Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Hat Tricks

Lawrie Reilly twice scored hat tricks in successive games.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    Ned took over in 1971.

He just wanted Baker out. I never saw Joe in a Hibs jersey as I was a bit too young. Would have loved to see him. My late Dad, who was a Yam, loved Joe Baker.

To be fair once Ned shipped Joe out he signed Alan Gordon.
    I was at the Aberdeen game, when Joe returned to ER. I was aged 7, but I knew who he was. Both sides of my family are Hibbies and I remember it being unusual because we went to the old standing enclosure in the north stand. I also remember Joe’s Stylo Matchmaker white boots. For years I wasn’t sure about this, but the internet has since confirmed.

I wonder why auld Ned was so hasty to get rid of Joe? They played together for the last few years of Turnbull’s career.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergos View Post
    Joe McBride, mid 80s…against Morton or Dundee from memory.

Gordon Durie scored a hat-trick v Morton, and I think Joe set them all up - could you be thinking of that game? Haven't checked so maybe Joe got a hat-trick at some stage, just cannae mind it.

No record of Joe McBride Jnr scoring a hat-trick

I remember a fine late double against Hearts at Tiny

No doubt he set many goals up for hat-trick heroes Juke Box Willie Irvine #1 and Stevie Cowan

His old man was a prolific striker with five hat-tricks for Hibs

Joe McBride senior knew a thing or 3 about hat-tricks for Hibs in the late 1960's, then wee Jimmy O and Alan Gordon scored hat-tricks for fun during the early 1970's. Joe Harper scored a hat-trick for Hibs in a cup final and still ended up on the losing side, long before Mbappe was unfortunate enough to suffer the same.

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    Sure Kamberi scored a hattrick v Hamilton at home.
    Simon Murray v Arbroath I think.
    Keatings away to St Mirren in the championship?
    McNulty v BSC in the Scottish cup.

EDIT - couple already mentioned.

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny_Leith View Post
    Sure Kamberi scored a hattrick v Hamilton at home.
    Simon Murray v Arbroath I think.
    Keatings away to St Mirren in the championship?
    McNulty v BSC in the Scottish cup.

EDIT - couple already mentioned.
    Flo scored two hat-tricks Hamilton and NSI Runavik

www.fitbastats.com

A nice wee hat trick by Pat Quinn at Tinycastle is well remembered, also hat-tricks by Peter Cormack v the sheep, C.Stein and Eric Stevenson, Arthur Duncan & Neil Martin could bang them in as well along with the original Jim Scott, many many more Hibs players have bagged a hat trick. Joe Baker got multiple hat-tricks and his brother Gerry got a couple of hat-tricks for Hibs as well.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Iain Munro bagged a first half hat trick( I think) vs Rosenburg in the 9-1 win. Still maintain their goal, which was the opener, was the best free kick I've witnessed at a game.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Iain Munro bagged a first half hat trick( I think) vs Rosenburg in the 9-1 win. Still maintain their goal, which was the opener, was the best free kick I've witnessed at a game.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
    Iain Munro bagged two that night along with Stanton 2 Harper 2 Cropley 2 pens and one from Alan Gordon

Iain Munro bagged his only hat-trick for Hibs in a 5-1 win over Dunfermline Athletic later in that season

Halcyon days indeed

www.fitbastats.com

Anyone able to put a list together of the last 10 hattricks by a Hibs player?
    We have had quite a few recently?

Boyle
    Nisbet
    Campbell

Quote Originally Posted by OsiersHibs View Post
    Anyone able to put a list together of the last 10 hattricks by a Hibs player?
    We have had quite a few recently?

Boyle
    Nisbet
    Campbell
    Campbell
    Nisbet
    Doidge
    Scott
    Boyle
    Nisbet
    McNulty
    Doidge
    Doidge
    Kamberi

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    And three of those from the oft-maligned Doidge as well.
    Can't believe that Doidge hat trick v Clyde was only about 6 months ago. Feels more like a lifetime ago now!

