Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Inland Empire, David Lynch.

Close the thread.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 12-01-2023 at 02:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    5 Carry on films.
    4 "confessions of" films
    3 matrix movies
    2 "on the busus"
    and Starship Troopers 2

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    Batman & Robin
    Highlander 2
    Predator 2
    Spider Man 3
    Prometheus

Again, I could have a list of dozens upon dozens of films that were either truly woeful or massively disappointing. Surprised to see the original Matrix film on someone's list, any of it's sequels could've made my list though as they were terrible.
    Predator 2 is a great little b movie imho

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I only watched it once years ago and didn’t get it at all. Always been in a minority but couldn’t stand Colin Farrell or Brendan Gleeson’s characters. I was just waiting for it to be finished the whole way through.
    ****ing hell I thought it was superb, hilarious interplay between the two of them. same bittersweet blueprint as the award winning Witches of innisherin that’s doing so well just now. The only ******SPOILER******* gripe I had was the unrealistic ahem fall from the tower and lack of immediate death…but otherwise it’s a stoater of a movie. clearly we have different tastes.
    Last edited by hibsbollah; 12-01-2023 at 02:37 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Fellowship of the ring
    Citizen Kane
    Freddy got fingered
    Marabunta
    The Room

Some absolutely top notch films on this thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    He's brilliant in everything. I still can't stand the fim though.
    Fairy nuff.

Vanilla sky
    Sliding doors
    One about Lord Byron that was so bad I can’t even recall it’s name,
    I’m sure there are more that will spring to mind

Want to make a late entry - Spice World.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I only watched it once years ago and didn’t get it at all. Always been in a minority but couldn’t stand Colin Farrell or Brendan Gleeson’s characters. I was just waiting for it to be finished the whole way through.
    This is a good example of why I could accept a lot of the suggestions on here if the thread was on “most over rated” as there are a few I know had been built-up so much I was ultimately let down when watched them.

But the worst folk have ever seen?! There are a LOT of surprises on here.
    Maybe you are all better at switching off and walking out, when things are pish, than I am :)

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Fellowship of the ring
    Citizen Kane
    Freddy got fingered
    Marabunta
    The Room

This really takes some explaining.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Do people finish films if they aren't enjoying them?

If I'm not interested after half an hour I switch it off.

My dad put on The Shape of Water and it was so **** me and my wife took the dog out for a walk and drank a bottle of wine. The misery was over by the time we came back and we were much happier for it.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    It’s the best of the three movies in my opinion. I remember this; Mondieu has an issue with the snowboarding Legolas scene

Does it? Too long, boring and **** all happens, I get that it's a set up for the other two but I think it's a pile of pish

My dad put on The Shape of Water and it was so **** me and my wife took the dog out for a walk and drank a bottle of wine. The misery was over by the time we came back and we were much happier for it.
    Can confirm I sat through the entire Nativity series of films more times than I care to remember, not through choice I did patch Final Destination before the end though.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    It’s the best of the three movies in my opinion. I remember this; Mondieu has an issue with the snowboarding Legolas scene
    I know it's a fantasy series about Orks, Wizards and Elves and I can suspend some disbelief but I'm no having someone snowboarding down stairs on a shield, just nah

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft

I tend to ignore films with poor reviews but the top 2 in my list caught me out. I fell asleep at both of them
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    I know it's a fantasy series about Orks, Wizards and Elves and I can suspend some disbelief but I'm no having someone snowboarding down stairs on a shield, just nah
    I watched The Matrix in the cinema and the woman next to me said to her partner "as if!" When one of the characters runs along a wall. The rest of the film was obviously believable to her

...isn't that in the second one? Battle of Helms Deep?

Sir Alex Ferguson

...isn't that in the second one? Battle of Helms Deep?
    Yes it is, not having it one bit, same in the Mummy Returns when a ship turns into an airship, no having it

Pulp fiction
    The Polar Express (hate the wee specky ****)
    Green Street
    Quantum of Solace

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    I watched The Matrix in the cinema and the woman next to me said to her partner "as if!" When one of the characters runs along a wall. The rest of the film was obviously believable to her
    I'm not too bad for it, but every now I'm then I see something in a film or TV and no matter how out there the rest of the story is, I'm just like nah I'm not having that haha

Crystal Skull and Indy's son swinging with monkeys for example

Mr and mrs smith. Never made it to the end
    Are we there yet? Never made it to the end
    Silence of the lambs. Decent film but overhyped to the max and I can still remember being disappointed when I finished watching it
    Beetle juice. WTF!!
    Shutter island

I can confirm that this was not in Tolkien’s books

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    I can confirm that this was not in Tolkien’s books
    It's in the appendices.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    A mate scoffed at the idea an American President could pilot a plane. The only bit of Indepedence Day he thought was unbelievable.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    It's in the appendices.

Alongside Gloin sharing a blunt with a jakey Dunlending.

I bet that Tom Bombadil was their dealer. Stick on.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    It's in the appendices.
    Not quite.

It's in the King James version.

Cool

The Twilight films
    Her
    Love Actually
    Dancer in the Dark

I don't generally hate films; there's usually something that keeps me watching. But like anyone else who's had kids, I've soldiered through an awful lot of mediocrity and nonsense (as well as lots of absolutely terrific stuff). Most of these are so unmemorable I couldn't put a name to them, but Twilight really pushed my buttons.

Her - I know a lot of people who really liked this. Couldn't say why, but it annoyed me.

Love Actually - we had a family re-watch of those early Hugh Grant movies a few months ago. Quite enjoyed 4 weddings, but I was already done with the foppish romantic toff thing by then, and I wanted to throw things at Love Actually. He's much better as a villain.

Dancer in the Dark deserves two mentions. It's not fair to call it a bad film, but I found it really distressing - to the point I wish I'd had the courage of my convictions and just left. Instead, because I didn't want to feel like a wuss, I stayed and recited lists in my head to distract me from the trauma. American states, verb tables, Skol Cup winning squad... Didn't work.

P.S. I'm in the 'Surely not?!' camp for Jaws and in Bruges. I also have a sneaking affection for Nativity. Both of them