Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Aiden McGeady

No coincidence that other players like Youan and Campbell have found form with McGeady in team . Or that Nisbet has returned better than he ever was . Defenders are marking McGeady instead of others and his passes are creating chances we weren`t making before . If he hadn`t been injured , I`m sure we`d be 4th at worst and probably pushing for 3rd . Also a lot`s been said about positive influence of older defenders like Lewis , McGregor , Hanlon , Gray on young defenders so now having such a talented attacking player must be positive for young forwards we have . Hope he`s with us next season .

One more year, one more year!!

Quote Originally Posted by BegbieHSC View Post
    With you on that. Hope it's being discussed.

Easily got another two in him judging off today, Mon Geads do us a turn!

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    Youan and McGeady . This is Hibs we`re talking about . Entertaining footballers as a priority .

Quote Originally Posted by IberianHibernian View Post
    Youan and McGeady . This is Hibs we`re talking about . Entertaining footballers as a priority .
    I’ve criticised Youan before but with you on that, turning into a right good player

Got a standing ovation in hospitality. What a player this guy is. Total quality

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    What a player he must have been in his prime.
    One of the best in Europe in his position at one time.

Without a shadow of a doubt, Aiden has been a fantastic addition to the squad!
    His dribbling skills are something else to admire.
    Last edited by SON OF PADDY; 28-01-2023 at 10:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Juice-Terry View Post
    Obviously talented, but he really needs to release the ball faster quite frequently.
    If there's somewhere to release it to.

He has two great feet. Unbelievable he is the age he is, too.

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post
    He has two great feet. Unbelievable he is the age he is, too.
    The current 35 and older footballer has had a very different career to the over 35's in previous generations with the strength and conditioning and physical therapy skills available now. We're going to see a lot more Zlatans with guys playing into their 40's. Lebron James is still the best basketball player at 38 because he's looked after himself. Messi ditto. Aiden can play another season or two easily if he wants to.

Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    I was delighted to see that he was irked at being replaced. That’s what we want.
    good decision imo we have a game o tuesday

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    His feet are a joke. Unbelievable skill, the folk who were calling him finished and for us to get rid etc geezo, the guy is miles ahead in ability and football IQ. Class act

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by California-Hibs View Post
    His feet are a joke. Unbelievable skill, the folk who were calling him finished and for us to get rid etc geezo, the guy is miles ahead in ability and football IQ. Class act
    I got whiplash trying to keep up with his feet today! Where there's blame there's a claim.

I'd completely written him off after his injury, but he's been excellent since coming back into the team.

@hibs.net private member Victor's Avatar
    Class act. Thoroughly deserved the standing ovation when he was subbed. Hope the grumpy b appreciated it !

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    One of the best in Europe in his position at one time.
    There's a compilation of the goals he's scored throughout his career and his famous spin on youtube. Think it's called something like aiden humiliating everyone. Impressive and worth watching.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    There's a compilation of the goals he's scored throughout his career and his famous spin on youtube. Think it's called something like aiden humiliating everyone. Impressive and worth watching.
    Have we seen the spin for Hibs yet? I can’t think of seeing it.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    McGeady was good again yesterday. He faded a bit in the second half, but overall he made a fine contribution and showed his class with every touch. I love how he beats a man with a wee drop of the shoulder and quick feet.

Hopefully, he remains injury free for the remainder of the season. If he can, I would like him to sign on for another one.

He was great to watch yesterday and there was one cracking pass that split their defence. He is a good combo with Lewis on that side but I still think he is lacking a bit of end product when it comes to us scoring and his crossing has been pretty poor on the whole with the odd very good one. He looks like he has about an hour in his legs so still a very useful player for us and he is getting better each game so perhaps the crossing and shooting will click and he will become very valuable. I see him as very similar to Youan at the moment. Some amazing skills, gets out of situations he has no right to retain the ball in and then more often that not it leads to a late or poor ball into the box. The big plus is they are good to watch so the games are becoming more enjoyable as there is more skill on show.

Had my doubts that we’d get any positive contribution from him this season but he’s come back from injury and showed his class and continued hunger for the game. The flicks and tricks are memorable but I’m equally impressed by his off the ball work, fantastic example to his team mates.

Even playing from wide I thought McGeady ran the game in the first half yesterday. Played completely at his own pace, drifted inside and they couldn’t pick him up. Loads of simple passes but he’s a big difference in us playing forward quicker and with more quality.

@hibs.net private member hibeejeebies's Avatar
    Great pitch personality.

I'm pleased to be able to say class is permanent. The guys a really good footballer. Great to watch.

Who are we going to drop when Boyle`s fit? or could it be a possibility if Nisbet`s away Boyle would become the no. 9. The directness from the Geads, Youan and Boyle would be terrifying to defend against.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    Link or it didn't happen.

First Team Breakthrough Svengali's Avatar
    Type of player you want to watch at Hibs.

As another poster pointed out, in second half when he chased down a ball with Hayes, brilliant attitude

Great player to have.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Aye, but Hibs.net said he was just here for a paycheck? The guy is pure caviar.

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    I hope so as well. Although I do think he came here for LJ, who he played for at Sunderalnd. With the uncertainty around his position, I don't think McGeady will hang around.

Quote Originally Posted by chrisski33 View Post
    Against Aberdeen who are pish
    You really like the word pish 😅