Haven’t checked but we beat Motherwell in the league cup 6-0 in the mid 80s. Steve Cowan and Jukebox Durie scored 3 each that night IIR.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    A nice wee hat trick by Pat Quinn at Tinycastle is well remembered, also hat-tricks by Peter Cormack v the sheep, C.Stein and Eric Stevenson, Arthur Duncan & Neil Martin could bang them in as well along with the original Jim Scott, many many more Hibs players have bagged a hat trick. Joe Baker got multiple hat-tricks and his brother Gerry got a couple of hat-tricks for Hibs as well.
    Did Pat Quinn definitely score a hat trick at Tynecastle.
    I have a feeling we were 4 up pretty early on and he had scored 2.
    I'm not saying you're wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    Did Pat Quinn definitely score a hat trick at Tynecastle.
    I have a feeling we were 4 up pretty early on and he had scored 2.
    I'm not saying you're wrong.

Pat Quinn 100% scored 3 goals that day, his 3rd was spectacular. Before that he hadn't scored a goal for 2 years. We waited for Pat outside Tynie and my friend, Ted Brack, Hibs author, said, 'Pat, is that your 1st hat trick? The bold Pat replied, ' Son, I'm sick of scoring them!' Classic!

PS your thinking of the 4 0 game when Jimmy O and Eric S both scored 2 in first 10 minutes.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Iain Munro bagged two that night along with Stanton 2 Harper 2 Cropley 2 pens and one from Alan Gordon

Iain Munro bagged his only hat-trick for Hibs in a 5-1 win over Dunfermline Athletic later in that season

Halcyon days indeed

www.fitbastats.com
    Cheers Billy

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Not sure if this has been mentioned already but we scored three goals from headers. It's not easily Google-able and I cannot remember being at a game when we've done that before but I'm guessing we must have, at some point?
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Not sure if this has been mentioned already but we scored three goals from headers. It's not easily Google-able and I cannot remember being at a game when we've done that before but I'm guessing we must have, at some point?
    Sure we scored 4 headers in a 4-0 win over Morton underennon. Cummings, Shinnie, Holt and Graham possibly.

Eddie Turnbull once scored a hat-trick of penalties in a 4-1 win over Celtic at Easter Road

He also scored from open play
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 31-01-2023 at 07:27 AM.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I don't know if it's just my perception but headed goals seem so rare these days.

Best GIRUY hat-trick must be 16 year old Trialist Gordon Smith’s hat-trick in a 5-3 win at Tiny in a game postponed from New Year’s Day

Hearts had been trying to sign the starlet but he signed for us before kick off in the NB thanks to the persistence of Willie McCartney who did not have to give him a ‘trial’

Tommy Walker scored a hat-trick for Hearts

Bobby Combe made his debut and also scored
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 31-01-2023 at 07:46 AM.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Joe Harper’s cup final hat trick against Celtic in a 6-3 loss Dixie Deans scored one too for them IIRC.

Quote Originally Posted by Alfiembra View Post
    Joe Harper’s cup final hat trick against Celtic in a 6-3 loss Dixie Deans scored one too for them IIRC.
    Aye I remember that,imagine scoring a hat trick in a final and still be on the losing side.

Dixie Deans loved a hat trick against us !
    and then just to rub it in,he'd do a bloody somersault celebration.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar

Arrow

Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    This century:

Mixu vs hearts 2000, Sproule v Huns 2006 & vs Motherwell 06/07, Deano Sheils vs Inverness 07/08, Nish v D Utd 2010 (?), Griffiths v Motherwell (?) & Killie 2012/13, Dom Malonga vs Dumbarton 2014/15, Jimmy Mac vs Huns 2017/18. What have I missed?

Sproule got 2 goals v Motherwell in the 6-1 win at Fir Park in 06, dont think he got a hattrick against them ever.