Ballingarry-born founder of Scottish side Hibernian FC to be honoured

The full story here …

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/sport/900435/ballingarry-born-founder-of-scottish-side-hibernian-fc-to-be-honoured.html

Great article. Thanks for posting.

Thanks for posting that it was a great read.

What an extremely moving article.

I've traced my own family's roots back to 1840 and my paternal great-great grandmother came to the Cowgate from Ireland around 1850. It gives me immense pride to think they would have been around at the inception of the club, and we still have familial links to the Cowgate, Grassmarket and Fountainbridge even now.

I hope the boys and girls from the deputation from St Pats have a whale of a time when they're over there in September.

Glory, glory, to the Hibees.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post

thanks mate

First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar
    Firstly I would like to thank fellow St. Patrick's Branch member, Mark Shipway in Leeds who patiently, over a period of time made the mosaic and without which this event would not be taking place. I would also like to thank Branch Committee member Brian Duffy for the excellent article above and the efforts of fellow St. Patricks Committee members and Ballingary AFC Committee for making this happen.
    Suffice to say that the Hibernian administration have been very supportive exemplified by them working closely with us and being represented by Hibs Director Stephen Dunn, who will be one of the mains speakers at the event in Ballingary.

BIG G

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Gav View Post
    thanks mate
    No probs mate and thanks for posting, will have a good read of that later 👍

Quote Originally Posted by GORDONSMITH7 View Post
    Firstly I would like to thank fellow St. Patrick's Branch member, Mark Shipway in Leeds who patiently, over a period of time made the mosaic and without which this event would not be taking place. I would also like to thank Branch Committee member Brian Duffy for the excellent article above and the efforts of fellow St. Patricks Committee members and Ballingary AFC Committee for making this happen.
    Suffice to say that the Hibernian administration have been very supportive exemplified by them working closely with us and being represented by Hibs Director Stephen Dunn, who will be one of the mains speakers at the event in Ballingary.

BIG G
    Have a ball when you're over there, G. I'll hear all aboot it nae doubt!

BIG G
    Brilliant stuff. Thanks to Mark for his part in breaking the curse.

Quote Originally Posted by Scotty Leither View Post
    What an extremely moving article.

I've traced my own family's roots back to 1840 and my paternal great-great grandmother came to the Cowgate from Ireland around 1850. It gives me immense pride to think they would have been around at the inception of the club, and we still have familial links to the Cowgate, Grassmarket and Fountainbridge even now.

I hope the boys and girls from the deputation from St Pats have a whale of a time when they're over there in September.

Glory, glory, to the Hibees.
    Fantastic. 👍

That was a good read but part of me is a little disappointed that the club didnt have any interest in displaying the mosaic harp.

Why is / was that?

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    That was a good read but part of me is a little disappointed that the club didnt have any interest in displaying the mosaic harp.

Why is / was that?
    Likewise. Used to be displayed in Main Stand reception with 2 busts (assuming Cannon Hannon and Whelan), was definitely there in 2016. It's an iconic piece that goes back decades, probably nearer a century (I know this is a remake) so disappointing it couldn't be incorporated into the new hospitality or changing rooms or something.

Capture.JPG

Anyway, hope the St Pats guys have a blast. Still hoping we get back to Ireland for a game or 3 in 2025 as part of the 150 year birthday party.

That;s a brilliant article, a really interesting read.

BIG G
    A great read G, thanks and appreciation due to the many who have stuck with this through thick and thin.

Some achievement to finally get the mosaic in place.

Take care.GGTTH

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Thank god, for a second I read that as Ballingry.....

First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    A great read G, thanks and appreciation due to the many who have stuck with this through thick and thin.

Some achievement to finally get the mosaic in place.

Take care.GGTTH

See you sooner rather than later amigo.

long overdue.

Well done to all concerned.

That's a lovely piece, thank you.

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    What a brilliant wee read!!

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post

Why is / was that?
    Aye, why is that?

Great read. We need statues outside the ground of our founders.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    That's a lovely piece, thank you.
    I never posted the link mate I just re-posted the link to make it readable, credit to Hibby Gav who posted the original 👍

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Great read. We need statues outside the ground of our founders.
    Yes ,its fantastic that we have fans who remember and cherish our roots and this event coming up should signal to the club that the main stand at The Holy Ground should be named in honour of our beloved founder ASAP.

Alan Lugton will be proudly smiling down at the ceremony in Ballingarry

Well done St Patrick's Branch and all the others who made this possible

HGSP

"And if you know your history"
    "Glory Glory to The Hibees"

And still i live and hope to see the Scottish Cup once more !!

Very interesting read . Well done to all involved in arranging this .
    About the harp mosaic , this is a copy of the original which the Swan family have . Is that right ?

Very good article

Excellent article. Thanks for sharing.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar

BIG G
    Hear hear Gordon.

A lasting tribute to our founder's legacy in his birth town. Clearly a lot of hard work has gone into making this happen. Well done St Patrick's branch and to all concerned

Can't wait to be there

Quote Originally Posted by IberianHibernian View Post
    Very interesting read . Well done to all involved in arranging this .
    About the harp mosaic , this is a copy of the original which the Swan family have . Is that right ?
    The harp mosaic was in Harry's office for years.
    By all accounts when Harry Swan died,the Harp was presented to his widow.
    It would be of interest,of course, to know if the Swan family still have it.
    For years i thought it had been lost.
    Maybe someone involved in the Ballingarry event knows.