Hibs and plastic pitches

We are always absolute rotten on plastic pitches , do we not train on them or try and learn from past experiences on them , couldn’t pass wind , constantly giving away possession , pathetic

Shouldn't be allowed. An obvious advantage to the team that has them.

This is a myth. Look at our recent results on these pitches. It's no worse than grass. Beat Kilmarnock, livi and Hamilton all away the season we finished 3rd.

Also beat alloa and cove that season on plastic parks.

It's our rubbish team and tactics that hurt us. 3 wee boys up front away at livi is just a manager who hasn't done his homework.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Stop blaming the pitch guys, it maybe has a part in it but we're just no very good.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    The team gaining the advantage is Livi not Man Cily. We should be beating them whether playing at Saughton Park or Portobello beach.

I thought we trained on both types of pitches🤷

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Stop blaming the pitch guys, it maybe has a part in it but we're just no very good.
    When they put that jersey on they should be able to play on sand never mind a pitch, just no good enough for sure, been that way for a few years now.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    100%. Embarassed for them, pissed off good money paid to go there and see Hibs, that ‘pitch’ is a total disgrace, you’d have to practice on that as nae other artificial surface is that bad, total anathema to our playing style.

Whether we cope on them or not they make a mockery of the game. They lessen the product. We pay good money for a game of football.

It would be nice if conditions were conducive to decent play, of a reasonable tempo with passes that can be weighed and tackles can be made.

They spoil the product.

Should only be allowed in the top league once a major final has used them until then should be nowhere near the top league.

We played fine on that pitch in the second half. The problem in the first half wasn't the pitch it was the players' application and work rate. In the second half we played to a decent standard and only the application of Doidge falling asleep late on cost us a point.

Livingston are never easy games. Our record at Almondvale since 2017/18 season is played 8 won 2 drawn 1 lost 5. Don’t like the plastic pitch but even at Easter Road played 7 won 2 drawn 3 and lost 2. The problem is that our team never seem to match their desire and ability to win these type of games.

I’m sure some facts would prove or disprove the point.

Can anyone be ar5ed to pull together a summary of results on plastic pitches vs grass over the last few years?

i've lost the thread i was discussing the pitch yesterday so i'll reply to this one after earlier today looking at Livingston results last season...

only two sides failed to take at least a point at Livingston, out of the sides that played there twice only two sides took away absolutely zilch

those two were Dundee and....Hibs

Aberdeen
    Motherwell
    St Johnstone
    St Mirren
    Hearts
    Sevco
    Sellick

all managed to win

Dundee utd and Ross co at least took a point

why are we so different and always blame the pitch at livingston for the reason we lose, other sides manage to win
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 14-08-2022 at 03:34 PM.

Didnt Hibs invest in a plastic pitch at East Mains so that they would be used to playing on other plastic pitches
    B

Completely removing Saturday’s result from the picture, these monstrosities need to be banned from the top flight. It hurts the quality of play, it’s potentially more dangerous for the players, and they create an imbalanced sporting advantage. They’re not fit for the Premiership.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    i've lost the thread i was discussing the pitch yesterday so i'll reply to this one after earlier today looking at Livingston results last season...

only two sides failed to take at least a point at Livingston, out of the sides that played there twice only two sides took away absolutely zilch

those two were Dundee and....Hibs

Aberdeen
    Motherwell
    St Johnstone
    St Mirren
    Hearts
    Sevco
    Sellick

all managed to win

Dundee utd and Ross co at least took a point

why are we so different and always blame the pitch at livingston for the reason we lose, other sides manage to win
    The pitch isn’t the issue. It’s our team. That much is clear as day.

Quote Originally Posted by BT58 View Post
    Didnt Hibs invest in a plastic pitch at East Mains so that they would be used to playing on other plastic pitches
    B
    It's probably higher spec than that thing at The Spaghettihad. 🤪

Quote Originally Posted by BT58 View Post
    B
    Yes but we don’t train on it at the moment
    Lee said on his pre Livingston presser, that we only train on the grass just now, as he thinks it’s a problem chopping and changing from grass to Astro
    Obviously when the grass is not in good condition they’ll move over to the Astro

Said his dream would be to have a desso pitch at East Mains, but cost prohibits at the moment

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    This is a myth. Look at our recent results on these pitches. It's no worse than grass. Beat Kilmarnock, livi and Hamilton all away the season we finished 3rd.

It's our rubbish team and tactics that hurt us. 3 wee boys up front away at livi is just a manager who hasn't done his homework.
    In what world is Youan a wee boy?

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    Certainly looked like one first half. Totally bullied. Looked better 2nd half out wide

Who that we’ve got available should’ve played in those 3 positions, and aren’t wee boys?

Plastic Pitches are pish and shouldn’t be allowed in the top league. But it’s not an excuse for our first half performance yesterday.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Who that we’ve got available should’ve played in those 3 positions, and aren’t wee boys?

Plastic Pitches are pish and shouldn’t be allowed in the top league. But it’s not an excuse for our first half performance yesterday.
    I personally would not have played that formation. Its just not going to work.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Couldn't disagree more about him looking like a wee boy. However, if we are going to persist with the 3 up front we need someone in the middle who is huge, almost every team in this league has a giant or two at centre half, and all we have to combat that is whatever Doidge now is.

Or we must learn to actually play football and do it quickly and properly to beat these sides. Not taking months to get it forward and then coming back anyway. Quick football, breaking away, running in behind.

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    Completely removing Saturday’s result from the picture, these monstrosities need to be banned from the top flight. It hurts the quality of play, it’s potentially more dangerous for the players, and they create an imbalanced sporting advantage. They’re not fit for the Premiership.
    100%

In a so called top league plastic pitches should never happen. The fact that Hibs have won on them does not make them right

Disrespectful comment

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    In a so called top league plastic pitches should never happen. The fact that Hibs have won on them does not make them right
    I totally agree. But Hibs had the chance to initiate the legislation to get rid of them when Livi were the only team with one last season. We done nothing.

I dispise plastic pitches, but you can understand why Livvy has one. Basically zero maintenance, and I'm sure they rent it out during the week, to the local community.
    I bet the pitch at Easter Road costs the club £250k a year to maintain. Cost of groundsmen and equipment. Water in the summer, and electricity for the lamps in the winter. Does it not get relayed every couple of years as well?

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk