Best tv game shows

I saw a few mentioned on a thread in the holy ground forum but thought it would be worthwhile starting one on here. What are your favourite past and present ?

Its a Knockout and Krypton Factor were really good shows, Bullseye was a classic too as were the prizes 🤣

The Price is Right was decent with the late Lesley Crowther presenting

Gies a P Bob (Blockbusters) with the late Bob Holness presenting was always a good watch as was the Weakest Link with Anne Robinson

Worst ever was Supermarket Sweep, just ****ing naw 🤮

Any more good bad or downright shocking ?
    Last edited by Bridge hibs; 09-03-2023 at 07:01 AM.

The Crystal Maze with Richard O'Brien presenting was my favourite growing up.

Enjoyed that too PB, think it went through a few presenters too, I liked it too when the Ten Pole Tudor guy presented it, Edward Tudor Pole
    Last edited by Bridge hibs; 09-03-2023 at 07:32 AM.

I liked the Lottery quiz show presented by Dale Winton called In It To Win It. Don't really know why but don't like The Chase.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    I liked the Lottery quiz show presented by Dale Winton called In It To Win It. Don't really know why but don't like The Chase.
    I actually prefer Beat the Chasers, more a competitive edge to it

The Adventure Game, old skool craziness! 😀

I used to like A question of Sport and I remember watching Blankety Blank and the Generation Game with my parents, but I haven't watched game shows for many years so I don't really have a favourite.

Actually, Have I got news for you and QI both supposedly award points so if they qualify as game shows, they're my current favourites as I sometimes watch them.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I used to like A question of Sport and I remember watching Blankety Blank and the Generation Game with my parents, but I haven't watched game shows for many years so I don't really have a favourite.

Actually, Have I got news for you and QI both supposedly award points so if they qualify as game shows, they're my current favourites as I sometimes watch them.
    The first couple of seasons of QI were amazing. Turns out every fact you've ever known was wrong

Doesn't qualify as a game show either, but I really like Would I Lie To You.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Knightmare, it was total ***** and nothing much ever happened but I loved it

Doesn't qualify as a game show either, but I really like Would I Lie To You.
    Me too.. I think it’s the only ‘comedy’ right now that I’ll make a point of watching if there’s a new one out (while making do with old ones as well).

Although I do like HIGNFY too, I just rarely seem to watch it these days.

As far as quizzes are concerned I’ve become a chase watcher (used to be pointless) most nights but ‘only connect’ is the one I put time aside for.

I used to like Family Fortunes, I think when Max Bygraves was presenting (I think it was him) moreso because it was good as a family to try guess the answers

I cant stand Gino Di Campo though

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    The Adventure Game, old skool craziness! 😀
    Gronda Gronda

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Gronda Gronda
    Indeed, the creator of the show must've had an addiction to dragons! 😉

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    3-2-1 with Ted Rogers has to be the worst ever. A couple of the brainy lads at school used to pretend they understood it and we were all stupid!

Loved Golden Balls with Jasper Carrot, some right greedy ****ers on that 🤣

Despised Mr & Mrs

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Takeshi’s Castle and Wipeout

close the thread

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Game Shows in the 1990's in Germany had a certain appeal.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tutt...ti_(game_show)

Celebrity Squares hosted by Bob Monkhouse was of that era too.

Bullseye been mentioned?

These days The Wheel with Michael Mcintyre is good.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    3-2-1 with Ted Rogers has to be the worst ever. A couple of the brainy lads at school used to pretend they understood it and we were all stupid!
    It was the worst. I didn't even know anyone who pretended to have a clue what the answers were. Found an example.

https://retro-hen.com/2019/02/10/nos...ers-dusty-bin/

Blockbuster's and krypton factor for me .

Winner Takes All hosted by Jimmy Tarbuck

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Celebrity Squares hosted by Bob Monkhouse was of that era too.

Bullseye been mentioned?

These days The Wheel with Michael Mcintyre is good.
    The thing I liked about Bullseye was some of the naff prizes, especially the top prize, you have won a 5 man tent plus sleeping bags etc, and sometimes the non darts player was actually a better player than the actual pub league playing partner 🤣 oh and Jim Bowens cheesy jokes were brutal 🫣

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    The thing I liked about Bullseye was some of the naff prizes, especially the top prize, you have won a 5 man tent plus sleeping bags etc, and sometimes the non darts player was actually a better player than the actual pub league playing partner 🤣 oh and Jim Bowens cheesy jokes were brutal 🫣
    We went to see Jim Bowen at a stand up show at the Fringe years ago, he was asked what a contestant who maybe lived in a multi-story flat was supposed to do with a speedboat. He said there was always a cash alternative offered for Bully's star prize. Cheesy jokes were just as brutal at the show but defo easier to listen to when bevvied.

Yeah I always wondered how the contestants would split an Austin Allegro car 😀 bet there would have been a few fall outs, Jessie wants to keep the hoover and dust pan but Boab wants to punt them so he can grab a couple of ales down the boozer 🤣

Hibs were in a question on Tipping Point yesterday, so that means Tipping Point was this week's best tv game show!

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Knightmare, it was total ***** and nothing much ever happened but I loved it
    Loved that when I was wee. Seen it again on you tube and it's just bairns picking up cups and walking room to room, unreal ha

Similar with crystal maze thought it was the most futuristic thing when a bairn, seen it again and you can see the strings and the pva glue holding up the rubbish sets

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Loved that when I was wee. Seen it again on you tube and it's just bairns picking up cups and walking room to room, unreal ha

Similar with crystal maze thought it was the most futuristic thing when a bairn, seen it again and you can see the strings and the pva glue holding up the rubbish sets
    I think they tried to model Fort Boyard as a kind of more physical version of Crystal Maze, I didnt mind it but it was painful viewing at times with Lesley Grantham wheeled out to present it for a spell

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quiz ball & Gambit(pontoon)were two favourites growing up. Pointless has one of the best formats currently

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Quiz ball & Gambit(pontoon)were two favourites growing up. Pointless has one of the best formats currently

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
    I dont mind pointless but they could do with increasing the paltry cash amount for winning