Your WORST 5 films

Obviously personal taste and opinion determines what we consider to be best and worst so the only rule for this thread is that you must have sat through the entire film.

My 5 are, in no particular order;

The Hangover
    40 Year Old Virgin
    The Matrix Revolutions
    Highlander 2
    Independence Day

Have to say haven't even made it to the end of some of these films.

Final Destination
    Twister
    The Matrix
    Nativity
    Down With Love

Edit - sorry HR just read watched the entire film. Managed all apart from the last 15 mins of the first on my list.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Burn After Reading
    Kill Bill
    The Expendables
    Minority Report
    The Matrix

Some of these films get good ratings, I just hated them

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Burn After Reading
    Kill Bill
    The Expendables
    Minority Report
    The Matrix

The Matrix being one. I watched it because so many raved about it. I found it so confusing I lost interest. Although I prefer easy to follow stories, I don't mind films that have exciting plots that need more concentration. I didn't have a scooby what was going on with this one. Why did you not like it?

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Burn After Reading
    Kill Bill
    The Expendables
    Minority Report
    The Matrix

Kill Bill!? You’re at it!

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Anchorman
    Saw
    Titanic
    Scary movie
    Little nicku

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    5 Carry on films.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    Have to say haven't even made it to the end of some of these films.

Final Destination
    Twister
    The Matrix
    Nativity
    Down With Love

Edit - sorry HR just read watched the entire film. Managed all apart from the last 15 mins of the first on my list.
    Nativity??! Where’s your soul

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post

I seriously considered having Kill Bill on my list as well. It's a lot of style over substance with Tarantino using it as a way to make himself the star of the show. I know it's what some people love about Tarantino but there are occasions, such as in Kill Bill, when I just find it grating. Anyway I'll got for:

Interstellar - People loved the visuals and that's fair enough. The story itself was dull. I was praying for the 2 main characters to hurry up and die so I could go home from about half way through. Sickly sentimental, Titanic in space.

Diamonds Are Forever - The worst Bond film of them all and there have been a few stinkers. Lazenby was good in the previous film but the response was mixed so they threw money at Connery to bring him back. They gave him a great villain but a script full of camp innuendo and cheesy one liners. It was like an introductory warning to the whole Carry On Bond era of Roger Moore.

Batman & Robin - Another film that took a franchise that should be a slam dunk and turned it into a jokey, mindless caper.

Blair Witch Project - Almost nothing happens. Add to that it's spawned a whole generation of cliched lost footage films.

Braveheart - Seriously WTF? From the second Mel Gibson pops onto screen and brushes his perfectly conditioned hair from his face you just know it's going to be bad. I loved it when I was about 12 but I think that's the age range it's targeted at. The accents, the clothing, the storyline, the music..... Everything about it is just painfully terrible.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    I seriously considered having Kill Bill on my list as well. It's a lot of style over substance with Tarantino using it as a way to make himself the star of the show. I know it's what some people love about Tarantino but there are occasions, such as in Kill Bill, when I just find it grating. Anyway I'll got for:

Interstellar - People loved the visuals and that's fair enough. The story itself was dull. I was praying for the 2 main characters to hurry up and die so I could go home from about half way through. Sickly sentimental, Titanic in space.

Diamonds Are Forever - The worst Bond film of them all and there have been a few stinkers. Lazenby was good in the previous film but the response was mixed so they threw money at Connery to bring him back. They gave him a great villain but a script full of camp innuendo and cheesy one liners. It was like an introductory warning to the whole Carry On Bond era of Roger Moore.

Batman & Robin - Another film that took a franchise that should be a slam dunk and turned it into a jokey, mindless caper.

Blair Witch Project - Almost nothing happens. Add to that it's spawned a whole generation of cliched lost footage films.

Braveheart - Seriously WTF? From the second Mel Gibson pops onto screen and brushes his perfectly conditioned hair from his face you just know it's going to be bad. I loved it when I was about 12 but I think that's the age range it's targeted at. The accents, the clothing, the storyline, the music..... Everything about it is just painfully terrible.
    Just goes to show how different people are on these things. Interstellar just missed out on my top 5! I also found Blair Witch extremely disturbing and was engrossed from the first minute. Maybe because I used to wild camp a lot as a kid.

I'll give you Batman and Robin though 😁. One of the very few films I've walked out of.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Nativity??! Where’s your soul

The bairn made me watch it so many times. The Mr Poppy dude, irritating as...
    Jason Watkins though, what a performance as the private school teacher, the perfect baddie.

He's brilliant in everything. I still can't stand the fim though.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Green Street 2: Stand Your Ground
    Grease 2
    X-Men
    Sucker Punch
    United Passions (the FIFA film, with an impressive Metacritic score of 1)

Batman & Robin
    Highlander 2
    Predator 2
    Spider Man 3
    Prometheus

Again, I could have a list of dozens upon dozens of films that were either truly woeful or massively disappointing. Surprised to see the original Matrix film on someone's list, any of it's sequels could've made my list though as they were terrible.
    Last edited by The_Exile; 12-01-2023 at 09:36 AM.

Ghostbusters (all female one)
    Titanic
    The Wall
    Son of the Mask
    Battlefield Earth

Harry Potter(all of them)
    The Expendables
    Kill Bill
    Jaws
    Any pink panther Peter Sellars crap

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    The Matrix being one. I watched it because so many raved about it. I found it so confusing I lost interest. Although I prefer easy to follow stories, I don't mind films that have exciting plots that need more concentration. I didn't have a scooby what was going on with this one. Why did you not like it?
    Very similar reasons for me to be honest, despised it! My mates raved about the Matrix and I just didn't get it.

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post

Ha well again my mates all loved it, but I really dont like Tarantino films. Ive tried, but I hate them!

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Harry Potter(all of them)
    The Expendables
    Kill Bill
    Jaws
    Any pink panther Peter Sellars crap
    Jaws!!! Sorry not having that. One of the greatest films ever made.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    The Revenant
    Robin Hood (Russell Crowe)
    Highlander 2
    Showgirls
    Tomorrow Never Dies
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

I think this thread naturally doubles as an "Unpopular opinions" one! Jaws FFS Each to their own of course!

Films I hated that come to mind

Yesterday (it's the lack of any attempt to explain it that grates with me....)
    The Flintstones (remember being about 10 and thinking this was the worst film I'd ever seen)
    Spectre (A Bond film that seems to ignore the fact that Austin Powers exists. Just awful, as can be said for every "other" Daniel Craig Bond film ie Casino Royal good, Quantum of Solace rubbish)
    Rise of Skywalker (just acted as if the prior film didn't exist and unwound all of it's bold plotting. Worst Star Wars film to date)
    Sin City (just too misogynistic and grim for me. Don't mind style over substance but the stories were just dull and toxic).

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    Jaws!!! Sorry not having that. One of the greatest films ever made.
    It was pish

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    It was pish
    No it wisnae!

I remember the uncut version when the head pops out... that was one of my biggest "jumps" in a cinema when I saw that 1st time around.

On a similar vein though...

Open Water

Truly like watching paint dry.

It was pish
    https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/jaws

You didn't enjoy it. It obviously wasn't pish.

I'm guessing you didn't realise that it's not really about a shark...

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    No it wisnae!

I remember the uncut version when the head pops out... that was one of my biggest "jumps" in a cinema when I saw that 1st time around.

On a similar vein though...

Open Water

Truly like watching paint dry.
    I really thought it was crap, couldn’t understand the hype at all.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Wonder Women 2
    In Bruges
    Wild Wild West
    Whatever the Meet The Fockers sequel is
    RED
    The Fast & The Furious series

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    The Revenant
    Robin Hood (Russell Crowe)
    Highlander 2
    Showgirls
    Tomorrow Never Dies

"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    In Bruges
    It’s a wonderful film.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Wonder Women 2
    In Bruges
    Wild Wild West
    Whatever the Meet The Fockers sequel is
    RED
    The Fast & The Furious series

REALLY?? I'm not having that, a cracking film with superb acting.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    It’s a wonderful film.
    I only watched it once years ago and didn’t get it at all. Always been in a minority but couldn’t stand Colin Farrell or Brendan Gleeson’s characters. I was just waiting for it to be finished the whole way through.