited by bawheid; 16-02-2020 at 09:09 AM.

Stendel (2)

A near-dangerous amount of alcohol intake, chiefly employed as a coping mechanism for dealing with the stresses of imminent relegation e.g. "FFS we're pish and we're going doon - I'm off oot for Stendel".

Named after one of the 21st century's foremost footballing stressed alcoholics.

Stendel (3)

Any object with negative buoyancy (eg "they sank like a Stendel").
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Escalator: device used to double the cost of even the most straightforward projects. For example, after using an escalator, the price of a bag of chips increased from £1.50 to £22 million, in a short space of time.

Yamanagerial Appointment

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    All or Nothing: Yamchester City.

Behind the scenes documentary featuring the trials and tribulations of one of Europe’s biggest clubs as they chase Champions League glory. In Season One, watch as they lull their rivals (Celtic, Liverpool, PSG and Barcelona) (definitely not Hibs) into a false sense of security by sacking their manager, captain and best midfielder, installing a novelty dwarf in goal and finishing bottom of the Scottish Premiership, whilst running up a wage bill that would make Roman Abramovich‘s eyes water.

In this week’s episode, Craig reminds Ann of the compromising photographs contained in a brown envelope in his desk, and Liam, Daniel and Steven compare wage slips during a boozy lunch with adoring fans at the Diggers.

Stendel (4)

A very large capacity beer vessel, much greater capacity than the traditional Oktoberfest Stein, often referred to as the Barnsley barrel or the Gorgie growler where it is especially popular amongst football fans celebrating a defeat, a relegation or the occasional draw.

Foundation of Hearts - the underlying ground support structure on which a high capacity, open to the elements, bus shelter is built...4 feet too low to see the castle from.

A Budge - A process by which someone goes from saviour to villain in a relatively short period of time (eg 'between Palm Sunday and Good Friday Jesus done a Budge').

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Gegendepressin’

A style of football that although attack minded will lead you to scoring less and conceding more than the style of Craig “4-6-0” Levein.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Gegendepressin’

A style of football that although attack minded will lead you to scoring less and conceding more than the style of Craig “4-6-0” Levein.
    Very good!

A Stendel. A confused creature. Possibly - human / lizard cross speaking fluent German with a smattering of comedic English.

Often seen with head in hands or flicking tongue whilst deep in contemplation (but not for long periods)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    The Budge That Won't Judge - a company owner or manager who will keep employing you in different roles, despite constantly failing at their job, hiring humpty employees, embarrassing his employer with statements like "natural order" and generally walks around looking like a depressed onion.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Gardening Levein - a period when you continue to receive your salary from your employer despite being relieved of your duties due to incompetence.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    Gardening Levein - a period when you continue to receive your salary from your employer despite being relieved of your duties due to incompetence.
    Costin McPhee. Vestigial coach. Similar situation to Gardening Levein without the need to come to work.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

An avdizaj

A boaster without reason, see also "all mouth and no trousers (Lord Foulkes)"

Derived from the hearts player Donis Avdizaj who boasted he scored in every city he went to.

The Yamasaurus is left to conclude he must have been referring to "off the field" activities in the minging fleshpots of Dingwall, Perth, Gorgie and beyond.

Superdraw-the ability to make out an average draw at home - such as a 1-1 draw against a team who had been humped 3 0 by your nearest neighbours or 2 2 against the second worst team who had 10 men for 70 minutes - is a great result.
    Last edited by PatHead; 17-02-2020 at 06:38 AM.

Daniel - an utterly pish football manager.

“Mate - see Cambridge have sacked Calderwood?”

“Aye. He’s a ****ing Daniel, that clown.”

Budged it - ability to spend £30 million of other people’s money and get your club relegated.

Stendel's Tongue - An action of somebody in deep thought over what is a dire situation

Purser "Captain Smith all hope is gone the band though are still playing and we have offloaded many of the women and children, what shall we do are you ok you seem to be licking your lips Sir"

Captain Smith "Yes I know all hope is gone but I was having a last grasp Stendel's Tongue to see if I could think of anything"

From HMS Titanic "A pursers tale"