Everyone Knows His………..Birthday!

Hibs Legend Jimmy O’Rourke, 76 today

And……it is also the 57th anniversary of a famous 4-0 victory over Hearts at Tynecastle where Jimmy scored a double before driving off to Blackpool for the rest of the weekend with his mates!

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Hibs Legend Jimmy O’Rourke, 76 today

And……it is also the 57th anniversary of a famous 4-0 victory over Hearts at Tynecastle where Jimmy scored a double before driving off to Blackpool for the rest of the weekend with his mates!
    Happy birthday Jimmy, Hibs legend for sure. One of my all time favourite players from back in the day.

Happy birthday Jimmy 🇳🇬🇳🇬

Happy birthday Jimmy. A great player and character

Happy Birthday Jimmy, Hibernian Legend

Hi Fred
    Hope you are well
    Link below to Scotsman interview James did a few year ago.
    He mentions that 0-4 game at tiny.
    I was 13 at the time and at the game.
    No comps for me .Grandad got them.
    I sneaked in like most of my pals or a "lift over"
    More money for sweeties !!
    Enjoy the article,guys.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...el-hibs-294920

Always a pleasure to wish one of my top Hibs heroes a happy birthday. What a player and character. Many happy returns Jimmy.

Jimmy just returned from Spain yesterday.
    He had his birthday over there at a resort they know well.
    George Stewart and Jackie Mac Snr met up with Jimmy and Anne.
    San Miguel joined them too
    Photo on link

https://twitter.com/Hibs80s
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 23-09-2022 at 12:48 PM.

Many happy returns, he knew where the goals were for sure, many great tales told when we stopped going and stayed in the pub while A. Millar was manager (Jimmy really didnie like him much)

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Photo on link

I was going to call him Mick but saw that pic and knew he was away. I'll call him next week. On an unrelated note I'm pretty sure Jimmy was 1st UK player to score back to back hat tricks in Europe. How many, if any have done it since? Does it remain a Scottish record? Over to the researchers!!

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I was going to call him Mick but saw that pic and knew he was away. I'll call him next week. On an unrelated note I'm pretty sure Jimmy was 1st UK player to score back to back hat tricks in Europe. How many, if any have done it since? Does it remain a Scottish record? Over to the researchers!!
    It was also against two different teams. I believe he was only player in Europe to achieved this but I think Messi may have had a back to back hat trick more recently against two different teams.
    Last edited by gbhibby; 23-09-2022 at 04:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    It was also against two different teams. I believe he was only player in Europe to achieved this but I think Messi may have had a back to back hat trick more recently againsttwo different teams.
    I think there's 4 in Champions League, Messi, Ronaldo, Benzema and Adriano? Benzema did it last season I think and Celtc/Man C were Messi victims! Really don't know about any UK ones though.

I spoke to him earlier today

He was reminding the local amigos that Hibernian were the 1st British side to beat Real Madrid.

I mentioned , Barcelona as well!! The Battle of Easter Road
    James took me to that game. I was still at primary ..St Ignatius
    I still have the original news reports/cuttings in my loft .
    That game was not that long before Jimmy in his Holy Cross uniform would be down to the Holy Ground for training and then sign the "S" Forms

Aye Brian
    What a night V Sporting.One of his hat tricks.
    Shook Europe that result did.Oh,what might have been !!

When we use to sing
    "Barelona, Real Madrid
    They will maketheir gallant bid"
    Other fans sung it as well.
    But we had beat them first!!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 23-09-2022 at 04:21 PM.

I think there's 4 in Champions League, Messi, Ronaldo, Benzema and Adriano? Benzema did it last season I think and Celtc/Man C were Messi victims! Really don't know about any UK ones though.

Well it would have been a first again for Hibernian!
    It was near 50 yrs ago...... long before these "Johnny come latelys" like Messi !!
    So it was Jimmy's long held record,as was his "youngest to play for Hibs"for many years.

Sporting Club of Portugal (Sporting Lisbon as we called them then)
    ..and then FC Besa from Albania were the victims at the Holy Ground.
    Back to back rounds in the then Cup Winners Cup we should have went on to win.
    imo,of course !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 23-09-2022 at 04:53 PM.

It was Mick's wee brother that told me about Jimmy's record a few years ago,was at both games what memories.

As Mary Hopkins would sing

Those were the days my friend
    We thought they'd never end

As Mary Hopkins would sing

Those were the days my friend
    We thought they'd never end
    Mick was Jimmy not also the youngest British player to play in Europe. I think it was only recently that somebody took that record away from him.

Aye At ER in a 2-1 win over Utrecht of Holland Dec 1962 Fairs Cup (now Europa)

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...-career-609958

We would be fighting relegation the next season.
    The 60s got better though, with Jock Stein,followed by my favourite Hibs manager,Bob Shankly.

Dunfermline had a great side then as well.
    They beat Valencia 6-2 at home that month but lost 4 nil in Spain.
    Valencia won play off tie1-0.
    Pars beat Everton in previous round.
    Scottish fitba was good in the 60s.
    Celtic winning EC was a great feat.
    Oh how English football hated that.
    Scottish fitba' beat them to it !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 23-09-2022 at 05:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Many happy returns, he knew where the goals were for sure, many great tales told when we stopped going and stayed in the pub while A. Millar was manager (Jimmy really didnie like him much)
    Aye
    There are of course mixed opinions on Miller and his time in charge

Miller i remember was presenting awards at a Hutchie Vale night in the Gylemuir Inn when Jimmy had it .
    Jimmy said
    "Michael you take charge o the function room tonight,Am off to the Roseburn for a brewery meeting !!!!!

Alex is teetotal,or was then .I think he ordered brit vic fresh orange!

Photo on link

Brilliant, those 3 names oh happy days.

Well it would have been a first again for Hibernian!
    It was near 50 yrs ago...... long before these "Johnny come latelys" like Messi !!
    So it was Jimmy's long held record,as was his "youngest to play for Hibs"for many years.

Sporting Club of Portugal (Sporting Lisbon as we called them then)
    ..and then FC Besa from Albania were the victims at the Holy Ground.
    Back to back rounds in the then Cup Winners Cup we should have went on to win.
    imo,of course !
    Funny thing is Mick I really only have 2 distinct memories of Sporting Game and neither involved Jimmy! IIRC SCP had an Argentinian striker , Yazalde who equalised after Tosh, Alan G, put us ahead. TBF SCP seemed to be in control after that until a few minutes into the 2nd half. Then Arthur D gathered a loose ball and charged forward, he seemed to hurdle about a dozen tackles and earned a corner. After that the crowd and the team were unstoppable. I stood at the Dunbar end in those days and I really had no idea what was happening down the slope. Just seemed every time the ball went in the box the crowd erupted and Jimmy emerged punching the air and with his trademark wee hop, step and jump! What a night, what a team!

Yes,the second half was explosive.
    My memory is even less than yours !
    At that time,after graduating from the Cave,i would usually stand around 18yrd box in old main terracing at Albion Rd end
    My old pal Gordon McCabe and his Niddrie buddies were in that section back then.
    Yes the crowd could be heard in Newhaven and further (true) that night.
    Lesson for the not so noisy neighbours regards genuine atmosphere.

The "official" attendance given that night was around 26.000 ..and the rest !
    Majority,of course, paid cash at the turnstiles then,so room for miscalculation on the attendance

James did say that this game gave him one of his proudest and best moments in football.
    Good match report in The Scotsman archive.
    Search/google for Hibs V Sporting.

Is there footage of this game/goals or v FC Besa ,Jimmy's other hat trick in that competition?
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 24-09-2022 at 08:14 AM.

At that time,after graduating from the Cave,i would usually stand around 18yrd box in old main terracing at Albion Rd end
    My old pal Gordon McCabe and his Niddrie buddies were in that section back then.

Majority,of course, paid cash at the turnstiles then,so room for miscalculation on the attendance

James did say that this game gave him one of his proudest and best moments in football.

Is there footage of this game/goals or v FC Besa ,Jimmy's other hat trick in that competition?
    I'm sure on the Crops highlight reel that his goal vs Besa is there so you would hope the rest are. Can't remember last time I saw Sporting Game but may be out there. Never mind Mick, the LC final and 1/1/73 are there for Jimmy to look at whenever he likes!

Thumbs Up

Would be terrific to see some footage of those hat trick games
    Alan Gordon also got hat-trick V Besa? ...7-1

Alan's hat trick in later game against Hadjuk Split is on utube.
    All Green top too,that night.
    Archive thread/post here suggests Tom Hart had "issues" with TV people at that time.
    Sad if the goals/highlights are "lost".
    Surely TV news or Pathe filmed it.
    Maybe Hibs Historical Trust folk will know.
    Or the Club!
    Mr Power, do try to find out please !

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hibs-6-sporting-lisbon-1-sept-27-1972-2443925

That day Jimmy got hat trick v Sporting ,it was our Mothers birthday.
    And i read that it was the last game before the Cave had seating/benches installed.
    Big mistake. Split the "Hibs Choir" up.
    What's new?!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 24-09-2022 at 11:22 AM.

Don't think the cameras were allowed for the Sporting match to boost attendance. Was in the North Stand that night when you stood up when we scored you had to sit down quickly as your seat was more than likely not be there as there seemed to be more people in the stand than seats. The seats were the old wooden benches, after that game my dad and his mates started looking at how to get to Greece for the final

Oh Salonika here we come !

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Oh Salonika here we come !

You were not alone thinking that was a possibility ,making the final.
    Today,27th September is 50th anniversary of Sporting game and my Mothers birth date !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 27-09-2022 at 04:28 PM.

You were not alone thinking that was a possibility ,making the final.
    Today,27th September is 50th anniversary of Sporting game and my Mothers birth date !!
    Remember Big Frank D starting that chant in the North Stand in the league games following that brilliant second half performance that sent shock waves throughout Europe

We were certainly good enough wasn’t much fussed who we got in the Final Milan or Leeds nae bother 😀

Just looked at the ECWC 72/73...Never realised Hajduk split were 3-0 down to Wrexham at half time in Wrexham's home leg. Surely we would have beaten them comfortably. What could have been!
    As an aside, when my daughter was born 23 years ago I popped in to Sandy Bell's for a pint, got speaking to jimmy O' and he was quick to buy me a jar. Great guy.

Jimmys footballing days where before my time, but I have lots of fond memories of his time behind the bar at the foresters in pathhead and went to a few games with him. Mick next time you speck to jimmy pass in my and the guys from the foresters regards to him and Anne.

Cammy