Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Stokes

Quote Originally Posted by VoltaireHibs View Post
    Last post.

Of course I celebrated, but I think he's far from a legend and find his subsequent behaviour to be something I really wouldn't want associated with Hibs. Anyway, enough said.
    His behaviour isn’t associated with Hibs. It’s associated with Anthony Stokes.

Quote Originally Posted by VoltaireHibs View Post
    The key sentence in your post is 'That's all that matters to me.'
    Is it really. I've also said, that the law will deal with any lawbreaking, and that I hope Stokes gets intervention, and the help that he needs to turn his behaviour around, if found guilty of lawbreaking.

You seem to have already found him guilty and vomit inducing. That's your opinion. I watched him as a Hibernian player scoring two goals against the currants that went a huge way to breaking the 'hoodoo', and for that he will be a Hibernian footballing legend. I'll leave it at that too.

Quote Originally Posted by Bakerman View Post
    Is it really. I've also said, that the law will deal with any lawbreaking, and that I hope Stokes gets intervention, and the help that he needs to turn his behaviour around, if found guilty of lawbreaking.

You seem to have already found him guilty and vomit inducing. That's your opinion. I watched him as a Hibernian player scoring two goals against the currants that went a huge way to breaking the 'hoodoo', and for that he will be a Hibernian footballing legend. I'll leave it at that too.
    So has the Court

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    So has the Court
    Have they? My mistake mate. But still don't want to know what he's done in his private life post his time at Hibernian. I'll remember his time on the park at Hampden on 21st May 2016 with great fondness. His first goal was a thing of beauty with the smoke bombs in the currant's end highlighting how good a goal it was. Let the law take its course, and hope lessons are learned, and he does what he has to do to change behaviour.

You sir, are beyond belief.

Yes, we were all delighted with that Cup Final performance. Why wouldn’t we have been?

The things ‘Tony’ has done though, are out-with human decency.

I’m chuffed for you that this sort of human being is a legend in your eyes.

You hope he turns his behaviour around ?

Will it then help the wee girl that the legend is better?

I bet it doesn’t.

Quote Originally Posted by Sparrows tongue View Post
    You sir, are beyond belief.

Yes, we were all delighted with that Cup Final performance. Why wouldn’t we have been?

The things ‘Tony’ has done though, are out-with human decency.

I’m chuffed for you that this sort of human being is a legend in your eyes.

You hope he turns his behaviour around ?

Will it then help the wee girl that the legend is better?

I bet it doesn’t.
    I've no idea what you're talking about, and don't want to know frankly. We won the Scottish Cup with Stokes scoring two goals. That's as much as I want to know okay. The law will decide Stokes future, and he'll have to face up to it. None of which happened in 2016? I'm not a judge or jury, but you seem to be, crack on.

You are a strange individual, Baker.

I hope that your ‘hero’ gets away with all his ‘mistakes’ because of a football match.

And, by the way, you crack on too.

You are a strange individual, Baker.

I hope that your ‘hero’ gets away with all his ‘mistakes’ because of a football match.

And, by the way, you crack on too.
    I'll take that Sparrow. Been called a lot worse . Normally by those on the dark side jambos mainly. They were all heroes that day. I was very lucky to be there with my now late brother. One of the best days of my life, and I'm certain it was for many others on here. Historic great day in the sunshine at Hampden.

Sorry to hear about your brother. I sincerely mean that.

I was there too, brilliant day, brilliant result, brilliant weather.

Stokes is still a ****bag.

Sorry to hear about your brother. I sincerely mean that.

I was there too, brilliant day, brilliant result, brilliant weather.

Stokes is still a ****bag.
    We only got tickets that day due to Hibs net. He was a member on here, and managed to get two on a waiting list on here. It was actually thanks to Hibs.net that we attended that glorious day. Glad to hear that you were there too bud.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Stokes features on a latest episode of an Irish crime podcast. Sunday World is an old school gutter tabloid from what I can gather, but some more Stokes content and family connections nonetheless.

