Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Hanlon and Stevenson

Thought both were good today and deserved a mention always give us a hundred percent in every game they play and they are great role model's for any young player's at Easter road.

Stevenson rarely lost out on a challenge today, and Hanlon was dominant in the air and his passing was excellent!

The “Hanlon and Stevenson are finished” brigade will be gutted tonight.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    The disrespect they get from some corners is unreal. They’re coming to the end of their playing careers but at no point for the club have they ever given less than 100%, and both have achieved something the best majority of players in the green and white never could. Add that they’re incredible ambassadors for the club and community too.

I love them and their contribution to bits and I’ll be gutted when a Hibs team no longer contain the two of them.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby-G View Post
    Stevenson rarely lost out on a challenge today, and Hanlon was dominant in the air and his passing was excellent!

Definitely proved them wrong today . For a young player like Fish it must have been great to have a experienced player like Hanlon to help him through the match and Stevenson's energy and effort was as usual excellent . Delighted for both after all the criticism they have been getting.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    basically, every meh game they have means they are finished. every good game they have, meanwhile, demonstrates their absolute dependability to perform when called upon.

it's roughly the same as how we're either going for 3rd or in a relegation dogfight. are you new to being a hibs fan?

Even in the games when Stevenson's been a 6 rather than a 7 out of 10 this season, he's still been up and down the pitch looking for the ball or making selfless runs for the full game. He's 35.

Legend.

Wouldnae hink wee Lewy is nearly 35 eh ? Still a decent wee turn off pace

Hibs legend

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    The disrespect they get from some corners is unreal. They’re coming to the end of their playing careers but at no point for the club have they ever given less than 100%, and both have achieved something the best majority of players in the green and white never could. Add that they’re incredible ambassadors for the club and community too.

I love them and their contribution to bits and I’ll be gutted when a Hibs team no longer contain the two of them.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Total respect for the two of them, they were both very good. I was fearful fior Hanlon with the injury talk before the game. The guy was pretty much immaculate. Some fantastic passes too.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Total respect for the two of them, they were both very good. I was fearful fior Hanlon with the injury talk before the game. The guy was pretty much immaculate. Some fantastic passes too.

Hanlon's, reaction at the final whistle said it all !

The team proved a lot of people wrong,including me.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

Hanlon's, reaction at the final whistle said it all !

The team proved a lot of people wrong today,including me.

Wonderful performance by all the boys today, Josh take a bow son you where superb.

Great ambassadors for the club and as shown today, can be excellent backups when needed, very well played today.

Both played well, I thought Lewy in particular was excellent today.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby-G View Post

Couldn't agree more...outstanding.

Legends.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Wouldnae hink wee Lewy is nearly 35 eh ? Still a decent wee turn off pace

Hibs legend
    When he made a run late on to cover McIntyre struggling a wee bit with an Aberdeen attack he sprinted back faster than either Oscar or the 🐑

He is a phenomenal athlete. 18 years of continuous service, fitness level is a tribute to him

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Love them both. Simple as that.

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    Love them both. Simple as that.
    Yep.

I hope they’re here for a good while yet. I’ve never bought the idea that two professional, relatively low-cost, reliable, club legends are ‘part of the problem’ and need to be moved on. Quite the opposite IMO.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Both of them were excellent today.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobby's Cinema View Post
    Both played well, I thought Lewy in particular was excellent today.
    He has pretty much been more than fine all season and deserves his place in the squad. People on here have just made him a scapegoat for some reason. Which is pretty poor for a club legend.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    Where is that NC fud? Slates them at every opportunity. They should have statues.
    I’d hope (though I very much doubt it) yesterday’s performance from Paul Hanlon will put to bed the chat that he’s finished. I thought he was excellent yesterday all the more impressive given his fitness issues.

Where is that NC fud? Slates them at every opportunity. They should have statues.
    I actually thought of you, in a purely fitba sense of course, at full time when Paul was celebrating with the West Stand.

He was immense yesterday and back to the level he was showing consistently before the injuries.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Same fud that said Youan will never be a football player so it makes me wonder.

Both players excellent today. Hanlon very assured and helped Fisg have an excellent day.

Lewis and McGeady worked well until Auden tired later on.

Great stuff all round

Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    Yep.

I hope they’re here for a good while yet. I’ve never bought the idea that two professional, relatively low-cost, reliable, club legends are ‘part of the problem’ and need to be moved on. Quite the opposite IMO.
    Totally agree. They are more than good enough for a top four squad. Yes it would be great to be able to get better but look how often we have tried. We are lucky to have both

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    Totally agree. They are more than good enough for a top four squad. Yes it would be great to be able to get better but look how often we have tried. We are lucky to have both
    I don’t think we’ve ever really tried to replace them that hard over the years.

Signed quite a few left backs since Lewis nailed down the left back spot when we went down in 2014 but they’ve mainly been backup short term options. Other than bringing Doig through I’d say this season was the first time we’ve really tried to get a first pick left back in and it hasn’t really worked out. For Hanlon, I can’t think of many left sided centre halves we’ve brought in either, Fontaine the main one that jumps out but they ended up playing together and in a three a lot.

Thought both had their best games of the season yesterday.

Fud ? Aye very good pal. All about opinions eh, if only they played like that most weeks.

Nothing to do with playing against the worst professional display I’ve ever seen.

Granted they were both good yesterday, let’s see how long it lasts.

Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    Both players excellent today. Hanlon very assured and helped Fisg have an excellent day.

Lewis and McGeady worked well until Auden tired later on.

Great stuff all round
    I thought that McGeady would last forever:I was wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    Fud ? Aye very good pal. All about opinions eh, if only they played like that most weeks.

Nothing to do with playing against the worst professional display I’ve ever seen.

Granted they were both good yesterday, let’s see how long it lasts.
    Every game they play in you get 100% effort from them and as fans thats all we can ask of them . I was to busy watching Hibs produce the best professional display I've seen in a long time which made them look probably even worse then they are ! Both Hanlon and Stevenson weren't just good but excellent. Doubt we will ever see such loyalty and commitment from Hibs players again in the future like they have shown over the years . Legends . Your last remark " Let's see how long it lasts" gives the impression your wanting them to fail so you can do the " i told you so " line ! Find that abit strange to be honest.

@hibs.net private member NRW_Hibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Prof. ****gy View Post
    I thought that McGeady would last forever:I was wrong.

Bravo.