Breakaway Takeaway

News that Nestle are binning production of the classic Breakaway.

Sad times.

Bit of a "meh" biscuit. Although blue ribbands could do wi' getting tae

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Harsh. You'll be telling me kit Kat's are ***** next...

Agree on both counts. Can't seem to find an orange Jacob's Club these days. They are the biz.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Harsh. You'll be telling me kit Kat's are ***** next...
    Nope, although I am sad there is no foil on them now

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Agree on both counts. Can't seem to find an orange Jacob's Club these days. They are the biz.
    Shop round the corner has those and the mint ones

Which corner?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Asda at the Jewel have orange, mint and salted caramel Clubs.

I'm a Penguin man myself.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Suggestive digestive, Nudge nudge wink wink say no more

Can't find any footage of the ad sadly.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar

Sad times.
    When they downsized they seem to have lost a bit "bite" and crispiness :-(

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    When they downsized they seem to have lost a bit "bite" and crispiness :-(
    Had a wispa the other day and there was more bubbles or they were bigger or something, was like eating fresh air with a hint of chocolate.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Which corner?
    The one where the two roads meet.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    You must live near me

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

Sad times.
    Yorkie is going too, hope to **** they do away with Toblerones, the most painful thing Ive ever eaten, no wonder I have cracked teeth

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Yorkie is going too, hope to **** they do away with Toblerones, the most painful thing Ive ever eaten, no wonder I have cracked teeth
    Can’t believe Yorkies are going, I’ll need to buy a years supply of raisin Yorkies to survive 🙁

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Can’t believe Yorkies are going, I’ll need to buy a years supply of raisin Yorkies to survive 🙁
    Apologies, its the Yorkie biscuit bar thats going and not the original yorkie

Chocolate giant Nestle has announced it will stop making two of its favourite biscuits to make way for a new product.
    The Breakaway and Yorkie biscuit bars will disappear from shelves following a decline in sales, the company

@hibs.net private member Rattler's Avatar
    Gutted to hear about the demise of the Breakaway. Favourite chocolate biscuit by far.

Apologies, its the Yorkie biscuit bar thats going and not the original yorkie

Chocolate giant Nestle has announced it will stop making two of its favourite biscuits to make way for a new product.
    The Breakaway and Yorkie biscuit bars will disappear from shelves following a decline in sales, the company
    Phew!!!!

Are Jacobs orange club and McVities orange club not the same thing? You can buy the McVities in just about any supermarket out there.

Only the yorkie biscuits are going, not the chocolate bar.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Only the yorkie biscuits are going, not the chocolate bar.
    Yeah I mentioned that above mate

Gold Bars aren’t being cut are they?
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Yeah I mentioned that above mate
    Yeah sorry mate, should have read further on instead of eating my Yorkie 😀

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Gold Bars aren’t being cut are they?
    No but if they get any smaller they might as well.

Yeah sorry mate, should have read further on instead of eating my Yorkie 😀
    🤣

Well, I’m almost glad my gran didn’t live to witness this outrage.

First the Uniteds (blue originals and the oranges) and now the Breakaways. Proper staples of trips to my gran’s.

They just need to get rid of glass bottles of Irn Bru, tins of Heinz tomato soup, plain white bread, strawberry tarts from Baynes and coal fires and that’s it all gone.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Well, I’m almost glad my gran didn’t like to witness this outrage.

First the Uniteds (blue originals and the oranges) and now the Breakaways. Proper staples of trips to my gran’s.

They just need to get rid of glass bottles of Irn Bru, tins of Heinz tomato soup, plain white bread, strawberry tarts from Baynes and coal fires and that’s it all gone.
    My Nanas go to was a Walnut Whip, Turkish Delight or Frys Cream (mint one) she also had a box of sugared jellies beside her, I couldnt eat them as they made me gag

My Grandad used to eat the mint Spangles

Heinz 🍅 soup should be next, nearly £2 for a £3cken tin

No but if they get any smaller they might as well.
    Yeah, it’s sad. Shrinkflation.

It’s now physically impossible to have one. You have to have two.

Gold Bars and Orange clubs were staples, but only for a select few weeks every summer when my brother and I made the pilgrimage to Shetland. Grandad had a fishing boat where they would be broken out at lunch time with his magical boat coffee. Nothing better. When we got older it started getting a wee tot of brandy as well. Enhanced boat coffee.
    Last edited by Jones28; 10-02-2024 at 07:32 AM.

Blue rebrand biscuits I have never seen them
    in a shop I have no idea where she got them