Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    See my earlier post re Hearts hijacking St Andrews FC

I suppose maroon was a fair compromise a mixture of all their colours

The first Hearts strip was white with a Heart
    Yes we played in all white as well, I suppose we had to change to avoid the clash of colours. Interesting that Celtic didn't start wearing hoops until 1904.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Yes we played in all white as well, I suppose we had to change to avoid the clash of colours. Interesting that Celtic didn't start wearing hoops until 1904.
    Our strips were Hoops but Canon Hannon gave us a gift of white strips with a harp and green trim on our inauguration 1/8/1875 that we wore for the first season

Hearts played in Red White and Blue hoops around the time that we played in Green and White hoops,I wonder what was the reason for that? They dyed these Jerseys maroon. Probably a red dye gone wrong.
    Isn't there a story that Hearts hooped shirts ran in the wash, producing the mucky maroon colour we all know and loathe today?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Our strips were Hoops but Canon Hannon gave us a gift of white strips with a harp and green trim on our inauguration 1/8/1875 that we wore for the first season
    Our very first strip was White and white shorts with green trim. From 1876- 1879 we went to green and white hoops and from 1879 we went to the more familiar all green top.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    Our very first strip was White and white shorts with green trim. From 1876- 1879 we went to green and white hoops and from 1879 we went to the more familiar all green top.
    Correct

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Isn't there a story that Hearts hooped shirts ran in the wash, producing the mucky maroon colour we all know and loathe today?

Cannae even dae
    the washing correctly😁

Cannae even dae
    the washing correctly
    They were involved with a Russian laundry at one time.

The Mad Vlad certainly hung them out to drip-dry.

Their battle cry was "Maroon till i dye"

Or "These colours do run on a maroon shirt"

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Correct
    They on the other hand play in the colours of blooded turd

Is maroon really a colour? I'm not convinced.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    It does look it could be quite an interesting (and civil!) evening. Two very passionate club historians who will be well worth listening to.

I’d like to say I’m quite well versed in our own history, but admittedly have very little knowledge of the foundations and early history of Hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Talking Clerry
    Me and my brothers would sometimes get grief coming home from school on the bus..
    Bottom of Clermiston Drive,Queensferry Road end,sometimes an ambush,tae !
    Two of the clowns went to a fee paying school,too.
    We weren't singled out cos we supported Hibs,but that we were "papist bees"
    The ones that liked fitba were hertz fans.
    So it has never surprised me when i see the union flag at tynie and hear the hello hello song.
    Or believe the myth that they didnt want Mercer to suceed .
    Happened to me, more than once, walking home from school, just because the badge on my blazer identified a Catholic school. This wasnt always kids but grown adults as well.
    Last edited by One Day; 27-10-2022 at 08:06 AM. Reason: spelling

HMFC refused to recognise us voted against us and refused to let us join their wee League that is all anyone needs to know

That's not strictly true - Hearts were the opposition for Hibs' first ever match on Xmas day 1875 - and broke an SFA embargo to do so!

Certainly true that at other times they worked to undermine Hibs but equally NOT true of the entire history of the two clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    That's not strictly true - Hearts were the opposition for Hibs' first ever match on Xmas day 1875 - and broke an SFA embargo to do so!

Certainly true that at other times they worked to undermine Hibs but equally NOT true of the entire history of the two clubs.
    Agree

It was the Edinburgh FA -who had passed the buck to the SFA who said their League was for Scotsmen not Irishmen - the Edinburgh FA upheld that and told their member clubs not to play the Irishmen

Hearts played for twenty minutes on Christmas Day with three men short but still won 1-0

Hibs followed up by playing friendlies against Thistle ( twice) and Hanover

A second game was arranged against Hearts on 6-5-1876 but Hearts must have had second thoughts as they failed to turn up

This was round about the time Hearts went out of business

The second incarnation were not so friendly
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 31-10-2022 at 02:14 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    Could we perhaps go with an all white kit with a harp crest for the 2025/26 season or at least maybe the opening league game?

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    Could we perhaps go with an all white kit with a harp crest for the 2025/26 season or at least maybe the opening league game?
    Would love a large Harp sculpture on top of the FF stand for the 150th.

Did anyone go to this meeting and care to report back ?

I attended in a 'mixed' group. Wonderful setting internally, if you ever get the chance to stick your neck into the building. There was genuine warmth between Tom and his Hertz museum buddy but the talk lacked a wee bit structure. Plenty promising material and some good historical research and fact-checking. I felt they missed an issue when asked from the audience about 'entrance' fees to the early games. Sure I read somewhere (Lugton?) that the hat was passed round, no doubt by the bulkier of the clubs support staff. Hence a big element in Hertz wanting Hibs to stick around was that it was lucrative. A good night, needs a bit polish before it should be repeated.