(Hibs are not mentioned once which is a good example of the complete disinterest of Scottish Football outwith the Old Firm over there!)

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcas...=1000646679806

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Stokes features on a latest episode of an Irish crime podcast. Sunday World is an old school gutter tabloid from what I can gather, but some more Stokes content and family connections nonetheless.

(Hibs are not mentioned once which is a good example of the complete disinterest of Scottish Football outwith the Old Firm over there!)

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcas...=1000646679806
    As you say, good for us we aren’t mentioned but how can you exclude what was probably the best performance of his career?

Guy is a total prick. No doubt about that.

Much bigger legends than him from 2016 team.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Guy is a total prick. No doubt about that.

Much bigger legends than him from 2016 team.
    No Stokes, no cup. He played God like that day.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesdaft16 View Post
    No Stokes, no cup. He played God like that day.
    No Lewis no cup
    No Mcginn no cup
    No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Maybe another striker scores 3 goals in the final? We've no idea. It's not like we weren't beating that Rangers side before stokes.

He is undoubtedly a prick and imo, not anywhere near the biggest Hibs legend from that side.

Such a shame. I would imagine that 2016 Cup winning squad will be invited to attend a game sometime in the future.
    Unfortunately for him, he’ll probably be in the tin pale.

However there’s nothing he can do that can taint that cup victory. Although he was a major part of us winning the cup that day and he really was outstanding, the lad has always come with a warning.

No Lewis no cup
    No Mcginn no cup
    No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Maybe another striker scores 3 goals in the final? We've no idea. It's not like we weren't beating that Rangers side before stokes.

He is undoubtedly a prick and imo, not anywhere near the biggest Hibs legend from that side.
    Nae bother mate. I didn't say he was the biggest legend either, there are not far bigger legends in the side than him though.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    No Lewis no cup
    No Mcginn no cup
    No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Agreed. The idea that he single handedly won us the cup is disrespectful the remainder of that team.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Nae bother mate. I didn't say he was the biggest legend either, there are not far bigger legends in the side than him though.
    Lewis is 10x the Hibs legend Stokes is imo.

And he is a nice human being, which is far more important.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Agreed. The idea that he single handedly won us the cup is disrespectful the remainder of that team.

I don't think anyone is saying that but he doesn't play that day then we don't win the cup imo. He's a massive reason we won that day as is, of course the performances of others.

Lewis is 10x the Hibs legend Stokes is imo.

And he is a nice human being, which is far more important.
    A Hibernian legend, yes. A cup winning legend, no.

That is unbelievable to say that. Lewis has won two Cup medals, something that no othe Hibernian has ever done!! I'd suggest when you google cup winning legend Lewis Stevenson is the first thing to come up

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    That is unbelievable to say that. Lewis has won two Cup medals, something that no othe Hibernian has ever done!! I'd suggest when you google cup winning legend Lewis Stevenson is the first thing to come up
    In terms of his overall contribution to Hibernian including winning two trophies of course Lewis Stevenson is the biggest Hibernian legend of this generation.

Stokes performance that day was legendary was more of what I meant. Trying to downplay that is baffling just because he's a tosser.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Don't think anyone's suggesting that. He was phenomenal that day tho, turning in one of the best individual performances I've seen from a Hibs player. I think it's fair to say that while the whole team were terrific it was Stokes who gave us the edge.

Not wanting to acknowledge that because he's an eejit doesn't stack up.
    Last edited by He's here!; 26-02-2024 at 08:55 AM.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    No Lewis no cup
    No Mcginn no cup
    No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Is this sung to the tune from Letter From America?
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

He's arguably the biggest cup winning legend this club has.

His performance that day was a performance for all time. When you watch the highlights back it was an incredible contribution in a cup final.

I prefer to just ignore anything related to him post that day.

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    He's arguably the biggest cup winning legend this club has.
    Darling Willie Groves was no angel.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Ffs 😂
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

He's won both the LC and SC.

What more does he have to do to be a Cup Winning legend?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk